Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,226 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Agreed, I don't see how it reflects badly on the club. They've backed him time and time again. Manager after manager has given him the opportunity to cement his place in the team and he, and he alone, has failed miserably to do so on a consistent basis.

I'd have absolutely loved to see him make it. Even after all the inconsistencies of the past few years I held out hope that he'd find his rhythm as one of the 10s in Amorim's system.

It's for the best that he leaves. Best for him, best for the club, best for the manager.

It will be hard to find a buyer, partly because of his recent poor performance and questionable attitude, partly because of his massive wages and partly because it's now very clear that both the player and the club want/need a departure.

But if we can get £50m for him, plus his wages off the books, then that money can go to great use strengthening the squad.

Post edited by DrPhilG on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭17togo

How does it reflect poorly on all? It only reflects poorly on Rashford that he couldn't be bothered to work hard enough to nail down a starting spot for the club he's grown up in. And bringing the race argument into it is lazy and frankly insulting. Nobody in here has ever went that direction with this debate. It's exactly what Richards was trying to do after the game too. He's getting flack because his attitude on the pitch stinks and he's been underperforming for so long, while getting a huge wage, nothing to do with race.

As I said before he was given more chances than anyone to play himself into form.

I really don't get why he is being held in such high regard by some here. If he had 3 or 4 top class seasons behind him then yeah fair enough. He's an academy graduate that failed to live up to the expectation or hype that surrounded him, but did well financially out if it.

Again nobody but himself to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I suppose with that interview gives me a positive that wages wont block his transfer.

I can see him going to Spain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭DataDude

Where to? Madrid already have trouble accommodating all their attacking talent. Rashford not fit to lace the boots of at least 6 of their attacking players.

Barca fairly broke and not sure he gets much minutes for them. Who else in Spain has the money?

The only place I can see it making sense is PSG. Or maybe Arsenal/Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,211 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I know who will shout "witchhunt" now but whatever, I would still ask the question of why every Rashford headline gets followed up by a PR fluff piece a few days later? That "quote" from Winter is as obvious as hell.

Why not just follow Maguires lead and say nothing, just work hard on the field to prove everybody wrong?

I still had hopes of him hitting one of his streaks and bumping the price up, but if it appears he has been unequivocally told to go then I guess that won't be happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭DataDude

I really don’t picture Rashford as a Simeone player but who knows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,941 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

What players have excelled at united in the last 10 years?

Like ffs we have given out about the glazers abd the environment they created, we rage against it, and not ONE ounce of consideration is given to the chance that maybe the team and staff abd environment Rashford entire professional career has been with has had an negative impact on him.

So we give managers the excuse of the environment but nothing to the players.

Fair play.

What has "most important player in the team" got to do with anything? Nobody said he was.

I have no idea what Casemiro getting more money has to do with anything, it doesn't appear to change anything the OP said at all.

The racism angle, I'll not even bother with that.

I find it strange that here we are again thinking that all it takes it 5 players to come in when Summer rolls around and it will all be fine and dandy. The club bought well during the Summer and are as bad as ever.

The assumption is that Amorim will improve it but we're already in the situation where they need an LWB, an RWB, maybe 2 midfielders, 2 number 10s that play how Amorim likes and a striker who actually regularly scores goals.

That's assuming Shaw, Eriksen, Mount and Casemiro are not in the figuring due to injury and contract status. Who knows about Antony, Zirkzee, Malacia and Lindelof. So where is this money going to come from? How are all of these outgoings and imcomings going to work?

INEOS are already penny pinching and the club are very close on PSR. Hopefully Amorim keeps the players there onside as that is a lot of turbulence in a squad, especially now with a local product and highest goalscorer at the club being told to leave.

Others have said this and I've never quite understood why, Arteta really doesn't strike me as the type to allow a player of Rashford's workrate in the squad.

The post I responded to said it.

