Sinn Fein and how do they form a government dilemma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭spillit67

Carthy has been in the cult since he was a teenager. He’s also a bit of a simpleton. I don’t expect he’ll make any grand moves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,310 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

What you're impliedly arguing here is that SF doesn't need to have a credible disciplinary process in place because the other parties don't.

You do realise that that comes across as a very, very weak and insecure argument? "We can get away with not adhering to high standards here because other parties also don't adhere to high standards". Even if the assertion about other parties standards is true, that's not a reason for SF not to aspire to best practice, is it?

And this is an area in which, fairly or unfairly, SF has a hill to climb. Rightly or wrongly, there's a perception that SF has a system of iron discipline within the party, administered by unelected individuals, largely in secret. Especially given the history of the broader Republican movement adn the spirit in which internal discipline was administered, that's a particularly unfortunate miasma for SF to have around it. They should be doing everything they can to get away from it, not reckoning that they can get away with it.

We don't know the details of the allegation against Stanley, or of the counter-allegation which he has reportedly made. No doubt there's good reasons for that, but it creates a situation in which rumour, speculation and lurid imagination have free reign. It's not difficult to read this situation as "There's something seriously smelly going on here. SF tried to deal with the matter through a secret internal process, the primary goal of which was to keep it from public awareness. Only when the internal process was stopped by Stanley's resignation, and the goal of keeping the public in ignorance was frustrated by his public statement did they go to the Guards. If they could have buried this in a ditch in the bog and forgotten all about it, they would have."

The truth may well be very different from that, but we can't know that, so sinister readings of the situation like the above will flourish. As I say, it may be unfair, but its the reality that SF has to content with. They simply can't get away with being as shonky as other parties on this; other parties don't come trailing the same whiff of grapeshot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

https://www.finegael.ie/app/uploads/2017/05/FG-Constitution-2014-Aug.pdf

I think it is paragraph 44B.1 onwards under the FG Constitution. First result on a google search for FG disciplinary procedure.

Now, that is an August 2014 document, so not sure if it is the latest, and not getting into an off-topic discussion on it. I am sure someone could get any more up-to-date procedure with a slightly longer google search.

Incidentally, I couldn't find SF's ones yesterday.

Simplify what now?

You two spent hours yesterday justifying why Lynn Boylan would have knowledge of the entire piece. Additionally you desperately tried to justify her statement on it being in Brian Stanley’s gift to “end all of this” when at the same time you had your buddy @FrancieBrady saying that there was no way SF could adjudicate on the matter that has been referred to the Garda.

Now we have two other front liner SFers who don’t have any knowledge apparently, when Francie was telling us all that of course SF reps being put out to the media should know.

Always in crisis solving mode with temporary lying and deflection.

The lying and defection from Sinn Fein representatives isn't temporary. It is embedded, consistent and all for the cult.

Look at Conor Murphy first out the door on McMonagle, telling lies all round that MLMD and MON later had to apologise for. Same with Lynn Boylan on Stanley. Repeated similar behaviour tells a story.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

This is the worst outcome for both sides. Stanley’s seat is likely gone. Only his core base will vote for him but Ben be toxic to transfers as there’s that question mark over him now because nobody knows ready what the whole controversy is about. It’s not going to entice transfers. Same with the SF candidate. Outside of core support they’re done. From a transfer perspective the party likely won’t be if sufficient size to either be effective opposition or a practical government partner after the next election. Crazy really. I’m sure this was brewing last week. Why someone from SF didn’t try and talk down BS and compromise with him is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,779 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

What you're impliedly arguing here is that SF doesn't need to have a credible disciplinary process in place because the other parties don't.

Sorry not reading beyond this TBH Pere.

I said no such thing.

Indeed. I don’t think SF will collapse to the levels some here but that’s a couple of more seats in the last week where there is a high % they won’t get a seat. Where Stanley was I thought they’d be pushing for 2 seats six months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Augme

SF is cult and sacrificing a pedophile is part of their weird culture behaviour. Yes, as clear as mud. A bizarre angle to take but fair enough, your entitled to take that stance on it.

Did Lynn Boylan say she knew th full facts ofnthe entire situation? As I said, BS can end all the speculation by just explaining what happened and exactly what process he went through. He's repeatedly refused to do that.

As I said, I can't constantly simplify things for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,914 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

It appears Stanley may have been familiar with the type of investigation he was going to be subjected to and went there fully tooled up.

An attempt was then made to discipline him. At that point he made the counter claim of a criminal act taking place against him.

Dodgy investigation was left high and dry, Stanley resigns and SF realise that they are in a bit of bother as it would blow up all over the media.

Referred to gardai to appear to be doing the right thing and to keep the detail under wraps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭mikep

Anyone heard from Eoin???

He normally can't resist a chance to let us know how clever he is...

Lynn Boylan explicitly said Brian Stanley could “end all of this” if he just said what the allegation was against him and was critical of him.

Are you now saying she was not aware of the facts (all day yesterday @FrancieBrady said of course she would be before being sent out to bat).

If that is the case, can Lynn Boylan with any shred of credibility continue to support whistleblowers? Coming out to attack a recent colleague like that when you don’t know the facts appears to be a way to try and shut down that person down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,887 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Where did I reference one anywhere?

Strawmanning to deflect is getting pretty desperate

I didn't ask for that that:

I asked for:

'Can you point to a transparent disciplinary process used by another political party?'

I.E. A disciplinary process with the following (Using Maria Bailey's as an example) :

The full facts of what took place.

Who conducted it. Or who was there

What was said.

What the process was

And the final report?

If it was a 'transparent process' as is demanded of the Shinners, demonstrate it's transparency.

