Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meanwhile on the Roads...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,113 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

in short, if you get caught by a go-safe van, you're such an idiot behind the wheel that you really should have your licence revoked.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,061 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Ah its the top bit I didn't realise, I figured it would be far shorter on a busy road as its one at a time but I thought they could instantly look up the road when it is quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Paddigol

There would need to be some careful structuring of such a scheme - a blanket requirement would disproportionately affect poorer people. The costs would hardly be noticed by the wealthy, which in the long term would end up making driving a privilege of the wealthy. It's kind of why clamping works - plenty of wealthy people will happily run the risk of a fine for the convenience of dumping their car somewhere convenient, but the indiscriminately inconvenient discovery of your car clamped is a great leveller.

Take it out of the motor tax income, increase the top rate of motor tax for D, E and F cars by 40% on a phased basis, increase by 10% year on year for the next 4 years. Also make it a legal requirement that all new cars sold by a dealer require it installed (an effective non cost for the consumer). After 4 years, all cars sold by a dealer, new or second hand must install them. They will not be prohibitively expensive, they are already in use by some insurers.

The other benefit is that it will probably lower insurance costs for some very quickly if there is the option to release the info to 3rd party vendors such as insurers (opt in only).

Garda mobile app will have a tick box on it if the car should have it installed and the ability to see is it moving.

@RSA/ @SimonHarris … See how easy it is to spitball and find workable solutions to the s**tshow that is our roads? What initiatives have come from the RSA and Govt. in the last 10 years?

As an aside, has anyone else found the traffic on the roads to be worse than ever since the schools have returned? It seems noticeably worse that last academic year. N11 is like a car park all the way back to Newtown Mt.Kennedy by 7.30am. Rat running is chronic. Really need to get back on the bike for my sanity.

Very much a mixture of the secondary schools and UCD. A huge amount of students no longer rent in Dublin (and the number who in UCD has gone up phenomenally in the last 10 years, between staff and students you could have 35,000 on site during term time, if everyone turned up on a single day, you could in theory have 48,000 but that doesn't happen, the science building alone has 24,000 different people walking through it on the busiest day of the week). Secondary school students are stuck between overcrowded DB, and the parent taxi, thankfully the numbers walking and cycling seems to have increased but you still see several Colaiste Eoin Land Rover Taxis barreling up the Bus lane north bound, then swinging across last minute (a few with yellow reg plates as well, which I find hilarious, you can afford a LR but not VRT). Mount Anville has improved immensely but it is still busy but at least the majority drive off the road and drop off as they are meant too. The Teresian school closer to Donnybrook is the worst where the parents have a Whatsapp group to notify others if the Gardai are in the Bus Lane in the morning.

The train in the mornings is now standing room only from Gorey, which is phenomenal but they need at least the same again 30 minutes later.

I used to live in Bray and it used to be once you were on the N11/M11 before 7:45 you were grand but as you said, traffic is heavy for the 20 miles before it at that stage now. Part the numbers, the other part people freaking out because they do not know how to merge safely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

I was caught by a van on the M1 at roughly 260 meters. Must have had a pretty tight focus, as plenty of other cars beside me. I didn't ask for the photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Yes - i park and cycle and got caught badly on Monday. The amount of rat running is tailing back Kilmac towards to Long Hill, as so many coming from the right at the first roundabout (Quill Road I'd guess but perhaps Bohilla Lane too). Can only say I haven't seen it back up there in over 20 years of commuting, even back in the days of 5 days a week in the office. Now, I'd say it's every day (the bollards at the garage probably arent helping either though)

Just to add, the number of school buses not operating in North Wicklow probably isn't helping either, if you take circa 10 full buses having to be in private cars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,680 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Cycling by Stephens Green this morning along the lovely big wide cycle track, the one that leads on to Leeson Street.

Motorbike does what motorbikes always do there and use the cycle track to skip traffic. This really really grinds my gears, so I make sure to take up as much of the cycle lane as I can. (I'll generally be cycling faster than most of the cyclists there so they'll be sitting on the left with me overtaking them on the right)

Biker guy comes up behind me, on the cycle track, revving for me to get out of the way.

I turned back to him, shouting 'are you revving at me on a cycle track??' and he pointed at the ground, saying something through his helmet. Not sure what he said but he seemed to be indicating that I was in the wrong. Then sped off around me. Again, on the cycle track.

I've never been so incensed in my life.

On the off chance he reads this forum, you sir, are a massive ****.

I've had plenty of cars undertake there using that cycling lane. Saw a motorbike yesterday using the cycle lane at Fitzwilliam Square going towards Merrion Square using the cycle lane to skip ahead of traffic. Bear in mind that this cycle lane is narrow and located between the footpath and the parked cars. Every day I see some example of more-than-minor abuse of cycle lanes by motorists, and yet we'll still get the "use the bike lane d**khead" shouted at us if we decide for our own safety, 'f**k it, I'm just using the main lane'. Even had someone on this very forum last year arguing that my admitting to not using all bike lanes even when they're available is a "d**k move". Well, if he happens to still be reading this forum… above is just one of many reasons why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,680 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Hah, fairly sure that was me! I'll still use cycle lanes whenever they're available but I think it's what adds to my absolute rage whenever I see a motorbike in one.

