Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Marcos

I was surprised that it was Chinese tbh. Since March Chinese nationals don't need a visa to come here for a stay of less than 15 days, and vice versa for Irish citizens visiting China.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭H_Lime

Not a hope no ones buying that bs, it's quite the opposite. It's this very behaviour that fuels anger and highlights the obvious separation we see in our Irish bought and paid for media. There's an actual far right growing out there due to this craic. Govt is delighted about this, tar everyone same as them.

I say actual because the approx three quarters of the Irish population who deeply disagree with their immigration policies are not far right. As much as the Dún Laoghaire, ngo and political set like to caricature them as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭H_Lime

Just as an aside why has this thread not been fixed yet so you don't have to dial back ten pages to see posts? One wonders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭creeper1

Someone seemed surprised that Chinese would destroy their passports in Shannon airport.

It's standard operating procedure and has been so for some time. The Georgians and others with spurious claims have been at this a while.

No passport - no possibility of deportation. In time an amnesty granted. Authorities turning a blind eye.

I don't think they will say anything against the Chinese government either because in all probability they will want to return to china some day.

I wonder what will happen to them. I hope it's a story the media follow up on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,277 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

So they want to hide details from people who will look elsewhere.

So instead of providing facts they are sending people off to far right sites to get the details with an anti immigration twist.

These far right lads must be over the moon about how the government and media are recruiting people for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Your argument does not really make sense though. These "violent scumbags and lowlifes" wouldn't need an excuse as by not releasing the information they have confirmed the guy isn't Irish.

As for your "there are a lot more of them" - given the level of criminality in this country, I would assume you have stats to back up that claim?

Post edited by twinytwo on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,266 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Most acts of criminality in the past 12 months related to 'immigration' have not been carried out by migrants or non nationals but by the far right themselves ; the November riots, numerous arson attacks on properties etc. This is not an imaginary phenomenon, it is actually happening - self appointed vigilante thugs, backed by an army of social media trolls, who pose a threat to law and order in the country. Southport in England this year was a clear warning about how this type of thing can lead to widespread violence on the streets…..hence the Garda request in court the other day. You could accuse them of excessive caution, but they would argue it is better to be safe than sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭whatever.

It seems a post I wrote failed to draw or update property

IIt's not the far right you have to fear ultimately they'll be the ones who shift the policy to protect you from such acts as murder, rapes, kidnapping and gang warfare. As reference an article on the beheading of two men in Sligo

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/sligo-murders-gardai-believe-two-men-killed-by-man-they-met-on-dating-app-1.4851588

Just to be clear, that is a no? - you have no stats, so this is your assumption? Or are we to accept such a sweeping statement as fact?

Also at this stage I think its fair to ask for your definition of "far right", given its inconsistent/incorrect use these days you could be talking about anyone.

Post edited by twinytwo on

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Posts deleted

No discussion of anything before the courts permitted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭TokTik

Who’s been charged for the various arson attacks?? I haven’t seen much coverage of them. Or are you just making up a narrative with zero evidence??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,621 ✭✭✭Augme

Government policy around immigration? Hang on, nearly everyone on this thread has tried to claim that they don't have a problem with immigration, but just asylum seekers. Infairness, most people were stupid to actually believe that but good to see yous are finally admitting you want immigrants out as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭niallm77

I said no such thing. My issue would mainly be about the government's inability to have an effective policy, including deportations for failed asylum seekers applications as well as where this will end when housing, infrastructure and services is already a disaster, what will it be like with another 1m people etc.

It appears to me anyway to be a govt policy aimed as redirecting state funds Into the right direction. Billions will be spent on asylum seekers in the foreseeable future yet and at the end of it all we will have nothing to show for it but the main topic atm is 350k on a bike shed. It's almost as if it's a deliberate diversion tactic.

Some effort to completely ignore what was actually said just to go on a solo run. Also, who is "yous"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

This is the biggest issue facing the country and it is always discussed in isolation, but the link between lack of school places, lack of hospital beds, epic waiting lists, lack of housing etc, is the huge increase in immigration since 2003.

Refugees/asylum seekers are actually not nearly as significant a factor as legal migration, which has been enormous.

The problem is that any attempt to even discuss this saw one branded as racist, so no one did for a very long time.

Even with a very strong economy the public mood is quite angry these days. It's going to get an awful lot worse when there's a downturn.

I do see signs of hope though, your average person and politician is now well aware that there has been too much immigration. Even SF rethought their childish approach to the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭creeper1

Who would have thought being a great humanitarian would be so financially rewarding?

I'm sure they'd open their hearts and hotels even if there was no money in it.

A scandalous 6 million a day is being spent on this racket.

https://gript.ie/d-hotel-in-drogheda-paid-e5-4-million-for-first-3-months-as-asylum-accommodation-provider/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Absolutely despicable, but sure what more would you expect from the turds at the wheel of this country. Blow money on everything and provide the bare minimum in terms of value to the people paying for it. Imagine something like the last crash happened again - every penny we have would be wasted paying for this utter sh.tshow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

I see the protesters turned up in their dozens today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,766 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

can’t get to see my GP….Called at 4.05 pm hoping for an appointment Tuesday or Wednesday…

I can’t even get one next week with him.

