Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2024 Assistant Principal in Civil Service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Yenwod

Nummerical, I found as easy/hard as any past ones I've done. Probably did enough to pass.

Verbal, had lots of cannnot say - so hard to judge.

SJT, absolutly f*cked it 😄

…next time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 DELLODUCKS

No my AP said I could use her office as she has a large screen but large screen to laptop would do the trick maybe plug in a mouse to make the experience better.

could you do all the numerical in the 15 mins? If so fair play 🤩

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Thought they were much harder than any similar tests I've taken previously, Numerical was ok apart from time. Got stuck with one question in the middle which I tried a number of ways and kept getting an answer that wasn't there.

Verbal is a complete lottery. Hopefully did enough to scrape through on all three tests but not confident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,506 ✭✭✭bren2001

I got all done in 15 minutes taking my time. Once you figured out what they were asking, the maths was typically straight forward. I thought it was easier than the practice tests.

I’m very much the outlier it appears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Curranjo

Reading through the familiarisation booklet and it says for numerical and verbal that they use adaptive assessment technology so the questions are tailored to our performance based off answers to previous questions. I'm hoping with finding the maths very difficult, it means i at least started well. How they even score that against others is anyone guess.

fair play to you. What got me was the last few questions I had to find the % increase between lots of different sectors from graphs and then calculate the monetary value of a set difference so was about 20 calculations so was time consuming so guessed a few!! All I need is to pass but they were meaty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 ZakeriusIV

Cheers to all posting, good to read other's experiences.

I just finished the SJT and found it very hard to gauge. I am fairly annoyed that the practice was nothing like the test (including the JTP paid package). Very hard to know where to rank each statement on a scale 1-6 when you can also pick each point on the scale multiple times. Hard to not just put everything middling for some questions.

8 questions and they suggested 25 minutes to do them in the practice blurb, which seemed plenty of time for the SJT.

On to the numerical and verbal next!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,637 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

I'm pretty sure it says in the booklet that it's SOVA for numerical and verbal , but that there are no practice tests available for the SJT. They often make up their own SJT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭kwat

My experience was similar to others. First timer here.

Verbal reasoning was okay but may have went with "cannot say" too much.

Numerical started well but got progressively harder. One or two were guesses. Spent 30 mins on this in total. Not sure how anyone could get through them all in 15 mins!

Found SJT okay too and got through them pretty quickly but who knows if the answers were what they wanted.

We wait now. Really can't say if I've done pretty well or terribly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 JonM1234

First time doing AP comp of any kind. Realised I had like 5 tabs still open on my browser for the whole tests - rte news, bus websites etc. Do they view your screen or only cameras/mics at the pauses to check for assistance/aid?

Thanks and best of luck all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 newbe64

First time doing AP and found all 3 tests tough.

Any ideas of when we might get results?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 ZakeriusIV

Fair enough I must have missed that in the booklet, I found it very difficult to select in that manner. Even a practice in that same style would've been appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Juggler101

I never thought about it until now, but I'd say if they were recording the screen, that would have been quite explicit in the instructions provided, and I have no recollection of it. I'd say it's more of an honour system in not using websites etc to aid your progress. Also, we agree to that in the honesty contract, if I remember correctly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,159 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Found first few questions in numerical very easy but struggled after that! I see above the tests supposedly get harder the better you do so hopefully thats the case! Few absolute wild guesses by the end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,669 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Likewise. It got to the stage where I was hoping for a cannot say answer because no matter how long I took on a question and any calculation I did I couldn't come up with any of the options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Leesha

I did them this morning and holy cow they were all impossible. Normally I sail through the maths but several times I had to guess because my answers weren't there despite me doing the math 2-3 times. Best of luck to anyone who passes ye deserve the Ap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭doc22

Some of the numerical questions required substantial calculations, I'm unsure how it could be fairly marked -by getting difficult questions right being rewarded by more difficults question while getting it wrong you have an easier set next….

Im very interested in knowing how they score it. There's so many variables for them to consider such as you mentioned and also taking time into consideration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭doc22

I went well over 15 min, even figuring out what they wanted took time…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,506 ✭✭✭bren2001

They can detect quite a bit in the browser itself. If you were to switch tabs, they would know. I would assume this would disqualify you automatically.

Deadline has passed. Are we free to discuss the actual test now? I'm intrigued by those insistent there was a question incorrect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 ShrimpTech39
    Nell

Those tests were brutal 😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 ShrimpTech39
    Nell

I know APs who are thick as shite so hopefully that means they also passed those ridiculous numerical tests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,669 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Abbotsford5

Did verbal and SJT Monday and numerical yesterday. Numerical is always tricky and I took a long time but I got a good few right I think. Time will be a big issue so hopefully I pass anyway. Verbal 15 mins SHT about 30 mins. Both ok but verbal and SJT can trip you. Thank God it's done so I can forget about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Abbotsford5

so did I and to be fair most people on Boards went over time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 sbtr2023

I was waiting until after the deadline had passed. I did mine last weekend, and the instruction on the SJT test was that the test was timed and you had 25 mins to do the test. It didn't say that in the instruction booklet and when I queried it they said thanks for bringing it to their attention but the test wasn't timed. I find it astonishing that nobody previewed the instructions prior to the test being published for a competition this big. I believe they changed the instruction to a suggested 25 min, but last weekend the instruction was you had to complete it in 25 mins.. did anyone else come across that?

The familiarisation booklet provided to me says:

• Situational Judgment Test (no set time limit but typically takes no longer than 60minutes).

I took about 30 mins to complete so i was thinking i messed up somehow but others seem to be in same boat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭floorpie

Deadline has passed. Are we free to discuss the actual test now? I'm intrigued by those insistent there was a question incorrect!

I'm guessing it was a question on company cars, employee contributions, tax rates. It gave a somewhat intimidating formula that was not possible to evaluate using the data in the table. However, the second half of the formula evaluated to zero based on info in the question (no employee contribution) and therefore could be ignored.

I did it today and this 25 minute instruction was still there