Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,029 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Mods closing down long running threads unreasonably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,718 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

In shoes I take size 7 or 8 small for a man.

I bought a pair of runners in size 8 and felt they were a little big and size seven was to small.

The size 8 always annoyed me because I felt it was a little loose.

I then found size 7.5 and the size is better.

However I got so used to the size 8 I find the 7.5 to be tight now to.

Whar doesn't help was i bought a few pairs of the 7.5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Woke up feeling really Ill(one holiday day wasted) and was too dizzy to go down the three flights to the kitchen, so I rang to say I was sick and staying in bed(as dope would wait and wait and then forced me to go down the stairs so he could hear me say I wasn't getting up ) Ta1 this seemed to surprise ppl, calling down on the phone.

Ta2 drifted off and woke up almost 4 hours later, pain in my hip and the certainty that I won't sleep properly for nights now, freaking menopause!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,776 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Neighbours alarm going off through the night, again.
    If I have a faulty car, I won’t drive it. I’ll get it repaired.

If I have a rip in my rain jacket I won’t wear it, until I patch it or buy another.

So what the fûck is the logic behind, having a faulty house alarm but setting the thing anyway ? 😵‍💫 Absolute dîckheads. Knowing its going to really cause disrupted sleep and discomfort for probably upwards of 100 people.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Stupid question - are you absolutely positive it's faulty?

too regular an occurrence for it not to be…. The only alternative is that every second burglar in Dublin is targeting them.

I dunno what the craic is. I’m not even 100% sure what property it is ( though I have an idea ) as I’m usually well in bed before it goes off. Might take a walk / look see one of these evenings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Walked by an apartment building this morning, heard a dog continuously barking on a balcony. It was freezing. Poor thing. Probably left out while the owners headed off to work after the xmas break 🤬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,020 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Deregos.

Washed the car earlier and it looked great . . until it dried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,534 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

People listening to rince and repeat soccer/sport shite on their phones in public places on the phone speaker instead of headphones.

No, I don't care about Ipswitch Town/whatever now, never had, never will. I don't care if the brown horse wins the race again. I don't care. 😁

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Maybe they have set the alarm as away instead of perimeter only and they're still indoors? 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,142 ✭✭✭Comhrá

"Hang on while Windows reports the problem to Microsoft"…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,587 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

It’s more than trivial , but because I have a lorry licence I need a medical to renew it every 3 years . I did that in 2023 and never got my licence . Ringing them constantly and now , because it’s now out of date I have to spend more money to get a doctor to sign it and reapply fecking did ****

You know when people say "That's so passive aggressive"? Well, what would they prefer? Outright aggressive? Because as sure as hell being passive is not an option, when you've been wronged, people won't listen to reason and try and trample all over you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭thereiver

Every week I go to YouTube app it says manage accounts there's no exit button I don't want to make a new YouTube account there's no way to exit

In the meantime I can't use YouTube in a few days the dialogue box disappears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,769 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

try a different browser, I can view Youtube without an account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭thereiver

Yes. I can use the browser. But it won't show me the videos I subscribed to in a browser .

I like using the YouTube app it works 98 per cent of the time .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,029 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Called to lazy bastard neighbour's house, I swear I could make a tuna sandwich and shave myself without leaving the table there was so much crap up on it not put away.

ordering two copies of the same item on Amazon

If you require to open a door to access a room and other people are situated in said room. Please presume it as a necessary requirement by those inside that you close the door behind you when you come in, and once again following your exit from said room.

“I know what I’d like today, a draft and to be freezing cold !“…….said no fûcker, ever ! 🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,945 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

The way Americans casually think they are the no1 in the world at everything. New Orleans radio reporter states .”The Superbowl is the biggest sporting event in the world”

So I did a quick internet search -

It is the biggest American event and 8th in the world.

https://www.roadtrips.com/blog/the-most-watched-sporting-events-in-the-world/

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,424 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The "World Series" :)

There's a lot of dubious claims thrown around about sporting events and such like eg Eurovision but Americans are the biggest at hyperbole for sure.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,945 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

The worst part was he said it as if he knew it was true. So it had me doubting- thinking I didn’t know that. Maybe it is? And he was way off.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,587 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

The teenage ‘ sports ‘ in the darts . He’s hardly an athlete 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,534 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

When the abject suffering of someone is a way that others can earn a ridiculous level of comfort in comparison by copy/pasting their image and selling advertising off clicks. The use of the the word "favourite" is particularly jarring here.

Screenshot_20250103-112834.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Terence Rattigan

Not The Nine O Clock News did a spoof sketch on these “athletes” forty years ago that still holds up today. “Even Fatter Belly next up on the Oche!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,531 ✭✭✭Archeron

There was a guy in the office today fixing some of the electronic door releases. Standing on the ladder behind me, and what does he start singing?

What the world... Needs now....

I really really wanted to push him off the ladder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Deregos.

Drafts . .years back, I use to think my folks were exaggerating when they'd complain about feeling drafts. Now I'm older, I understand how they weren't imagining them, and my kids now have a snigger at me when I ask "if someones left a window open somewhere?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,452 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Periods are such an ordeal—5 to 7 days of dull, stabbing waves of pain that can be crippling, bloating, mood swings, constant bleeding, and just generally feeling awful. Trying to get strong painkillers at the pharmacy feels humiliating. You're questioned like a dirty addict and treated like you're exaggerating. To get what you need, you have to loudly explain that you're on your period, right there in the middle of the chemist, they ask you have you tried different painkillers (ones that dont work), and when you say you have they question you about it. It’s so invasive and patronising that it's easier to just avoid the hassle altogether and suffer through the pain.

Meanwhile, you have to go to work and live your life acting like nothing is wrong. Mentioning it makes people, particularly men, extremely uncomfortable. So you're left suffering in silence, feeling embarrassed about something entirely natural. It’s exhausting and unnecessary.