The Weekend On One With Brendan O'Connor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Cole

From Francis Brennan thinking that everyone who's the 'same colour' looks the same to Eileen Walsh who falls over herself to justify (almost apologise) for playing a physically disabled character…quite the range this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

There does appear to be different standards for cancellation. As Francis isn’t in the “straight white male over 40” category he’ll most likely get a pass.

Yes, the salary is enormous, I understand that, but that doesn't affect my soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,287 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Eileen is one of our heretofore unhailed great actors. Has been great in everything she's done.

The must have fallen asleep in Montrose. There was about a minute of dead air after the show.

Not doubting that. I listened to a longer interview with her on Second Captains Saturday a few months ago. She seemed to have been royally shafted by her supposed close friends, Cillian Murphy and Enda Walsh, with the casting of the movie version of Disco Pigs…a very forgiving woman.

Aside from her talent though, it was rather odd (but not surprising) to hear her justify/'apologise' her new acting role by saying that she could never fully understand what it's like to be a wheelchair user. She had another acting role years ago as a victim of the Magdalene laundries, but there's no acknowledgement of not being able to fully understand how those victims suffered (still do) - same principle, different context.

Maybe she was able via some experience?

Must look for that interview, was it long ago?

More the fear of knowing the chances of being cancelled are greater depending on the context I think; therefore, the need to publicly apologise/repent/justify…she almost said as much about being cancelled when it came up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,204 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

The Brennans are wily old buggers, one of them on newstalk as well today.. Must be something they want to promote,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭mykrodot

I thought it was hilarious! It couldn't have happened to a worse presenter, Brendan is going to give himself a heart attack policing his show against anything that could possibly result in a backlash. He is absolutely terrified!

Brendan was making Presidential suggestions. All denied by Frances, of course.

Can you imagine the backlash if [insert the name of your chosen politician/celebrity/public figure] said what Francis Brennan said yesterday?! Not a whimper when it's the likes of cuddly Francis. Nothing to see here…

Double standards are very much alive and well, all depends who you are.

Yes, the salary is enormous, I understand that, but that doesn't affect my soul.

Panel today:

Mick Clifford

Lorna Fitzpatrick

Mary Hanafin

Scott Lucas

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

O’Connor too afraid to discuss the latest FG scandal after reading out the press release, now runs for the comfort of an ad break. 🙄

I’m a few minutes behind the live feed but honestly, what is the point of this show if the host is afraid of his own shadow?

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

Back from the break and an apology of sorts from Brendan about being too cautious - one assumes he got the ok from the producer/legal to discuss it.

It’s farcical at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭gluppers

Official Ireland afraid of Official Ireland (they can all f*ck off)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,914 ✭✭✭✭elperello

On this occasion caution was justified because BO'C had earlier conflated the drunken episode with a potentially more serious case.

As for the drunken episode, that's all it was and too much is being made of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,223 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Drunken and Arrested , so it's much more then an 'episode' .

The quickly going to an advertising break ,a long break as well , is a result of a lack of 'abundance of caution'.

Two allegations - inappropriate behaviour and arrested for being drunk were attributed to a politician.

Mick Clifford who is detailing the allegations is interrupted by Brendan to read a press statement were a politician is named and admits to being arrested for being drunk in O Connell Street.

There is no mention of the more serious initial allegation in the statement.

After returning from the ad break Brendan attempts to distinguish between the two allegations, the damage has already been done imho.Brendans interruption was 'we have a statement from.......'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,540 ✭✭✭emo72

Bizarre Irish media. Afraid to discuss issues that are officially released. This damn country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,204 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Ah I remember it well, tweedledum and tweedledee on the dail plinth insisting nothing to see here to a bunch of earnest looking notebook scribblers while over on the BBC they were running with the story that Chopra and the boys were in town.. And it will happen again the way we're going mark my words with what passes for "journalism" here

No it's just a drunk falling around the street, lifted by AGS, taken to the station, sobered up and sent on his way.

Happens every night of the week to someone somewhere.

It's only a story because he's a politician.

As for BO'C, what else could he do ?

The perils of live broadcasting writ large, the real thing this time.

They were all set to discuss it without naming names which they probably all knew anyway.

Along comes Martin Conway with his statement and panic stations.

I think they got away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,747 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Their instinct was not to discuss it. Not a good look.

I've heard countless segments on RTE about scandals involving Westminster politicians. They don't seem to have a problem discussing them.

If RTE is concerned about our very strict libel laws, they never seem to even debate the issue. You would think our media would be calling for those laws to loosen up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I just listened to this segment now on podcast. He was caught flat footed in that a long segment had just started when the statement was released. He didn't have a chance to discuss with producer or anything so took the cautious route for a few mins, and then went into it after the break. I don't see anything wrong here.

It was positively weird tbh.
    Contrast it to the Stanley story and the were all over that probing and speculating for a few weeks.
    I would say his production team told him to get a grip in the break.

This isn't a political scandal, it's just one minor politician getting the worse for wear from drink and bring brought to a Garda Station.

RTE has been at the forefront of the continuing discussion on libel law reform.

It's been covered in numerous programmes as well as public statements and documents.

https://assets.gov.ie/122372/273a8907-ff42-4765-9ea6-3b6fa562e163.pdf

https://www.thetimes.com/article/rte-demands-legal-reform-over-soaring-costs-of-defamation-33zjzqfvk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭amlinopta

A subtle edit at 1 min 30 on the Saturday program on the player, as Francis's non-pc comment and Brendan's horrified reaction are carefully removed, never to be heard again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,747 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

He's a regular on the media circuit.

The main point is that RTE's first instinct was not to discuss the subject. Poor form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭thereiver

I listened to the newspaper panel I thought it was interesting good commentary on elon musk attempts to destroy the federal government I disagree with Brendan if someone gets drunk and they cause trouble they still need to be held to account for what they did wrong I only listen to the panel so I can't comment on the rest of the show

He's not some celebrity or influencer he contributes to media as an elected politician albeit a minor one.

BO'C literally opened the show with the story and returned to it after the roundup ready for a discussion.

Then, live in real time Martin Conway's statement arrived owning the minor incident in O'Connell Street and ignoring what seems to be something much more serious.

He put his name in the frame, nobody else.

At that stage a decision was made to play safe. Correct in my estimation especially following the earlier conflation.

What was the point in discussing a drunken incident of no great import under the shadow of the other story ?

No doubt we will hear more about both stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,369 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Censorship alive and well at Rte.

They have form editing shows on the Player.