Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rory Gallagher - A dismissed case that was dealt with and brought to attention? Mod Note in OP

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,936 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Mod Note

A few Warnings issued to posts over the past few days.

Kindly remember to be Civil in discussions and not to use abusive terms please.

Any issues, PM only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

People are discussing this the same way they would talk about a manager being appointed to a Premier League soccer club. The reality is that the Naas senior footballers are only a small part of Naas GAA Club.

You have to consider how an apppointment like this would look in a club that has hundreds of women and girls in its playing ranks who are just as much a part of the club as the senior men. I assume this is where Burns is coming from.

I coach my daughter's football and camogie team and if our club brought in someone like this, I'd object very, very strongly and if they persisted I'd transfer her out.

I have never burned a bra or indeed any lingerie in my life, for the record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Martin567

I'm not disputing any of that. I simply believe that violence against men is an equally serious offence and I think it's very wrong to differentiate between the two. The GAA President certainly shouldn't be seen to do so.

From what I can see, only one of us is seeking to downplay any level of violence and it's not me (I refer to the last sentence of your post at 2:46pm).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Prioritising violence against women as a huge societal issue is not downplaying an individual act of violence.

Violence is a huge issue in society.

Taking any individual act or perpetrator and implying it would have been worse if the victim was female is most certainly downplaying that violence.

Don't be under any illusions - anyone who stays silent about violence against a man while being outspoken about violence against a woman is downplaying the seriousness of the former.

One of the most admirable things about Natasha O'Brien (and there are many) is that in all the interviews I've heard her do, she has never allowed herself to be labelled an advocate against gender based violence. She is speaking out against all violence and the gender is not relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

so to summarise, even if he were to be found not guilty on a court you’d favour ostracising him? Tell me, given you don’t, any more than the rest of us, actually know the details beyond this-how exactly can someone in Gallagher position ever actually clear his name with you?

also, given that (I) violent crime is actually falling and (ii) as a male you are significantly more likely to be a victim of violence, with 7 in every 10 murder/manslaughter victims being a male, do you think perhaps your view is coloured more by the number of column inches certain cases get than any balanced view of the problem? Because it’s certainly novel to to argue we’ve a societal problem of violence for only one group in light of those statistics.

what a cop out

How about as a society we all stand up and say stop the violence full stop.how about we ask mothers and fathers to teach their children to respect others regardless of gender? How about we acknowledge all victims of violence and demand support for them instead of ignoring a huge swathe of victims?

How about someone like Burns, in a position where he can actually help bring about change, makes a stand against the “hard chaw” ethos that you see every week on GAA pitches around the country, and afterward in pubs and nightclubs.

The Gallagher issue also predates his presidency. Nothing to stop him intervening- kiely is still around and Hayes is still being selected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭lmk123

thank you, so I didn’t say I was alright with assaults on men. Anyway I’d better say no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Not to satisfy anyone's curiosity. But to clarify the relevant points made by the poster. Why haven't the GAA intervened in other issues relating to crime, or in the case of RG, alleged issues.

I wouldn't like to be up in court with you in the jury. I'd be hung, drawn and quartered, even if I was innocent. Another poster was on about the allegations that she made in her statement. There was mention of a friend helping her. If RG was guilty, it would be very easy to build a case, with witnesses there. There are CCTV cameras nearly everywhere we walk. If she was bruised, surely she would take picture of these, as some form of back-up. And if all of this is going on, her family would have been aware. Surely, they wouldn't have been letting this go on. If I ever heard of my sisters husband laying a finger on my sister, I would kill him, or have him killed. If she is going around with bruises and bite marks, the family are going to get to the bottom of it with her. Her fobbing it off as a slip in the shower over and over again would not cut it with the family. Doesn't make sense to me. But it's not for me to judge, as I don not know the facts. In the same manner that it's not for you to judge cause you have no idea who is telling the truth or telling lies.

Do you know how many cases of rape and violence against women even get to court?

A tiny bit of research on violence against women would tell you that.

As for this case, her family got her away from Gallagher and are protecting her now. Is that good enough for you?

That is ignoring the problem.

https://www.womensaid.ie/get-informed/facts/#:~:text=14%25%20of%20women%20in%20Ireland,former%20partner%20since%20age%2015

• Since 1996, 271 women have died violently in the Republic of Ireland (up to 5th January 2025).
      • Of the women that were killed:
        • 63% were killed in their own homes.
        • 55% were killed by a partner or ex (of the resolved cases)
        • Almost 9 in 10 women knew their killer

Men abuse and kill women.

To turn that argument on its head. The vast majority of violent crimes are committed by men, whether by men on men, or men on women. That is the problem.

