Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan 2025 - Snow & Freezing Conditions - Discussion PART II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,452 ✭✭✭Dazler97

Freezing fog here in carrick -3ºc I'm in an orange warning for the 3rd night in a row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dank Janniels

Not to get off topic but surely if the school building is closed they can still do online classes like in lockdown?

Also dont all the missed days/ closures have to be made up at the end of the year so its not like they are missing out on anything

I would have thought all the TDs would be out and about helping people and even making more of a big deal outa all this to impress their voters, not complaining about the warnings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭noplacehere

There has been a circular in place governing unexpected closures such as for snow since 2010. Schools are required to make up the time in a variety of ways, starting with the skipping of extra curricular trips etc to give more time in the classroom or shortening house exams at second level right up to school running during the February midterm break and the Easter break. These are baked into the school calendars.

We open online nowadays as we are set up for online learning since covid (second level)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭Dickie10

yea days have to be made up and added on at summer time . So they might have to do an extra 3-4 days into June. Ye other way out if it is to have proof that classes were doing work via online communication so easy to do. Just put up a message saying take down these PowerPoint notes etc kids actually wouldn’t miss much in way of matieral in secondary in likes of biology, history etc maths English languages are harder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,661 ✭✭✭✭Basq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭lucalux

Freezing fog in Roscommon town, moderately dense.

Feels much, much colder in it than the dry frost of last night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭Ros4Sam24

I’m off for the 3rd day in a row without seeing settling snow this week. Tis very grand

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

Tonight could be the last night of frost for many of us with a warm up beginning tomorrow and temperatures likely to stay above freezing throughout tomorrow night and significantly milder air across the country by the time we wake up on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,164 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,634 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

-2.5 in Westport at 8:50 tonight (car reading). Freezing heavily.

Snow forecast for the morn apparently, if so it will be difficult driving. Outside of a few main roads the rest will be lethal after a bit of a sun thaw today and these temperatures tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Jakey Rolling

As it happens, TD Mattie McGrath (not one to miss an opportunity) was being praised for clearing the paths in a Clonmel estate. Fair play I thought, he must be fit - I had a hard time just shoveling my own driveway. Of course owning a plant hire company that contracts to the council helps, and he was actually using a snowplough attachment to do the job. Fair play anyhow, I don't suppose Simon Harris or Micheal were out clearing the roads.

100412.2526@compuserve.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭Sammy2012

I totally agree with you. You have to be very silly not to see that the climate is changing in front of our eyes. I'm not any sort of tin foil hat person either. Just someone who grew up in the country side and still lives here as an adult. We had snowy weather very regularly when I was a child. And we still do. Google photos is great for showing memories with my kids and last year was one of the first years we did not have lying snow on the ground for a day or 2. But we did have freezing weather. However I also have photos of flowers growing in my flower boxes taken on new years eve. Flowers that that had died off and due to the mild weather had bloomed again. That was maybe 3 or 4 years ago. We have to cut our grass year round now, where as years ago most didn't cut it from the end of October to March. There's buds on trees all the time and once the mild weather comes back next week growth will start again. You would have to be blind not to realise something is changing. And it's not for the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭FastFullBack

Warmer air coming in now. Temp has risen from 1.5 C to 3C in the last hour. 15 minutes outside Clonakilty right on coast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

I wouldn't have believed it until my Flight from London to Austin was cancelled because of weather, chilling in Detroit right now, currently a nice dry -4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

Ended up with around 3/4cm of snow this morning. Much more in some places to my west and some places to the east missed the showers altogether.

Eden park derry in the sperrins currently -8c. It’s not an official station but it’s not hard to believe either as it has snow cover.

Great to hear higher temperatures on the way in Clonakilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Neddyusa

Warmer air alright, but the rain, from the radar, seems to be dying away altogether before the coast.

Any rain with you yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭FastFullBack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭Artane2002

I got more photos today of a very wintry southwest Dublin/northwest Wicklow, including my first time seeing rime.

