Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Yvonne007

The conflation between mask wearing and illegal immigration is tenuous at best. I'm not quite sure what the point of that is.

I was told earlier that it was a requirement to have ID when applying for asylum. That is demonstrably false.

The fact is, people are applying for asylum without any proof of who they are, where they are from and why they are here other than what they claim.

We have, essentially, an open border policy and it needs to be addressed. We simply can't allow people into the country and into the general public without being able to verify who they are. That's absolutley insane and needs to be addressed. It's a huge problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,251 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Same on a few other busy threads too - eg: the Trump/US ones

Seems yet another Vanilla issue related to the effect of Mods deleting posts. There's a thread in Helpdesk about it. As usual, they're "on hold" till Vanilla come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,350 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,278 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Not sure whether you are being deliberately obtuse or simply can't understand a simple point.

You apparently have difficulty understanding how there is a "requirement" for ID if people can start the process without it.

I merely tried to explain it to you by giving you the example of another "requirement". That being the ones we had to wear a mask. By your "definition", it was not a requirement given that there were some exceptions. But no normal person would not have called them "requirements".

Can you really not understand such a simple point? I mean if what you took from the point was the mask wearing equated to illegal immigration, then I'm afraid there is not much more I can work with. I could also have given the example of the requirement to obtain a certain level of grades in certain subjects to study certain courses at third level, and explain that there are exceptions there too (mature students or transfers). The issue is that now if I try to use that as a device to explain it to you, in your brain you'll think doing your leaving cert is the same as being an illegal immigrant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

What about safe countries?

On 02 July 2024, the Department of Justice announced that Brazil, Egypt, India, Malawi and Morocco have been designated safe countries of origin for the purpose of making a claim for international protection in Ireland. Algeria and Botswana were also added to this list in January 2024. The purpose of the safe countries list is to expedite international protection application processing.

The existing list of safe countries includes Albania, Algeria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Georgia, Kosovo, Macedonia (Former Yugoslav Republic of), Montenegro, Serbia and South Africa.

Under the International Protection Act 2015, the Minister for Justice can declare that a country is a safe country of origin. This means that 

the Minister has declared that there is generally no persecution, no torture or inhuman or degrading treatment, or no threat of violence from an armed conflict in that country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Emblematic

It has been explained very well.

There is an absolute requirement to provide ID when claiming asylum in Ireland. You cannot have your claim processed without ID. That is the rule. You must have ID.

This makes sense. How can the country process a claim if we don't know who the person is? That is why the requirement to provide ID is there.

The exception is if you tear up your documents. Then you can get your claim processed without ID (and get housing and the right to work after five months) under whatever name you supply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭whatever.

There is public testimony to the Springfield municipality detailing the terror the residents are subjected to including the culling, cooking and eating of small animals The police have become involved but their disgraceful answer is that if said animal has been eaten they lack physical evidence for a prosecution

Excerpts

https://x.com/EndWokeness/status/1832773191976014217

https://x.com/captivedreamer7/status/1832265609905672235?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1832265609905672235%7Ctwgr%5E1f63099876a04a523c31e1d5337399ef174dbc21%7Ctwcon%5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.zerohedge.com%2Fpolitical%2Fcant-take-it-anymore-residents-springfield-ohio-beg-help-after-20000-haitians-overwhelm

Full Session

Safe country is a legal definition and people's contribution is documented by our own Revenue officers but also by the ESRI and equivalent bodies in other countries

The two above points irrevocably prove it is yourself who is pushing a dishonest agenda

How you are able to continue doing it without sanction bodes of loaded agenda within the chairing of this debate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Joe 90

Testing

Again, you are mixing up the right to submit an initial application for IP with the subsequent processing.

The tearing up of documents is to bypass immigration control which are separate from IP processing. The exception is on passing through immigration control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭rgossip30

I suppose this case of those arriving without passports sets a precident .

The Judges reply '' They are innocents abroad effectively needing help, assistance and care from us.”

MSN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭prunudo

So two men, we know nothing about, allowed walk free into and around the country. Two men from half way around the world, who end up in Italy, yet manage to board a flight to Ireland which would require passports and a visa, suddenly have no passports. We're a laughing stock.

The sooner we build detention centres for these chancers the better. The bleeding hearts and soft judiciary have us ruined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

You'll forgive me if I didn't watch all of that but I had a quick peek, It just tells me there's a lunatic fringe in Springfield too.

As of the night before Trump's claims there had been zero police reports relating to pet attacks in Springfield.

https://www.reuters.com/fact-check/no-evidence-haitian-immigrants-stealing-eating-pets-ohio-2024-09-10/

That's not what we hear about 'safe countries' in this thread though is it?

