Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Russia-Ukraine War (continuing)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

I was speaking to a friend of mine last week about how I though Michael Martin was likely to be the next Taoiseach.

I'm sorry for meddling with the general election!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭jmreire

The biggest barrier to development in Russia, in all areas, has always been corruption. It's still the biggest barrier, its the best friend that Ukraine could have in any future cease-fires, treaties etc.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

@calamarifritti A question I asked one of your ilk a few weeks ago is this:

Let's all assume that you are correct that there was interference in the 2014 election.

Can you please explain to me how the 2019 election i.e. the most relevant one for the current discussion as it led to Zelenskii being elected, was not a free and fair election?

Like in the Spring, already the fresh new shoots are starting to show themselves…so it will be in Ukraine…..but Russia?? Not much while Putin is in charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,641 ✭✭✭zv2

The situation is simple. Yanukovych was a Russian spy who lied to and betrayed the Ukrainian people so he was not a legal president anymore, he was a traitor, guilty of treason, so there could not have been a coup. They, of their own free will, bounced his ass out of Ukraine. Job done.

It looks like history is starting up again.

I hope that Putin ( and a few others!! ) are watching…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭j62

David McWilliams is peddling conspiracies for the second time in as many weeks

“NATO is losing in Ukraine” and apparently Syria is erupting due to them dastardly Jews

It will make Kim thing twice (or more) about supporting Putin with arms and manpower, that he now might need himself…

Its because they have no other choice…Putin has recently ordered another mobilisation of 130'000 conscripts, in addition to the Houthi's he's reportedly contracted with. Plus, neither Moscow or St, Petersburg are now exempt from the draft. Wait until the black body Bags start arriving in those two cities.

Straight from Putin's Kremlin Krap propaganda factory!

Russian Propaganda Army GBdmmkeWMAAybYm.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,459 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

That is a fair question and I actually agree that while I believe 2014 was a coup it does not necessarily invalidate elections after that.

It does however expose unsavoury influence on Ukraine from many sides and for a long time. And no, not just from Russia.

This has been a very cynical American game from the very beginning and they are still the ones calling the shots. They played it well and they have ye all wrapped around their fingers, but I despise them for their cynical carry on and the risk they are willing to take with all our lives and livelihoods playing their fkn geostrategy games. They have along history for it most of it played out before our eyes and because of that I just cant believe how gullible so many people are about them. They are evil bastards as much as the Russians probably moreso.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,459 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

And here I was thinking Russia only has its professional army in the Ukraine. Can you show me they actually use conscripts at all?

The situation was such that the EU didnt allow Ukraine to develop a multilateral trade relationship. The EU laid down the law of wanting to be 'exclusive'. Disregarding the fact Ukraine was fully embedded into eastward trade agreements and grown trade structures. Even if Ukraine wanted they couldnt just convert their entire economy over night. They really didnt leave Yanukovych with much a choice.

He didnt 'lie to the people' and in any case if that was an expulsion criteria and made someone a 'traitor' we'd have no politician left in the country all the way down to councillors ourselves. Your language smells of trying to bullshit with no real knowledge or substance behind it tbh.

There’s are thousand of videos on X of Russian recruits being turned to mush and worse

You really expect people to post that for you as evidence and get banned for your benefit?

Where do you think the reported 750'000 dead /disabled Russians came from? Given that under Russian Law (not that the Law has ever bothered Putin!!) Conscripts cannot be sent either abroad or to active war zones at home.So what happens? Shortly after being called up/mobiilised, the new conscript is "persuaded" to sign a contract, making him a professional soldier. Regardless of training etc, as soon as needed, he will be at the front,,facing the meat grinder.

https://x.com/i/status/1799388596455010707

And I guess they didnt leave Yanukovyc much choice when he ordered his police to fire live rounds into the protesters, killing more than 100 of them? The very act of him doing that, automatically disqualified him from the presidency. And thats how his own party and supporters saw it too, when they kicked him out and supported indicting him on murder charges. Because that's what he was and is, a murderer. Acting on Putins orders.

Where do you think the reported 750'000 dead /disabled Russians came from?

Where do you think they come from? From Ukrainian sources or British 'intelligence' of course. Who of course would never post a lie in a war 😁 Not that the others wouldnt, but surely you must know that you cannot believe anything you read in a war.

