Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rory Gallagher - A dismissed case that was dealt with and brought to attention? Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭crusd

No, its that the considerations when putting someone in a position of responsibility for others are different than when they dont. It not about punishment its about the specific role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

That was never said, nobody mentioned punishment.

What is being said is that for rehabilitation purposes, and for those who have demonstrated remorse for their actions, participation in an amateur sport as an individual in a team is good for the person and for the community.

What is also being said is that anyone who has issues around accusations of domestic abuse is an unsuitable person to be in a position of authority or responsibility over others.

It is as simple as that, and people keep trying to make it out to be something else.

Edit: two situations, more different than apples and oranges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

so to summarise: found guilty by a court- sure just show remorse and we’ll let you carry on as before and call it “rehabilitation“. Have an accusation around you- ban them. Should Hayes have been banned while he was awaiting trial.

Here’s the lad that the two Kerry lads battered:

https://extra.ie/2021/12/18/news/irish-news/kerry-footballers-appeal

have a good look at the damage they did and the impact it had on them, since you mentioned research earlier. Only remorse was when they realised a conviction might affect their future. Ones a regular inter county player still

here’s the report on the assault by the Hayes brothers

https://www.limerickpost.ie/2024/12/20/darkness-still-lingers-in-my-parish-victim-of-hurley-and-wrench-attack-said-brothers-beat-me-like-they-wanted-me-dead/

again have a good read of what these two scumbags did. If an animal did it you’d have it put down.

again Remorse once they realised they were fcuked. The two scumbags tried to tell Garda their victim was probably beaten over a drugs deal. One is still team captain

I could give you similar for the other cases I listed earlier. In every case the victims have been physically and mentally ruined. And the perpetrators are facilitated by the GAA and wider society, largely because it’s acceptable to give a lad a few slaps, sure he’s a lad, well able for it. Not a lad you facing in the heat of a match mind (that wouldn’t be alright and sure he might be able for you), nah, just battering some innocent randomer: it won’t get too much news coverage in relative terms cause the victims profile doesn’t suit, and sure if you’re convicted the local judge will usually set that aside on appeal anyway.

so frankly anyone who says Burns isn’t a hypocrite is talking shite. And if they think their own refusal to admit their double standards here doesn’t also make them a hypocrite they’re also talking shite. It might make them feel better, as though they somehow have a special rationalisation that makes it all ok, but it’s still shite to cover their own double standards, and it’s a huge insult to victims across the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭Suckler

That would be fine in an ideal world but the nature of GAA is never as black and white. You could have the senior men's coming on a pitch to train just as a juvenile and/or ladies team come off the pitch. Club functions etc. will inevitably have a mix of teams, even big club games will have a hoard of kids looking for autographs/photo's etc. How/where do you stop any interaction there; you'd need to have a fella watching him to ensure he didn't interact with anyone outside of the strict terms of his contract. In short, it would be completely unfeasible.

In the same setting you could have another player that's gone through the courts, been found guilty and punished; yet they wouldn't be burdened by the same restrictions that would (hypothetically) be placed upon someone like Gallagher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,480 ✭✭✭MacDanger

How many on here would want Gallagher managing their club?

I wouldn't want him anywhere near mine

I don't think you have read my posts, or understand my point at all.

Where did I say that there should be less restrictions on someone convicted than on Gallagher?

Nonsense, I would treat them all the same.

Suitable for participation as an individual playing on a team as an amateur.

None of them, including Gallagher, would be suitable in a position of responsibility or authority or handing out medals etc.

I don't think you have read my posts, or understand my point at all

yeah…that's an easy get out.

Where did I say that there should be less restrictions on someone convicted than on Gallagher?

You're ok with players being involved even if convicted, which is the biggest part of the game; yet Gallagher has no convictions yet you're placing restrictions on what he should/shouldn't be involved in. Coupled with that, the GAA training/social set up is never as black and white as you like to think.

Despite what's been said about Gallagher, he'll always be able to fall back on the fact that police have looked in to it and found he has nothing to answer for.

