Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,746 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

That would enrage me. But typical of a lot of dog owners.

Like those that tie their bag of shjt to a branch and walk off.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

This is really trivial and really annoying.

When you stream a film and the images and audio go off-synch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,663 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

That some posters are so argumentative that they've managed to turn the thread giving out about the bouncy screen issue into a row about the rate of epilepsy in the general population and the location of most Boards users. Would yis ever just take a day off, seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,316 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

The ungrammatical misuse of the suffix -phobia. Homophobes, transphobes and islamophobes aren't afraid like arachnophobes are.

Today's TA is when stuff in your Amazon basket goes up by £30 overnight…. will you be partaking?

Screenshot 2024-12-31 162942.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,776 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

absolutely torrential rain…. postman, this morning..A delivery ‘professional’ decides….

“Have a delivery in packaging that is nicely sustainable but not plastic, not waterproof or water resistant, it’s paper, I know !.. hey, in this absolute deluge I’ll just leave it outside behind their planter. Dunno when the person will return, 8 minutes or 8 hours, or 8 days from now, but I do not care, I don’t have to carry it around “ 🤡

Grrr…Some water has in fact gotten in the packaging, luckily the contents, a light jacket inside was contained in a sealed bag also. 👌. Also lucky nobody saw it there and half inched it. A complete lazy bell end. 🤪🥊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Comhrá

People who insist on pressing the button at a pedestrian crossing even though I'm the only car in sight and would have passed by in three or four seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,587 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I don’t know why it annoys me but groups of young lads in the village all wearing shorts . I know it’s not freezing but still .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

I seen some clown on St Stephens day with a pair of huge sunglasses on as part of his ensemble 🙄

There's something comforting about being around someone who understands your need for silence & space. You don't have to fill the air with words or explanations, they just get it..

same it’s beyond weird… fellas walking about with big super warm winter puffer jackets… and shorts, it’s December, like why ? Are these weirdos trying to show off their legs ? 👀. Or why would you inconvenience yourself and invite pure cold like that… it’s, beyond bizarre..

My TA… neighbour from about 6.15 pm until 6.45pm.. non stop setting off fireworks… I look out the window, the guy is on his own… I always thought he was white Irish, maybe he has some Nepalese in him… Nepal celebrated new years at 6.15 our time. 👀

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Yes, I do see the irony of abandoning a black and white kitten on St. Sylvester's night, but I still hope you rot in hell, you bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Sacha_N

alarms going off now, after the fireworks.

people really are stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭ottolwinner

apparently the vibrations / sound trigger the sensors…. I had to google that cause I was wondering too.

Thankfully they’ve all stopped here..

TA 1…pins and needles and a dead foot. Suppose I was sitting on it. 🤦🏻‍♂️

TA 2… my wanker neighbours bringing out their bin and bashing it & scraping it at 3.45am…. Then realised they’d put out the wrong one, so dragged and scraped it being brought back in then out with the correct one again… an absolute cacophony in the AM tranquil quiet… abysmal humans

Post edited by Strumms on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

The endless ads for summer holidays that start on 26th Dec.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,626 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Hadn't a great holiday. There's a poster for Nosferatu at my local cinema which I was very much looking forward to but it turns out they're not showing it at all.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Fashion trumps comfort always where young people are concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,422 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

They haven't grown up to long trousers yet :)

Watching some old tv shows on BBC4, Britain in the 1930s and 1960s such as Box of Delights and a Child's Christmas in Wales and noticed how boys were in long shorts and knee socks no matter the weather.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭Bredabe

The breeze over the lake blew my €5 note(change) from the hand of the youngster's hand in the local shop, it drifted to the floor just in front of me. I squatted down to pick it up and when I straightened out I saw a shocked look on the face of the youngster.

Ta that it was assumed that my prematurely grey hair and "curvy" shape would make such a common move difficult to do. Ta2 it's still annoying me.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The 'look at us, the perfect family all together for NYE' smug group photo posts.

took an absolute age to get back to sleep following that second TA. I’m feeling it. Energy levels super low…There is seemingly nothing that I can do. a collection of proper weirdo geek oddballs. The mother of one, a very well know journalist was bragging a few years back how this young wan scored 400 + points in her leaving… “she’s so intelligent it’s scary” was the descriptor she used about her daughter….👀🥊

Unfortunately whilst she may have academic ability in abundance, she and her cohorts are absolutely bereft of the most basic cop on, basic consideration and the most basic of life skills, bins out and associated bashing and scraping racket at 3.45 am ffs, absolute state of them…. I genuinely wish them an abundance of unpleasantness and difficulty…. 😠

That Christmas films on telly this year we're generally crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,020 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

400 plus points in average, especially these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,534 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Journalism in Ireland is copying stuff off Reddit. People who regularly and knowingly disrupt other people's sleep should be locked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,534 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

People who hold onto stuff that clutters up the house and makes spaces unusable, and makes it impossible to even think or move forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭thereiver

There was a time in the past 50s 70 s where boys had to wear shorts up to a certain age think any one who wears shorts in Nov,December is a weirdo most of the Xmas films were ok average but the same ones they show every year. I read a story about a dj on BBC 1 fm he says if you cursed on the radio once f word you ,d be sacked .I think that's fashion every generation has its own trends

Gen z is fade haircut shorts and trainers or they watch YouTube American tv where all the men wear shorts because of course it's hot in America

I wonder what's the fashion for gen x maybe Nike clothes sneakers instead of shoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭thereiver

I go to a shop to buy a coat. There's no xxl coats on sale just xl or smaller i.ll have to look elsewhere . Theres always plenty of xl coats in every shop

I registered in the neogaf forum it says all new members will be checked by moderators that's three days ago . So I can't post in a thread until I get permission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,422 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I somehow managed to scratch my face in bed last night while turning over half awake, my thumbnail catching my cheek. Hmm.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I bought a pair of chinos online from River Island which turned out to be at least two inches too small at the waist. I was thinking to myself “Jaysus Sarge, you’re getting fat after the Xmas feasting” because I got size 36S. All my other trousers are size 36S though and they still fit perfectly.

In insomnia 😡😡 . Bloody tablets aren’t worth a shite. Now I need to stay awake as I have calls to make .