Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,912 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Self centered, me me me people, who get ratty and narky when you don't agree with them, would they ever just go take a running jump ffs .

Rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Also snobs who think they are better than everyone else and love to let you know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,912 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

That's another one that annoys me too! La di da they think they are, Hyacinth Bouquet type people 🤣

Being nearly constantly hungry when the cold weather starts. An hour after having breakfast you are starving again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Just back from a weekend away and was reminded of a TA that bugs me, hotel residents going down to breakfast in pyjamas and slippers. How did that even become a thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Away for the weekend to soak up some Christmas athmosphere ( and alcohol) . Weather couldnt really have been much worse and now back at work looking out at a nice bright day 😡

Was it Irish people doing it? I haven't seen this before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,977 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

If you were to sit waiting in a supermarket car park and watch the comings and going of some of the drivers, you wouldn't park a rusty bicycle in some. 😀

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭ollaetta

No, it was in Amsterdam and they were English. Saw it last year also in Glasgow so maybe it originated in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,748 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Stanley cups. Never seen anything so ridiculous. If ever there was clear evidence of how easily people (idiots) are manipulated then that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,458 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Folks, give over with this “man e” when saying many. It’s “men e”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

My brother is home from abroad with his wife and two kids for a month. First time meeting the little one, only 8 months old, she is a dote and I'm totally smitten.

My TA you ask? Was told today that they, along with my other brother, his wife and my mother, are going to visit and stay with relations next weekend, and I wasn't even asked if I would like to come along.

Now as it happens I have to work so wouldn't be able to go anyway (although I have structured my Mon-Fri shifts to spend as much time as I can with the kids), but its the thought that counts and I would have liked to be asked at least. Its a recurring theme of being an afterthought though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,777 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

changed mobile phone provider…

Me: “I’d like to keep my old number please.” Him: “Ok not a problem.”

New sim pack arrives and guess what, different number. 🙄

The little arsehole was only in his early 20’s, going on a rabid sales pitch, talking at 7364 words a minute and furiously punching various bits into his tablet….which obviously was fûck all use. As he either failed to listen properly or in error punched the wrong info in the tablet…….

I won’t find out until tomorrow if his fückup can be undone. I know we all make mistakes but jeez that’s a whopper, which leaves me potentially with significant inconvenience having to notify dozens of people / businesses as to my new ( potentially ) number……..

I’m changing as my current provider has gone ridiculously expensive. But at least you got competent staff, good service and quality customer service from people who listened and just did what you asked. 😒

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,669 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I've complained before about Bus Dopes who won't move past the centre doors. Well, there's an even worse breed now. The route I get to work is being phased out and all the buses currently serving it are ancient, so don't have any middle doors. So all the Dopes are just congregating around the front door, making it really difficult to get on or off, blocking the stairs and generally causing a giant bottleneck at the front of the bus when there's nearly always plenty of room down the back and upstairs.

My current hero is one particular driver who does be like "Will yis move DOWN the flippin bus for JAYSIS SAKE". He doesn't even do it over the tannoy, just lets out a roar 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Since I've started using the bus more often I've noticed this thing of people deciding to stand in front of the middle doors even when there are seats available or the area in front of the doors is free. Whats the thinking here? They end up blocking half the doors for people getting off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,031 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Xmas entertainment being all a bit the same and boring. Same movies, celebs being asked the same boring "what are you doing for Xmas" questions, the obsession with lists of things that happened during the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,777 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Businesses who you don't know or deal with asking to add you as a friend on socials.…

I'm friends with an elderly artist living in a remote village… now a shop, gallery and cafe near her and nowhere near me request me, minutes apart , coincidence ! She's friends with all 3.

I've enough tat as in hangers on, businesses, etc. on my socials without more.. cul time including said artist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,638 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Not sure if it's a thing in all parts of Ireland, but in Derry with car parks half empty with hundreds of spaces, but people have to park on the double yellow lines right outside the front door.

Lazy gits. And they wonder why they are all getting massive, if they can't walk 20 yards from a parking space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,669 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

They just want to able to get off easily, and fcuk everyone else, basically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

1000%.

There isn't one Christmas special of a tv show that stands up as well as an ordinary episode of same programme.

There is about a month of bland tv to contend with, not to mention the audio assault of Christmas songs on the radio 24/7.

And y'know the Elf on the Shelf shite? Every notice it's always the yummy mummy, Irish nuclear family types that do it? You'd never see the more common-sense, non-attention seeking Eastern Europeans at that nonsense (or with the spaceship-esque baby strollers that every notion-y Irish mom must have these days).

Parked in a pub car park, gravel surface, no marked spaces, way at the back purposefully away from the rest of the cars.

When I returned, someone had sat a Merc nearly on top of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,977 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

I've done it before - Time to kill, kill too much and end up in a bit of a rush 😁

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

So ready for the holidays ! It's that time of year in work when we are all sick of each other and need a break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I go to the Spar at breakfast time for a wrap and the f**king “Hi Viz Brigade” of builders and tradesmen have gotten here first, clogging up the deli queue looking for their breakfast rolls. By the time I would have finally gotten served it would have been almost time to go back to work so I had to content myself with a mediocre pre-made chilli chicken wrap from the shelf.

In a supermarket a kid maybe 7 or 8 years old throws himself on the floor whilst roaring FCUK YOU!! repeatedly at some old guy and then his sour faced mother gives this old fella who appears harmless, a tongue lashing.

What is wrong with people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭brokenbad

The awkward eye contact followed by silence from people you randomly bump into that you haven't seen in a long time (ex classmates, former work colleagues, distant relatives, former friends, etc) - and wondering if you are going to have to be the first one to say an awkward "how's it going?" while praying that they do so first…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,720 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

What about when your not sure of their name and they know yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,259 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

If you don't know their name and don't know all the names of their first cousins twice removed you can't be Irish ;-)

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,720 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

When I went to college there was a girl from Eastern Europe and she was told there was another foreigner in the class.

She apparently thought it was me because I look like I'm from rhe middle east or somewhere.( so, it's possible.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,259 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

It just TA's me that my Irish neighbors know everyone for miles around including all their relatives no matter where they are in the world. I can hardly remember anyone's name but I'm British ;-)

Wake me up when it's all over.