Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oiling up the Tape Players out in Montrose.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,546 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Anyone here ever catch the Farming Programme 8-9 on Sat mornings?

Damien O'Reilly I think it was ran it for many years, was credible and knew his stuff. Ella McSweeney has also done the slot with a more science background but OK.

Last several weeks it's been Brenda - now Brenda was grand talking knickers with Derek Mooney or about mams and babies in her documentaries. But it's clear she knows sweet FA about farming. Talk about a square peg in a round hole, cringey stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭RINO87

I thought Lord Boucher Hayes got that gig?

Cannot imagine how bad Brenda O'Donoghue would be in that slot, bloody hell.....

• Registered Users Posts: 808 ✭✭✭amlinopta

LBH took over from October to June but is away for months seemingly on TV assignments. Ella took over June to September but has stepped away.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,514 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I don't know what was the point in RTÉ radio covering all the Ireland games in the Rugby World Cup and then not covering the final. Next time don't bother covering it all if you are not covering the final, next week they will be waffling about upping their game in covering sports for blind listeners etc etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭SPDUB

Presumably people were interested in the Irish games so that's why they covered them but it's now 215pm on Sunday and I have heard 3 RTE bulletins and most of a BBC bulletin and I still don't know who won

Bizarrely they previewed it heavily on Friday & Saturday on several shows but no coverage of actual final. Then reviewed it today. Like a bread bun burger with nothing in the middle.

A Nothing Burger 🤣 as a particular pro-Tubs poster put it on the Tubridy money thread 🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭B2021M

Do you mean any coverage or commentary on the match? Is this not covered by rights agreements?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

I don't get the ire over this, it was covered very well on RTE2 TV-I sat in a pub with some visiting relatives watching it?

My bad, I tuned into the RTE Player and didn't see it there. Tried radio as per this forum, didn't find it there. Went to Virgin Media.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,138 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Will be particularly interesting this year to see if RTE will do its usual ‘shutdown’ over the holiday period.

I have no doubt at all that they will , so the so called ‘talent’ will vanish from early on till Jan 08.

Thats the respect they have for JQTaxpayer who bailed them out when they tried to bankrupt the gaff with loose management.

Will the Renault man get the two hour gig and the music by numbers lad delight us with hits from Declan Nerney.

A nation holds his breath…

• Registered Users Posts: 13,017 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Some of them have gone awol already; the man himself PBH put in a shift this week.

No lad or lass over in TelAviv recently . Two dudes splitting a week each in the place up to recently.

War must be over or the Israelis kicked them out?

Any truncated programmes yet.....

PBH was in for Claire Byrne as her kid was at a Christmas event. He returned to Countrywide on 11 November after a long break, I think he said he was involved in TV work.

And we are away to a good start…. O’Mongáin replaced by Barry ‘Dark Cloud’ Lenihan on the Saturday 1300 show.

Nothing positive will come from Lenihan, you can be sure of that.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,627 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

ah Barry lenihan is cheerful compared to Michael Lehane who sounds like he’s constantly hearing bad news and is sick of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,627 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

So who will be the first to take off and on what day ? I doubt anyone will make it Friday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭Expunge

Ray D'Arcy made reference to the RTE car park being "half empty" yesterday.

He then pauses and wonders if he'll be "in trouble" for saying that on air.

His stellar popularity with his staff colleagues - especially the Sound Operators, whose services he refuses to use - will only grow, one would imagine.

Which petrol station will Brenda Donohue have a documentary from this year? Or maybe even a mart??

How much Elton John can Neil Doherty squeeze in to a single show?

How many re-runs of "Shur it was Better in" will we need to endure? Will it be double teamed with "Pantisocracy" (from 2021!) again?

I cannot wait.....

Post edited by RINO87 on

Not forgetting the RTE Concert Orchestra doing covers of mildly popular music, again....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,438 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

Once Elton is out of the way, Neil will focus on Abba, The Shires and the Dixie Chicks

Rin, ,my friend, nothing but …..😁

Its Brenda Donohue, it Paschal Donohue

Its Tony O’Donohue.

If we could get those three right with the ‘O’ letter the world would be a better place.

The rest of the name spelling wise is not that important…just the ‘Os’

Have rectified the situation Brenner....

We will also be treated to "the best" of the Doc on One - Blackrock Boys will no doubt be played out again. A very serious, and sensitive topic yes, but not one for Christmas, not that it'll matter.

One good thing I guess is we will be treated to re-runs of Caravan Radio - I like this show, even tho it'll be the 3rd time the series has played out since August, and the presenter makes many references to summer.

Careful now, they're just "The Chicks" these days.....yes, "Chicks without Dix".

Looks like Claire Byrne has left the building - says PBH will be with us tomorrow. She didn't sign off for Christmas as such but must be odds against reappearing on Friday.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭thesandeman

PBH in for Claire tomorrow. She didn't say Happy Christmas though so she might be back.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,017 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

And I see that Joe Grumpy will be back on with his annual December 26th reading out of the years death list, which is pornography to him. And it'll be replayed out on New Years Day. Huzzah 🙄

• Registered Users Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Shay Byrne finished Risin' Time proper today. He's on 11am to 1pm on Christmas Eve and 6 to 8 on Christmas morning (even though the RTE Guide says Lillian Smith) and after that as he said himself it will be a mixture of Lillian Smith, Michael Cahill and "a few others". He'll be back sometime around the third week of January.

Didn't think I'd be checking off the bingo card so soon but Brenda's petrol station extravaganza was on today.....christ

• Registered Users Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭thesandeman

But now you know where to find the best cheeseburgers if you're driving around in a campervan.....or something 🙄.