Yer wan on the phone remarks that a new doctor has started at the surgery and he has ‘one’ free appointment on Thursday morning…. Would I like it… like I’ve any fücking choice….her tone indicates that her mindset is that I’m being done a colossal favour….🤦🏻‍♂️

One week from today….and I’m fortunate to have that privilege…it would seem.

But by all means, put more pressure and demand on these services that are becoming even more unobtainable as time passes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,107 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

A few of the patriots have bags of cans. Don't have to be up for work early by the looks of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Rezident

At this stage they are ideologues so immune to reason.

If a million radical Islamists came here from Pakistan and Palestine and attacked their daughters they would argue against punishing them, as it is 'part of their culture' and they don't want to be seen as being Islamaphobic.

If you want to see how the experiment ends, look at what has become of the UK outside London in Rotherham etc. It is now only a matter of time. If you cross nine countries and a whole continent, you are, obviously, not an asylum seeker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,060 ✭✭✭prunudo

Great to see a well attended and peaceful protest by the those against the governments current polices. Of course as usual, RTE can't count, and the media in general give the attention to the much smaller counter demonstration, but heyho, its great to see so many out there. Despite what the media and left ngo's tell us, there is a significant percentage of the country who agree the government have it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,335 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Is this thread broken? I can't see any posts.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,647 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

When will this **** blight stop, when will we have a government standing up and stopping this.

It's absolutely sickening the **** hole our country is turning into

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭AJG

It will never stop. We will be made gone soon enough. No one is coming to help. Prepare accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

No, no, you've got it all wrong. Gript bad…something, something, misinformation…hurty FG articles = bad

RTE = fantastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭batman_oh

On average 500 a week arriving, the majority claiming fake asylum. Sure what could go wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭EveryoneKnowsNobodyCares

Page 607, the posts end. Then loads of blank pages till page 612.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭EveryoneKnowsNobodyCares

Very upsetting viewing, tonight's RTÉ Investigates: Inside the Protests. Some thoughts, opinions and questions:

1. What are Ireland's international obligations regarding taking in international protection applicants? It's clear that the State can't physically accommodate them, so they're doing both asylum seekers and actual residents here an injustice. Dozens of asylum seekers in tents on a Dublin side street is a situation no-one wants or needs.
    2. An Garda Síochána comes across as a completely impotent police force. That's at least down to the government, which provides us the people with a police force, and maybe also includes policing decisions by higher-ups in the force. Looking at the RTÉ guy being harassed and assaulted by yer man with no intervention by the police in the line and even less from the two who strolled past. I wonder why no action was taken. Were the gardaí hopelessly outnumbered and on a hiding to nothing and that knew it? Or did someone somewhere decide that the guards would just protect that area and not get involved in anything? Or was it down to fear in individual guards? Also, where were they that morning in Coolock after they removed the blockade? They scarpered shortly after that, left the staff and security of Remcoll Capital to fend for themselves despite the inevitability of the return of a huge number of belligerent protesters, and didn't come back until hours later until it was way too late. It's hard to imagine a potential situation more needing of a police presence, and yet they were nowhere to be seen for so long. And "policing by consent", just what is that? "Yes, guard, I give you permission to arrest me for throwing this petrol bomb." The phrase makes no sense.
    3. The government has a lot to answer for. There has been consistently a lack of information and consultation with local communities regarding the introduction of asylum seekers to those communities. This information void allows some very nasty people to fill that void with exaggerated speculation and downright lies in an attempt to whip up fear and hatred in communities. And it's working. And it needs to be stopped. Go back to Dublin in the 1990s for example. If you're not from there and you visited the city during that decade, you'll surely have seen a lot of non-natives. (You'd notice this more clearly than someone who's from there, seeing as rural Ireland was a lot less cosmopolitan back then.) This is a normal phenomenon in every capital city in the world. Dublin is still home to many non-natives in 2024, but racism is way up. Ask yourself why. But the government aren't doing anything to help the situation. Correction, the situations: an immigration crisis with nowhere to put them and no way to account for them, failure to protect the immigrants we do have, failure to engage with communities, and the rise and rise of racism. They're bystanders. They're like a bridegroom who watches while his bride gets too friendly with a guest at their wedding reception and does nothing about it, expecting it all to sort itself out even as they start getting touchy-feely. Well it won't. And the government need to tighten their controls and not let undocumented ghosts into the country. But they won't. It was the same with Covid when the numbers weren't so bad but then they did nothing to stop tourists and businesspeople entering willy-nilly and the numbers absolutely exploded.
    4. We saw a lot of crimes being committed on tonight's programme. Assault, arson, harassment, "n****r", etc. What repercussions will there be for all these people? Will there be any, even if they can be identified from tonight's footage?
    5. Going back to the gardaí's failure to do their job in Coolock that day: given the negligent absence of police, could the staff/security under attack have legally taken the law into their own hands and fought back and/or detained their attackers? That first guy who entered the site after the barriers came down seemed to have the run of the place, could security have grabbed him as a trespasser and locked him in a room somewhere or tied him to a pole?
    6. We saw attacks on police cars. Surely there should be enhanced sentences for people who would go out of their way to give two fingers to the State by attacking a squad car. Same for intimidation of gardaí.