Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment 2023/2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Grace259

It's a long process, I would go in with the mindset that it will be at least a year before you are close to potentially getting a start date - it all depends as well on the panel number and batch number you receive after interview, I was top 50 in batch 1 and I am still in the process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Marty1476

anyone else in my age bracket (40) considering going again for the new recruitment campaign?

I waited nearly 4 years for a reply only to be rejected on a small mistake on my form B, granted it was during covid when everything shut down but not sure I can put myself through the process of waiting so long again. I applied in 2018 and only received a rejection in 2022 after passing everything bar vetting for a simple error on my form.

What's the current wait period from start to finish these days, it used to be around 9-12 months from initial application

Yea you're still looking at 9 to 12 months and that's dependant on batch and oom number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 puntcuncher

Hey Marty, Could you tell me what this mistake was? Fecking dreading the thought of anymore delays with my current application!

Has anyone from this campaign been offered an intake date yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Alfaguy

Isn't this thread a great resource for would be recruits. I recall I applied for the guards first in 1978 when I was 18 but failed the maths in the aptitude test. I was always useless at maths. Next recruiting campaign was not until 1980 so I applied again. By then they had changed the rules so if anybody had passed their leaving certificate - which I had - english, Irish, maths and two other subjects minium you did not have to do the aptitude test. So I applied again.

I failed my first medical due to some skin infection and was not called back for a second medical for about a year - then a lot of more waiting and waiting. Did not get into Templemore until January 26th 1983. So I was really trying to get in for 5 years. What a great feeling it was though to finally have made it - my lifelong dream job. Retired as a sergeant in 2013.

It would have been great to have the internet and talk to other applicants back then. Instead I was all in the dark about what was happening.

So hang in there - be patient and follow your dream.

Hi, first time poster on this thread. Just a quick question,

Will there be a new thread made for the recruitment drive launching today, or will conversations continue on this one?

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Jimmy113

Hi there. Would anyone have any idea on what the maths is like? Is it worth doing one of the on- line courses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭XabiAlonso22

Is it absolutely insane to step away from current life and family with one kid to go join the guards at 40? I suppose always in the back of my head I'd have thought about it but never didn't anything about it. Now it's opened up again im thinking about going for it.

I guess there's such negativity about the force and people leaving everyday is truly that bad or does it depend where your stationed etc...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Dublindriver33

Absolutely not!!!

I'm 45 and applying, I was in the reserves for 10 years and loved every minute of it, I had to take step back due to family issues.

When I was a reserve there was a moratorium on recruitment, when it opened up again I was a few months too old!

So this is my first opportunity to go for the full time in the upper age limit.

I also have a full time job which I have been in for the last 24 years, a wife and two kids but it's something I have wanted for a long time

Well that's certainly a positive post, I guess its daunting to think about going for it and 40 with a family, mortgage etc....

I'll take a drop in money, wife has a full time job good though.

Walking away from my current job to try and get the guards I could love it and I could hate it and regret giving up my old job. That's probably the thing holding me back the most.

I made a mistake with a FETAC qualification I have, I put it down as a Level 9 when it was a level 7. After that I failed to disclose a 'Dealing with AGS' from when I was a kid (17), my name was taken as being involved in an incident and recorded on pulse, it was minor incident and I wasn't even really involved but because I didn't declare it I was deemed as an untrustworthy candidate. I went through the appeal process but the outcome from the Commissioner remained the same.

On the Education section of the application form, are subjects taken to be entered individually (JC Physics, JC Chemistry...) or in groups (Junior Cert (with subjects listed in the text box)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 gg20

Anyone yet from batch 4 get word on when they could be starting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭sligo98

Hi, I am have sent off my application and very hopeful of gaining entry to the garda college, i have a speeding ticket and 3 points on my license from 2021 . Will that harm my chances? I paid the ticket immediately. Really hoping not as I completed the process in 2018 and didnt enter as I didnt feel mature enough out of school/whilst in college so would be a tough one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,769 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

In relation to the eye test, how strict is it? I am -2.25 in both eyes corrected to perfect vision with glasses. I have no intention of getting laser treatment. Would -2.25 unaided fail me if I got to the medical?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭RarePhilosophy

Just make sure you disclose it on form b (you fill it out after passing interview). Fairly sure minor traffic offences are fine , however , being dishonest often disqualifies candidates straight away.