It's precisely what Burns should have stayed out of it without a clear message.

I think there are two groups.

Firstly, there are some who have a voodoo doll of some other GAA figure that they want to push sticks into and punish for another reason, they see Burns as a hypocrite for not stopping those others from playing. While I don't agree with them, at least I understand where they are coming from.

Secondly, it appears there are actually some posters who would be delighted with Gallagher managing their club. That is astonishing and I don't get that at all.

I am ok with Gallagher being involved as a player, whether on a club team or a Masters team, just like the others.

None of them would I allow have a position of responsibility or authority over others.

Equality of treatment.

Rory Gallagher is near 50; his playing days are over in any meaningful way.

Edit: He was to be part of the coaching team so the level of his responsibility/authority would have been curtailed as it was; yet he would have been inevitably interacting with all ages/sexes etc. within the club.

Hayes is still in his prime and will be ok to play on the biggest stages of his sport for a number of years.

As a player on that stage, he is already in a position of responsibility inevitably; how do you stop his interaction with children as a big name player etc. when they rush on to a pitch after a game or at training etc.

There is no equality here as the two scenarios are unequal.

I know plenty of 50-years old playing GAA socially, playing for third or fourth teams, or playing Masters. Those routes should remain open to Gallagher.

Shouldn't be let anywhere near managing or coaching a team, and neither should Hayes. Arguably, the punishment on Hayes is greater as all that is still ahead of him.

I know plenty of 50-years old playing GAA socially, playing for third or fourth teams, or playing Masters. Those routes should remain open to Gallagher.

Masters/third/fourth teams are completely irrelevant; they barely feature in local news. Hayes is at a different stage/level.

(Edit: I say 'irrelevant' as a current Junior B & C stalwart)

Playing in an All Ireland series and potentially winning more all Ireland medals is significantly greater in the scheme of things; yet he's good to go while coaching is to be restricted. The comparative punishments are wholly unequal.

ALL of them are in position of responsibility and privilege, take the blinkers off for a minute. In some instances their own counsel were able to highlight their continuing roles in the GAA as showing they were “role models” no less.

one is captain of his club team

A couple are regular inter county stars, one so prominent he is an all star this year. Playing in front of packed crowds with all the adulation that goes with it.

that’s not”rehabilitation”, just plodding along in an amateur sport, or whatever other nonsense terms you want to apply

if the GAA gave a genuine **** about violence, if Burns gave a **** about it, all of them would be looking at a long suspension from playing senior club or inter county level

give respect, get respect my arse.

Post edited by tritium on

one is captain of his club team

Just on this one; it's amazing how many GAA team "captains" end up before the courts on drink driving/speeding/assault/disorderly etc. charges…..it's almost as if the solicitors make it up. Yet the GAA remain silent on it continuously.

You cannot selectively deal with one whilst ignoring all the others. Burns has opened a can of worms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭flasher0030

I don't recall any poster here saying they would be delighted to have Rory Gallagher managing their club. Maybe I am wrong, and missed that. Can you point out where that was said.

As far as I recollect, the main issue that most people have in the last few pages of this forum is the apparent hypocrisy of Jarlath Burns in intervening and advising a club not to take on RG in a management role, whilst not doing anything similar for other players who have actually been found guilty of criminal activities. There were a few posters who I feel have gone over the top in calling RG a scumbag, when it was concluded that he did not have a case to answer to after being investigated. I believe in innocent till proven guilty.

Maybe you could advise me of situations where Jarlath Burns has failed to intervene when other players in a similar situation have been in a position to take on a management role?

Calling RG a scumbag is probably unfair on your common decent scumbag all right.

Conor McGregor has the same innocent status as Gallagher, neither convicted in a criminal court.

Nonsense comments.

It's you that is distinguishing between the rehabilitation rights of someone in management and someone that is not. Not me that brought that up. Why are you asking me to advise of situations where Jarlath Burns has failed to intervene when other players in a similar situation have been in a position to take on a management role? I never said there was any such situations. This is all in your head.

