Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2024 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,562 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

All you need to know about the games 28 and 29 April, according to RTE.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2024/0425/1445611-football-championship-all-you-need-to-know/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,407 ✭✭✭megadodge

Yet again, like all bad liars and zealots, you refuse to answer any question I ask.

I wonder why that is?

You continuously introduce emotive-based strawman arguments and ad hominems in order to deflect and avoid my questions.

Now you're mentioning people clambering over the concrete seating that used to be in front of the stand. Well, they were replaced by plastic seating. How exactly does that prevent clambering?

As for the 80 year old with the bad hip, how long will it take him to evacuate from the upper tiers in Croke Park?

A few more questions there, along with a reminder that I'm still waiting for you to clarify what exactly is it in the Hyde that makes people burn to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,994 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I wouldn't be so sure. If I was from Louth I would seriously fancy my chances. Kildare cannot get much lower. And given that Sam Mulroy was able to try and take on the Dubs on his own last year. What damage will he cause to Kildare?

If Louth are in the game at all or go ahead, I expect Kildare to fold like a deckchair. That is how poor Kildare are mentality, tactically etc etc.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

What are u talking about burning to death, you're using a flippant remark about people being left behind in the case of a evacuation (let them burn) to blind you to the point that the hazard to the crowds in venues like the hyde is in crushes and the likes. These are where the hazards are. Crowds are dumb, something happens and the herd mentality comes in, and they don't think rationally.

The new seats in the Hyde look to have bigger avenues and channels (aisles) between them, I may be wrong in that but just looking from the terrace on Sunday that looks to be the case to the naked eye. I'd be guessing that the ground underneath is better to than the heavy gravel that was there. All eases movement of people. There are lots of alternative egress points from the upper levels of Croke Park, look how quickly it empties out after a game,and most of them are different routes than you'd use when entering the ground.

Of course, because nobody has been killed in a GAA ground for years, we should just have a free for all. Ram the people in, cram them in as tight as you can, sure what's the worse that can happen. Bring the barbed wire back to make sure they are penned in properly too, why not? All the lessons learned through tragedy elsewhere don't apply to us in the GAA, we're different.

I've seen idiots stick to dumb arguments in here before, but this here is trolling of a whole different level-fair play to you!

The reality is most GAA grounds are far too big for the attendances they receive. In times gone past when the Hill16 had no barriers, and few stewards that is when there was real danger, for the "big games".

But given the amount of space GAA grounds have relative to the crowds. Plus the smoking ban in the grounds. Your nightmare scenario remains just that. And your argument about impending disaster is like something from a bygone age - thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,229 ✭✭✭overshoot

tgd part B has a very clear measurement for the width of escape routes, or will at least point you to other reference documents. Feel free to check it out and tell the GAA’s consultants where they went wrong if you’re so sure. You’re the one saying the limit is wrong, I think the strawman argument is on your side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

The Munster hurling championship is competitive and getting good crowds. The key is getting the right blend of competitive games, jeopardy and reward. Non provincial finalists should at least have to go through a knockout playoff round to make the group stage. The All-Ireland 16 would then consist of 8 provincial finalists, 1 Tailteann winner and 7 playoff winners.

The 7 playoff losers and a third tier winner from the year before should compete in the Tailteann Cup. The remaining 9 teams then in some Tier 3.

That all aside and back on the field of play. A surprise Down win will add spice to Louth v Kildare tomorrow which would then become an All-Ireland playoff.

Around 150 people died in a crush in Korea 18 months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭flasher0030

What does this have to do with Hyde Park. It was night time festivities. Alcohol consumed. The area not patrolled properly. Mention of 100,000 people in this article.

What is the comparison between that and Hyde Park, as opposed to any other GAA ground, or in fact any other large gathering.

https://www.politico.com/news/2022/10/30/south-korea-halloween-grief-shock-00064125#:~:text=SEOUL%2C%20South%20Korea%20%E2%80%94%20Concerned%20relatives,a%20nightlife%20district%20in%20Seoul.

It outlines the need for control of crowds. Even in your post, 'area not controlled properly', and too many people in the area, that's what we're talking about here. (There do be plenty of lads with alcohol on in the Hyde too, but not a significant number).

Im willing to submit to the experts on this, it's good to question them, but there is a time to admit that they generally know what they are at.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

Armagh and McGeeney have had a habit of losing quite a lot of big games but this one would be a disaster for them if it happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,051 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

all square on 70 mins

Armagh win by a point

Armagh sneak through by a point. Close shave for the 1/5 favourites.

6 from Ulster in Sam, 3 each from Connacht and Munster. 4 from Leinster, Dublin, Meath, Louth and one of Westmeath/Kildare/Offaly. We can rule out Offaly. A Louth win over Kildare will get Westmeath in.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Real get out of jail card used by Armagh, then again made things more difficult for themselves by giving away to two very bad goals. Down would be in the final with a consistent free taker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭MFPM

Down let that slip, one point in final 24 mins of play. Armagh really inconsistent, capable of such good performances and then can be so off the pace.

