Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Election to be called Fri - predict outcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Not made with hands

FF and FG have shown the benefits of not merging.

The leaders debate for example 2 against 1.

Very unfair when 2 of the parties are so aligned.

Loads of candidates everywhere pretending to be not the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,207 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Not a notion. If they were serious in any way they would have been talking for the past 4 years. Despite all that's gone on the last 4 years the incumbents still go into government. FF and FG aren't begging a third party. They'll pull together a few independents.

I'd reckon SF, had they any cop on and not having been distracted by their only internal issues should have been talking to other parties for the last few years and giving the electorate something concrete to vote on.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,338 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

They don't need to merge. They are transferring to each other so the public will perceive them as the same entity after 2 coalitions that deliver crap public services.

The power swap is no more. Now we have the power share where they will work together to keep power and keep everyone else out. It's only a matter of time before they are found out.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Realistically we have loads of parties who really should and could merge but won't do so anytime soon.

• LAB/SocDems - (possibly even the Greens as well)
    • FF/FG - for years what defined them was their opposition to each other. That's all gone now.
    • SF and PBP-SOL - although they'd last about 5 minutes before the inevitable split
    • Independent Ireland and Aontu - they could called themselves the "Common Sense" party since they love preaching about it

All of the Independents would fit into one of the above groupings as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,566 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Your basing your numbers on how they could get more elected by simply running more candidated. Mathematics or politics doesn`t work like that.

They ran 42 candidates this time and won 3 seats. A success rate of 7%. To reach that 78% success rate you mentioned, even if mathematics worked like you are proposing, they would need to run 42 x 11. 462 candidates which would have them running on average over 10 candidates in each constituency.

As they are they are a party going in reverse. As far as I recall they had 6 elected in 2016, 5 in 2020 and now, with extra Dail seats added, are down to 3.

It would be like keeping the weeds down.

Once you chop the head off one cvnt another one pops up.

Coming from a fantasist I`ll give your opinion the respect it deserves. 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭MFPM

I would suspect there are many people who objectively look at FF/FG and see very little difference between them and think they could/should merge. Far from limited to SF voices.

The political discourse in Ireland's MSM is dominated by 'pundits' who are broadly centrist and on the whole are not particularly well disposed to the left - that's unarguable in my view - Harry McGee, Fionnan Sherhan, Philip Ryan, Kevin Doyle, Daniel McConnell, Stephen Collins, Pat Leahy, John Lee etc. It's not just them as individuals but it's the press they write for, why is there such uniformaty of opinion across the spectrum? Vincent Browne and Gene Kerrigan were lone voices against this journalistic hegemony. The entire mantra of the last decade is the 'centre must hold' it's repeated ad nauseum, so any left alternative is broadly ridiculed and dismissed. That's why the results for the LP and SD have been welcomed as some sort of major breakthrough and the SF performance cast as negative. The LP and the SD are the acceptable face of the 'left'.

SF have steadily shifted to the centre/right over the last decade and it hasn't worked in terms of getting them into power, the shift hasn't been enough for the 'pundits' so they keep critiquing and pushing for more and SF continues to oblige.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,525 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

You could put Martin handing the stick to FG (refusing to talk to the other main party) to political naivety or stupidity but if he now compounds it and gives them rotating Taoiseach then I think it is more than a 'coalition'. It's a tacit merger based on (take your pick here) a 2 partyfear of losing power or a 2 party sense of entitlement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I would suspect there are many people who objectively look at FF/FG and see very little difference between them and think they could/should merge. Far from limited to SF voices.

Yes but very few within either party themselves AFAIK which should tell you something.

Willie O'Dea says a merged party would be less than the sum of its parts and I'd say that's the predominant opinion in both parties.

https://www.pressreader.com/ireland/irish-daily-mail/20240718/281633900471409?srsltid=AfmBOorSyhdKOX0wcEbagp7cifJHBPVfuM43hJPQWHIaJjl7Lg5CyoRa

Francie you are aeound long enough to know that many of FF`s supporters despise SF

If Martin had not stated he was ruling out any deal with SF after the election he knew he would lose votes and would not have got close to the number of seats he now has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Certainly would've hit the FG transfers which proved so crucial to FF winning so many seats. Whereas I doubt leaving the option open would've picked up many cimpensating transfers from SF or the wider left…

A smart man would have said nothing.
    I suspect the whole deal with FG was done a long time ago. Like they shadow boxed in the campaign they’ll shadow box in government formation talks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

You're acting like it's a big conspiracy that they are being secret about wanting to work together. It's been clear since 2020 that both parties will work with each other and the election was about seeing who could be the bigger party. But in a situation where they will work together. FF voters knew this, FG voters knew this. The voting population knew this.

