Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Transgender man wins women's 100 yd and 400 yd freestyle races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,837 ✭✭✭Enduro

Again, do you not realise how this discussion forum works? Not only can we see your past posts, and other user's past posts, but we can also see the sequence in which the posts occurred.

In post number #7762 you posted :

If you want to support women's sports though best go to an event and pay to watch it, instead of white knighting on the internet.

It was several post later in post #7766 that she posted :

TBH I've never been a big fan of watching sports

So at the time you posted YOU DID NOT KNOW the information she SUBSEQUENTLY volunteered.

You are doing a fantastic job of sinking any credibility you have on this thread well below the waterline.

Sorry the above post should have quoted this one!

You haven't been able to answer any questions directly or back up any assertions you have made on this thread. We can all see that.

I have quoted your posts each time, so it's easy to see exactly what I'm attributing to you, since I am directly quoting you each time. Really, if you can't defend the posts I'm quoting perhaps you should think before posting them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,967 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

LOL, you got caught out and can't give an answer so you run for the hills. Priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,559 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

LOL. No.

Not that anyone will care but Kirsty-Lee Davies won that pool tournament.

image.png

Congrats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,981 ✭✭✭volchitsa

Except earlier on you clearly thought you did know something, since you told me I had no interest in sports and was "white knighting".

Could you explain where that fabulous insight came from please?

As for the subsequent post, you didn't know that at the time you told me I had no interest in sport and was "white knighting". Not to mention that not watching sport on television is not the same as not being involved in sports. Specifically, female sports.

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,981 ✭✭✭volchitsa

How exactly is that relevant to the problem of males muscling into female sports categories, in several different sports?

Do you think a woman has to play in each sport before she's entitled to express a general opinion about men taking women's places in sports?

For example in the example below, while a woman did win in the end, another woman has been deprived of a chance to participate in the final of the female category.

You've made no attempt whatsoever to explain why you think that's fine: the best you can do is speculate about other posters' alleged agendas. Oh and dismiss pool and darts as not really sports. None of which is relevant - the female categories exist so they should be respected. IMO. What about yourself: you've posted on this a lot, but we're no nearer to knowing what you think yourself on this: do you mean that female categories should be removed altogether, and if so, for which sports? Only pool and darts?

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,859 ✭✭✭plodder

There's a similar sentiment in an article by Joe Humphreys' in the Irish Times on Monday. He divides the debate into two camps. Those whom he addresses directly and for whom it is "deeply personal" (trans people) against the "others" for whom it's no more than "intellectual sport". It's pretty disingenuous. What he doesn't know about the motives of the other side, he just assumes the worst, ie nothing more than self regarding intellectual posturing, as if none of us have wives, girlfriends, daughters or grand daughters who are involved in sport.

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/2024/10/14/why-political-debate-is-so-fraught-whats-personal-to-you-is-intellectual-sport-to-others/

Even if you accept the point that the other side are less personally invested, it's the old 'stay in your lane' thing that is still a common attitude here. Like you have to establish a right to comment on something before opening your mouth, often in case you get in the way of someone who's up to no good, or bullying their way to what they want. It reminds me one night we were on a bus and overheard a drunk woman abusing a young black guy. When we intervened we were told by her companion "Stay out of this. It's nothing to do with you". You're expected to keep your head down in Ireland and not get involved in things that don't directly affect you.

Except earlier on you clearly thought you did know something, since you told me I had no interest in sports and was "white knighting".

I never said you had no interest in sports, you volunteered that.

I was referring to women's 8 ball.

Something which you have absolutely no interest in, I can't really fathom why you are confused or seem upset over that fact.

It reminds me one night we were on a bus and overheard a drunk woman abusing a young black guy. When we intervened we were told by her companion "

Stay out of this. It's nothing to do with you

You can't leave us hanging there?

What was she saying to the young guy and what happened next?

Don't know how it started. It looked like he slighted her in some way, maybe by sitting in a seat she wanted to keep for someone else. Words were exchanged including her calling him a monkey. When we intervened, the woman's partner walked over to us telling us to stay out of it. The bus driver who didn't hear any of the "conversation", but obviously saw your man walk over to us, and me standing up to talk to him, threatened to throw us all off the bus. So, we went upstairs. Interesting as well that the bus driver said to the young guy - When she started abusing you, why didn't you just leave your seat and move somewhere else? Probably not unreasonable advice, even if it does come across as victim blaming.

