Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf coverage/commentator discussion thread!! Mod note #12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Why is Dougherty horrendous though? Just cant see why you think that, he's been a very good anchor from what Ive seen of him. I mean, Ive laid out exactly why I dont rate McGinley, would be interested to hear a similar vivisection of Nick D. Hes a former player, self deprecating but also well able to fire barbs, not only at the hapless Coltart (who I agree is hopeless) but also those colleagues of his that he actually respects like Radar and Ewen Murray.

Allso, credit where it's due, in a rare well timed moment of inspiration, Paul's line in the lead up to Si Woo' match winning 15 ftr following a terrible chip by his partner was a good one: 'its not a bad chip until the putt is hit'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,821 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Dougherty never stops telling us that Rory is the best golfer on the planet and even comes up some reasons, which are unfair, why he's not the no. 1 in the world. I'm a fan of Rory but I don't need to listen to drivel like that. Then he comes along with something completely obvious and brings it across like he's the only one thinking about it. Then he goes on about swing speeds like it's the be all and end all. He goes on and on with stupid inconsequential nonsense.

Need a few examples of this for illustration. Ive quoted some of Paul McG's errors word for word.

What exactly did ND say that makes you think he is so pro Rory to the point of unprofessionalism?

What obvious thing did he bring up that he felt was inobvious?

Swing speed is consequential in professional golf. It's madness to think otherwise. Look at the top 10 in the world right now..even the likes of Morikawa and Cantlay, probably the 2 shortest in there as it stands, can easily hit it 300 yards plus. So what thing that actually isnt consequential did he bring up that has vexed you so?

Sounds like you dont like him but dont really know why tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,143 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

I’m in the Dougherty is decent and McGinley is horrendous category.

McGinley likes to pretend he is some sort of guru on stats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

same as, McGinley is shocking

He picks one word and uses it constantly..

It’s almost like he is always interviewing for a job with CBS

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭omeara1113

I actually think McGinley is very good perfect for sky

Cam Champ, Brandon Matthews and Kyle Westmoreland are the three with the fastest swing speeds on the PGA tour. The highest in the world rankings of those three is Champ at 346.

McIlroy is top ten, Scheffler, Schauffele and Aberg are in the 20's, Morikawa is in the 100's somewhere. If it's that important the top five golfers should all be in the top ten in the world for swing speed. There are only three of the top 30 golfers in the world in the top 20 for swing speed.

The majority of young amateurs at scratch or better can hit the ball 300 yards.

Obviously you have some sort of love for Dougherty. He says ridiculous crap every weekend. I can't remember particular lines, all I know is that he says enough stupid stuff to ensure I switch over to the golf channel or CBS when he is on air and that's even if Laura Davies, Paul McGinley and/or David Howell are also on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Trampas

You could have a bingo card with McGinley with words and phrases he’s going to say when in commentary. Especially when it comes to matchplay. He’s stats mad and made out like he had the perfect formula for winning the Ryder cup and never lets us forget about 2014. At least others don’t get caught on a hot mic criticising a work colleague

Commentators are like marmite etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

'Ridiculous crap' but you cant remember a single example? Seems odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,487 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

McGinley is grand, fairly inoffensive in my eyes but not particularly exciting. Comes across as a sound fella. I'd imagine he's seen as a safe pair of hands as evidenced by the US networks picking him up.

It's amazing that you didn't respond to anything else in that post, like the stuff that shows you haven't a clue.

But there was only 1 other point, your contention that swing speed doesnt matter. Unless Im missing something?

II didnt feel the need to respond to that tbh. Primarily because every broadcaster in golf knows how important it is; Dougherty is hardly the only person that occasionally points this out. It isnt about being the longest of the long, golf is obviously more complicated than that. It's about recognising how much of an advantage length, even a few extra kms in swing speed, is when youre at that level. Every single player in that top 10 and probably every player in the world either on or with aspirations to be on an elite tour now have gym sessions incorporated in their routines. Why do you think this is only to increase or maintain speed? The players realise this. Everybody who knows anything about pro golf and the way equipment has driven the game recognises it. Including, of course, ND.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭amlinopta

Good interview with Paul McGinley on Joe Molloy's Indo podcast. Sad to hear about his Dad Mick's dementia, a gentleman.

I don't care who runs it or where it's played, not having full coverage of one of the four majors in 2025 is absolutely ridiculous. I'll die on that hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Trampas

Paul out with his usual rubbish when trying to be smart/intelligent. Every mile per hour is equivalent to just over 2 yards in the air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Jaysus - do like Butch as a character in game , his role with various players. But he is well for the hills - same old lines are rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,941 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Was he not supposed to have retired from commentating years ago?

he seems to have had health issues - so considering his links and role in game - he has an open door , fair enough.

I do genuinely like him - but , is a bit daft. Oddly enough still better than some on Sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,013 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Have to say I like butch but I'm surprised with how much commentating he's doing, seems to be doing more than anyone.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

81 - he looked great in that footage on range, energy and all, fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,941 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

It's like these soccer guys like Jeff Stelling or Martin Tyler who make a big announcement of retiring and then 6 months later pop up on TNT or Amazon. Guess they find they need the buzz in their lives…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭JoyceDavenport

Love Butch but it's a bit overkill tonight.

We're getting way too much coverage of Couples and Langer imo. Both legends, but Tiger/Jack they ain't. A shot here and there plus the walk up 18 is plenty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,965 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Think he said the other day that he only does the Masters now in terms of commentary, so guess he doesn't mind the effort once a year

`'Hey, if you dont like Butch Harmon folks, you dont like golf.' - Butch Harmon.

Have to say with modern TV , drones , new angles - we are killing the cliché - it is so flat on TV , drones in particular are giving me a real sense of the run offs

They are two of the most popular golfers ever. I love watching them.

Langer one of the most popular ever? Not sure about that. In any case I like watching them too, a shot here and there, not a blow by blow of their rounds when neither has any hope of winning. Each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,167 ✭✭✭Hijpo

I'm enjoying the pin position and green analysis there with Billy Foster.