Increase in Anti-EV Media Articles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Slightly Kwackers

I know there are unreliable petrol engines of course. My first car was a Morris Ital, and I got to rebuild the engine long before I knew what I was doing :-(

The car did teach me that Halfords torque wrenches were not to be trusted also.

I gather even the none turbo three cylinder engines are troublesome on some models. I think my car is 3 cylinder, but I only opened the bonnet twice at most since buying the car. We used to run petrol cars to around 180,000 miles after which they were swapped and became pool cars. None of the Mazdas made it to pool car stage, in fact they were the only deisel engined cars we had, most were variations on a Civic or Focus 1600 and petrol

I did a lot of miles, I never liked staying out if it was avoidable. Even here where there are not too many boring, plasticy Travelodge type places, I used to commute from near Clonakilty to Tralee daily.

The hotels are better than Britain for short notice three or four night stays, but after years of trying to avoid the places it was too late to change my habits.

My company in the UK were not happy with my antics, being concerned about looking bad if I wrote off a few families on the motorway I suppose, but they got used to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,771 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/122131216#Comment_122131216

I'd call them the mainstream majority. We are early adopters. They're buying what they want to buy. The cars they like. The cars they can afford. Nobody will be crying in 10 years.

I've 2 full EVs but let's not forget that a decent proportion of people can't charge at home or work. And it's new technology.

Let people buy and drive what they want and don't be calling them stupid. It's a divisive tactic. Every bit as much as the articles that are popping up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,330 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

It's the inertia against change.

But if govt make diesel cheaper than petrol and eventually everyone will change.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Maybe the small dealer that has family working for RTE 😉

I was an early adaptor in 2012 with Fluences and Kangoos….

That was 12 years ago..

Well you certainly got the hop over everyone else.

And I was late to it too, especially since I was loosely in the ecar launch in 2009/2010!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,841 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

If whoever you have delegated pricing phones and plans to has negotiated a deal thats costing 50 quid a month id suggest its time for a performance review 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Slightly Kwackers

I loved the job.

I never had much interest in cars though, I did want an estate but the company were insistent on their choices.

An EV would have been out, it would be today as I.m sure places like Scotland would be a nightmare even in summer to try to get charged.

Is anyone selling these things yet? :-)

https://www.amazon.ca/NERMAK-Portable-Battery-Charger-Waterproof/dp/B0CQMW1Z5N/ref%3Dsr_1_25?crid=MIV3H5Z8G8Y3&dib=eyJ2IjoiMSJ9.U-onSXJdA9GFUaanrEzZKdjeMoRfyUftRpUKB9-Hu35SXqnNMH2rUKjRFh-WGP57H2IgDKY0SCdZPv-ajJYQlwmYWxHRGV3qON3WXMJ_NHWXQA2tE2dlRDREFBJb6XxveY-YvVRQY-5xeQvE52virdUL88Vp2bQZlNh8gityaIwtwufrK9x1gFcgm4EZVazyqHoCbnRsvXe1p_W1ki3AqhVPO8376-zyqENowPTGDEZujsuM97Ik1Fbesdn4g2XhMn96oXsoDH8Re_osiC2tLDTw8xSSlPD5aBjjoMMzT9U.89qXOls_VlWwiLlHoqzeBraAVgC8YsMWXvZMby4zlhU&dib_tag=se&keywords=Solar+Trickle+Charger&qid=1715587909&s=lawn-garden&sprefix=solar+trickle+charger+%2Clawngarden%2C215&sr=1-25

There must be a world of opportunity for the shysters that were supplying performance enhancing magnets for fuel lines and software upgrades to get more MPG from plug in USB sticks or car lighter attachments.

New technology is often jumped on by the snake oil salesmen exploiting peoples lack of experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,413 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Scotland seems well covered for charging points.

image.png

You won't have money for long picking the worst deal and worst saving at every opportunity.

50x24=€1200

7.99x24=€191

The difference would more than buy a new phone every 2 years.

But each to their own and all that 👍

Wasn't aware that Scotland has no electricity.

Whatever snake oil sold your fleet petrol cars to do starship mileage really knocked it out of the park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭creedp

Some people like being seen as Billy Big Bollix on the internet even though many of same type get upset if on the receiving end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭RoboRat

It's amazing how easily people are fed bullshit and they lap it up and ask for seconds. The kid has more sense than all of them.