Offer it then, don’t pretend to be different. They will pretend now there is some bog hurdles to jump when that population you mentioned know it’s a done deal.

How was he going to get away with saying nothing.

The first question from the media would have been "If the numbers add up will you go into coalition with SF". Without a definitive "no" FF supporters would have walked in droves, plus as @ Loafing Oaf has said so would any hope of FG transfers. There was no upside for Martin or FF in saying nothing. The upside, as it panned out, was in leaving no doubt on SF.

They had been in government together for over 4 years, and a confidence and supply agreement for the term prior with no major dust ups, so of course the understanding was they were each others preference as coalition partners. Which from their transfers was well understood and favoured by both sets of supporters as well as the rest of the voting public. That didn`t mean that both were not determined to come out on top on FPV`s and seat numbers.

There was no upside for Martin by being ambivalent, only downside. Their FPV, as well as the the level of transfers from FG, are testimony to that.

How was he going to get away with saying nothing. The first question from the media would have been "If the numbers add up will you go into coalition with SF

Martin is the house master of talking for an hour and saying nothing. That would be no problem.
    The ‘downside’ is FG have him by the short and curlies.
    Sure he gets power but FF will stay where they are the 20% mark.
    Sooner or later they pay the price of having no separate identity.

No skin off my nose or those who want this powershare gone. Work away Micheàl.

The government formation talks will be the same fake charade that we saw in the election. Pretend fights and disputes. There will be pretend "breakdowns" in talks and then FFG will get back into bed like nothing happened.

It will be FFG with independents.

Lab and SD will take too much effort.

Yes it will. But they will pretend they are looking at all "options". FG know they are the only possible bride too. The fact that Lowry will be in government is quite disgusting but FG love him.

As Vincent Browne said today, they could form a government next week. Half an hour or an hour to buy off the parish pump indos and carry on.

You know as well as I do Francie anything other than a definitive no would have cost FF votes and transfers. Epecially those transfers from FG that got them over the line in a few constituencies. The FF Minister for Agriculture being one such example.

I find it a bit amusing that you believe a party will lose it`s identity in a coalation arrangement when SF are trying to rope parties of the left into a coalition in opposition.

Just a btw. The no skin of my nose or those that want this powershare gone, reminds me of Dick Tuck U.S. Democrat who after being defeated in a California Senate primary said "The people have spoke - the bastards"

You can keep your identity in a coalition if you don’t do the deal beforehand in nod and wink land.
    If you think they have a distinct identity, fair play. I fancy there aren’t many of you left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,309 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

You could have written this post in 2020. Indeed you have, about 1,000 times, yet here we are, another 5 years of FF and FG…

You will be like that preacher who proclaims the end of the world.

One day you will be right, but not today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,409 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Only SF supporters would be naiive enough to think that Martin regrets ruling out SF given their election result.

They'll create a coalition with FG and SF will keep regretting their lack of negotiation in 2020 when FG were preparing for time in opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,409 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

SF supporters seem to weirdly see politics as some ultimate power game where they'll be in power forever after getting in once. This was displayed in not understanding how the greens will dust themselves off and be back in government over the next decade (probably either before or with SF ever getting into government).

Soc Dems have to go in next time or they'll start hemorrhaging support.

where they'll be in power forever after getting in once

That’s what is currently wrong. The sense of entitlement from FF FG.

Where are you getting this secret masonic like nod and wink idea from ?

Martin made it clear before a vote was cast FF would not go into government with SF. FG made it clear they had no interest of going into government with SF, as did SF making it clear they would not go into government with FG. Did SF somehow get the idea that with the three major parties being neck and neck in opinion polls that two of the three were just going to walk off the pitch and leave the other to form a minority government ?

If they did they were the only ones who thought that. The voters didn`t need a nod or a wink to see what the choices were and voted accordingly.

When it comes to identity and coalitions I would have thought that the left was fractured enough already without SF adding to it.

We now have Labour with one faction wanting to stay in opposition within a SF lead coalition, as articulated by Maire Sherlock, and another faction as articulated by Ged Nash, who looks on this coalition as SF now after the election when there is no path to power for them looking to gobble them up. The SD`s, from listening to Sinead Gibney after Maire Sherlock`s national T.V. car crash,and made very clear by Jennifer Whitmore tonight, have seen this proposed coalition for what it is and will talk to FG & FF based on their own manifesto and mandate and have no interest of taking any of the wishes off anyone in this proposed coalition on board. Be they SF, Labour or anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭Seadin

43% of the people of Ireland of those who actually voted, voted for a FF/FG government. Only 21% voted for SF. No sense of entitlement there, they were voted in as part of democracy. Now suck it up.