362F8969-19F6-4043-B324-F1C3563E28D6.jpeg 8ADCB0AE-7FD9-4479-A607-B4DB8B5D62D5.jpeg EDCFCDBB-DC01-4BA1-B99B-9DFF05C75A02.jpeg 7BC8330F-3415-468F-99DA-9E9461F7D1B0.jpeg F17F7D7F-B2B9-4D85-8A85-CFB07AA84EEE.jpeg AE27F22B-D0CF-4C57-A950-D149B77FBF24.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭nearby_cheetah

Don't worry, the cowardice to challenge teachers and ensure they do a full year's work will continue unabated.

Not only have they the longest holidays in Europe, shorted by the new February Bank Holiday, they'll use the weather to shorten the year even more under the guise of "online teaching" and cancelling sports days and trips, making a total mockery of the importance of non curricular activities to children. The teachers come before the children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭Slashermcguirk

Can't wait for milder weather, getting fed up with the ice at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,908 ✭✭✭yagan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭nearby_cheetah

Is anything I said incorrect? Perhaps you could enlighten us where I'm incorrect?

Can you simply cancel parts of your job to give yourself more holidays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,533 ✭✭✭Jeff2

The heater is turned on all the time and only heats up once the night saver meter turns on. You can't use a night saver heater in the day as it is connect to a different meter.

If is comes on at the wrong time them the meter is at fault.

The meter is not belong to you and I think is owned by electric ireland no matter who your provider is.

This in relation to what time a night saver heater comes on and if it is out of time from when it should come on.

Post edited by Jeff2 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭babyducklings1

Will be nice to have the milder temperatures next week and for those snowed/ iced in it’s been a bit like a lock down in a way. As things get back to normal, hopefully at the weekend, we’ll have spring to look forward to.Ive heard of a good few people falling on the icy paths and wonder if some will be presenting to gps with bone injuries etc. The snow is so beautiful to look at but then all the downsides and disruption it brings. Roll on bettter weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,881 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I’m not old but the past few days I’ve not bothered going out much (live in Kilkenny) as the footpaths are absolutely lethal- there’s zero pleasure in all the time watching your step and walking out on the roads. This spell was bad as regards mobility, I’d say there is a lot of injuries from falls unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Seadin

Most areas such as Mid Kerry, East Kerry, North Cork Limerick and South Tipperary should have been red warning status with the amount of snow that fell there. Maybe Met Eireann should start using electoral divisions to pin point worst affected spots going forward in extreme weather situations. There was a big difference between Cork city and North Cork for example with the weather received and snow. Cork city didnt get a flake of snow and some parts of North Cork got up to 12 inches of snow. I have to say the county councils in both Cork and Kerry have been as good as useless in remote areas. Just clear the main roads and leave the rest of us fxck off. Not good enough for one that couldn't even get out to the main road from back roads unless one had the tractor. If we ever get an unpredectant weather event in Ireland I worry how our services would actually cope. They knew this was coming and it was like 1950s Ireland in how we actually coped with it. Thanks to the stupid greens all new houses have no chimneys and heat pumps are great until the power goes out and then you have no water or heat. I put a stove into my house before they changed the regulations regarding chimneys. I hope they never get back into the government again those stupid twits. Frustrating but rant over for one that had no power and water for a time during this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭babyducklings1

You were better off and right to stay in. The paths were deadly and some still are. It’s probably going to take the weekend now to really thaw out. I think some people just had to go out and get food or people who would normally drive had to leave the car. Neighbours and families all helped each other out though which is great. Hopefully if anyone hurt themselves in a fall they’ll get the medical help they need. It was just every severe weather and I suppose we weren’t really prepared enough for it nor do we have the kind of equipment even down to footwear that you’d need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,452 ✭✭✭Dazler97

Definitely warmer in the south West now , down to -4ºc here in carrick

Screenshot_20250109_232657_Chrome.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

My battered snow spike winter boots came into their own this week. Very grateful I had them as our road was like an ice rink - I only saw 4x4s or tractors on it for a couple of days.

I’m too looking forward to seeing some warmer spring weather.. always a good time of year, lots of seed planting to do once Feb/March arrives

I must say though, it’s great to see snow and dry cold in January along with the blue skies, sunshine and star filled nights.. the visual interest gives us a much needed break from usual bland grey winter muck we usually get. Today out walking I felt like I was in the Alps with the compacted snow, icy cold and bright sunshine. It was quite something.

““Half the world is composed of people who have something to say and can't, and the other half who have nothing to say and keep on saying it.” - Robert Frost