Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The accelerating fall in Sinn Féin support

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Seems to be a bit of a snap moment but osted on another thread, seems everyone is seeing how biased and corrupt The Ditch are

As I posted on that thread, what have Sinn Fein promised Paddy to get his support? the public should be told before an election. If it is to hand over the keys to run his little event then they will lose lots of votes

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

What use would he be to Putin and the Moscow army council?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

it’s not like the letter was done on a typewriter, they can print another copy of it. I know SF hierarchy are still living in the 70’s but the technology is 2024. Wouldn’t have been an issue in 1994 even.
    Sounds like they are trying to pass the blame here in the most adolescent way.
    ‘We did give you the letter’. So a barrister, dealing with serious criminal allegation thought the best course of action was to hand a letter to a trainee from Templemore in a random station on a Sunday afternoon?

‘Hang on, I need to get the Sergeant or Inspector for you’

‘No, no, sonny, you hang on to that. Bye’

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Mary Lou could be struggling to hold onto her job after this fiasco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Quiet Achiever

I wonder if some fellas will pay a visit to BS to ensure he doesn't damage SFs chances any more than they already are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Allinall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,324 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'm no SF fan and think that they would be a disaster in Government for FDI and pretty much anyone in the middle earning bracket or above.

However I'm not blind to the crusade that the likes of the Indo are on in the last few days with headline stories being pushed (and I mean actively pushed with notifications in the app) each morning with an anti-SF angle.

Any wrong-doing and particularly any illegal activities by ANYONE should be fully investigated and charges brought where appropriate - but it hasn't escaped me that the incumbent parties are rarely given such journalistic diligence.

You'd almost think that there was an election in the air, or that a lot of the media are connected to said incumbents through marriage, blood, or career ambitions (the path from journalist or editor into advisor or staffer roles for FF/FG is well trodden).

Wouldn't it be great though if we actually had a media that investigated such things equally and with the same dedication they're showing here though?

Still, I'm not fooled anyway, but nor am I expecting anything different unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

They can't get rid of her before the election and they probably believe that their biggest and best chance to get into power is with her. . . Although unlikely now.

Having listened to vox pops on radio, it appears that SF voters are not impacted by any of this news. Some claiming to have read nothing about it.

Floating voters will be though.

Surprised just how little of the detail was reported on the 6 One News yesterday... in terms of the references.... misleading the Oireachtas..... etc etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

Also, if the shoe was on the other foot, Mary Lou would be calling for a vote of confidence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

She should be struggling to hold onto her job because of how she's led the party over the past 5 years.

They had a great election result 5 years ago, had an opportunity to be really strong oppositions to the govt. and push for being the leading party in the upcoming election.

But instead of wanting to do that they abandoned their potential voting base i.e working class nationalists , by deciding to go unnecessarily woke and wanting unlimited immigration to the country and pandering to minority religious groups which are things the type of people who would have voted for them would not be in favour of.

They voted for the governments hate speech legislation which nobody outside of the NGO class wants and then decided to back the 2 government referendums this year and threatened to re-run them if they got into power despite them being comprehensively defeated.

And then when they realized all of this wasn't working they did a 180 which just proved they were a bunch of opportunistic con-men with zero principles and couldn't be believed on anything.

I'd actually argue she's given a masterclass in how not to lead a political party and she's been one of the stupidest political party leaders the state has ever seen.

Post edited by Jack Daw on

"Newspaper puts out headlines stories which will sell newspapers and get clicks in shocking twist", that comes to mind from reading this post

"I'm not fooled anyway" 😂 first off you don't seem to understand the big issue here is SF trying to block activites getting fully investigated. Also you are complaining becuase the media are reporting on news becuase it is about SF, it is was another party you would be jumping around with glee and telling everyone they should never vote for them.

Carry on.

We would have at least 7 now :-) based on the amount SF have run over the past few years

When it was a poor young lady and all she done was send a few tweets Mary Lou sent around a few lads to tell her to remove them. Mary Lou of course saying that it's no problem for people to show up at her front door ininvited to intimidate a lady, sure what could be wrong with that?

Does anyone think they won't send someone round to shut him up or else?

You're absolutely right. I would be calling for accountability and for people to consider who they vote for - just as I did above by saying that any wrong-doing should be fully investigated and prosecuted if necessary, and started by saying that I think that SF would be a disaster for most.

