Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Shocks12

Jesus he will put a bullet on his own back! If we win he can say what he wants after!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Marrooned

The sun says Tommy Walsh is in with Lyng.I heard that a while ago but it was rubbished out in Tullaroan

Buckley out. mmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭ttowncat

Has there ever been a case where matches were brought forward a day because of the weather? Biblical rain for Sunday.

Rumour mill in full swing hope that isn’t true so! Have a sneaky fancy for Boro but the half backs worry me up against runners! Going to be a cracker please god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Neewollah

Unlikely considering they played games in a storm last year that could easily have been moved to a few days later on safety grounds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭Comerman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,766 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Well that was strange, did clubber have the time wrong or did ref blow early?? As it stands Thomastown have beaten The Shamrocks by 2 pts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Village87

Much the better team. Thomastown curtailed TJ, Mullen and Cody well and really went after Richie Reid with great success

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 tommyrivers

was it blown early? Few decisions went against the shamrocks down the stretch. Thomastown very impressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭me89

All games off tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭mooz

Dicksboro had a poor day losing both the U14 and the U16 finals to better teams. Congratulations to both Danesfort and Erin’s own. Well done Comerman didn’t i tell you to keep the head up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭C4000

Clubber didn't start the clock properly at the start of the second half. They were around 2 mins 30 secs behind the correct time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭mooz

Superb win for Thomastown today, who have really impressed me not only today but all year. They play a lovely brand of hurling and this win over the Shamrocks will give them huge confidence heading into latter stages of the championship. It's great for hurling I feel in KK to have big town like Thomastown having a strong senior team. Some excellent hurlers on the team, Staunton, Galway in goal, J Burke, Donnelly's, P McDonald, JJ Farrell

We keep our status just about!!! Delighted!
    Thomastown so well coached they were that bit better.

Pints now!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 BORO BILL

super win for Thomastown better side throughout. They have some hardy backs who tackled ferociously. Got all their match ups right and took Richie Reid out of the game. They play a lovely brand and have the best goalie in the county

no they absolutely targeted Richie Reid , tormented him,turned him over and exploited his defensive frailties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Not surprised thomastown beat the shamrocks thomastown have been playing very well this year and the shamrocks have been stuttering along all year with lads injured getting lads back no fluidity to there play

You can’t just turn it on come the knock out stages

Great win for the shock today really dug it out some good performances from some of there old guard and younger players

Definetly think j Bergin is worth another look for kk as well as some of the shock players

Junior will be as tough as intermediate in 2025 there should be some great battles with conahy going down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

2 very enjoyable games

Thought Mossy was exceptional in the second game.

Big advantage for both winners today to have the extra week rest now the games are off tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭blackcard

Yes. 2 very enjoyable matches. At half time, Shamrocks were lucky to be only 2 points adrift with Thomastown having done all the hurling. Thomastown pushed on after half time but a Ballyhale goal brought them back into it. There were great contests for the ball late on. I thought Peter McDonald, Luke Connellan, Jay Burke and the Donnellys were best. Jonjo Farrell has found a new lease of life at midfield. TJ and Eoin Cody tried hard but between the 4 county forwards in TJ, Cody, Mullen and John Donnelly, they scored a total of 3 points from play. Diarmuid Galway has to get a call for the county, he has the best distribution by far of any goalkeeper in the county. I thought there should have been a couple of additional minutes at the end.

A draw after 60 minutes was a fair reflection of Bennettsbridge and Tullaroan. The latter raced into an 8 pt to 3 lead but were pegged back. A penalty goal from Dylan Simpson was negated by a Jack Campion goal. In extra time, David Blanchfield missed a penalty won by Liam Blanchfield. The latter then scrambled a goal.

Mossy Keoghan was brilliant and has been excellent all year. Shane Walsh and Gearoid Dunne were okay but didn't stand out. Dylan Simpson has played well this year.

David Blanchfield was magnificent for the Bridge. Liam Blanch had been in a boot during the week but made a difference though not looking fit. Conor Murphy also did well as did Ciaran Brennan.

The pitch in Comer looked to be in excellent condition. Nothing against Dicksboro but I was delighted to see Danesfort and Comer win at u14 and u16. Both need youngsters coming through, the Boro have an abundance of talent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭Comerman

I belive 5 of our U16's today played minor last week against the Village who had 4/5 on the senior panel so we have to be optomistic. Onward and upward 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Neewollah

First off. Credit to both Danesfort and Comer today. Incredible to win an underage Roinn A championship ahead of any of the city clubs. Will give both clubs a huge boost.