The cheek to rev at me though. I actually tried speeding after him in the hopes that he'd get caught by the pedestrian light half way down the road but it went green and continued on his merry way along the cycle track.

Not sure what I was planning on doing, half of me wanted to get off the bike, turn it side ways and block his path but I'm sure that wouldn't have ended well 😅

Yeah I've seen cars do that there too. It's a shame they didn't put some form of barrier between the cycle track and the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭JMcL

This would be a great idea in terms of figuring out what happened in crashes if it stored telemetry. You'd have to balance that against insurance companies wanting to get their grubby paws on it, but if it were treated like a "breathalyser" in that a Guard at a checkpoint could get a notification that Johnny had been a naughty boy in his journey up to that point, they could pull him over, download the data, and investigate more fully. Similarly collated instances of speeding could be archived for a period and pulled off at the NCT (which doesn't do much for new cars though). I can see the Journal comments as I type 😂

I'd have zero issue with insurance companies getting their hands on it. The pocket is the only place to change motorist culture, as we see with the short term impacts of the introduction of penalty points (until the collective realised still so little enforcement).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,520 ✭✭✭blackwhite

User manual for the radar detection used in Go Safe vans - pages 5 and 7. The radars are calibrated to read at a 22 degree angle to the road, so it means the field of vision is limited.

https://agdsystems.vm.wizbit.net/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/product-manual-342.pdf

We need more manned speed traps, as well as more unmarked cars on roads policing duties. They'll detect speeding but also detect other dangerous behaviours as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

The logisitics of such a system would be challenging, to say the least. For starters, there are somewhere between 2.5 and 3 million vehicles on Irish roads. If you were to install trackers on all of them over, say, three years, that's about 3.5k trackers per working day. Assuming that a tracker can be fitted and tested within 2-3 hours, you have a workforce of over a thousand working on this (plus admin, IT etc etc) - the wage bill including all employer obligations etc is likely to be in the 75-100 million € per annum

The device itself will need to be a considerably more sophisticated device that that used by the insurers - the insurers' "black box" gives an indication based on a number of excursions from "acceptable behaviour" - speeding, hard acceleration or braking etc. It generally won't hang you on a single incident. The "speeding" black-box however is going to be used as the basis of a legal conviction so there will be significant challenges around data management & retention as well as continued accurate measurement of speed over the lifetime of the device.

The correct identification of speed limits also needs to be sorted out. For example, the on-ramp to a 100kmh dual carriageway near me shows up on the sign-recognition system and the background GPS map as 50 kmh. Good luck merging at that speed.

A GPS based tracker does precisely nothing to address the problems of inappropriate speed - doing 75 kmh on a 80 kmh road in thick fog, black ice or flooding isn't going to trigger anything. Oh, and I'd give it a week before some sh!tgibbon in a felt-spec Passat has figured out how to fool the system.

And finally, I suspect that it would be a GDPR / civil liberties minefield.

I think that I'd far prefer the hundreds of millions this would cost to be spent on bolstering the capability of the Garda RPU & increased static cameras, along with shaking some sense into the courts system so that road safety infractions are punished properly.

Meanwhile… a good illustration of why the 'whataboutery' around cyclists breaking red lights of the roads is a ridiculous false-equivalence. I doubt any collision involving a bike flaking through a junction without stopping would be as violent and life threatening as this…

Driver injured after two vehicle crash in Co Roscommon | Irish Independent

Edit: it's also a bit rich to describe this incident as a "two vehicle crash".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Don Juan II

I love the idea of a black box in cars. And I agree with everything you have said. However, I would approach the problem very differently.

I would leave it to the insurance market to sort out.

Pass legislation to ensure ALL motor insurance providers much offer a significant discount to motorists who opt for a "black box" policy. And does who don't pay a higher premium. None of the speeding info is shared with Gardai. The device only needs to be as accurate as it is now. This is a proven model and it works.

Motorists are not forced to take one of these devices, but over time, if the incentive is there, enough people will have one that it eill have a dramatic effect of reducing speeds on roads.

Unfortunately, I don't believe the insurance industry will act in anyone's interest but themselves. They'll load the premiums to pay for the infrastructure and when enough people have them, stop offering the discount. And they'll probably sell your travel data.

The current arrangement is worth their while because the tracker offering is to high-risk groups and while the premium for those drivers is reduced, its's still not cheap and covers the cost of the tracker. The incentive is that it is cheaper than the "no tracker" option.

For safe drivers with already low premiums, the provision of a tracker will cost someone money (hint: its not the insurers) but is unlikely to allow any further reduction in premium as the tracker is nominally preventing a behaviour in which that driver is statistically not indulging to any great extent.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,113 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Interesting to see a reference so early in the article as to the colour of the car; and a second one further in but no explanation as to how it's relevant.

https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/2024/10/16/man-pleads-guilty-to-dangerous-driving-causing-death-of-student-journalist-joe-drennan/

interesting to note that they've since removed the word 'black' from the sub-head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭JMcL

Unfortunately, I don't believe the insurance industry will act in anyone's interest but themselves. They'll load the premiums to pay for the infrastructure and when enough people have them, stop offering the discount. And they'll probably sell your travel data.