When we bought our BEV, my wife's colleagues were quick to add their two cents. They said they would never buy an EV because of the range issue, that the batteries are made by slave labour, and that EVs regularly go on fire.

Thankfully she knows better now and she loves the car. They can't harp on about range because we have proven it's not a problem. They can't harp on about the fires because there is proof that it's the other way around by around 50-80x. They can't harp on about child labour because cobalt is used in petrol/ diesel production and it's being phased out of batteries.

Now they've moved on to asking her how we will sell our car. Apparently, no dealer will take them and it's all over the news. I just laughed and said if that's what they think, so be it. If we lost 50% of the value in 3 years, we would still be far better off than someone selling a diesel/ petrol car when you take into account the significant savings on fuel, tax, insurance and maintenance.

These people are not petrolheads or car aficionados. My personal feeling is that they're somewhat jealous. I think they would love to be able to save on fuel but they have swallowed so much FUD and spread it, that they have past the point of return in their minds. They can't admit they were wrong as it would make them look foolish - people would question why they have an EV after being so negative about them. They can't change their mind so they have decided that if they can't have it, they will spoil it for everyone else. They have doubled down on the crap and it's their loss.

We are on a three pay as you go plan where you pay €20 a month and you basically get everything at that fixed price. Fours years and not a single issue.

Cannot understand why anyone would be on a bill pay with the risks of running up huge bills if something goes wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,164 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I moved to that years ago as well. Was paying over €60 a month which was basically covering the cost of the new phone.

Bought a SIM unlocked phone for €200 (it does my job perfectly fine) and it's €20 a month now for unlimited everything.

It allows you to buy very high spec xiomia phones for a fraction of what a mainstream brand costs. We operate a train of phone, my wife gets a new one every two years and I get her old one. Four years and the battery is shot. Still huge saving on say a Samsung.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭n.d.os

My wife also faces similar challenges, particularly from those closest to her who harbor feelings of jealousy. Our financial stability and my early adoption of new technology seem to irk a few people in her circle. Interestingly, my wife herself is considering a shift back to a hybrid vehicle. She hasn’t fully embraced her EV and lacks confidence in using it effectively on longer trips. She overcharges it on her way back from the odd 300km trip.

Reflecting on all of this, I’ve concluded that some people resent the idea of their loved ones acquiring new things or trying something new that they fear themselves. The association of EVs with politics complicates matters, and until charging infrastructure becomes more widespread and convenient, widespread EV adoption remains a distant goal. It’s a somewhat disheartening reality, but it’s the world we live in. I think we are going backwards.

The comment that started this line of discussion was the inertia of the market to find a better deal.

The argument that's someone wants and can afford a 1200 iPhone on a 60 a month plan is a strawman argument. No one's arguing that someone with a 5.0 Mustang needs to buy a 10yr old leaf.

The main problem is (anti)social media. It has been taken over by cranks, scaremongers, vested interests, and people whose sole purpose in life is to stir **** because they live such boring lives - their life revolves around likes and comments on social media and they must be seen!

The mainstream media are nearly as bad and many outlets rehash inaccurate and incendiary content. Whether this is incompetence, laziness, or because it will get more clicks is yet to be ascertained… it's probably a bit of everything, with a sprinkling of AI.

Thankfully, my wife is sold on our BEV but she has never taken it for a really long spin and had to use a public charger. That being said, we rarely use public chargers because we don't need to (3 times thus far). I think there is a degree of resentment at not having the guts to try something new, but I don't think it's due to financial reasons. They have backed themselves into a corner and they won't back down. It's evident when you see anything positive about EVs on social media - a mob of detractors shaking their pitchforks will always find their way to the post, and use it as a platform to spread their FUD. They cannot just skip by, they must have their say and ironically, most have never driven an EV, and have no clue about how it works.

I imagine if social media was around when we transitioned from horses to cars, the narrative would have been the exact same. Ironic really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭innrain

I have 5 years since I started driving electric and I passed a cumulative 150k km driven with no tailpipe. More that 2 years I drove free of charge, benefited from zero BIK, 75-50% toll reduction for good years. Driving 150k km on our petrol cars, would have costed approx 19k in fuel. Even at an overinflated price of 50c/kWh, would cost something like 12k in the EVs (the highest average consumption rate on my cars is less than 16kwh/100km). In reality I paid less than 4k. Then servicing would have been at least 10x oil changes some brake pads and probably one timing belt, not to mention 2xNCTs every year. There are other benefits like a more even usage. Before when we had 2XICE cars, I was driving mine and missus was driving hers leading to a 95/5% split usage. Now we drive whichever is more convenient for the particular journey. Having said all that, the costs were just one reason for changing to EVs but not the main one.

