Doireann's gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭horse7

Your probably right but I do occasionally tune in to hear the 2 Johnnie's, mainly for the culchie accents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭doc22

Weren't RTE getting tight around sponsorship being reported and cleared(greater then 50 euro), and perhaps Doireann has external interests via the podcast, instrgram etc that made such restrictions untenable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Yep, and I'm probably reflective of a very large proportion of the Irish public. Long past time to sell/ scrap this station. Sorry to burst the bubble.

you do this all the time, getting boring at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭rino87

The BBC gave Allison Spittle a podcast too so they are gone waaaaayyyy passed being the broadcaster that sets the standards any more 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭pjordan

I listen to it on the school run as the little uns are big fans of Lily's Dilemma. But in all honesty (and I appreciate I'm not the target audience) I think it is really an awful heap of vacuous, nonsensical noise. I find Carl Mullen particularly annoying and shouty (and not really funny, esp his phone calls from Ireland) and whenever poor Donnacha attempts to talk half seriously about the few things he is really knowledgable about (i.e. Rugby) he's invariably shouted down by the other two. I wonder did Jimmy Greally or Jim O Neill sound this silly back in the day? I doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,544 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Years ago I was stop on Abbey street by a market research person with a set of photographs and she was asking me if I knew who they were.

I have often though about doing similar research with these so called famous people. I really only know them because I take an interest in the media, outside of this I wonder if anyone is aware of them.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

I should really have to ask "who is Allison Spittle?"

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Yesterday

No need to be so snooty yerself, I'm only offering my perspective, albeit one definitely not from their target audience. In truth I switch back to Morning Ireland as soon as a drop em off, but like someone else above says, I do think that having 3 highly paid presenters on the morning show (especially 3 of the NK stable) is a bit of an overkill. I appreciate this also feeds into the wider debate on whether 2fm is actually commercially viable or constitutes public service broadcasting anymore or whether it should be sold off/privatised. It's a hugely different commercial and listenership dynamic to the era of pirates that brought about the introduction of Radio 2 in the first place back in 1979.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭rino87

Which in fairness you had totally explained in your initial post Bobson just does get that you can have a view on many things at one time and that you might consider putting such views on an opinion board. If it was up to Bobson view unless good should be ban or you should stick to "If you have nothing nice to say, then say nothing".

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

I wonder will that be an issue for the Two Johnnies when their contract comes up for renewal?

Do they do much promotion externally?

RTE gave her a sitcom. They didn't renew it. Wonder why?

If I remember correctly George Hook introduced her to the Irish public for the first time on his show.

We have George to thank for Alison and Ciara Kelly.

Bobson, you know me so well.

Great to see you spreading your wings from the Toyman thread. No everyone can see your contrarian (is it trolling, is it not) posts. Where you attack posters views and never comment on the content of the shows.

You are in for a treat people. It is gonna be like 4 chan light in here soon.

See what yer missing!. It's a young girl, Lily (probably <8 years old) who each week gives 5 daily verbal clues about something and listeners have to guess what it is, before answer given on Fridays. Very popular with young kids who call in and leave voice mails and little messages along with their guesses. Cute actually and possibly best part of whole show…

….

Do what all the time?

RTE has it's problems. 2FM is a burden that fills no useful role anymore that's not done by others just as well and better elsewhere. Sell it or close it. Fire the staff or re engage them in other more productive roles. That is a reasonable view point.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

I'd imagine she was let go. The likes of herself and Loshie would find it hard to get such good paying work elsewhere. When was the last time someone left RTE voluntarily that wasn't retiring. The Keith Walsh one is good. Obviously thought he'd walk into jobs and that was never going to happen. This is the same.

______

Yesterday

I think they mean pretending that you don't know who people are when you clearly know who they are and are a huge fan of theres. Just be honest. It's okay that Doireann's better looking sister let you down.

But seriously your right RTÉ has no idea what 2FM is there to do. From 1979 TO 2011 2FM was self-suffienct, since 2011 RTÉ continue to pump money into the station because as Moya Doherty puts it "it would kill the broadcaster and sever links with the youth audience".

And back to being my less serious self

Is Moya Doherty the bestest in the worldest!

Untitled Image

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Sonic the Shaghog

Ah Bobs a bit of a Ryan Reynolds at this stage, was good in his roles as Emmetspiceland/Johnny flash/Pintman but starts to play the same character in everything at this stage. Throw in the usual middle aged, angry, white etc descriptions and it's the same script. It's sad there was such talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Wouldn't know her if I met her in the street. Looked her up, solid looking gal alright. Well got did I read somewhere?

Bobson 2FM is on the decline is run by a man in a suit who thinks he's down with the kids, coming up on 60 at this point, 13 years or more at RTÉ and all he can think of saying is "Bullshit, bullshit, bullshit". Cop yar self on Dugnutt.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

Maybe you are, maybe you are not. I don't know and that is not my concern. I am not the 2FM demo but I am fan of radio and have been for a long time so when I saw the thread title I clicked in to have a look.

But you went to the effort to be on the home page then Topics - Entertainment - Radio and click on the thread and asked the question "Who's this Doireann one" which I think you know exactly who she is based on your opinion of 2FM.

Never change Bobson.

EDIT: I have a question. Do you write your posts yourself. Or have outsourced them. I have a pretty good idea what goes into one of your posts now.

I love when posters dont have anything positive to say about noughties born rte females. We are accused of being all sorts. No were not creeps. The woke generation like Doireann, loshie and Mcdermott are just pure shite.