Maybe you missed that in your rush to have a go at SF and deflect from similar if not worse scandals and outrages from the big 2 over the years - or did you miss the many pointless inquiries and tribunals (at great public expense I might add!) where no one is actually held accountable.

Carry on indeed! Ironically a very good description of the political system in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,728 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

I'll bite. Who are the perfect party that you think are worthy of your vote?

Do you really need to ask with the party line posts and whataboutary?

The “I’m not a SF supporter” line which is always thrown out, fools nobody

Never voted for SF in my life. Your deflection is what fools nobody. Not a new thing either.

Enjoy your day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭batman75

My feeling looking in from the outside is that MMLD and MON were cherry picked by Gerry to be their leaders on their respective sides of the border. That they weren't democratically elected.

I think their is a feeling that Gerry is the real power and the girls are the face of his wishes. Gerry is a cunning and canny operator.

I just think their is too much that is opaque about Sinn Fein and how it's run. Stanley's charge of kangaroo courts simply add to that lack of transparency.

Maria Cahill being made to face her abuser in a house is another example. Normal political parties don't operate like this.

Gerry himself has insulted the intelligence of the Irish people for decades in denying being a member of the IRA. At least Martin admitted it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,353 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

SF operates in the same hierarchial manner as the IRA did. You don't vote in your generals. They are appointed.
    It's no wonder Stanley referenced Kangaroo court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,775 ✭✭✭deezell

Sending an univited 'delegation' without an appointment or consent to the door of your home would give anyone a shiver. They should have a shirt, of a uniform colour, maybe black, and... maybe berets, and yea, march up and down. Oh.... Right.

Actually, a long good while back in town I seen some ragarse crew in khaki and green jumpers and berets, pigeon marching down O'Connell St, flailing arms and assorted black footware, they were utterly pathetic, like a group of middle aged pub fascists who missed being in the boy scouts. What were they called, Saorview or Saoirse or Saorshites or something. I think it's that similar whiff of danger that attracts some to SF, the 'do you know who I am?' fantasy. We do. You're gobshites mostly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

In fairness it was quite obvious what was going on on twitter the other evening.

I never seen so many posts with the same phraseology and message being put out in such a short space of time after an interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Augme

It was very obvious what was going on twitter with the fine gael members out in force alright. As they were here too. They must get paid overtime for after 6pm. 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,057 ✭✭✭✭zell12

SF want my gorgeous house to devalue to €300k is still rattling a huge cohort of voters nationally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,068 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Housing is well past Celtic tiger levels of unaffordability, market fundamentals long overshot, doesn't matter who is in power on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,134 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

So much totally rotten at the heart of the Sinn Féin leadership.

They had known what Ó' Donnghaile had been up to for a long time before taking any action. When they did take action, they tried to cover it up. We're only getting the truth of the matter a year later and apparently Ó' Donnghaile is still at it, sending unsolicited messages!

Do Mary Lou and the rest of the higher ups not understand basic right from wrong? A senior Sinn Féin party member used his position of authority to engage in sexual activity with a minor. Their inability to act swiftly and decisively is almost as bad as the actions of Ó' Donnghaile himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,134 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

There's no doubt that there is a degree of organisation and timing in the take down of Sinn Féin. All this coming out on the eve of an election is clearly no accident. A (very, very) small part of me is concerned that the media have such control over the electorate. But the overriding majority of me says fcuk Sinn Féin, they deserve everything that's coming to them. A collapse opens a gap for a party that maybe understands basic morals and human decency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Mary Lou must be under serious pressure now. She's been a spoofer since day 1 and should now move on.

The problem for SF is there's no real talent waiting to take over from her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Considering the situation, this thread is so quiet. I used to think I was paranoid when a thread would be swarmed, but it looks like this is the level of real posters left here!

The attack dogs have been called off here…for now….

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Has she put out a statement yet thanking Patricia Ryan for her great service the party and wishing her well in the future?

She was more than happy to do it for someone she knew was forced to resign for sending inappropriate text messages to minors (which she helped to cover) - but she’s not willing to do it for someone who resigned due to a disagreement over candidate selection?

Her moral compass is almost as f***** up as some of her defenders on here