Back in 2019 people were incredulous that we're going to manage with the EVs. All the "you'll have nowhere to charge", "tyre particulates", "bring a fleece with you as the heater eats battery", "I have a friend with a flatbed" and EV fires were brought up at pub or at work as soon as people found out we drive electric. We're still getting the talk about poor charging network and what not. My stance however was never to hit back but to asses if the person in front of me is actually open to dialogue. If they start with all the rubbish monologues without listening to what I have to say as a person with professional experience and having driven both ICE and EV, I keep my mouth shut and move one. Plenty of others are open though and had lots of good discussion on the subject. I did drive tests with friends and acquaintances and even lent cars for weekends. While EVs can be perceived inferior from the range POV, they are superior in many other aspects like driving dynamics, comfort, running costs. They do require a change of mindset and that's not possible in every case just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭maidhc

Because we need coverage in places Vodafone has it and no one else does… And yes, it’s all iPhones, and there are fit for the bin after 2 years.

It's not even a good deal on Vodafone.

Throwing out or destroying iPhones after two years when they are still worth a fair bit, seems another poor financial decision. They don't seem fit for whatever ye do with them .

2 years 😂

iPhone X still going strong. Albeit with a Few screen replacements from drops etc

Yeah, I don't tend to engage with the negativity. 3 of my mates are anti EV - you would swear that an EV murdered their family. The irony is that one of the anti EV brigade had a diesel Merc spontaneously combust on a motorway and it went up in a fireball.

A couple of my mates would be cautious and last week I picked one of them up (I live around 100km away so I rarely see them) and within 10 minutes, he had seen the light. Another would like one, but he does a lot of fishing and tows his boat through muddy fields and tracks, so he felt it wouldn't be suitable due to the weight (he drives an A8 Quattro estate I think).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭eagerv

To be fair, we have had very little negativity over the years with our EVs. If work mates etc ask us how we like our cars, we tell the truth, how they suit our driving, for significantly less running costs in a car significantly more powerful, better equipped and simpler to drive than we would otherwise have. Range is usually questioned, not sure they believe how easy it is to drive to London, Belfast or wherever and in reality how little you need chargers apart from at home.

Most people we know are just reluctant to change and that is very understandable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭n.d.os

It’s hard to pinpoint exactly when this shift occurred, but yes, much of this regression can be traced back to the current state of social media. About five or six years ago, when I logged onto my Instagram account, the content I encountered was closely aligned with my interests. Friends shared photos, and brands showcased interesting products. It all seamlessly fit into my life.

However, things have changed dramatically. Social media is now inundated with fake news, clickbait content, memes, and videos designed for quick laughs and reactions. As someone who values information and intelligent content, I find this shift disheartening. Inevitably, all this rubbish makes its way into workplaces, family dinners and chats around the table down the pub.

For the sake of humanity, I hope that platforms like Instagram and Tik-Tok will eventually fade away, much like Facebook did. Perhaps then, people will reconnect with each other, lifting their heads out of their phones and engaging in genuine interactions.

In the context of electric vehicles, I’ve also observed that many people tend to unquestioningly believe what they read online. Unfortunately, the internet is rife with fake news and clickbait content, making it challenging for individuals to discern between facts and fiction. However, there’s a silver lining: those who avoid excessive online exposure often maintain a more balanced perspective on EVs. Specifically, I’m referring to people who haven’t yet owned an EV.

If a prominent figure like Jeremy Clarkson were to publicly endorse EVs by purchasing one, it would likely influence a significant number of people—especially the more traditional demographic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ColemanY2K

FWIW I noted Clarkson was driving a 16 year old Range Rover on his Amazon show in the latest season. I know he isn't short of a bob or two and likes all things British but Christ that thing must cost a fortune to keep going.

🌞 7.79kWp PV System. Comprised of 4.92kWp Tilting Ground Mount + 2.87kWp @ 27°, azimuth 180°, West Waterford 🌞