As mentioned, 2 really enjoyable senior games todays. Thomastown deserving winners over Ballyhale. They will take some confidence from that result going forward. Galway in the goal has had some year and will surely be in with KK next year. Also the whole Thomastown back line has been outstanding all year. Probably where lads were saying they were slightly vulnerable but as a group they've been exceptional and were heroic today. Shamrocks were hanging in there but the Thomastown repelled numerous goal chances that the Shamrocks normally get for momentum.

Tullaroan will probably be disappointed they didn't see out the 2nd game. They led for large parts of it with the Bridge equalising right at the death. Credit to the Bridge they hung in there and got better as the game went on. Were far superior in extra time and they got great impact from their bench. As mentioned, Mossy was exceptional, some of his scores were outrageous. Also David Blanchfield has to be the KK county centre back next year. He has all the attributes you need. Bennettsbridge's back line was really good all game and big name forwards like Sean Morrissey, Liam Blanchfield and Ciaran Brennan grew into the game particularly in ET.

Both teams will be delighted getting through today now with an extra week off. Thankfully county board saw sense and called off the games tomorrow after last years Orange weather warning stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,149 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Well deserved win for both Danesfort and Erin Own. Some very talented young players on show and young Buggy really impressed in midfield, looks a tremendous talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭neverbet

Comer game, thought the two county men David Blanch and mossy stood head and shoulders above the rest. Strange Tullaroan did'nt start mossy at 11. Sean Morrissey turned back the clock and was his old self all through, Conor Murphy outstanding. Was a bit disappointed with Gearoid Dunne and Bill Hughes. Both young but lack of pace may hamper them. Well done to Danesfort and Comer young lads. Great for the game.

Stephen Donnelly was outstanding yesterday, he reminds me of John Mcgrath the way he hurls. The 3 Donnelly brothers are as good as the 3 Mcgrath brothers in Loughmore for there club. Actually similar in a lot of regards, 2 excellent forwards and the other unheralded brother in the backs.

Some wake up call for Kilkenny management, Adrian Mullens poor form has continued to club along with many others, many of the Kilkenny squad have been poor for the club to date. A new dawn is badly needed, we need to give younger players a run,the players are clearly out there. As i have previously stated we need to get rid of the click of players in the 30s with the exception of Eoin Murphy. They are not good enough, past there best and holding back younger player and fresh voices and leaders around the dressing room. Time for Lyng and management to act or we will be in a far worse state in 4/5 years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭droppingball

Great day for Thomastown, got the match ups right and deservedly won the game. They were missing Jack Holden, Tucker and Brian Hanrahan so will hope to have them back. Zach held Mullen and Jay Burke was great on Cody. TJs legs aren't getting him from challenges anymore and it can be borderline between steps and fouls he tends to get a few soft ones when you compare what John Donnelly had to do to get a free. That is my Thomastown bias maybe.

Only Eddie and John are brothers and then Stephen and Robbie are cousins of there's. Diarmuid Galway puck outs were exceptional and put Thomastown on front foot.

Ballyhales bench looked very bare yesterday and Colin didn't have enough hurling done to make a contribution, think the goal just hit him but could have been a flick.

In the other one Liam Blanchfield seems to be the key man for the Bridge, he was quiet throughout but when he came alive in extra time he won it for them. Weather doesn't seem to bad yet, pity matches are off as might have gotten away with it but it was the right call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭kentu

You seem to have a personal thing against the Shamrocks on here lately, I agree with your points about R Reid not being IC Centre back standard but you've had a few sly digs at Mullen and Cody over last few weeks, did you forget Adrian Mullen was clearly injured in the Semi Final this year hence why he was off form, he has done a lot of hurling over last few years along with plenty of injuries, 2 months of doing nothing for himself might serve him well, same goes for Eoin Cody.

Your gripe must be something to do with Shamrocks beating the Village in big Championship games year after year.

I just feel Adrian had a very average year along with Eoin Cody. I am the biggest fan you will ever see of TJ, he is so good that i feel that Cody and Mullen are not the same players without him. They are not lessening TJ's work load, these lads need to step it up, we cannot rely on TJ forever. What TJ brings to team will never be matched, ability to win ball, hook and block, win rucks, bring other players into the game, his dead ball ability, his score treat, he occupies 2 men, he creates space. Mullen and Cody have benefitted from this for years, they are not returning the favour imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 pjvalentine

Here's to hoping The Village are relegated. Most arrogant club in Kilkenny.