Sinn Fein and how do they form a government dilemma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭spillit67

“lol”

Interesting see protection for whistleblowers there in SF @FrancieBrady

Another thing- why did Eoin O’Broin retweet a Stanley story on Friday if so egregious?

Are you suggesting that Mary Lou being informed on Saturday resulted in her leaking this to other party members in breach of any reasonable procedures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,789 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The complaint and the counter complaint went to the Gardai because they are connected. Did you not read this bit?

MMcD: Well, there’s nothing sudden in any of this, Mary. I’ve described to you a process that went through September into October. I’ve said to you but let me clarify again. The initial complaint was not a criminal matter. If it had been, it would have gone to the gardaí at that stage.As the inquiries were made, and into September and concluding and written up at the beginning of October, more matters were introduced. A counter allegation, which is a serious matter, was also introduced into the fray. The preliminary report is then circulated.

*Bolding mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,074 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Another thing- why did Eoin O’Broin retweet a Stanley story on Friday if so egregious?

I don't know but maybe on Friday he wasn't aware of what was going on?

Are you suggesting that Mary Lou being informed on Saturday resulted in her leaking this to other party members in breach of any reasonable procedures?

I would imagine Stanley resigning led to others being informed. Don't know the answer for certain though.

Stanley knows where the bodies are buried in SF, I suspect. He is going to play this one out slowly and surely and will be a nightmware for SF HQ.

As the saying goes

No one can hate you with more intensity than someone who used to love you.

We need a few weeks' supply of popcorn for this.

Rumours around Leinster House that Simon Harris might make the Dail sit on Friday, to get its order done so it can call an election there and then.

BUT, I would think Id let this rumble on another week, and call the election next week. Get the Sunday and Weekend papers some SF red meat. Let the party tear itself apart bit by bit.

So why would his wife become aware of the details of a process that MLMD only became aware on on Saturday by the Chair?

Can you also reconcile the statement about the process being at an arms length because a barrister led it when that barrister is a member of the party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭Field east

‘—— an abundance of caution —-‘ That wording group is going to be quoted over and over again for time immortal along with ‘. —— on mature reflection——‘. ‘ GUBU’ , etc, etc.

Interesting that Ditch media haven’t had a word to say about it all despite their fearless “journalism”.

Whose wife?

Can you also reconcile the statement about the process being at an arms length because a barrister led it when that barrister is a member of the party?

I took that to mean 'arms length' from the leadership. Two non officials from the party, one from the south and one from the north were chosen.
    No issue with the barrister tbh, Stanley had his own there and a solicitor.

How so?

I said to a poster a good while before Stanley gave his statement that it was quite possible the complaint of a criminal nature was made by Stanley.
    Why? Because of the way MLMD carefully addressed it - a 'counter allegation' was made.

image.png

So, it appears MLMD either lied on National Radio or fluffed her lines by getting her dates mixed up.

Stanley says he has proof of these matters.

The boys in West Belfast are stocking up on toilet paper as we speak. :D

If the Garda complaint wasnt directed at Stanley, why leave it up to people to interpret that he was the main suspect for 48 hours? She was on Newstalk yesterday.

This has been handled woefully by SF and MLMD.

You probably think this is good news for them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭mikep

I listened to MLMDs interview from morning Ireland while on lunch break. She seemed totally unprepared from the off which is unusual for her.

What I found really interesting was that 2 party "members" were doing the enquiry... not 2 members of SF HR or party officials..

It was another car crash interview from her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,914 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

So do we know that in fact in was the counter claim from Stanley that introduced the criminal matter?

I thought I read that Stanley was to be deciplined. If it's a case that the party via sham court were going to punish him when the truth was that a criminal act was carried out against him, well the whole SF organisation is in trouble.

He was the subject of a serious complaint notwithstanding the allegation he subsequently made.

Who'd be first on here complaining if SF ignored that or downplayed it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,361 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Correct

Mary Lou was not able to say what the matter was about this morning.

But she will have to…………

If there is a matter of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Augme

The outcome of the inquiry had already been provided to those involved so not sure how that would be a breach of reasonable procedures.

Partner*

Answer the question. Why did a SF MEP have the details on Sunday morning when the process was supposed to be closed shop.

Why was Lynn Boylan talking about two sides and criticising Stanley, when it appears that the criminal complaint comes from Stanley himself?

This is classic attacking the whistleblower, something you claim to value most of all.

On the barrister, MLMD was very clear that it was the presence of a barrister that made it arms length from the party, not the leadership. This is the direct quote.

The report also went to the head of our disciplinary committee, and I should say the Sinn Féin disciplinary process is supervised by a barrister, by a legal professional. It’s at arm’s length from the party itself.

She started off the interview claiming the press made of a barrister made it “arms length from the party”. This was very much the pre rehearsed park.

It was only when proved that it became clear that this barrister was in fact a member.