That doesn't turn the argument on its head in any way. It doesn't conflict with anything I said.

I agree most (but not all) violent crime is committed by men. I think statistics show there are more male victims than female but all violence is wrong.

Trying to prioritise violence against women is simply wrong as this implies that violence against men is not as serious. You said above you would prioritise it over other violence.

It's difficult to see how this could be seen as doing anything other than downplaying the seriousness/importance of violence against men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,425 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Violence by men against women will always sting more and shock more because of the physical differences between males and females. Same way a child being the victim of violence from an adult. This doesn’t downplay our attitudes or feelings on male on male violence.

It’s actually terrifying that you can argue that violence in general isn’t a societal issue and that only violence against women falls into that category. There’s something very wrong with how violence is reported when it puts one cohort of victims, that suffers by a distance the greatest level of the problem, into the gutter and disregard them as you have here:

-around 1 in 3 victims of domestic violence is a man

-7 out of 10 murder/ manslaughter victims are men

(Look I can do statistics too)

But that’s not a problem right? If the parish star keeps playing what harm

Post edited by tritium on

Based on some comments here and the attitudes shown by some authority figures, male on male violence and female on male violence is most certainly downplayed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭cms88

Unfortunately I can’t give the answer I want to so I will just re-cap, our first interaction was you saying the following: 

“So assaults on men are alright according to you then?”

you then went on to say (on a reply to a post that had nothing to do with you), that I knew plenty about twisting peoples words, when shown the hypocrisy of your post above you’ve gone around in circles ending in asking me to explain myself (because you obviously can’t back up your post). Reply if you want I don’t really care, I’m going to leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭cms88

That's not what i asked. It was a pretty simple question was it not?

It's you that's going around in circles by not answering a very simple question about a post you made. Unless you're somehow trying to claim you didn't say it?

Do you think everyone who doesn't agree with you is just twisting your words?

The fact you're getting upset about what people say on an online form is quite funny. You'll of course say you're no getting upset despite the fact you clearly are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭celt262

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,936 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Mod Note

Leave at that and move on -both of ye.

Except I didn't argue that violence in general wasn't a societal issue, you are putting non-existent words in my mouth.

Like a number of other posters, you are engaging in a false dichotomy that says that highlighting one issue means you are downplaying other issues. Simply isn't true, and a fake debating style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭LeoD

I'm not deeply involved in GAA but at a league game last year in Croke Park we all had to stand up for a minute (probably in silence but can't fully remember now) for 'standing up against violence against women' protest/initiative/whatever you want to call it. I wasn't aware it was going to happen but I presume it must have been part of some GAA initiative that they obviously wanted to make everyone aware of. I hope we don't see any more of these kind of crowd involvement displays as that's all I think they are but if the GAA are this invested in highlighting this issue, I think it gives more context to JB's intervention (and you'd wonder why Naas would draw this on themselves also but that was their decision). We weren't standing up against lads fighting in night clubs but maybe we'll do that this year and if that does happen, we can discuss gaels guilty of such acts then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭crusd

There is a difference between being an individual team member and someone with responsibility over others

Some posters seem unable to get their head around this point.

Participation on an individual level in an amateur sport is a healthy way to encourage rehabilitation of offenders or those who have a cloud hanging over them.

Putting them into a position of authority and responsibility over others gives them a status that is not appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭Suckler

Senior/high performing players, even in an amateur game, are in positions of authority, responsibility and are constantly lionised within the GAA. Players/coaches like Gallagher are always brought in for juvenile medal presentations, coaching the odd session, speaking to teams before finals etc.

The line you propose is unrealistic; the nature of the GAA isn't as black and white as that.

Well yes, I wouldn't be using Connolly or Hayes to present medals to kids, but they shouldn't be stopped from playing the game. As I said already, no problem with Gallagher participating in playing football at club or inter-county Masters level, but, similarly, shouldn't be involved in presenting medals or coaching teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Are you trying to say that the punishment to be given to a person (who has responsibility over others e.g. manager) should be more severe than the punishment to be administered to a team member (who is not a manager). I am specifically referring to where that person carries out a violent act on another individual.

If so, how do you come to that notion? A violent act is a violent act - carried out by a human being. It doesn't matter if its carried out by a manager or not, the suffering for the victim is still the same. The crime should not be villified further if it is carried out by a manager as opposed to a player. And likewise, it should be be viewed as more trivial if carried out by a player as opposed to a manager. The law (I presume) does not take such matters into account, and the GAA (or any other body that decides to administer its own sanctions) should not either.

In any case, none of the above applies to Rory Gallagher anyway, as he has not been deemed guilty of anything.