It is not credible that MLMD was not getting updates on the status of the investigation at the very least. I can accept that maybe she didn't know the details, but she was making decisions about BS's continued involvement in the PAC, his selection for the Dail etc., and would at least want to know whether there was substance to the complaints, the timeframe, the direction of travel etc. and should have been briefed on those even if the nature of the complaint was withheld for privacy reasons.

Then why where you asking about credible disciplinary processes in other parties?

If you weren't asking about them to justify something about what Sinn Fein is doing, the only other reason is that you were trying to deflect and drag the thread off topic for no particular reason. I wouldn't accuse you of the latter, but you seem to be accusing yourself of going off-topic for no reason at all.

Of course, I should also have added that the disingenuous twisting of the words of outsiders is another defining feature of cult membership.

You guys are saying there is a right way of doing these things.

You guys are looking for transperancy.

I assume you are comparing it to some better way of doing it.

So point us to a better way by giving us the detail demanded here in relation to known disciplinary processes in other parties.

Maria Bailey was the subject of a disciplinary hearing, I want transparency on it, can you tell us the following or not?:

The full facts of what took place.

Who conducted it. Or who was there

What was said.

What the process was

And the final report?

If the process is 'transparent' you should have no problem.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

This. Despite what is being said, anyone with an ounce of sense knows that certain high ranking party officials knew what was going on. They would have to as it’s relevant to their job. MLMD as leader would at least need to know the status of each parliamentary party member. Not all details but at least a direction of travel of tge investigation. Same for a director of elections. Trouble is, others like Lynn Boylan also seem to know, or claim to know. If you are involved in a disciplinary hearing in a with environment, which is what this essentially is, you’d expect that your coworkers aren’t jabbering about the details as you pass in the corridor.

Enough damage was done when BS quit. Lynn Boylan coming out to tell him to divulge the details is off absolutely no help. It just drives the wedge between both parties even drier and marks her it as a company woman. Really you can infer from that that ages only representing the interests of SF in Europe. I wouldn’t be hopeful of her representing her actual electorate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,310 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

What can I say? That's how it came across.

And you might want to reconsider your stern resolve and go back and reread what I wrote, because the whole thrust of it was coming across that way is particularly bad for SF, because SF is is not in the same situation here as other parties.

@peregrinus said that what you're implicitly arguing here is that SF doesn't need to have a credible disciplinary process in place because the other parties don't.

You said that you weren't, and now here you are doing exactly just that.

Another question is why it took well over two months when it was “one incident”. I know some have blamed holidays. They have also said the counter allegation came on September 11th (six weeks after the allegation).

Why on earth would you allow it to go on so long with such a front facing member and so close to elections? 4-6 weeks really should be the max.

A leader should be able to manage people going on holidays to ensure important processes like this are resolved as quickly as possible. Here we have another instance though (along with the two PR officials and the HR “blunder”) where internal processes failed and the famous “mistakes were made” comes out. That’s not to mention the actual complaints involved in this situation and what they potentially say about standards in the party.

Lynn Boylan knowing the details, as she implicitly claimed, is wrong, because co-workers shouldn't know what is going on, but senior management is different. If you have an employee under investigation and an opportunity to send him to a month-long job off-site comes up, you want to know the status of the investigation, you need to be on top of that, so that you can make decisions as a competent senior manager. Yes, you don't need the gory details, but you need the sense of it.

MLMD knowing nothing, and Boylan knowing everything, is the wrong way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭mattser

The squirming and seething is a joy to watch. That cowardly ' coalition of chaos ' taunt in the early days of the govt/pandemic comes to mind.

The clearest symptom of a badly run organisation is that on the face of it they have all the correct policies and procedures in place but that those policies repeatedly fail. Senior managers then make excuses to stay in their jobs.

And the whinging over something so self inflicted is incredible.

Even Sunday was just so poorly handled by them between Lynn Boylan and Pa Daly being rolled out to defend the party to the statement by MLMD which put out more questions. I understand that Stanley doing what he did surprised them, but it appears as though this was very sleepy from them. For something that allegedly involved “gross misconduct”, it appears they had not war gamed how to handle this or any other such scenario in public.

Also absolutely mental that once Stanley made an allegation of a criminal nature over one month ago that MLMD was not brought in to at least know that was coming. Any competent “arms length” proceedings like this would have advised the party of this. Is the SF position really that they would have been happy for Stanley to have gone to the Guards on September 11th while they were still weeks away from their own report & the leader wouldn’t have known until the point the it inevitably leaked to the media?

Of course they aren't because no other party is asked questions in the same way.
    See what happens when you ask for transparency on other parties disciplinary hearings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

IS Stanley's wife still a member of SF

I know for a fact that no “arms length” proceedings would not tell the leader of the organisation of a criminal complaint that they had advised one party to make. Perhaps the leader does not need to know the detail, but they sure as hell need to be able to prepare the party to respond from both a legal and PR perspective to a criminal complaint involving members. It is amateur hour otherwise.

The only logic is that they did not expect such a complaint to come and therefore this “arms length” stuff really is risible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Augme

Did Lynn Boylan she knew the full facts? You've repeatedly claimed she does know the full details. So for sake of clarity, can you state where she said that? I havent seen the quote fromnher myself so would like to see it.

Brain Stanley has refused to provide any substance information as to the allegation made against him. Provided no details as to the disciplinary process and the results of that process. Yet has made a number of vague musings about it all. Again, he can end all of the speculation and uncertainty by stating the facts.

I've twisted no words. You've claimed SF are a cult for getting rid of a pedophile. A bizarre take imo.