Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The accelerating fall in Sinn Féin support

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

I think the easiest way to explain this so called bias

If a journalist in the Indo/Sindo found a story on a TD in government would they run the story? I think we all know they would because they know a big story will sell papers and get huge credit to the journalist

Now if a journalist at lets say the Ditch found a story on a SF TD would they run it? I think we all know the answer is no they wouldn't.

That is what I would say is bias

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,340 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It might do SF good in the long run a speeding up of a good clear out, a restructuring, distancing from criminality (both paramilitary and organised crime) and moving them towards the process of "normalisation" as political party. I think it could take 20-30 years yet as former leaders/sphere's of influence are always in the shadows. As long as SF NI is the main SF, it is going to be difficult.

But at least SF now have an opportunity to work on "SF ROI", but in doing so, I think a "culture clash" with "SF NI" is inevitable.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,353 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

One look at The ditch web site with pictures of the FFG leaders always up front regardless of whatever they are blogging about just show how very blatant its bias is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

Thoroughly ashamed I let my youthful rebellion and desire for a United Ireland lead me to voting Sinn Fein for a few years, then I turned 40, grew up and wouldn't give them next door's chip wrappers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,775 ✭✭✭deezell

It's a flaw of democracy. Lying, cheating, dangerous actors can seduce people with populist rhetoric, or by appealing to their divisive vengeful tendencies. Vote them in at your peril, you may not get the chance to vote them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

A united Ireland doesn't need SF to be in government.

There's loads of people who want a united Ireland but won't vote SF for a host of reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,370 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Every member of my extended family, about 40 voters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,351 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

McDonald having to admit she got it wrong about the kids age in the Dail today is another nail in the coffin for them.

They can whinge about the media having it in for them but there is nobody to blame for this mess only the shinners themselves.

Not long ago they were lording it over the media with all their SLAP court cases, very much part of the strategic armoury of an ideological controlling organisation. It doesn't suit the Irish political psyche, we elect our representatives primarily because we know them, they're ours, not theirs, we understand that they subscribe to a party system, but are not slaves and minions to it. It's a mutually beneficial arrangement, but a TD first and foremost begins life as a local representative, not the enforcer of a culture, a one trick pony. All politics is local.

Constituents only lend a party their mandate. Sinn Fein wouldn't respect that arrangement, they have so many unsanctioned goals to pursue that are driven by a core unelected elite, unseen and unnamed, (but probably not unarmed). That is not acceptable or safe for democracy.

Who remembers the incident at a party function where a local man was stabbed to death openly by a member of this elite, who then silenced the community, destroyed the evidence, and perverted the course of justice to protect itself and it's power, and threatened his family when they sought justice. That was 2005, only 19 years ago. The facts of this case makes covering up an accusation of dirty talking to a child look like playground bullying.

RIP Robert McCartney, 2005.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murder_of_Robert_McCartney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

The fact this thread is so dead, given the gravity of the situation, says it all really. Shows how many fake posters there were here. SF operating a policy of ‘say nothing, anywhere’. Finally, a sensible policy prevails for them.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

They've moved the troops here. Over 20 posts since 9:00pm yesterday. So many in the day I had to turn off notification.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058248567/sinn-fein-and-how-do-they-form-a-government-dilemma/p189

Understandable that they’d avoid this thread with an appropriate title for the state of their party and go for one with a delusional one. Had a quick glance, all the usual BS being trotted out. Pointless replying to them.
    Give ‘em rope….

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Busman Paddy Lasty

That's a shocking case. I'd never heard of it. The wiki page references the murder of Joseph Rafferty which in turn links to the murder of Paul Quinn which in turn references the murder of Gerard Evans.

I'm not going any deeper down the rabbit hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,403 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

They have literally done everything they could possibly do wrong the past few years.

They either deliberately sabotaged themselves or taking advice from the opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,788 ✭✭✭✭maccored

avoid this thread? lads, some of you may get over yourselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭standardg60

Spread the word so. Nobody saw anything seemingly. An SF councillor made a public appeal for anyone there to go to the authorities, turned out she was there herself and didn't see anything either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭satguy

I voted SF all my life,, But not any more ,, I'm finished with them.

Just some of the recent irks I have include.

The recent referendum Leo made us do, to delete the Irish mammy from our constitution, Mary Lou said she would run it again,, as the Irish people are too stupid to know what we are voting for…

The MUP on the cans of beer from Lidl ,, Mary Lou said we should pay more for beer, and it was for our own good.

