Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heavyweight Boxing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,265 ✭✭✭✭OmegaGene

joe Parker has made another video calling out Aj it’s quite funny

The internet isn’t for everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,967 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Usyk missing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,262 ✭✭✭squinn2912

the Parker video is grand but second time just isn’t as funny!
    good enough oul snippets from Fury!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,925 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Fury looks in great shape

working with Greg Marriott is clearly working, his everyday diet is shockingly bad

Fury looking fairly trim yea. Saying all the right things. He looks like he means business. I think he will win it without an awful lot of bother. Usyk will be wonderful as long as it lasts but once we get past 3-4 rounds I fear for him a bit. Would love to be wrong but can't see it.

John fury said he’s expecting a chess match between the two

See that and that it would be boring to watch… then it was gonna be exciting. The lads had plenty of craic anyhow. It's a bit early to have the press conference so I hope in a fortnight there's a similar tone if anything new about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,953 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

I just hope Fury has zip in him, Losing lots of weight can can be counter productive to speed & power
    Held want to be doing the weigh loss pre his actually camp

well he was down to 18st 6 before the latest camp started and he surely won’t be any lighter than that for the fight if anything he will be heavier

Watched the press conference. Still no idea why it happened. Odd

On Tyson’s weight, if I recall for fight 1 v Wilder he was light, and he got the two wins v Wilder, considerably heavier. But still performed well in all 3 bouts

Post edited by walshb on

Ok checked some weights and he was around that quite a number of times. When he fought Ngannou he was 19, 9 I think. That’s a fair loss if true in a short timeframe. I reckon he will come in around 19. There will be some headbutt, forearm and leaning going on in that fight. Why take on Usyk at a technique-off? Who gave him the most problems? Probably Chisora and that was by using his own advantages. I think Fury will go at it that way after a round or two

I checked. Tyson was 256 v Wilder 1. He did not really try impose physical weight and strength. He was more fleet-footed and tried out-slicking; when he was considerably heavier in fights 2 and 3 he used this to physically impose himself on Wilder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,953 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

To be fair the first Wilder fight he was still on the road to losing the massive weight he had put on in the 2 year absence , According to Big John he coulnd't punch his way out of a paper bag at the time

John is much like Tyson and he talks absolute **** 95% of the time, he wanted rid of Ben Davison and blamed him for Tyson being weight drained against wallin but Tyson was never a knock out artist

If fury wasn’t cut he would have handled wallin better obviously but these things happen and he still got the win

Working with Gregg Marriott will make the world of difference for Tyson losing weight, as we know you can do it right or wrong.

Hard to know with any real certainty what is best weight strategy for Fury. Come in heavy and burly and hope to really use the 50 -60 lbs weight over Usyk to get close and bully, maul and drown.

Possible downside here is Fury being little slower and little more ponderous on is feet, resulting in him not being able to get close all that well

Or he could come in in the 250s, light, more fleet-footed and speedy on his feet allowing him to compete outside as good as inside…

Then Usyk's talents need to be looked at. Can Usyk use Fury's size against Fury? And if so, how?

I just hope it is a good fight and they don’t cancel each other out

that’s the thing. From looking at Fury his tactic is to be slimmer and fleeter of the feet. The mauling and dragging is ok but he’s then depending on a referee who is happy to allow him to ruin the spectacle. I don’t see this happen against a CW in Usyk. I think he will always have the spoiler tactic should he want to utilise it against Usyk. Likely that he will use some rough tactics but not entirely. If he got docked a point early in the fight or a kd then he has a lot to do. I’d expect Usyk to be throwing an odd overhand right along with the long left hook. I think that’s his chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,130 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Honestly I think it's primed to be an absolute stinker.

Hope I'm wrong though. Anything other than 12rds of feinting and clinching.

Ah lads no one knows what it’ll be like but the fact that it’s for the biggest prize in boxing is more than enough. The fact (hopefully) it’s happening is fantastic.

Ajagba and Anderson are both on tonight. I reckon both come through and then face each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Yeah no one knows.

All we do know is Fury will win 😁

Reports that Anderdon just beat up on a punch-bag last night. Might give that watch a miss

Aye I recorded it but it was a total stinker so delete. Not exactly Anderson’s own fault. I actually considered getting up for those two fights. God guided me well there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭Robert Nairac

Cruiserweight who just came to survive and not try to win. Meh.

what’s the motivation for a guy like that? Is he thinking he can get a name for himself as someone who will guarantee rounds for prospects and get put on cards that way? Bit odd for me. Fights like that are such stinkers and hard to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Zhang vs Wilder and Hrigovic vs Dubois officially announced for the Bivol vs Beterbiev undercard on June 1st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,671 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

There are really no decent prospects at HW at the moment, Anderson is pretty meh and he was supposed to be the next American HW.