Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Election to be called Fri - predict outcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,519 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Avoid the question as much as you like.
    Seeing critics of parish pump politicians swallow them being in government tells me all I need to know about the ever shifting dynamic and what folk are prepared to do to hold onto power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

The independents have claimed only yesterday that they are not parish pump politicians, Canney was talking about a LUAS in Galway, something I support. You are being critical for the sake of being critical, all in the name of your own political party.

I supported the Green's focus on public transport, active travel, carbon tax, renewable energy etc. If the new government drops those, I will criticise them for that. If they continue on with them, why would I criticise them?

McDowell nailing FG arrogance there and their subjugation of FF.
    'There was no talk of parity of esteem when FG were on 27%'

Again I ask, are there no self respecting FFers left?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭timmyntc

The independents have claimed only yesterday that they are not parish pump politicians, Canney was talking about a LUAS in Galway, something I support

"We are not parish pump politicians"

"BTW my demand to prop up the govt is you give us a LUAS"

😂 😂 😂

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

This is a critical point that SF don't seem to understand. A very significant majority of FF and FG voters simply could not countenance any kind of alignment with SF in their current form.

It's not the case that a small cabal of grandees in either party are conspiring to keep SF out of Government - They are doing exactly what their voters want. Both parties would be heavily penalised by their voters were they to go into Government with SF.

SF need to decide how they want to proceed - Do they want to try to shift position to attempt to make themselves more palatable to FF and FG voters or do they try to make themselves more palatable to the rest of the voters by shifting further to the left or at least away from populism?

Both options carry risks of losing their current voter base or just not being successful and they lose both ways.

However , continuing to move forward "as they are" isn't going to work as far as getting into Government.

There is a lot of assumption going on.
    I don't think it is safe to say:

A very significant majority of FF and FG voters simply could not countenance any kind of alignment with SF in their current form.

for this reason.
    We all witnessed a significant slump in putative SF support for reasons other than the performance of FF FG and the Greens at the time. They were similarly low in putative support after all. FG's later rise came from the Harris bounce.
    Failure to take account of that misses a key point.

If FF and FG had achieved a significant increase in their actual support, you might be able to claim that it was down to a significant majority not wanting SF in government. How many really believed a man in government with a party he had previously said he never would be? I would wager not many based on all the analysts and pundits not believing him either.

What happened was FF and FG got lucky and the election came at a time when SF were in recovery. Another two weeks the way the momentum was going would have made a difference. That's not sour grapes just an acceptance of realities.

Brand Harris had slumped from putative support of 27% when it's asset was released into the wild and people got a look at what he really was. They swiitched to FF, being led by somebody who has really excelled in his self portrayal as a statesman 'I saved the country during Covid' etc and god knows were else, some of them may have switched to SF.

The point being here, it's a bit more complex than just a repudiation of SF in government.

That just doesn't make sense.

The Fianna Fail voters who have no issue with Sinn Fein are already voting for Sinn Fein, they haven't voted for Fianna Fail since 2007.

Both Fianna Fail and Fine Gael are at core vote levels, those core voters will not countenance a link with Sinn Fein, simple as that. Labour and the Social Democrats also know this which is why they are not jumping into bed with Sinn Fein as they want to attract FF and FG voters.

This can go two ways. Sinn Fein can do something to address the toxic legacy of their links with the PIRA, an honest apology and an acknowledgement that the PIRA campaign was always wrong would be a start. If they do that, they are in a position to attract other voters.

Alternatively, they can continue on their merry way singing Wolfe Tone songs and celebrating baby killers. They will continue to be rejected by the main parties and voters will get fed up waiting for them to go into government and move away to vote for other similar options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

I'm thinking it's a 2 party + gene pool indies govt we are looking at

Of the 15 ministries. Taoiseach and Tanaiste will be MM and SH

Of the 13 remaining ministries FF will take 55% (7) and FG 45% (6) potentially one of each getting a gene pool indie. this was previously a 5 + 4 split between FF and FG

Assuming the civil war parties want to keep the same portfolios, Currently FF have 4, due to the loss of useless Stephen Donnelly, and FG have 4 that leaves the following ones vacant

Health (Formerly Stephen Donnelly, FF)

Environment, Communications and Climate (formerly Eamon "sleepy" Ryan GP)

Transport (formerly Eamon "sleepy" Ryan GP)

Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media (formerly Catherine Martin GP)

Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth (formerly Roderic O Gorman GP)

Who do we think will get what? Will some of the portfolios go to gene pool indies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,335 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

John Connolly FF may get Tourism/Gaeltacht/Media to solidify his new seat. Will they sort out RTE - not a chance. They have them where they want them now.

I don't see Darragh O'Brien keeping Housing. He failed badly and he knows it's a poison chalice. They will fail at all their new housing promises too.

The Environment minister will be fascinating after FFG totally betraying the Greens.

Roderic's ministry is so convoluted. Completely unworkable and he got no support. Immigration should move elsewhere. Disability too. I expect ROG to give us a few home truths in opposition.

The next Health minister will need to be present at the very least. Donnelly set us back years. Slaintecare moving at snails pace.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Both Fianna Fail and Fine Gael are at core vote levels, those core voters will not countenance a link with Sinn Fein,

I fundamentally disagree. There is no evidence for this. The actual evidence suggests most people do not believe Martin when he says he won't do something. And they have the track record to base that on.
    If Micheál or FF pivot then we can judge by how many decamp.
    FG do not want to coalesce with anyone really, that we know from their arrogance to believe that as 3rd party in strength in the Dáil they deserve parity of esteem and equal jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Not made with hands

Since when do people conduct negotiations based on opinion polls?