The new return your empty cans machines ,, and having to bring your empties back on the bus, when we all have a recycle bin out in the back garden doing nothing ..

And the complete silence from SF on migrant immigration,, until it all exploded, only then did SF speak up. Too Late

Also they should have said something about the RTE scandal, they really need to show some balls on this one..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,536 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Let’s not forget the perpetrators organising a riot to ensure they had time to destroy evidence - whilst SF elected reps blamed the RUC for all the trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭standardg60

His friend, who he initially tried to defend, had his throat slit and was left to die alongside Robert. Somehow he survived, but couldn't remember anything either when it came to the court case.

This is what you're being asked to vote for folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Get Real

Is this satire? Because it gave me a good laugh.

If your post is legitimate, then it sums up what SF voters thought they were voting for:

Cheaper beer

An opposition to the return scheme. (Although simple logic says return your cans and you'll get your deposit back) But fair enough, severe resistance to "a pay up front" model

"Tough" immigration policies.

And regardless of whether you were a so called original supporter of SF, or a more recent middle class/younger voter, in both cases I'd argue it was painfully obvious to see what SF always were.

If you had notions of a party being draped in Irish flags and providing housing and money for..our own...as some would say, this was always false. If you were a younger person who saw SF as an anti-establishment, forward thinking party that would somehow have the power to provide you with a decent home on the average industrial wage, you were also wrong.

It was plainly obvious what SF always has been. There are convicted bombers who public ally represent them. There are people in the north who selected their leader. Who is a nice bit of window dressing and cleans the image up. A modern, well spoken female. If at any stage, you were led on by these lies and false image, then I'm sorry to say it was all plainly obvious all along. Read up on them.

The untouchables. The poor man probably done no more than insulted someone with a thin skin, but these guys were lording it, like the Sopranos, and would likely get full SF honours at their funerals, after they die peacefully in their beds. We're not talking 50+ years ago, the 'troubles'. This is contemporary, 2005. I'm glad some posters are reading about this for the first time, perhaps you were too young, or too busy with the surge in our domestic fortunes here. Maybe you didn't even listen to mainstream news, as the new media age took hold. I recall it so clearly, I know what it's like to be surrounded by thugs as a very young man. I was consumed with a rage and hatred for those smug bastards that never left me, and never will. Maybe SF will evolve into normalcy after a hundred years. Not nineteen though. Way to soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭tinytobe

The SF is not credible to me. What do they want? Solve the housing crisis in Ireland with higher taxes? Irish re-unification with the North? A massive bill to pay for Dublin, and not sure how to finance this? Again with higher taxes.

The SF ist far too left to me with a pinch of nationalism on top. Both I don't need.

They're driven by the North, and their previous election result. Remember, they left seats behind through lack of candidates as they'd no idea of the barrage of votes coming their way. Statistics wouldn't be their strong point. What the godfathers got a glimpse of though, was a SF government north and south, unification, an unassailable SF in power for decades on the whole Island. Marxist socialist policies that would ruin the country, and give them the excuse to suppress the opposition outcry. That's what these type of politicians do. Remember their sinister threatening slogan also, tiocfaidh ár lá, Our day will come. That was directed at us as well as the unionists. 'Our' never included anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭mikethecop

Jasas lads its like some one plugged out all the shinnerbots

i wonder if sf will immerse itself in criminality not that they seem to have completely blown politics ? go fuul time taxing drug dealers and smuggling ?

this is what happens when your organisation is controlled by some pervy old provos in the back room of a pub somewhere

They were having an almost scholarly discussion on the other 'dilemma' thread, regarding unification, until I threw in this mornings revelations about the Brian Stanley affair, then the shyt hit the fan. Contemplation about the Holy Unification and how many Shinners can fit on the head of a firing pin collapsed as all hell broke loose.

Post edited by deezell on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Odd: this thread was showing as having not updated since the middle of the month. For over a week, this thread was showing on my device as having no new comments, and fell off my first page of the Current Affairs forum. Anybody else?

You might have un-starred it, and were not receiving notifications. I had to do that twice now, my phone was hopping. I'll have a browse through it later.

I hope usual SF supporters stay away from this thread. It’s like a private chat about SF now without some nonsense about ‘Mehole’ or the ‘TikTok Taoiseach’ derailing things