Sinn Fein and how do they form a government dilemma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Well I think you will find most people don't really care what your feelings are in regards to a United ireland.

Hate to be the bearer of bad news. We don't honesly care

A United Ireland is not something that is going to happen anytime soon and the chances while SF are involved is less and less.

A united Ireland will reuqire people to be United, SF and their supporters are doing the opposite.

So in terms of what FG supporters do or don't want, doesn't really matter does it because even if 100% of FG supporters said they wanted a United Ireland, SF and their supporters would still be the biggest blockers. So well done to all of you.

Now you can jump around for the next 2-3 days waffling on and making up statements from differnet people which never happened in the hope this wil change but it won't. As I said before and still valid today, if you want a United Ireland then stop voting for SF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Paedofiles is not a problem for SF, getting caught is the issue

Gerry is still front and centre of SF, SF supporters still make excuses for him. Sure who cares about abusing a child when they can waffle on about the great party.

Like after last election they wanted Gerry to be a member of the team doing negotiations with other parties, if I was in the position and I walked into a room with Gerry I would walk straight back out. Why should anyone be forced to work with that sort of person?

If SF want to have Gerry and the surgeon, plus the rest of them all hanging around. Off they go. Doesn't mean anyone else has to talk or even be in the same room as them.

Don't forget MLMD and all of that crowd gave a standing ovation to Pearse McAuley, Im not sure if they also gave him a standing ovation for stabbing a woman after thye got him released early.

IMO the plan for SF was to bring back in Niall o Donnghaile only the story got out to press, the way he left the party gave them the opp to bring him bcak in, said it was health reasons etc. Nothing gets into press for a few years and then shuffle him back in. That's the SF people are voting for

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

You know well what I mean by SF saying they wants UI tomorrow. Ok, I’m exaggerating but for a party that coasts on one issue it’s front svd Center for them. SF if in Givt in January will push for a border poll in the lifetime if their government whether it’s the right time or whether Pele in general both sides of the border want one. You know this. It seems you want this too but we all want things. Sometimes though we have to wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,779 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Surely the difference is they don't pay lip service to it, they work at achieving their goals.

SF make no secret of what they want and what they intend to do about it, and that is not to just look for a border poll but to begin planning for our constitutional aspiration and then look for a border poll to let the people decide.

What you are saying is more evidence that some signed up to the GFA with their fingers crossed behind their backs and then put glass ceilings and blocs in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

The issue which people have is the lack of action in relation to child abuse allegations.

The BS allegations are extremely mild compared to the serious allegations against NOD, yet despite NOD being a Senator in the South, the gardai weren't contacted about him, and the age of the child was misrepresented in the North to avoid it being a crime. This inconsistency will haunt SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,049 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

I wonder what issue the right wingers will see with this one… Probably the old "why should I pay for somebody elses life saving medicine"

https://www.rte.ie/news/2024/1029/1477881-sinn-fein-healthcare/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Augme

Read through this thread or any thread that mentions a United Ireland. As I said, I've no issue with those figures. @squonk will likely disagree as he thinks SF are a one issue party though. I think it highlights SFs appeal across a broad spectrum, which doesn't surprise me.

@Vexorg here's a good example of the kind of post you'll find. They claim they don't about a UI, which is being very generous. Ultimately all they care about is criticising SF and the topic of a UI provides plenty of ample opportunity for that. Even though their points are completely deluded.

None of this has stopped you banging the drum in supprt of BS though. Why do you think what he did is perfectly acceptable for someone in his position?

The one thing that the health service doesn't need is more money thrown at it given we spend more per capita than everyone else (when adjusted for population profile). No reform in that plan.

As for the free medicines for all, as a left-winger I am horrified that SF now plan to pay for Michael O'Leary's medicine and all other rich people's medicine. The current scheme whereby the poorest didn't pay is fair, but this idea is once again indicative of SF's move to the right.

Where did I say what BS did was perfectly acceptable?

I have clearly said that his employer - the Houses of the Oireachtas Commission - should investigate the allegations against him. Like him, I have no faith in the kangaroo court system of SF and the allegations should be investigated properly by a proper authority.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

You're still at this FG & UI nonsense in a weird attempt at point scoring.

There is no plan for a UI. There has been no discussion, no proposals, no inter-governmental agreement meetings - nothing! I, who is not loyal to any party, would like to see a planned out UI but would I like it today? No because it risks where peace in NI is currently.

So to ask someone now if they support a UI is like asking the brits if they want to leave the EU.

The only ones who like this information vacuum are SF who to be fair have done little, if anything, to advance the goal of a United Ireland and both in support of violence over the years and by doing their best to instill fear amongst unionists about a UI, have in all likelihood caused damage to this goal.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,077 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I disagree with Sinn Fein, never support them, never will. But your line at the end needs to be called out - universal free medicine is not a right wing view. That's nonsense. The idea of universal payments is problematic, I agree. But the solution is to tax the wealthy more, which is also something I believe SF want to do.