Seriously is that all you've got? Russians drop in the thousands cos they're all stupid and run like lemmings into fire whereas Ukrainians are all super smart heroes who take down 50 a man at least?

why are Russians having to conscript/recruit 30,000 per month? Mystery

Yanukovych promised to go towards Europe but tried to drag Ukraine into the Russian orbit. He was controlled by Moscow. That is treason.

Only to this day Ukraine has been unable to close this case and there remain many question marks over who shot whom on Maidan square. A lot of evidence and witnesses have gone missing and a good bit of evidence against Berkut showed to be dodgy and even Zelensky himself laments this to be an open wound in Ukrainian history.

You're making very strong statements you couldnt possibly have the confidence you let on you have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,575 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Story of how a Russian spy influenced journalists in the US and Europe. (And became cocky after).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The simple answer is usually the most believable one. Where did Yanukovych leg it to after he was deposed, after even some of his own party denounced him? Russia, and then Belarus. So clearly not a Putin stooge, no sirree bob...

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Ukraine was already in Russian orbit and fully embedded in trade agreements and economical structures grown over decades. Yanukovych didnt need to drag anything anywhere. EU wanted to be 'exclusive' which was a crazy demand. Also you talk nothing only simple one liner stuff just short of a child's 'no he didnt', 'yes he did'. You clearly know nothing and I dont see any reason to keep talking to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

I agree with you the EU should be more accommodating and maybe they would have if the ascension process happened. However the people voted to join the EU. You can't go against that and claim to be in the right. Whether that's the president betraying the people or Russia murdering them. You can't justify it hence why sympathisers to Russia dance around the central issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

“The conqueror is always a lover of peace; he would prefer to take over one's country unopposed.”

― Carl von Clausewitz,  'On War'

Post edited by ilkhanid on

Well if you are not going to talk you can read-

"Yanukovych argued in favour of economic modernisation, increased spending and, initially, continuing trade negotiations with the EU. He pledged to remain non-aligned in defence policy. However, his years in power saw what analysts described as democratic backsliding,[10] which included the jailing of Tymoshenko, a decline in press freedom[11] and an increase in cronyism and corruption.[12] In November 2013, Yanukovych made a sudden decision, amidst economic pressure from Russia,[13] to withdraw from signing an association agreement with the EU and instead accept a Russian trade deal and loan bailout. This sparked mass protests against him that ultimately led to his ousting as president.[14][15][16] The civil unrest peaked in February 2014, when almost 100 protesters were killed.[17]

Ukraine's political forces managed to reach an agreement. After the agreement was signed, Yanukovych, fearing for his life and the safety of his family[citation needed], left Kyiv without warning, first for Kharkiv and later for Crimea."

Viktor Yanukovych - Wikipedia

What was he going to do? He would have got killed or worse most likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,050 ✭✭✭✭Sand

The whole North Koreans in Kursk story has been folded up and put away. Back in mid October, the BBC reported that a small detachment of North Koreans might be training with the Russian military in the far east of the country. But in just 2-3 weeks, the story grew and grew until it was reported that tens of thousands of North Korean soldiers were pouring into Kursk. Now the BBC is finally acknowledging that not one NK soldier has been found.

And despite weeks of reports suggesting that as many as 10,000 North Korean troops have been sent to Kursk to join the Russian counter-offensive, the soldiers we’ve been in contact have yet to encounter them.

I haven’t seen or heard anything about Koreans, alive or dead,” Vadym responded when we asked about the reports.

“It’s very difficult to find a Korean in the dark Kursk forest,” Pavlo noted sarcastically. “Especially if he’s not here.”

It's an example of how the western media accept any Ukrainian propaganda and repeat it. There is no quality control or fact checking of a story that was always implausible when you consider how hard it is to integrate units from different armies together.

That BBC story is particularly grim reading. Ukrainian troops being sacrificed for a media exercise - they themselves draw the comparison to Krynky in 2023 where the Ukrainians continued pouring men into a tiny beachhead to die in huge numbers. Over a 1,000 dead apparently, for nothing useful. Krynky then, Kursk now.

“Our place should have been there [in eastern Ukraine], not here in someone else’s land,” Pavlo said. “We don’t need these Kursk forests, in which we left so many comrades.

Media effect, but no military result.”

An article recalling how the Russian media conjured the story of Buryats for the atrocities in Bucha when it was paratroopers from the Russian city of Pskov.