Orange is the new Burke

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,637 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

for a simple chap who has, through no fault of his own, found himself in a small bit of legal strife.

It is absolutely categorically 100% all his own fault.

His behaviour from day one is the sole source of his current legal position.

Perhaps a 3rd party told him to stand up at that School Church Service and scream at his boss , but if so , he still listened to them and did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

In that case I wonder if the rest of the family would have settled down if Mammy had been thrown in jail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,481 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

For people saying that he's protesting through going to prison, you know he doesn't have to?

He's in prison because he was disrupting a school with his protest. It's the same as if he'd done it in a hospital and was disrupting doctors.

He could protest outside the GPO, he could do it at the Dail. He could do it almost anywhere. He's not in prison because he's protesting. He's in prison because he will only protest in a school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭StormForce13

It looks as though you may need to get your irony detector re-calibrated. 🙄

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,637 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

The reason is Enoch is in jail in the joy, is one reason and one reason only the twat choose to put himself there and won’t be out till he decides he wants out and acts like a normal human in court, like not shouting and roaring at a judge and show a little respect for the law of the land like most citizens in this state do, even the drug dealers and other criminals do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I think the family are stubborn enough that it actually will

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Tork

So you think the rosary is said regularly in the Burke's house? Might be time to do a bit of research...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,111 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Certain former colleagues at her last employer might beg to differ

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,368 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I would have thought the rosary was a bit catholic for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,438 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Good call…. Need Baggy Trousers on the case.,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Can I do the post next time it's time for someone to say it's all about beliefs? Then you can all reply saying it's not. Good craic like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,654 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

There's a difference between righteous and right, which Ireland learned through hard experience where it comes to religiously dogmatic persons seeking to influence the nation through use of "the good word". Ireland is not minded to go through the hoops again just because the Burke family want to **** it over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,948 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Not sure that evangelical protestants say the rosary, probably speaking in tongues and screaming about belzebub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Tork

There are Christians who disapprove of Mary being elevated to the level that she is in the Catholic church. So no rosaries in the Burke household...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,624 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Only if you can come up on a new mad conspiracy theory to justify it all, the usual ones are becoming boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,266 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Not as boring as the "I don't agree with him (I really do, but am far too embarrassed about my views to say that) but support him because he's standing up for his beliefs" ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Ah yes, the "can I spew my bigoted populist bullshit without looking a religious nut job?" dilemma.

Answer - doesn't matter: they're equally ignorant and unscientific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭scottser

I'm a grammar pirate.

"Captain, the sails be up!"

"Areeeee!!... The sails ARRRRE up...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

Users says no debate going on here, but when challenged to debate, leaves.

I'm sure they'll be back again to complain about no debate happening.

Maybe there's no debate, because Burke's position is actually undefendable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

This is something worth reminding of. Burke's ... total obstinate position came down to an antagonism towards a single student whose request was so trivial in the grand scheme of things (IIRC it was only the neutral "they" n all, hardly scandalous - and that's speaking as a non-binary sceptic). When would a teacher even need to refer to a student in the 3rd person in their orbit anyway?

The victim in all this was the kid. Not Burke.

A kid whose life probably became 10 times more horrible by dint of a hypocritical "Christian" whose supposed love based religion couldn't throw a teen a bone. God knows the runway all this gave to the bullies and shítheads of that school. Being a teenager was a minefield of emotion and struggle for most us - couldn't imagine doing it while grappling with your physical sense of self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

Schools for the most part, have changed. There's way more acceptance of LGBT kids and neuro-diversity than there was in my secondary school days (mid 90's).

My brother in law came out in 4th year, through Facebook during the gay matriage referendum. We were all worried for him, but we needn't have been. His school was great and supportive and he was one of the more popular lads in his school. I was surprised as this was a country school with a heavy emphasis on the GAA.

It's wonderful to see that acceptance programs are working and getting through to people. Even my mother in law, who has generally poo-pooed mental health and "modern illnesses", now regularly talks about ADHD, dyspraxia, autism, trans-genderism etc. She understands that the more awareness and research done on these, will lead to an increas of the numbers of people discovering them and being diagnosed.

Agree completely about the changing attitudes.

In my sons wider peer group several people have come out at varying stages from ages 16/17 to today (he's now almost 24) and for all the reaction or change in attitude that arose they might as well have been announcing that they didn't like brussels sprouts.

It's just not a "thing" , certainly not the way it might have been when I was a similar age 30+ years ago..

And that's wonderful.

I can say the exact same about my daughter (27) and her group of friends.

Agree, its wonderful to see, as I had LGBTQ friends in the 80s who couldn't tell their families, and one very close friend who took his own life when ostracized and shamed by his whole family for being gay.

To think someone like Enoch Burke would describe him as an "abomination" just makes my blood boil.

And now trans people are being treated the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭scottser

Nice to read the comments above - thanks folks.

There's so much shitetalk around the topic of gender that it seems only the radicals and extremists get to voice their opinions. Most people are just bewildered in this day and age why trans people have such a high incidence of self-harm, assaults on them, suicides, addictions etc because they can't get access to services, are dismissed or not believed. The likes of Burke is actively working to erode the rights of our citizens. He can rot in jail for all I care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

That's all great to hear; I suppose I was just thinking specifically of trans (teens) cos by and large those folk are the remaining strata of LGBTQ that still struggle with social acceptance - as we know just from this forum. Am thinking that the kid at the centre of all this might be really struggling with any attention Burke's shítty behaviour might have caused - especially as mentioned trans folk are more inclined towards self harm and suicide. Acceptance might be greater but teens can still be, by and large, total àssholes to each other. While certainly seeing Burke sitting in the corridors must have been distressing for the kid.