Cocaine Destroying Rural Ireland

• Site Banned Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Raichų

not sure what this idea is based off. People who smoke cannabis aren’t all hippies like.

I find myself to be as much the same with or without it except with a joint or two I can sleep a bit better and I’m able to eat more. Have issues with both of them and it’s the best remedy I’ve found.

I certainly don’t prance around with flowers in my hair greeting people like “heyyyy maaaaaan stop ruining the buuuuuzzzz”. It’s stereotypical nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭zv2

I once saw a documentary on cocaine use. Showed a brain with holes burrowed into it.

Again, I posted the Bukowski video to highlight an observation you can make yourself - or at least one I have made; all regular dope smokers I have known are visibly damaged people (psychically damaged). Bob Geldof, in his autobiography Is That All tells about the first time he smoked weed. He went crazy and ran out of the house and tried to kill himself by banging his head on a nail sticking out of the wall. Granted, not all people will do this but it shows how psychoactive weed can be.

Anecdote and cultural reference are good enough. Seeing what you are looking at is also good enough. Look at them.

It looks like history is starting up again.

It is not about hippies. "Heyyy man" is about being so laid back the individual has stopped functioning.

@Raichų "I find myself to be as much the same with or without it except with a joint or two I can sleep a bit better and I’m able to eat more. Have issues with both of them and it’s the best remedy I’ve found."

At best dope smokers are so sedated they, generally, don't realize their full potential. Regular dope smokers don't usually become brilliant in their business or vocation etc.

If you have these issues why not get to the root cause?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,558 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

So let’s say we identify the underlying issues, if some people are shown to have a predisposition toward addiction should there be prohibition for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,759 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

I’m sure you’ll be able to link to that documentary pretty easily, right?

Marijuana doesn’t physically damage people, do you mean that you are seeing people who are high? I hope you know that it passes after a few hours, it’s not permanent.

Marijuana doesn’t make you run out of the house and try to kill yourself, the worst thing that can happen is you will get the munchies and eat the fridge, maybe laugh yourself to death, or a bit of paranoia. Again, it all passes.

Sounds a bit hyperbolic, what Geldof might have said, again I’m sure you can link to that. Thanks.

Unfortunately, anecdotal and cultural references are not good enough. Evidence and data surpass all of that, and it surpasses what you claim you’ve seen as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,423 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

drug use would be common enough is many professions, including high positions in the financial and corporate sectors, so….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,423 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

most underlying issues have already been identified, here i am listening to tim fletcher, who has been running addiction treatment centers for 20 years, and in his opinion, cptsd is one of the most common psychological issues with most in treatment, and most, if not all humans are capable of experiencing such, so…..

Well what is a predisposition? Lust for booze? Many people go to the pub out of a kind of alcoholic version of gluttony. Or they drink out of self-pity, or escapism, or they don't have sufficient character to meet the problems of life head on. I'm not talking here about social drinkers. But if someone has to get transmogrified on a regular basis there's something wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,121 ✭✭✭✭zell12

This study claims there may be a genetic component. So maybe a tiered approach to legalization?

https://nida.nih.gov/news-events/news-releases/2023/03/new-nih-study-reveals-shared-genetic-markers-underlying-substance-use-disorders

Very common in my industry, along with micro dosing of magic mushrooms, which is really fun and great for creativity.

You’d be very surprised how many people consume weed, and you don’t see them.

Cocaine and Brain Aging

As a person grows older, their brain will naturally change and begin to lose gray matter. In a healthy brain, this is a decades-long process, and it does not appear until a person has reached older adulthood. Memory problems, changes in cognitive ability, and even dementia are linked to reduction of gray matter.

A recent study through the University of Cambridge examined the aging of the brain in people who used cocaine and those who had no previous history of substance use. The group found that the average brain normally loses 1.69 milliliters of gray matter per year; however, people who had used cocaine in the past, or who were currently cocaine-dependent, doubled the rate of gray matter loss, for an average of 3.08 milliliters per year.5

Another study, conducted by Johns Hopkins University on rodents, suggests that cocaine may cause brain cells to cannibalize themselves. The study describes cocaine triggering autophagy in neurons in mice, or the process of the cells eating themselves from the inside out. The cells threw out useful resources during metabolism, leading to a stress reaction of cannibalizing other internal cell structures.

The Effects of Cocaine on the Brain: Mental Effects of Cocaine

Geldof's story is in his book. Can't find a reference online.

As for evidence and data. It is well know that marijuana causes psychic damage.

Your original claim was the cocaine “burrows” in the brain, that is not the same or anywhere near what your link here claims, so you’re either searching for difference evidence or moving the goalposts. It also says that it “may” cause cannibalisation, not that it does.

Don’t get confused with me being in favour of cocaine. It’s a scummy drug that clearly does damage, but let’s be clear on what kind of damage it does before we get hyperbolic in here.

You’ll forgive me when I say I don’t believe the Geldof story, marijuana just doesn’t do that. It’s scaremongering, or ignorance at best.

If it’s well known then please post the evidence. Psychic damage, is this long lasting, temporary, permanent? Or just made up?

Beware of 'studies' telling you there is a genetic component. Back in the day there was a lot of talk about the 'alcoholic gene'. The genes made me do it. But that gene went out of fashion and the theory has been largely discarded now. There is a tendency in medicine, sociology and science in general to ascribe all manner of things to genes. But these associations are not at all clear and easy to demonstrate. There has emerged a kind of Gene-of-the-gaps theory whereby if something is not clearly understood someone says 'must be a gene in there somewhere' Yeah, must be a gene.

