Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,887 ✭✭✭blackwhite

He was at his old school distributing Christmas presents to kids, and Henry Winter just happened to be hanging around the school so Marcus decided to have a polite chat with him………..

Defo wasn't tipped off by Rashford or someone in his camp to tag along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

Does Amorim have more wins than Pep in City's last 11 games?

Imagine telling someone that back n October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Caustic

The manager said Garnacho is an intelligent runner and great at finding the pockets, I said he is way better then rashford but that's fairly obvious watching games it's one of the reasons garnacho gets all the chances he makes a balls of and rashford doesnt.

I never said they were don't try out words on my mouth I'm talking about profiles at 10 we have loads that can play there depending what the manager wants. Rashford only position he can possibly have is one of those 10s he is not a striker he is not a cm he is not a wing back, so he doesn't need replacing in the position he can play in.

He put Bruno back there and brought Mainoo on so presumably Bruno is his next choice after mount, neither who are the same profile as rashford btw.

If rashford doesn't pull up his socks in training he might not even be a bench player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,742 ✭✭✭✭JRant

The way INEOS have been fairly ruthless since taking over the football side of the club, is there even a way back for Rashford at this stage?

Marcus is very astute when it comes to PR so he's fully aware what it means to put a message like that out.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,876 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

When Yoro is fit to start RCB regularly Maz will move wide right so Amad will move up into the right #10 role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,314 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

henry winter speaking below. the interview was actually planned for last week but got pushed back.

wonder what he would have said last week?

So Amorim didn't say Garnacho made more intelligent runs than Rashford.

Do you not think Rashford has been making good attacking runs the last few years? They have been less effective with Bruno playing deeper last season and Garnacho and Højlund not really playing him in but the runs are still being made.

Amorim himself has said that he wants to get Rashford back to his best as United are better with him and it's very simple.

Asking a question is not attempting to put words in your mouth. You've clarified what you meant. Rashford has played striker before quite well and basically played there the Everton game he was the most advanced player and got 2 goals. He is basically the 3rd choice striker and 2nd choice at both the 10 positions now imo with Bruno and Amad the first. Would be a bit light without him no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,941 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

IMO there are two different 10 roles. more central creative player, and a runner.

Mount, Bruno - central creative (and I think Amad can do it too).
    Garnacho, Rashford, Amad - runner.
    I reckon Amad was played as the runner, so when Mount came off Bruno was the natural replacement.

Mount and Bruno not having the same profile as Rashford doesn't really make a difference. Both have a different profile to Garnacho too.

And I would say of course Rashford does need replacing. You'd be getting rid of him cause he is not up to the standard you expect or want - but you would plan on the expected stadard.

We don't replace Rashford and our 10 position players are

Garnacho - lots to prove, should be given time.
    Bruno - we should be looking at replacing him in the next couple of seasons, and also plenty say he can't play the role.
    Amad - Yep, I like him - but I'd still be wary of him being top top class - I reckon key squad player might be his ceiling but I'd give him the time to find out.
    Eriksen - should be gone in the summer - he presses worse than Rashford.
    Mount - can't play more than 45 minutes without getting injured.
    Antony - less goals and assists than Rashford over the last 18 months.

IMO You have 3 viable options, and question marks over all of them.

That isn't to say keep Rashford - he has massive question marks (or answers…) over him. But if you sell Rashford you have created the squad room to replace him and we 100% should be getting a first choice top quality player for that position to replace him.

Not only should Rashford be sold, and replaced, but Eriksen should be sold, Antony should be sold and you'd have to be a moron to rely on Mount at this point. Would be like saying we don't need a LWB cause Shaw will be back soon.

I thought we looked so slow going forwad without Mazraoui and Dalot at WB, need a winger on one side at least to provide the quick attacking needed.

Thought maybe Yoro at RCB playing the ball quicker than MDL is a solution and the problem wasn't Mazraoui at RWB,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,876 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Oh I'd no problem with Maz RWB. It helped us. I just meant Yoro getting fit enough to start means both Amad and Maz can shift up one place along the right side leaving them both in their most natural positions.

Ideally we can trigger Alvaro's buy back and have him replace Dalot at LWB possibly starting to give that left side a bit of shape.

I get loosing Rashford leaves us a bit short with regard the #10 spots but if that money can get us an actual LWB I think Amorims system would really start working.

I phrased that badly the manger praised garnachos running ability that it's intelligent and he finds the pockets of place well.

Here's what I think rash and garnacho get sthe same opportunities in the same team and garnacho is always being found every game (weather he is coming on or starting) in great positions many times, rashford does not, the only variable is the played what are they doing differently if they are making runs as you said before rashford does all the time. One must be making food runs and one not.

Yes the manager said that and we will see if that's the case, he also said he needs to work hard which means he hasn't been.

Rashford has never ever had a run of games as striker where he has played well consistently as you say he is third behind Hojund who you have loads of problems with and zirkzee who has been poor.