This is exactly why I'd be sceptical of insurance companies doing this. I have a generally low opinion of them in general, and given the regularity they seem to change hands, wouldn't trust them with a raft of personal data as far as I could throw them. The ideal situation is a black box where you own the data, but as others point out, this does come with a raft of complications and wouldn't be practical/economic to retrofit

Agree. But it's amazing what tech the car manufacturers do manage to fit into the cars when it suits them. How, globally, we're not at a point where that is standard is beyond me. But then again, it perfectly reflects society's attitude to the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭monkeyslayer

Was being over taken by some young fella on a narrow blind curve in a country lane way/ road. I knew he was there behind me when suddenly I hear him revving the gears and he rallys up behind me and launches into the overtake. I quickly turn to him with my hand out slightly to gesture 'chill the f__K out' only to notice he was looking directly at me and giving out he passed… barley a second later an oncoming car slams on the brakes as he miraculously avoids it on the end the curve. He was probably only a few centimetres short of a high speed collision and if that car had arrived even half second sooner he'd have been cutting in on top of me, or straight into him, as he was too busy looking at me. He'd the cheek then to beep as he tore off down the road.

Guaranteed - 100% - that he considers himself a superior driver and everyone else on the road is the problem.

How about a compromise, fitting one guarantees a reduction in insurance cost (maybe through a tax credit, you can put it in like a rent credit at the end of the year, if your car has one, it can have an equivalent tax credit equal to the cost of your insurance or Motor Tax is slightly cheaper if registered as fitted) but the only time it is accessed is by Gardai during either routine stops where there is reasonable suspicion that a crime has been committed, in situations where a crime has been committed and at the scene of an accident. In a normal day to day interaction, all a garda can do is tell from the mobile app it is registered as installed and if it is active.

All new cars must have them fitted before sale (so a cost on the first purchase of a brand new car, which means it is not burdening those with lower incomes) but you can apply to have one fitted for the tax credit or reduced motor tax cost.

So no data about you is ever realised by anyone unless a crime has been committed or an accident occurs, and even then, the only thing released publicly is data that would have been released anyway as part of an investigation.

Wait till people realise the private data collected about them, their location and their driving behaviour by Google and Apple, and while you can opt out of it on your phone, I would be doubtful many opted out on their car system. I remember the first time I looked at Googles where have I been, it knew where I was, whether I was cycling, walking or driving, the speed, the time, everything.

So no data about you is ever realised by anyone unless a crime has been committed or an accident occurs,

Geraldine Kennedy, Bruce Arnold and Vincent Browne, among many others would beg to differ.

Fair enough but I am not talking about phone tapping, I am talking about how the data is retrieved. What Sean Doherty done was illegal dressed up in bureaucracy. I am not saying they should run out and do this under the description given by a randomer on the internet. I am spit balling ideas, without a doubt, there would have to be robust security on how this is done.

Have a think of what protections need to be in place. I have already suggested it was opt in, so the only thing that would be hindered by not opting in is your ability to buy a car that had it. A lot of it will be opt in and since the aim isn't other crimes, maybe that could feed into the data and what can be accessed. Maybe when accessed there has to be an independent log, both internal but also transmitted to a separate database.

I don't know to be honest. I would also be perfectly happy with red light cameras coupled with average speed cameras, every toll operator camera would be included, littered across the country. Wouldn't be quite as good but it would be a start.

This, so much, when people get their knickers in a twist about "tracking".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭rflynnr

I'm kind of assuming that the following is already understood but just in case: the technology described above is already a feature of the Irish insurance market. We looked to add my daughter (20) to our car insurance but the cost was generally entirely prohibitive. And then we came across Revolut's insurance offering. Still a four figure sum but doable. However, the condition of the insurance is that we install what is effectively a tracker within the car. (It plugs into the power socket so "install" overstates it.) My understanding is that it tracks speed, cornering and braking style (presumably using some class of accelerometer). Logically it must also be tracking our location if the speed reading is to have any meaning. A new screen on our Revolut app gives us weekly updates on our driving score. (I have no clue what score level would be considered problematic by Revolut and they are entirely silent on the subject.)

So we are effectively handing data regarding our driving style (and our wider patterns of travel) to an insurance company. I'm not delighted with the data protection element of this but, on the other hand, I am already routinely subject to passive surveillance from about 20 different directions (mainly my phone) so it doesn't constitute a huge additional data disclosure. I might feel differently about it if our driving was less risk averse but, on the whole, we're pretty conservative so, to date, our driving score has been quite high.

If my driving has a flaw it's a tendency to break the speed limit. I had three penalty points for doing 62 in a 50 zone. Not the worst offence but not great driving on my part either. That 62 was not conscious speeding: it was pure carelessness. And I will say: the presence of the tracker has made me more conscious of speed limits.