The counter allegation was made weeks ago, but they only decided to notify the Gardai yesterday?

The timeline from SF HQ is all over the place and is full of holes like Swiss Cheese.

The preliminary outcome was October 4th.

MLMD says she was not provided the detail until the night of October 12th (as is proper procedure supposedly).

I am trying to understand how Lynn Boylan appears to have gotten detail so quickly after on something that actually involved at least another party member. In particular given this resulted in something being passed onto AGS, why Lynn Boylan was in the media attacking Brian Stanley?

Stanley resigned on Saturday night. Surely the party members being briefed once that happened would be normal in those circumstances?

There was a complaint against Stanley and one he made himself. She challenged him to reveal what the complaint was about.

On the barrister: MLMD said the 'whole process was at arm's length including the barrister.

MW: Were they circulated to you as well?

MMcD: No, absolutely not. I’ve said to you now repeatedly…this whole process is at arm’s length from the party. It would be utterly inappropriate for me to have access to that documentation. My first briefing, my first correct and full briefing, I should say, was on the back of Brian Stanley resigning on Saturday night. So I was briefed on matters on Saturday night by the party chair.

*Bolding mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

Lynn Boylan’s remarks at the weekend suggests that she knew the whole story. Is she the complainant?

Why would party members be briefed about something that included an accusation against another party member? Is that fair on that party member?

Or are you suggesting here that Lynn Boylan herself was only informed of half the story- which itself throws up huge issues.

Why did Lynn Boylan simply “no comment” something involving members of her party that apparently has fair procedures. Instead her immediate move was to go on the radio and attack Brian Stanley.

The barrister was not at arms length to the party as a member, that is what she tried to spin in her pre rehearsed statement but unfortunately for her she was asked a further question on it. It was NOT regarding the leadership as you attempted to deflect to.

The preliminary report was circulated to both parties and they had until today to refute or correct it.
    Stanley resigned before that process was complete.
    The file was sent to the Gardai.

If they hadn't and decided it wasn't potentially criminal, there'd be uproar too.

And you are saying that details of that investigation involving another party member was leaked to Lynn Boylan on Saturday.

She didn’t tweet but had a radio interview where she accused him of telling one side of the story.

I don’t see any story been told by anyone here except for that Stanley came out swinging on Saturday around various claims that were not detailed.

The question is why Lynn Boylan would be aware of any of this story. According to the SF defenders here, that would have been understandable as Stanley resigned on Saturday night so the “process ended”. Except that isn’t the case as matters of a potential criminal nature have been forwarded to AGS.

Lynn Boylan and SF have some very serious questions to answer over who they spoke to have this when they claim robust internal procedures.

If it is the case that Boylan didn’t know anything (that was not what was insinuated) then the question is why she was so quick to criticise him when he made some very serious statements on Saturday night.

Lynn Boylan previously stood up in the European Parliament to criticise the former CEO of INM for trying to stop Garda whistleblowers.

Why would party members be briefed about something that included an accusation against another party member? Is that fair on that party member?

Because once he resigned the process terminated and party members would have to be briefed. Makes sense to me anyway.

Or are you suggesting here that Lynn Boylan herself was only informed of half the story- which itself throws up huge issues.

Why did Lynn Boylan simply “no comment” something involving members of her party that apparently has fair procedures. Instead her immediate move was to go on the radio and attack Brian Stanley.

I don't know why. I would think it the norm that party members would be informed after a high profile resignation

Have you considered the point above she may be the complainant?

The barrister was not at arms length to the party as a member, that is what she tried to spin in her pre rehearsed statement but unfortunately for her she was asked a further question on it. It was NOT regarding the leadership as you attempted to deflect to.

The 'barrister' was there as a professional balanced by Stanley's barrister. Perfectly normal IMO.

If Jim O'Callaghan can represent Gerry Adams professionally I don't see why or how you can call his or hers professionalism into disrepute here.

Again, the barrister and the leadership were at 'arms length' was the claim made.

MMcD: 

No, absolutely not. I’ve said to you now repeatedly…this whole process is at arm’s length from the party. It would be utterly inappropriate for me to have access to that documentation. My first briefing, my first correct and full briefing, I should say, was on the back of Brian Stanley resigning on Saturday night. So I was briefed on matters on Saturday night by the party chair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Get Real

I wouldn't necessarily say for sure that means she's the complainant. I'd say all TDs/MEPs,/high rankers in the party know the whole story.

That'd be natural enough in office talk, phone calls etc.

Her asking him to come out with what the allegation was is disingenuous imho. She and they all know what it was I think. But the public don't. And it's a bit of political move I'd say to put the ball back in his court and say "come on Brian, tell us all"

Your theory could be right, but equally, Boylan could be part of the clique/SF loyal and is doing a bit of stirring and deliberately throwing doubt about as to what actually is going on.