We hear lies that this countries are safe in the absolute sense, even though some are still given refugee status.

We also hear that travelling through these countries somehow invalidates a claim to asylum, which is also a falsehood.

https://fullfact.org/immigration/refugees-first-safe-country/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭thatsdaft

We have threads here in parallel about how China is the bees knees and will be the leading world economy yada yada

Yet the Chinese themselves apparently can’t get out fast enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭Floppybits

They are the ghosts of the deleted posts. 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,877 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

A little bit like the "requirements" argument going on.

It's the fact you can actually pass through all of Europe with no documents to finally arrive in Ireland and claim AS and all of this actually fits within the ridiculously loose almost non existing "Rules" of AS that people are highlighting.

But similar to the "requirements" argument. It's just circular between the polarised views.

How anyone thinks the current system makes any logical sense and doesn't look at it and say its ripe for abuse is beyond me.

But plenty are on here arguing exactly that.

It's mind boggling.

The simple fact is, if any bad actor wants to live in Ireland, they can do so by simply destroying their documents and claim asylum. There is absolutely no requirement to present an ID. If asylum is claimed they are allowed live in the general population. If asylum is rejected, they aren't forced to leave. It's a joke.

You've explained nothing.

The rule is, you are REQUIRED to present ID…. except if you cant.

It's not a requirement, it's a request. When it comes to immigration, it's too serious to accept.

Their are no people dropping everything and fleeing for their lives ending up in Ireland.

The people moving here have enough money to pay people to traffic them here.

These people are promised the world and are turning up to live in a tent and getting a few pound a week.

What we are witnessing is legalized human trafficking and the only people who benefit are the rich.

I don't mind if people foolishly think they are doing good by cheering this on, but at least be honest.

How can somebody fleeing without any documentation, get to Ireland, it is impossible, unless they have the money to pay traffickers.

You can complain about the rules all you like.

It becomes false and hateful rhetoric when people claim that asylum seekers who've legitimately made an application, are 'bogus' on the grounds of having travelled through other countries, when the rules quite clearly state they can do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭thatsdaft

Putin continues to try to flood europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭baldbear

I see asylum seekers might might be asked to hand over a few bob to pay for their accommodation . It is so frustrating the government talk about this coming up tonan election and not just donut because it is the correct thing to do for the tax payer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

This was said earlier -

"They [AS] cannot be deported if they claim asylum, that would be against the law.

They can be arrested, and then they can claim asylum.

So, they claim asylum either way."

By pure coincidence about 10/12 days before the local/EU elections, there was a report on RTE that claimed "50 people without visas detected coming from the UK in last week"

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2024/0526/1451302-border-immigration/

The only possible interpretation of the article was that these people were detected in the RoI and fecked back to Belfast and Holyhead. These people were portrayed as bogus asylum seekers so by all accounts the GNIB actions were against the law. Have these GNIB officers been charged for breaking the law?

While he [Taoiseach Simon Harris] would not be drawn on the specifics of reports around garda activity regarding people travelling into the jurisdiction from Northern Ireland, he said it was important to ensure there was no abuse of the Common Travel Area between Ireland and the UK.

So, Simon Harris would not be drawn on the specifics of reports around garda activity…I wonder why

This looked like a great strategy (albeit illegal imo) by the Govt and indeed likely helped their results in the elections however, why have there been no more reports on this strategy in the almost 4 months since then? - Maybe we'll have to wait until about 10 days before the GE day before we see another similar report magically appear on RTE and it too will receive zero interrogation by anyone in the media

Just say I owed a money lender 10k and I had to flee with a tenner in my pocket, no belongings or passport and I went to Pakistan for safety.

Now think that their are people trying to claim that their are people doing this in the other direction and go out of their way to say others spread lies and misinformation.

You can be all for illegal immigration, but Jesus give up trying to lie and claim people are travelling around the world with no money or passport, you might be worth engaging with then, when you don't lead with lies.

The simple fact that it is easy to tell who the bad actors are in Ireland.

Just look out for a part in Fair City on their IMDB profiles.

It's actually people with your simplistic type of arguments and refusal to engage in reality that obfuscate the process and are a barrier to reform.

Changes needed to be made but realistic and workable solutions and improvements are drowned out by loud shouty nonsense.

How dare you!!! Mondo is an acting tour-de-force!

What reality am I refusing to engage with.

Tell me how someone leaves Pakistan for example with no money and ends up in Ireland?

We are told they are fleeing with nothing and travelling across the world.

I'll put you in a room with 99 chancers and one genuine asylum seeker who had to be smuggled out of his home country due to the rest of his family being murdered and the local militia leader hunting him down too.

You can figure out which one it is without looking at or processing their applications.

Assume that the 99 chancers don't admit they are chancers.