The left-wing perspective is that universal payments are problematic, they should go to those who need them, not to everyone. While you may argue that the opposite position is more central than right-wing, any self-respecting left-wing party will not be proposing more universal payments.

David Cullinane was on NT this morning saying there would also be savings in areas that FFG just allow money to be thrown at

You have a strange opinion of what a left winger is

Michael O'Leary pays a lot of tax due to his high income and under a SF govt he would probably wind up paying more tax on that income. His income would probably rise as more people would have the money to spend on his airlines so yeah if he is unlucky enough to get sick why not give him free prescription meds just like we should be doing for everybody else?

Why shouldn't people who can afford to pay, pay? That is the basis of left-wing ideology, make those who are better off, pay, and don't have universal payments.

Those who can afford to pay are paying through higher taxes. They aren't paying at the point of sale is the only difference

Free at point of sale - paid for by higher taxes. That's what I'd go for. (I agree with the lack of water charges and property taxes though - we absolutely should have water taxes and proper property taxes).

The issue is that a lot of the left are also populist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭spillit67

Be honest- anytime a study comes up which talks about the costs associated we have SFers crying about it & suggesting others will pay for it. There’s a bang on Brexit over it.

That’s the reason why Peter Robinson said that, because he wants to emphasise the issues with it.

For example taxes in the north are significantly less, will they be going up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,480 ✭✭✭pureza

It’s a progressive system though,high earners pay more because the same percentage of their higher pay amounts to more money paid

Special rates of tax to penalise these people destroys incentive

We saw that with everybody,not just rich people in the 80’s and 90’s

Paying in cash,nixers and evading tax became the norm

The modern day equivalent for higher earners would be in a mobile international jobs environment,to not be taxed in Ireland

I do not approve of any policy that fosters either

Parties that do are in a tiny minority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭spillit67

Waffle. Saying “prepare for unity” but then denying the practical issues is all SF do.

Where is the plan? They’ve had 26 years since the GFA and what we get is occasional soundbites. I will say fair play to MLMD for making comments on the flag, anthem etc, but where is this all encompassing document?

Is it still the 1918 manifesto by the original SF party?

The 'plan' has to come from the sitting government. Not a political party.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

There is absolutely nothing to stop SF from drawing up a proposal for the future for NI. Nothing to stop SF from creating multi-party dialog on the future for NI. Nothing to stop SF from starting initial agreements on UK financial support for NI during a transition phase.

But no, SF want an UI but don't actually want to do anything constructive about getting it!

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

I doesn't have to come from the sitting government.

However, given the dogs dinner of a housing policy that Sinn Fein produced, I can see why you want to pass the buck on a plan for a united Ireland.

I believe there is.
    SF drawing up a plan now would inhibit what they (and I) want.
    A proper discussion namely.
    They'd be accused of dictating if they laid out a plan.

What is required of a 'proper' plan is buy in and contributions from everyone involved as much as is possible. (I wouldn't expect the belligerent end of Unionism to contribute.

I think SF waiting shows maturity of thinking and an democratic acceptance that any 'plan' will have things included they might not want.
    SF or any other single political party can produce their 'proposals' for the future but they cannot produce a 'plan' capable of being put to the people in a border poll. That is the job of the two governments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭nc6000

It's like they either don't realize, or don't care, how dodgy this all looks. Sending down an unnamed and probably unelected member from up north to sort out a matter already with the Gardai.

Could we expect similar if they were in Government? Maybe the IRA council could help out with the bank holiday road safety campaigns or maybe get the children's hospital back on track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,180 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Post edited by expectationlost on

Ah ok, so they're biding their time: playing a long game. Here's me thinking that, despite MLMD shouting about it whenever she can, SF just couldn't be arsed engaging with the unionist community about it. Apologies for misinterpreting SF doing nothing as them actually doing nothing!

Anyhow getting back to the original point made here about FG and a UI, I believe that it is fair to say that down to their handling of the Brexit negotiations, FG have done far more to achieve this than SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭mikep

I read recently that part of the SF manifesto will include the creation of a Minister for reunification but also they will run a citizens assembly to examine reunification.

It seems a bit premature to create a ministry before the citizens assembly work is complete.

Exactly, if MOL pays more tax than you or me he absolutely should be getting the benefits that we get

It's the same argument for property and water charges. High earners already pay for the services through our already quite progressive income tax system

Their election manifesto hasn't properly been launched yet, but at their ard fheis MLMD did mention a green paper on Irish unity, a citizens assembly, a minister for reunification at the Department of An Taoiseach, and a clear-cut commitment to holding referendums.

What you see as "premature" would be viewed by many as preparations. Preparedness hasn't really been the forte of FFG and maybe that's where you are getting confused