If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,321 ✭✭✭threeball

I think people need to realise that upgrading Tuam will not bring the crowds back. They could build a Bernabeu replica and it won't matter a damn. The decision has been made that Salthill is home for Galway GAA and the chances of getting a championship game in Tuam outside of playing London are slim.

The league is where its at for Tuam and they should be campaigning heavily for most league games in football and trying to get a hurling one too. That and as many club games in both codes as they can handle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Have Galway ever played a hurling match in Tuam, certainly not recently and don't recall senior club matches being played there either, so doubt that'll happen, but, certainly football league matches should definitely be played there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭MfMan

Played Wexford there in a league match c. 25+ years ago. Forget how they got on but they were battling relegation at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭MfMan

If it was a choice between there and the dark side of the moon (i.e. Salthill), I know which they'd choose.

Easier to get in and out of Tuam than Pearse Stadium plus there's plenty of hurling in North Galway now. It'd be good for the promotion of the game.

Seems like another year of Galway hurlers pumping long ball on top of a forward line not equipped to win it.

Can the sideline not see that nearly all our first half scores from play were worked through the lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

to be fair that was a very experimental team with 2 or 3 thomas's lads thrown back into the fire early on ,i wouldn't worry when it mattered last year ye had enough to win against tipp but not only that in the last two years ye have came mighty close to limerick when they were at their peek compared to munster levels , the puck outs look more of a worry but the performances of nilland and some serious scores from stupid angles form conor whelan would bring me to quote a very famous gerry Addams warning !!!

I agree we were down players but we gave Tipp a platform to generate a huge lead. I dont see the way they play evolving as they've been doing the same the last 2 years. The same was said last year and they didn't evolve, they spent the season pumping high hopeful balls onto a forward line that's not built to win that ball.

If they go short through the lines or deliver long low ball into space we generally get alot of joy from that but I'd say we're getting turned over on 85 to 90% of ball we pump high and long including puckouts. Surely now is the time to develop the style that best suits you and gives you a smidgen of a chance if you play Limerick. What we're doing now is 100% guaranteeing you lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,027 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

FB_IMG_1708082697193.jpg

Team for Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭cosatron

the holy trinity are back in the half back line. Hopefully they can get a run of games together before the start of the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

First of the 4 prodigal sons returns to bench in Sean Kelly. If by championship Walsh, Comer and McDaid join him fully fit and flying (looks a big if with those. Especially Comer and McDaid) we'll be close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭mjp

Anyone hear what is going on with Galway ladies team and the noticeable absence of the kilkerrin clonberne girls. I see that Ailish morrissey is the only KK Clonberne girl on the matchday squad of 30 again this weekend and has been the case for first 3 matches. Neither of the 2 x Divilly's or the 2 x ward sisters are available who would be regular starters in previous years. Know they under new management this year with Daniel Moynihan but doesn't augur well for the teams chances if they are without a number of these players. the all ireland club finals as mid December so would expect them to be back in the fold at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭MattressRick

As long as Sean Kelly is 100% fit, it's great to see him back. It wouldn't surprise me if he's being rushed back, they've done it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

They were given an extended break. Think manager is trying to uncover a few extra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,633 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Tuam Stadium this week. Still behind schedule

20240213_122656.jpg 20240216_121141.jpg 20240216_121733.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Surely those old seats will be removed and replaced with new ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,633 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

That's the plan

79%G v 21%T possession and we're a point down 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Going nowhere, relegation on the cards, another year wasted!

Slow, ponderous play with no purpose. No runners coming off the shoulder to draw attention or break the line. Football in general is dross at the moment, but we're one of the least adventurous teams in the country.

Is there some new rule where they can't have a shot outside the 21?its like they're tryin to work it in for the perfect score terrible stuff, shur their goalkeeper is beatin us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,898 ✭✭✭Robson99

Excatly. No runner off the shoulder makes us so easy to defend against. No options for Gleeson either on Kick Outs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭testtech05

Are we playing against a strong breeze or are they just afraid to shoot from outside the D?

That's just football today. Positions that would have been considering good scoring opportunities 20years ago are now ignored to get 5m closer but take 50 passes to get there.

Pushing up with 5 also, so we give Tyrone an easy option on every kick out. Either push up or don't but this plan is just stupid.

No wonder people complain about the quality of the football being played.....

All the same I'd like to see them take on a shot now again, if Molloy for instance was allowed take a 60:40 shot on and missed by a foot I wouldn't mind, chances are he'd have the range the second time, how are they expected to do it come championship time I don't know

Maybe the wind had something to do with it as Tyrone wouldn't shoot there from wide open inside the D either.

2 nice scores to start the half if they can keep it up

I think they'd have a better return if they took the chance. >50% chance of a score vs 70% chance of getting turned over. Its a no brainer, unless you manage a team apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Conroy injured now FFS. How do we get so many muscle injuries? Dublin hardly miss anyone all year round.

I can't believe management did nothing all winter on a new way of attacking. It's actually worse today than any match I can remember last year. The amount of lateral and backwards handpassing in the first half even when we turned the ball over and had a chance to quickly attack was chronic. Lads turning down 35 yard shots on goal. And then they take off our best forward prospect in OCurraoin, for Darcy FFS, and no decent ball being given to OCurraoin. It's just chronic. We're not going to be in the All Ireland semi finals again playing like this.