Yeah, you wouldn't want to actually engage in a discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,409 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Nail on the head here. Maguire got absolute dog's abuse at times, far worse than rashford, and was 100% professional even when dropped. Also even when his form was poor, you could not accuse him of not being bothered or putting in the effort

Even when Maguire plays well he still has to put up with unfair criticism from many.

Shows a completely different character and professionalism imo.

I know we view football differently, but Rashford is paid to do a job at the end of the day. If he is not willing to do it, then better off elsewhere imo

Post edited by caviardreams on

A discussion about racism? No, because nobody on here has criticised Rashford for being black, unless you want to claim otherwise?

People make valid criticisms and you respond with saying its racism, that doesn't deserve discussion.

People raged against Richards, on the very last page, calling him an idiot, when imo his defensive was driven by the racist attacks Rashford has suffered his entire career. I was giving possible context to where his defense was coming from. But yeah, you don't want to touch that. Fair play.

I didn't say the criticism of him lately was racist, so retract that accusation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭Charlie69

This is rubbish to be honest …. It’s not about whether Rashford has excelled or not it’s about his attitude. I’m repeating myself but the fans will forgive loss of form but lack of effort is just inexcusable.

We have a new coach just in the door who I’m pretty sure would have started everybody off on a clean slate and he has already had to leave him out of a squad for attitude problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,867 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Having come up through the youth team, I had hoped his statement would have been to say he'd buckle up and try and regain what he previously had..…unfortunately it seems to be a case of "I'm out of here". Would expect this from the likes of Pogba.

We'll never know, but i wonder how things are internally. His visit to the school today is not mentioned on the website ( in fairness.... probably not a club thing), although if any good PR was to be made.... this was a perfect opportunity.

Assume the interview wasn't sanctioned by the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,875 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Trying to hide any critique as being race-based and using that as a shield is really pathetic.

De gea, who never got better at crosses or ball playing. Great shot stopper. Did he become a more rounded better keeper? Imo no. His shot stopping remained great, his weaknesses remained.

And isn't Bruno another of the players people on here say is holding is back, too stupid to follow instructions and cost ETH his job, along with Rashford?

But overall, I find it wild people will say the environment held back abd ruined managers. But players? Nah, no impact on them. All their own fault. 100%, them. The club bear no responsibility for the careers of the players it employs.

I thought Richards and Keane actually had a good reasoned debate before Neville got into the studio and just dismissed what Richards said, not taking anything on board and just shaking his head. Keane sitting there was listening and made his points about running back being David Beckham and Ryan Giggs ran back which isn't a great point imo. Richards view has been dismissed from the comments I've read and in a wider context online, not just Neville.

It reminds me somewhat of when Troy Townsend defended Sancho on Football Weekly after the Ten Hag issue. I did kind of a double take as I didn't agree with Sancho at all but it was an interesting listen. The others on the podcast I believe disagreed too but took the points as an alternate view.

The dismissal of Richards by Neville and words like "race card" being used in comments when there is a legitimate talking point there doesn't quite sit well.

I thought Richards made some great points but Neville just sat there shaking his head trying to make points about anyone other than Rashford. Richards tried to keep it on Rashford which is what they were talking about but Neville was all over the place.

I agree with Keane's later take that Rashford and Garnacho should be embarrassed to be left out and come back with a reaction. We'll see what the quotes this evening mean for that but if he's gone in 2 weeks it will be a shame.

Yeah, if someone was doing that it sure would be. Shame for you that no one is, and it would be willfully disgraceful to suggest someone on here is.

Just as it would be willfully disgraceful and ignorant, imo, to suggest that the attacks Rashford has suffered in his career are no different to maguire. Criticism of his game, sure, OK. To suggest that's the only criticism Rashford has got? Laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭maximus15

Rashford needs a fresh start , hasn't looked committed to the cause for majority of last couple of years , possibly his headspace doesn't suit professional soccer anymore or for the foreseeable. He gets so much crap because he is a very gifted footballer and just doesn't apply himself enough in recent times . Clean break is needed for all parties .