There is a fundamental caution in science: Correlation is not necessarily causation. (Correlation does not imply causation - Wikipedia) Time and time again I have seen scientists, as they call themselves, blatantly ignore this caution.

Just because a gene is correlated with addiction does not mean the gene is responsible. Genes are genes. They were there long before cocaine addiction. This is a very murky and not at all well understood area. And whenever I see 'there may be a genetic component' I throw my hands up in despair.

Whether or not it's genetic or environmental or some kind of environmental not helped by genetic, there is going to be an issue of how to deal with addicts if drugs are legalized. Injection sites are well and good, but is it a case of just getting the problem out of the public eye but not deal with the underlying problem? Or there is the Portland and San Francisco approach of shur it's grand, let them do what they want.

I think I watched that same documentary except it was about gas station sushi and the perils therein.

I think you are mixing them up.

@Frank Bullitt "You’ll forgive me when I say I don’t believe the Geldof story, marijuana just doesn’t do that. It’s scaremongering, or ignorance at best."

Well, it's in his book. No, marijuana doesn't do that, to most people, but it can have dramatic psychic effects. I personally know one person who smoked it and got a panic attack and ran into the police station looking for help. Again, I'm not saying that is the way with everyone but it does illustrate the fact that dope has a psychic effect.

Right well what I can say is as a “dope smoker” I went from junior to senior positions as a chef within 24 months based on my drive and ability to multi task in a manner women would be jealous of.

I’ve since changed to sales and have absolutely flown it so far. I’m a very, very driven individual and certainly not laid back and useless. I think these silly stereotypes do nothing but make the perpetrators look a bit silly and give me a chuckle.

I’m not going to go in depth with you about this but I can confidently assure you I’m not “laid back” and I also don’t smoke weed 24/7 or every waking hour; but if you’re response is then “ah but I mean those people” well then I really don’t want to talk to you anymore because you’re suggesting everyone who smokes is an addict or something.

If someone drinks on a Saturday night and becomes so inebriated they can’t quite remember their home address; would you call them a useless or lazy person? Of course you wouldn’t.

But if they spend every waking hour in that state you’d rightly call them so. However that’s the difference between using it recreationally and responsibly and abusing it.

If there’s nothing wrong with a fella getting blasted on vodka and pissing himself in the Main Street I really don’t understand why it’s unacceptable for me to have a joint and be a bit of a funny cnut or just be relaxed. What’s the big deal there?

Cells 'cannabilising' each other. Can't be good. I would not be surprised if it did physical brain damage - (5) Video | Facebook

yeah but to be fair lad I know a fella who drank so much he got sick to the point of passing out and clocking his head off the toilet bowl and suffering brain damage

I also know lads who’ve actually drank themselves to death (obviously they were problem drinkers)

I know my own brother drank too much while in college out with the lads that he’s given himself stomach problems as a result.

I’m not trying to compare or contrast but alcohol is completely legal here and look what it does to people— but drugs are bad mmkay.

Sorry, but if you think your story is meant to scare, it’s more hilarious than anything.

No one is denying it has an effect, that is the point. I’m debating the extreme levels of danger you seem to think it has, when it just doesn’t have them.

No, it’s clearly not good.

I’m not sure you are, but if you’re trying to compare marijuana and cocaine and their effects, you are on a serious apples to oranges train there pal.

My main argument is that continued use has incremental psychic effects and when all these increments are added up they can become traumatic. By various circumstances I have been in contact with many drug users. They are seriously damaged people. I'm not saying if someone sniffs cocaine once they will go crazy. But it is rarely once, or twice, or 50 times. It becomes a compulsion, as you know. Long terms use of cocaine can make people violent. I have seen this.

I’m talking more about marijuana though, and you move the goalposts with cocaine.

Are you saying that anything addictive should be banned then or what?

I think that what is now banned should remain banned. Legalizing drugs can give the impression that they are ok or even good - "sure 'tis legal". Legal can become normal and normal can become 'good'. You know how some people think.

But isolating the drug thing and talking about it in isolation is not the way to go. I many ways drug use is exacerbated by many problems in society. This does not excuse anybody for being stupid enough to get addicted but a world where people can find real fulfillment in healthy ways would help a lot. But the world itself is badly damaged.

Well at one point, alcohol was illegal in certain parts of the world, but that’s not the case now. It’s the same as well with weed, it’s predominantly harmless, yet in Ireland it’s called a “gateway” drug, which it just isn’t. Much in the same way that same sex marriage is now legal, and abortion, both of which are good things for society. You not wanting to change the status quo and your reasoning are pretty weak.

As for the second part, people aren’t “stupid” if they get addicted, they are sick and need aid. You saying that I think shows where your biases lie here, you look down on people with addition issues, that’s a sad state for a society to be in. I hope you’re open minded enough to learn about the error in your ways here, it’s a very backwards way of thinking.

I'm not comparing them. Marijuana may be worse than cocaine. People say 'sure I've been smoking for the last 20 years and it has done me no harm'. How do they know it hasn't? What kind of person would they be if they had not smoked? They can't know that. Maybe they would have discovered how to do cold fusion or became a renowned musician or whatever. I smoked some of the stuff a long time ago, in my 20s. Not good.