Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Application rejected due to being 4 minutes late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭SNNUS

Life lesson, move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Newbie12345The

Used to work in a hr department and it amazes me people still fire in applications minutes before the deadline - if you were serious, you'd have thrown it in a day or two at least before hand - most are up a fortnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭Trampas

So if the OP thinks 4 minutes is fine. When do think the cut off should be? 5 minutes, 30 minutes, 2 hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

I agree with the rest of the posters here. But I have an issue with that notice …. no excuse for putting only the closing date on the main notice and then 3 pm in the small print. If the 3 pm deadline is that important it should be up front with the date - closing date 13/2/2025 at 3 p.m. Why not spell it out? Inevitable that some will miss the small print …. yes you can argue about that but it doesn't need to be a puzzle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭mada999

getting nothing from Oliver…

poor enough showing from us….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Mannesmann

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,228 ✭✭✭✭kippy

What other important specifics should be added the the space limited graphic?

If the person applying hasn't the cop on to read the accompanying documentation in full what else have they missed?

Expectation levels here and blaming someone else for your own mistakes are off the charts.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,926 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

image.png

Results of Indian School Exams in 2013 It's not a Bell curve. There are gaps at grade boundaries.

This is what can happen when exceptions become the norm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,945 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

….

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,945 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Happens all the time, they don't care that much. Internet connectivity is still spotty in places all over the country. We have no mobile signal in my locale and being close to the coast, routinely lose internet due to power loss with salt affectign transformers. Some people act as if no one makes, what is, an insignificant error.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,506 ✭✭✭bren2001

People make mistakes all the time but not everyone makes a mistake and then moans about how unfair it is when the rules are applied.

OP fucked up (well their kid). Nothing unfair about what happened after.

Would your approach have worked? Maybe if they emailed straight away. 10 weeks later? Unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,057 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,926 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

No matter what system is used those affected will consider it unfair. Whether its those cut off by a few minutes or those who submitted a rushed job that met the deadline or those who were more organised or prepared.

For the job the rule was harsh but fair as it was applied equally.

In the Indian case the rules were bent so far that you'd have to question the results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,124 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

I wouldn't be so sure there was rules bending as versus brown envelopes, but like a lot of things today everyone thinks they should get a gold star for trying and failure to do what was required should be ignored in case you hurt someone's feelings

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

100% and it does appear to be the OP and not the actual person who sent it in is complaining. Also the 10 weeks later seems odd,and while it will vary from office to office, they normally get sent out within the day. Either way, just saying, if they were really interested, no harm sending the email, worst thing that would have happened is they say no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭XT1200

Rules are rules. If a person cannot be relied on to submit an application on time how can they be classed as a reliable employee . She was very much aware of the deadline for submitting her application and if she was really intent and serious with her application she would have ensured that her application would have been submitted in time. I hope that she learns from the experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Depends on your email client. Even in the likes of gmail you can see the headers if you want (although some might be spoofed…but you can still see them)

I could send you an email backdated to yesterday, and assuming your server doesn't redirect it as spam, your client will probably show it down the list as if it came in yesterday and you missed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

That's if you have access to all the servers along the way. Each one can only know what it received and from where. It has to take the previous ones as given.

But the civil service do , so it would be silly to lie to them

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,435 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

he's talking about email servers. the civil service do not have access to all the servers along the way.

As well as being late with the application the applicant is now being encouraged to commit fraud. Well done people. And on another note I notice the applicant has not contributed to this thread. Yes, she really is interested n bettering herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Eclectic Econometrics

Record scratch

"You're probably wondering how I got here"

Camera pans out to reveal person standing in Mountjoy Prison Yard

"I was late with a job application by four minutes"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

@OP:

If your daughter lost out on a job and it transpired the person who got it ahead of her had submitted their application late, you'd be on here complaining about how it's not fair.

She was late, chalk it down to experience and let it serve as a lesson in future.

The average person can do the average job so most screenings are a numbers game. If they have lots more applicants than jobs there's no point bending the rules as they'll have to filter out more candidates at a later stage.

If they are head hunting then there may be some leeway for someone who has what are a very particular set of skills, skills acquired over a very long career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,666 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

It was probably a last minute rush job. You would have to wonder how serious the person was about applying for the role if it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Raichų

I’m sure even if they could the person in HR is not on the phone like:

📞 hello IT; we just want to check the server logs to see did this job application really arrive before 3pm

I mean the very idea is silly. I’m quite sure if the OP’s daughter had followed up shortly after (not 10 weeks..) explaining they had a momentary loss of power/broadband and they apologise profusely for being 4 mins late but hope it will not be viewed negatively they would have been grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Hoboo

First test: complete the application by the deadline.

Result: Fail.

Her inability to submit her application on time , simply demonstrates her unsuitability and unreliability for the position. I am sure that there were numerous applicants who submitted their applications before the deadline and at least one of these applicants will be justly rewarded.