I can't see how you say he'd be 2nd choice at 10 he didn't even make the squad the last day. But without the mess garnacho is ahead of him, Erikson is a more like replacement for Bruno then rashford would be.

We have about 6 options or more 10s I can't see how youd say we a light much lighter at wing backs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Screenshot_2024-12-18-13-37-23-909.jpg

We beat our City rivals in the last minute at their stadium and yet it's drama again.

Id agree with most of it, I guess my point is player wise we are good at 10s both in numbers and in the first two choices ability for now but we aren't a wing backs especially lwb so of we sell rashford is prefer to see the money on him spent there then on a 10 as it'd make a bigger difference, now maybe we can say that is replacing him but that's all my point is really.

As you point out there is a lot of work to do with the squad and the rash situation probably gives us an opportunity to fix a hole we wouldn't have got without the selling him.

All that being said finding a buyer for him Will be hard work. A loan probably doesn't do much for us financially as we'd end up covering his wages with the fee but would tell us what the manager really thinks I'm suppose.

If you were to sell Rashford for 40milliion in January, from a PSR amoritization point of view that would free up a HUGE amount of transfer spend and over 7million in wages for the remainder of the season.

If we could invest that (and we may not be able to, money might be that tight/bad) we should have no issue with buying both a lwb and a player to replace Rashford.

IMO the issue with replacing rashford is finding the right player, available. I don't think INEOS would buy a 3rd or 4th choice target in January if they think a first or second could be got in the summer. Like I can see Cunha leaving Wolves in January, and I think he would do well in that spot - but do United want him badly enought to spend in january and close off that position before the summer? But then who, signficantly better, could we get in the summer, especially if we don't make the CL

Well by the same reckoning there is Malacia, Shaw, Maz, Dalot, Antony, Amad for the wing back roles so no problems there. That's similar to saying the likes of Eriksen, Mount, etc.

Well quite simply Rashford has played both 10 positions the last couple of weeks and has already played striker for Amorim. I think Amorim hoped that dropping him would illicit a reaction but the reaction appears to be that he's done with the club.

Now I don't know if they've sacked the media manager at the club but whatever person didn't realise that Rashford was going to his primary school with journalists hanging about with unfettered access to him for 8 minute chats deserves to be sacked.

That's the thing with the finances they sound like they are fairly stretched alright. So wasn't sure what we could do about the money.

I guess it's a little semantics but if we were buying a good enough 10 we'd be replacing Bruno more so then rashford in my head. And then Bruno takes a squad roll maybe filling in as a 10 or a 6.

Although maybe I shouldn't start a Bruno debate right now 😂

That's fair alright in terms of numbers and I do actually hold more hope for malacia then most.

It's just at the 10s our beta players are amad and Bruno probably right not it's shaw at lwb but he won't play and neither dalot or malacia are probably good enough for what we want.

So it's the next logical place to get a player in for me.

Well he certainly got a reaction that's for sure one which I don't see going down too well.

I guess we will see, I really wish rash hadn't said what he said mainly because I believe it'll be hard to sell him and loaning him out won't do much for us

I Wonder will he go for Pedro Gonçalves from Sporting as a Rashford replacement, knows the system and has put up good numbers in Portugal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

This is who I thought of but I think we're all a bit scarred by ETH signing his ex players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,214 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Yeah, Amorim seems smart enough to avoid some obvious pitfalls and going after his old players is something he should avoid. When you have access to the "Manchester United" level of transfers you really should have more ideas than just going for lads you worked with at smaller clubs.

If he goes for Sporting players he'd better be damn sure they will succeed, because if they don't he will get hammered for it.

Yeh thats true, for every Mazraoui there's an Antony!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭IBrows89

Reports are Garnacho in squad for tomorrow but Rashford not.

Be interesting why Amorim says he's left out and if he'll be an option for the weekend or moving forward. Difficult one to handle.

He was sent home with a temperature on Monday… they'll claim he wasn't fit/well enough to go I reckon. Not believable, but they will say it.

Mount injury apparently a bad enough one, again, because of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,227 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

"Reports"?

Hopefully not the Garnacho's brother variety lol.

Mount simply does not do a week or two injured. Should be his last season with us and move him on in the summer.

To where, is the problem. Can't get on the pitch, can't fool people into thinking their tactics will get more out of him.

Would he fancy playing in Switzerland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,314 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

here's the traveling squad for tomorrow.

i think this game is near impossible to predict, but hopefully something like a crazy 3-2 win.

rashford not travelling, same as mount who is apparently out for 2 months.

How is Mount SSSSOOOOOO broken? Like there has to be a legit medical reason his muscles seem to fall apart under any intensity.

With Shaw I assume the reconstruction of his leg altered his structure and has caused such problems.

Mount had a pelvic issue, twice, the season before we signed him. Did something happen with that recovery that has compromised anything connected? Like he was generally grand before that.

Very true, it'll be hard to shift him alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭BenK

Yeah the Mount one is pretty bizarre. It has to be more than just bad luck because it's been a serious of constant breakdowns since he's been at the club. It's a real pity because there is a player of genuine quality there I feel.