Armagh never seem to do things the easy way. They usually lose big games by a point like league final v Donegal, twice on penalties in Croke Park to Galway and Monaghan, other games i can't recall offhand. Up to now they've lacked a killer instinct. But Geezer has put in some shift up there and i would like to see them win an Ulster title.

Geezer is the problem. Classic example of a manager living off playing reputation.

If ever there was an example of a complete non sequitur argument, this is it.

It made me say "What??" "What has that got to with what we are talking about?"

Now if you went through the average attendances in the Hyde v Crowd capacity. Or even any anecdotal stories about what attendance there is like it would make more sense.

I was only there once a few years ago. I think it was Conor Cox first year playing for the Rossies. I found it grand lots of space and a wide pitch. The weather was torrential rain though.

Perhaps all the luck that has deserted Geezer and Armagh over the years will be saved until this year and he will go on and win Ulster and go deep into the All Ireland series. There is a good team in there somewhere although some have been saying that for many a year.

Armagh have to be one of the most frustrating teams to watch in football. Because like you say the impression is that there are good players there not fulfilling potential.

I was at the Div2 Final Armagh fan beside me quiet watching the game like a hawk. Gradually getting more and more annoyed the way Armagh were playing. It was slow backwards stuff when they were behind, going nowhere. By the end of the match he was in a fit of rage about it.

I didn't see today's game Armagh played. But I assume it more of the same like that Div2 Final just eejitry type stuff. Showing no cop on. Or nous/game management whatever you want to call it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Can't thank this enough. And it's not much of a reputation to begin with.

Long may it continue.

I think the problem is some some people expecting too much from Armagh. Have to take into consideration they haven't got much underage success in recent years and club football especially Crossmaglen not as strong as they use to be. New year will be Armagh's 4th time in the last 5 years in Div one and in the championship they only missed out on All Ireland semi final the last two years with a penalty shootout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,009 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

I suppose people think that the above should make them more than a last minute point ahead of Down, and so it should.

After what happened to them last year Down came with a plan to make themselves harder to score against and beat today, two scrappy goals helped them of course.

Louth leading Kildare 0-10 v 0-6 at half time

Tyrone leading Donegal, maybe the 'Jimmy winning matches' hype was a tad premature...Time will tell

Taking McBreaty off paying dividends for Donegal

Kildare into the Tailteann cup. Some fall! Louth were favourites but I really thought Kildare would bring something today.

FT Louth 0-17 Kildare 0-13.  Back to back Leinster finals for Louth certainly the 2nd best in Leinster at the moment. Its the tailteann cup for Kildare.

Jimmy's drawing matches.

They did well to rescue that, big dollop of luck too. Very tentative up front today.

Kildare off to the Tailteann Cup. Kildare v Down the early favourite for a final pairing there. It will fuel calls for a third tier or the All-Ireland series allowing 20 counties.

Donegal deserve to be caught here. So wasteful not to engineer two scores there

Big win for Donegal after extra time. McGuinness has the X factor. League title in the bag. Ulster final v Armagh. Can't ask for more than that so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭The Moist Buddha

1. Dublin, Kerry/Clare, Mayo/Galway, Donegal/Armagh

2. Galway/Mayo, Armagh/Donegal, Louth, Clare/Kerry

3. Derry, Tyrone, Roscommon, Monaghan

4. Cavan, Cork, Meath, Westmeath

All provincial winners and runners-up will prefer to avoid Derry. Provincial runners-up being Seed 2 will be distorting the seedings again, causing imbalance in the groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,197 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

Fitness proved the difference for Donegal in the end. Tyrone having to play extra time two weekends in a row highlights how rushed and congested the Inter county season is nowadays.

Will be the 3rd year in a row that the Ulster winner will be team that has played their league football in the Div 2 and of course Dublin won the All Ireland from there last year. Better to be in Div 2 than Div 1 for the championship?

Ulster final Donegal v Armagh repeat of league final will be a tasty affair. Mcguinness v McGeeney. Great colour. A Clones carnival. This one will be well worth watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

Donegal's 7th Ulster final in 10 years. They are only tiring themselves for the Sam Maguire now anyway while Derry sit and drink tea today. Donegal will need some "magic sauce" as McConville puts it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Donegal won't win the AI this year. An Ulster title for them would be a magnificent season.

The spread was 20 points in Dublin v Offaly.

Result Dublin 3-22 v 0-11 Offaly.

Uncanny how often the bookies gets this spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Fair play to Louth a not very populous county with passionate fans, and a good side working to their max. Everything Kildare are not.
    There must have been more Louth fans than Kildare fans that says it all. Shameful. Maybe Kildare’s sharpshooters are in the Army back in the Curragh? Awful today.

That Full Back for Louth made a show of Kildare. Even going up for scores. Plus Mulroy magic as usual would get into any side in the country. Class Act. You don’t see his head drop like those Kildare shower do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,197 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

The two largest towns in the country are in Louth.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,882 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Remember seeing Kildare being described as the Tottenham Hotspurs of Gaelic Football, pretty accurate to be fair.