Did you report the crime you witnessed to the Gardaí?

You potentially witnessed a hate crime.

Details below.

https://www.garda.ie/en/about-us/online-services/online-hate-crime-reporting/

Any criminal offence which is perceived by the victim or any other person to, in whole or in part, be motivated by hostility or prejudice, based on actual or perceived age, disability, race, colour, nationality, ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation or gender.

Don't think it qualifies as a crime under present law. Maybe a non hate-crime incident, but we're off on a tangent here.

Really?

Words were exchanged including her calling him a monkey.

Up to you though, if you want to stay out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭aero2k

With all the long posts, and linked documents and videos, it can be hard to keep everything straight in your mind. Here's a succinct summary of where we are. I might post it on the other thread as well.

Gender.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,356 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

So women pushing for equality in women sports, sports that they can participate in, is women white nighting for women?

While a man admittedly who has no interest in women's sports is pushing for men to compete in sports he has no interest in competing himself and doesn't watch, so why post here.

So women are wrong for fighting for their rights.

While a poster is white nighting for men to infringe on women's rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,967 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

My post on 14 Oct was deleted by Beasty and I was warned for link dumping. I'm going to post the video again with a bit more background. Nike, probably the most instantly recognisable sporting brand (Just Do It!) likes to present itself as being supportive of women in sport, but has been remarkably silent on recent intrusions of males into women's sports. In fact they're extremely hypocritical. They tried to climb on the #bekind bandwagon, claiming that Caster Semanya was being discriminated against because he didn't meet the stereotypical appearance of a woman, when in fact he was prevented from competing in women's races due to being a man - this was revealed in court documents submitted as part of a CAS case. They have also been inextricably linked with the now defunct Oregon Project, where running legend Alberto Salazar and others abused female athletes (Kara Goucher, Mary Cain and others), shaming them for their weight and driving them to ill health by overtraining. This ad by XX-XY features a series of women athletes asking Nike if it will stand up for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,356 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

The modern left is very sinister in itself.

They seem to be mostly men looking to take back rights that women fought hard to get.

Out of interest, who has been doing the criticism of the brand? Any major organisation, or just TRAs on the internet?

It's a really sh1tty way to behave, IMHO. The left are supposed to be the educated, intellectual ones, yet they can't see how by taking away hard-won rights from women, they make society worse for everyone.

I'm not aware of anything in particular other than the banning of the XX-XY brand from TikTok. Sey has posted critically on her substack regarding TikTok allowing sponsored content featuring people with double mastectomies targeted at young people with with gender dysphoria, but I don't know if the ban pre-dates that. That and the TRA's of course, who, like the poor, are always with us it seems.

Jennifer Sey is a former US champion gymnast and former CMO and brand president at Levi Strauss

Reading about her there, she sounds like another poor soul who bitchuted herself retarded during the pandemic took a deep dive into a warren of nonsense culture wars and has been unable to get out.

Although to be fair to her she seems to be profiteering on the back of fear mongering.

So there is that.

Warned and 3 day ban applied

Post edited by Beasty on

You're the second TRA to use the word "retarded" in this thread. I would have thought that was quite an offensive word to use in and of itself (Offence to use at all in any use case, no matter who you are describing). At a level similar to the "N" word. At the very least it's very un-PC indeed.

I think the above post says a lot more about you than it does about Jennifer Sey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I love the way they did this left wing platforming an issue style. Using kids looking lost and all alone by themselves in a playground to tug at the heartstrings. Similar to this style from the BBC which depicts a persons back view looking out into the distance. Poor thing, so sad.

I know all their little tricks by now.

If by that offensive slur you mean that she lost her job for pointing out the hypocrisy inherent in rich people advocating public school closures while the rich kids got to carry on in their private schools, then yes. Given the fallout from school closure here, her opinion had some merit, and she was brave enough to express it in 2020.

Funnily enough I was just over on another thread, lamenting the sadly all too common debating technique of throwing shade as a poor substitute for engaging with the actual subject matter.

What's wrong with making a profit, or are you one of the TRA's that think anyone who dares express a contrary opinion, no matter how firmly fact-based, should be permanently deprived of the ability to earn an income - possibly along with being burned alive, punched on the face, raped, etc, etc?

What "fear" do you think she's mongering? She is standing up for women in sport, and has referenced over 600 cases of men taking prizes that should have gone to women, so it's not a case of fear when that which she is trying to prevent has demonstrably happened.