Why don't you do the honorable thing and speak your mind to Rory Gallagher personally. Approach him and refer to your scumbag comment. Of course you wont. You'd rather hide behind your keyboard.

Anybody that has not been convicted in a criminal court has the same innocent status as Rory Gallagher, Conor McGregor and every other individual that has not been convicted in a criminal court. Conor McGregor was found guilty in a civil court because Nikita Hand took that route when it was concluded that there may not be a criminal conviction. The big question is - Why didn't Gallaghers wife do likewise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭crusd

Somebody being mindful of what they say to the face of someone with a reputation for violence for fear of violet reprisal does not invalidate their opinion of that person.

Technically, you are not found guilty in a civil court. McGregor has the same status as Gallagher when it comes to criminality.

We don't know what Gallagher's status is under civil law as family court proceedings are private.

McGregor has the same status as me when it comes to criminality. And I presume that he has the same status as yourself when it comes to criminality i.e. does not have a criminal record; assuming you do not have a criminal record. Your comment means nothing.

Conor McGregor's case was not private. The Judge had to warn the public gallery that he would jail them if things got too rowdy. The District Court and Circuit Court hear issues relating to Family law, and are mostly in private. You clearly are not in the legal business. So stop throwing out untruths on it.

It is clear from my post that I am aware that family courts are private. We don't know what Gallagher has said in the private family court is my point, so holding up McGregor as different to him is disingenuous.

McGregor and Gallagher have the same situation under criminal law. A file was prepared for the DPP by police but a decision was made not to prosecute. You can speak for yourself and maybe you have the same status as they do, but I don't.

” the punishment on Hayes is greater…”
    Christ your argument just looks ridiculous now.

Poor Kyle will I’m sure be gutted as he continues his quest to add to his collection of all Ireland medals, in front of a TV audience of millions.

No doubt the awareness that after his successful hurling career is over the president of the GAA might intervene to stop him managing a local team is making him strongly reconsider the wisdom of dragging his victim through courts and the lack of any remorse he’s shown. Yep, let’s hit him where it matters, sure who remembers talented hurlers eh local management is where it’s at, that’s the game that gets you places.

Still I’m sure he’ll understand that it’s important to continue his “rehabilitation”, doing exactly the same things he was doing before his court appearance- if we expect “rehabilitation” to help someone to go down a different path than they did previously, is it sensible that it looks exactly like what they were doing before? Really?

What a complete cop out

Post edited by tritium on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

I’ve only come across this story today. I know nothing of the individuals involved but have to say, unless I’m missing something, I find it outrageous.

We have a fella who was accused of domestic abuse, investigated and it was found that there was no case to answer. He also got custody of the 3 kids. Yet, he’s being treated effectively as a pariah.

If that’s the story here, it’s bloody terrifying for men around the country. Am I missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,452 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

basically that's the outer half of the story , the inner part is a little more stark , ms gallagher lost custody of the kids due to a chronic dependency on alcohol , the hero looking after the kids was never on trial for domestic abuse but suddenly went into hiding for 18 months after the allegations became public ,

burns is probably trying to either boost his public image or hide what is going on in his own county but this case is not as outrageous as it looks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

It's clear he and his ex wife had a turbulent relationship. Depending on where you read it was nasty as times.

He doesn't sound like the nicest character. However, in the eyes of the law he has done nothing wrong I believe.

If he was effectively denied of a job by the interference of a sitting GAA president, then he should have a strong case for legal action, and be fairly confident of winning it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,480 ✭✭✭MacDanger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭celt262

It's not a Job though no coaches in the Gaa get "paid".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,013 ✭✭✭jackboy

They get well paid but it's hidden so that side of things is complex. He won't take a case, why would he want to highlight dodgy under the table payments that are rife in the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,425 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The law hasn’t judged him. So “he hasn’t done”anything wrong is a pointless saying here, implying that he’s been judged by the law and has done nothing wrong.