Sure why don't SF team up with FF so and settle for Tanaiste?

Because MM has only one customer - Fine Gael.

That weakens his leverage considerably.

Hence it's parity of esteem or find somebody else.

Have we not been told it is already preordained, isn't that what core FFers and FGers voted for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Kiteview

The only reason we have two LUAS lines is because of “parish pump politicians” in Dublin. Likewise for the motorways, (almost) all of which run to/from Dublin.

It also applies to the proposed Metro which is still alive and kicking despite the government spending more on the feasibility and planning stages than it did on actually building the two LUAS lines. Were that to have happened on a LUAS style system for Cork or Limerick or anywhere else, the project would have been scrapped long ago.

The bitterness is running deeper than ever the more the realisation hits of five more years in the wilderness.

I know it is difficult for you to accept, but most people do not want Sinn Fein anywhere near government, and if either of the main parties go into coalition with SF, they will lose votes. Not only that, but there is no record of SF ever providing stability in government. Look at the North, where they can barely stay in government for six months even though it is legislated for.

SF need to demonstrate that they are a normal political party. They should get a chance to show that next year with a change of leader involving a proper process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

I don't see Darragh O'Brien keeping Housing. He failed badly and he knows it's a poison chalice. They will fail at all their new housing promises too.

They had the same manifesto promise as SF of 60,000/year so if they put a confident person in there I see no reason for them not to get to it. They'll probably have to use the SF idea of private housing on public land though after rubbishing it and calling it unworkable for the last few weeks

Health is a big one. They'll need to give that to somebody they don't like. My guess is Willie O'Dea will be a shoe in and he'll be gone in 2019, or potentially sooner

John Connolly for transport could be an idea. Galway has been sorely lacking proper transport infrastructure. If he gets the much promised ring road and tram system over the line he'll be a shoe in. FF also have a good track record of road building

The smart money says Disability should be combined with Health and that Children and Youth should be added to Education. Equality and Integration should be part of the Justice ministers portfolio or more preferably given its own ministry given the failures of Helen "safe city" McEntee.

There is no issue with private housing on public land, the issue is with the crazy SF ownership structure and restricted sell-on. That crazy idea torpedoed SF as the public just didn't believe they could build houses.

It's what the electorate voted for based on the transfer patterns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,365 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Even Vincent Browne asking why a government can't be formed by next Tuesday given how clear the result is. FF with FG and a few Independents.

The delay is giving an impression of political instability in the country when there isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,748 ✭✭✭✭L1011

They also have to clear the remaining IRA stuff from the party at every level, to show that they are actually finished with that. That isn't just having an actual leadership election, it needs to go down to the roots.

Stop posting commemorations for "volunteers" who blew themselves up on buses in London by mistake (as the Wexford branches do), stop re-selecting people with bomb making convictions. Stop doing memorial events for murderers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭mikep

100% agree with this.

I probably have another 30 years of voting in me and can't see it going to SF without these changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,308 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

A question for @FrancieBrady if FF and FG negotiate a programme for government but FG stick on having a rotating taoiseach, and as a result the talks fail and we go on with the caretaker government for ages, would you be giving out about how MM is being selfish and thinking about himself rather than the greater good? I think you would.

But because it's obvious that there will be an agreement between FF and FG that will at least give us a government, you instead take shots at FF for agreeing to that.

It must be easy to sit on the fence and just be able to complain without ever acknowledging decisions having to be taken.

Willie O'Dea hasn't a notion of taking Health. I doubt very much he will get anywhere near cabinet.

McEntee will be given a ministry where she can do no damage.

All we want is approval to start the ring road in Galway. FFG have been pricking around on that for 25 years. It will take another 15 years to finish planning and build at least. They have spent 50,000,000 Euros on it already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭timmyntc

The reason we have 2 Luas lines and a motorway network is because of the work put in by the department of transport and the NRA/NTA.

Not because of politicians trying to negotiate for a project for their parishioners.

Harris himself said they brought the election forward (after his oversold Feb 2025 lies) in order to form a government quickly to tackle all the headwinds coming next year. But watch the fakeness in struggling to get back into bed with FF and 4/5 Independents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,365 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Yeah that's all forgotten. I wonder is this all because it's December now and they all want to take their Xmas break now.

The bitterness is running deeper than ever the more the realisation hits of five more years in the wilderness.

…and we're back to the opposition have no role.

Donnelly is still Minister for Health until they get it sorted. And I doubt he will kill himself workwise while the trolley numbers pile up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,186 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

Most likely

On another note i was discussing efficient government departments last night with a friend of mine, and when it comes to the Department of Finance/Rev Com, they should be the benchmark for all other departments.

They are in a league of their own when it comes to efficiency and you'd wonder why they can't be used as a case model for all others, although i'm led to believe agri isn't that bad also.

Too many silos most probably

Micheál can do what he wishes.

It is easier to be you maybe because you have a juggernaut now.
    Problem is, juggernauts are hard on fuel and there isn't much left.
    When SF support slumped, I quite readily accepted they wouldn't be in government this time and I didn't change that opinion during the campaign. I.E. I'm over it, the project continues, by finishing second the pressure on that fuel is maintained.