Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭spakman

What player is going to be getting a train or bus to training in fairness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭muddle84

If you look at the adult intercounty team, then yes you're right its a good location for the dublin based players and the big three towns etc.

But the centre of excellence would be used for alot more than that, even providing an alternative venue for clubs when their own pitch isn't available, like what Kiltimagh did for championship this year in Bekan. Then underage finals, county blitz's for go games etc. Its not closer to the rest of the county than Bekan. I think overall this is a good step forward so i don't mean to sound to negative about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭Westernview

A centre of excellence with potentially hundreds of kids in camps each week, many of them with their parents would surely use it. People coming from Westport, Claremorris, Ballyhaunis etc

I also mentioned other reasons such as links to the schools and colleges with cycle tracks. It is recognised nowadays that putting facilities near transport links is more sustainable. But we still have a car brained society that is slowly changing thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,905 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

draw in bonniconlon-kilcommon junior final, replay next weekend

Ballina very slick in that first half. Some of the Knockmore players not fully fit id say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Very disjointed performance by Kilcommon. Allowed Bonniconlon to build up a 1:2 lead before scoring. Played well enough then but had a man advantage that they really should have done better with. Had a 3 point lead coming down the stretch and probably should have gone for the jugular but didn’t.
    Hopefully they can right those wrongs in the replay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Just back from a very disappointing County final, Ballina were well deserved winners. They dominated the middle third which meant we were constantly under pressure. Mikey Murray & Swanny dictated the game, Murray was motm for me. Regan took his goal really well, hit it early and caught Reape on the hop.

Darren Mchale didn't really influence the game, he was constantly being pulled off the ball by Jordan and wasn't cute enough to bring it to the ref's attention. Without him to link play, our attack suffered badly. Even at that, we missed a good few scorable chances when we could have put a small bit of pressure on Ballina.

Will be interesting to see how Ballina get on in Connacht, they're v strong around the middle and at the back but maybe wanting up front I think as they move up the levels

Ballina were very well drilled and highly motivated. Cora Staunton may be having a positive effect on their movement. She has been getting a lot of praise by the Ballina management. A born winner and I think she should be involved in some way in the next Mayo management setup

Knockmore in contrast were unusually passive and lacking in leadership. Regularly seen jogging and walking back to defend whole Ballina sprinted forward. Mentally not prepared at all it seemed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Knockmore's 3rd point here from Orme is worth a watch:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,488 ✭✭✭✭km79

it’s looking like a weekend away in Armagh next February will be the wife’s Xmas present this year :D

Any hotel recommendations? And I’m thinking the ground doesn’t have lights so it’s a Sunday game ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭HBC08

One of the best days out in the league.

I went there last time with the Mrs (I think it could have been her valentine present!)

It was a Sunday throw in but the ground does have lights.Stayed in the Armagh city hotel and the place was full of Mayo people,literally nobody wasn't wearing a Mayo jersey/jacket,I think the staff were a bit bemused.Lovely hotel and great value (probably gone up now) and near the ground.

Very friendly town and fans,had pints before and after.

Thanks that is the one I am looking at! It is 185 pound sterling for one night so might be a one nighter now

Wow,

We got it at £120 including dinner the last time and that was a Saturday night.

Looks like they copped on there will be a lot of interest. Especially now with Armagh as All Ireland champs,i wouldnt be surprised if the Mayo game sold out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭BandMember

When are the definite dates and times being announced for all the league games?

I’m half looking at Derry game paddy’s weekend now .
    a quick google shows a premier inn for 2 nights same price as one night in Armagh.

Not sure how tensions would be that weekend in Derry though ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

We were there, good few years ago. Nearly sure it was a Sat night match under lights. Stayed in the city hotel just up the road from the pitch. Grand spot. Good few pints with the locals before and after. Mighty craic in one spot, cant think of the name. Locals had a huge win on the nags, barbeque and pints were on them! Any provisional list out yet? Used always be out the middle of October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,709 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭eastmayo

Have yeah the mayo fixtures home and away by any chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Totally and don't cross the foyle river over to the waterside….stick to the city side where all the good pubs are.

IMG_4934.jpeg

Not confirmed but accurate as of now apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

It will be interesting to see what McStay does now. He knows this is his last year unless he pulls some serious improvement. In hindsight he messed up when he came in and didn't try to embed younger talent and stuck with the experienced players …. we then became this mediocre team. These guys are now alot older as Westernview mentioned in a few posts back, I agree with him that it is time to move on and even is possibly two years to late. If he sticks with them… deja vu. If he moves on from them and tries new guys at least he is trying to find a new way. He really is stuck between a rock and a hard place.

If the new rules are voted in then everything that went before means nothing.

There are about 10 teams with the conditioning to win Sam,after that its who adapts to new rules the best and then a bit of luck .

Ballina v North London Shamrocks kicking off at 1.30. IMO Stephenites need to use this game and the Strandhill one, assuming they will get through both, to fine-tune attacking strategies to give them a hope of living with Corofin in the final (again assuming)…

Finished 15-9 to Ballina, seemed to be a fairly comfortable win

According to somebody on Mayo GAA twitter feed, semi will be in Markievicz Park tomorrow week 1.30

That doesn't make sense. The level a team has reached when rules are changed makes a big difference to how a team responds to rule changes. Usually the best team and the best players adapt to what ever rules are in place. Similar to how the best players adapt to rain, heavy pitches and wind.

McStays tenure is in danger of petering out with a jaded looking team and the pedestrian style of play was possibly linked to that. All well and good having experience on the bench but the first 15 should have a new look at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,584 ✭✭✭MfMan

Feck! Hope the Galway match is deferred til Sunday or throws in at 6pm latest. Mary Black in town that night I think.

Well assume just made an ass of me, whatever about the rest of you. Are Pearses more beatable opponents for Ballina (or Strandhill, just to be on the safe side this time)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭crusd

That is not entirely the case. The teams with the best players would be in the best position however the new rules seriously impact the game plans of some teams. So who can adapt quickest may be in a stronger position next year relative to perceived stronger sides. In 2-3 years it should level out but in year 1 an opportunity exists for a breakthrough. It wont be a Meath or Louth or anything, and while the likely result is the winner will come from the top 4 or 5 teams this year, there is an opportunity for anyone in the top 10 to come through if they can adapt better than teams above them.

For what its worth my ranking going in to next year assuming no rule change with Armagh at 1 as defending champions is:

Armagh - Kerry - Galway - Dublin - Donegal - Derry - Mayo - Tyrone - Roscommon - Cork - Monaghan - Cavan.

The gaps between teams are not huge though, so adapting to the new rules better could make a massive difference.

I'm not clear on what you are saying there. You say its still likely that the winners will come from the top 4 or 5 teams which is what I'd agree with. In other words with rule changes it's still the best teams most likely to win. But you also suggest an increased chance for teams inside the top 10 with rule changes. I'd argue that the likes of Roscommon cork cavan won't be within an asses roar of winning it no matter what new rules are brought in. The top teams willl logically have the best long range kickers outside the 40 for example. Mayo may slip down the order on that point but hardly below the teams I mentioned there.

Post edited by Westernview on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,322 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I'd put Donegal top of that list rule change or no rule change - they came within a sliver of getting to the final last year, look to be enhancing their panel this year and defo have the hunger.

Armagh will be like Tyrone - wont be able get out of Ulster, let alone win a second in a row. Hard to see Galway picking themselves up after last year and they have key players with injury and consistency issues. They had a great chance last year and blew it. Kerry and Dublin - I dunno, I amn't convinced by either.

That said, there's not much between the top few there.