It gives specifics in the recruitment booklet of what level you need to be at for your eyesight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 deermud

42 thinking of applying. Can people in the new age bracket be sent anywhere in the country first station? I have a wife, kids and mortgage. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭giseva

The age bracket and the trainee allowance have been significantly increased to attract new numbers. Given the high likelihood that older candidates may have commitments such as families and mortgages, commonsense would suggest that these situations would have been foreseen and that personal circumstances would be considered when posting those who successfully complete training.

Like any other job, candidates sign up to the terms and conditions, including work location.

On the other hand, would it make sense to try widen the net and increase numbers, just to make it unfeasible to those same numbers by sending them to areas beyond a reasonable commuting distance from where they're raising a family or paying a mortgage? Hopefully not!

I agree with everything you've said!

disclose EVERYTHING! (they already know, they just want to see if you're straight up about it ) I made the mistake of not doing so and my application was rejected for a silly mistake on my part.

The vetting team are not on a Witch hunt. If you have grey areas in your past declare them, and as long as they're not related to 'violent crimes' or 'drug related offences' you will be grand as long as you're honest about it.

Biggest mistake of my life was not being upfront about absolutely everything and I'd hate to see someone else make the mistake I did.

They will take that into consideration for sure and always have done. You can also put in a request to change station once you get allocated, the priority always went to those who had 'reasonable need' to do so I.E mortgage, family etc.

The AGS working rule (or used to be) is that you're stationed at least 10km from where you live, designed to protect you on your days off so that you don't run into someone you arrested the week before.

I don't know what -2.25 means TBH, but I do know that the last medical I did in Garda HQ was a basic wall chart followed by an Isihihara test which was done by a small unit mounted to the desk. There doesn't seem to be an updated version of the requirements online but you can always ask HR directly

appointments@garda.ie

01-6662571

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 19thhole

Well Marty.

I forgot to disclose a minor incident on my form b that occurred in my 20s. It was brought up at my Sargent meeting and super meeting and they both insured me that it won’t affect me at all.

I hope they are correct. Does it depend on the seriousness of the incident?

I genuinely don't want to put the fear in but that's exactly what happened to me!

I did a coaching session with a former Chief Super for the interview and he told me not to disclose certain things as it would hold up the vetting and because it wasn't 'violent or drug related' it would be grand.

If you have had ANY dealings with AGS just put it down on the form! if you weren't convicted of a crime they can't hold that against you but there will be a record on pulse.

Speeding tickets, Road traffic offences are fine.

Before they even ask the question on your history they already know the answer. Be straight up and honest

Get in touch with Garda HR and ask them to amend your file, they will allow you to do that and it will work in your favor by disclosing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭giseva

Where's this form? Is it separate to the initial online application?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 19thhole

And what did your Sargent and super say when you met them or did you get that far?

also how did they let you know you were not making it?

I'm the same, I can't imagine that they have opened the age limit to 50 and expect if the person got it to have to move across the country with a family and that of course you sign up for it to be that way maybe but I'm sure they will place you close to your home. How else would they attract people to the force,they want people with life experiences and most of not all will be taking a financial hit to join the guards so they will have to try and get people stationed close to their home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,379 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

are you asking about the Form B?

the past recruitment campaigns were handled by publicjobs.ie

you would do an online aptitude followed by a monitored aptitude in their office.

Then you would be called for an interview in the same office (different date) and before you had your interview you would meet a member of the vetting team who would go through your Form B and get a declaration off you.

Then the three person panel interview which was always fun

What way is it being done these days?