Feels like we have to try sell him in January, but I can't think we'll be able to get a target we want to replace him in January. With the finances as they are, losing any player for the second half of the season without replacing them would be a worry.

I reckon cunha could be got in January, but would he be the guy we go for, to be first choice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭kerplun k

Rashford moving is best for everyone involved.

He needs the move as much as we do.

The current situation reminds me of Beckhams final season, where the player and club have a toxic combination and becomes a media circus.

Id actually love to see Rashford at Real Madrid. I think he could really find his spark again in that team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

12 min clip from after the game. I haven’t seen anything else before or after so if I’ve missed something else then fair enough. I did hear him say he feels something untoward has gone on off the pitch on the podcast with Shearer and Linekar - what’s he basing that on?

The statements / points that Richards made:

”You must feel sorry for them though” “home grown player” - why? (Not relevant imo)

“I feel like every time we talk about Man United, I think Rashford is a little bit of a scapegoat at times” - ask yourself why? Who stands out as someone who cannot be bothered?

”Whenever there’s problems, Rashford gets the blame” - I don’t think that’s entirely accurate. I don’t think when there are wider problems, people default to saying it’s Rashford’s fault. Again, I don’t think what he’s saying is relevant to the discussion of him being dropped.

Micah then tries to defend him not running back by saying those who do at City have had a constant manager who set the standards. “Marcus Rashford doesn’t run back for no reason” a bizarre thing to say - he shouldn’t need a constant manager to work hard and try to win the ball back. “I’m giving an alternative view” - there doesn’t always need to be an alternative view.

On why does Amad run back and Rashford doesn’t - “it’s different for Rashford, he’s got the world on his shoulders, it’s pressure” - absolute nonsense and not a valid excuse.

Gary: why has Amorim who has only just come in decided I don’t want you in my match day squad.
    Micah: His way of playing, wants his front 3 to work as hard as possible (exactly the point!!!) - goes on to say about not knowing what role he will play and then “maybe attitude we don’t know that” and was then told what the manager has said which basically says we do know.

Richard’s wanted to make it all about Rashford and Neville reminded him that it’s about Garnacho too, at least once but I think it was twice.

I have no idea what you could take from that clip to think Richard’s has made any compelling argument worth listening to.

They already have issues with vini and mbappe wanting to be in that left channel.

Psg are the only ones I could see being realistic right now. Even then I'm not sure.

Gonna be a tough sale to push through imo. You've a limited market at the best of times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Ball playing wasn't an issue when he was arguably the best goalie in the world.

Just because people here moan about Bruno doesn't mean he hasn't excelled, look at his stats ffs.

You asked for examples and I gave 2 and rather than accept it you as usual come up with ridiculous (especially Bruno) reasons not to agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭BenK

Look if you want to give him some leeway for the environment then fair enough. Even if you are willing to grant him that, his attitude has just been poor for so long. Plenty of other players have been in the same environment and have still applied themselves at the very least and haven't looked like they'd rather be doing practically anything else.

The environment argument is just too much of a free pass for me as well. Can you not criticize him because of the environment? I'm just trying to look at his performances objectively and they haven't been good enough. For too long.

To be honest I'm tired of the talk about Rashford. There's far more talk about him than is warranted. Overall he's been an ok player for the club and I think it's time he's moved on considering what he now contributes, the money he's on, and the potential detrimental impact his moping around will have on others. Simple as that for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,226 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

What racist remarks has Rashford faced his entire career? I know he got a lot of abuse along with the 2 other lads after the penalty shootout, and I'm not belittling that as it was disgusting. But I don't recall him being a regular target for racist abuse through "his entire career".

I'm sure a lot of black players will face such abuse at times from the knuckle draggers but I don't see Rashford facing more than any other player of colour. Nor so I see how that explains or has anything to do with Rashford's career trajectory.

Bringing it into the conversation now implies that it is relevant to the situation he finds himself in and that is (in my humble opinion) absolute nonsense.