Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai now best paid workers in the state - CSO

• Registered Users Posts: 34,314 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭KaneToad

I don't agree with your analogy. Working for guards is a 24/7 job. It's what is signed up for. A teacher having to work nights, weekends and public holidays would be rightly surprised.

The majority of guards receive 25-30% extra for working their shift patterns. They deserve it but it does form part of their renumeration. It's just smoke and mirrors to put it as allowances rather than pay.

Those that don't work a shift pattern often have another specialist allowance to compensate.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

I don't agree that the majority of jobs in the world get overtime. Possibly the majority of jobs in Ireland do. Most salaried private sector jobs don't.

In my experience of working in IT I've only ever known one company to pay overtime. The standard is you get promised time-in-lieu, which regularly you won't be able to take. I wouldn't know exactly how frequently it happens but it's not unusual for people to have spells of working 50-60 hours and get nothing back for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,177 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

They were linked to the wage of the previous grade, traditionally.

Whether that is still the case, I'm not sure.

Also, I don't think that was ever in law, it was just custom and practice, AFAIK.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

If you are working nights or weekend you get additional pay. Same in IT.

People working 50-60 hours and not on a salary which would warrant that much work need to look at their career choices. If you are given time-in-lieu and don't take it then again that is bad management by the employee.

Tell someone to work 50-60 hours and then hand them 40k salary and see what they say. Especially in IT. IT consultants would regular do longer hours due to the job's they have but what is their wages?

A job is a job. Garda is a job the same as a call centre agent etc.

Some gymnastics you are at to try prove your point.

People sign up for jobs and they are aware it might have some out of standard office hours, this is the same across many industries.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭Francis McM

Actually Business Plus reported teachers are now the highest paid PER HOUR in Ireland.

Quote " Education is now the sector with the highest hourly earnings at €42.32, up 7.1% €2.80 from €39.52 in Q3 2022, ahead of information & communication, including IT, where hourly earnings rose 1.9% or 76c from €40.05 to €40.81."

It would be very much the exception to get additional pay for weekend work in IT. Night work would be quite rare. I've done some recently and the allowance was insignificant, came in at around a tenner for 3-4 hours after tax!

It seems you've no sympathy for private sector workers, telling them they need to look at their career choices, yet you want gardai on even more than 82k a year at average, with no questions asked.

I have sympathy for those decent guards trying to do a good job. Especially where younger ones, who like probably nearly all other young workers today, struggle to pay rent or afford housing.

But pay raises aren't the answer. Significant reform is needed to root out some of the toxic culture seen over the past few years. Then it might be more attractive to recruits.

As for what IT consultants earn, I'd imagine some specialist roles pay very well, but the average wage in the industry is far less than the Gardai. Most would much have higher qualifications, and from what I see probably work longer hours.

I have worked in IT. I know exactly what you can and can't get. I also worked outside normal hours and got the rewards. I used to do a lot of nights shift/weekends when young to pump up the wages.

You gave an example, I think the best reference and well known is a Accenture consultant, massive wages but worked long hours. 50-60. They will do that for a few years and then jump before burn out with a nice package. But the junior Accenture staff will be working the standard 40 hours a week.

I provided the basic Garda wages. I never said they need a pay raise. I just pointed to the fact what they earn as a basic

The "toxic culture" is a few bad and majority are good. Don't try tarnish an entire organisation because of the few.

The IT average wage in Ireland is 60-70k. Majority won't work longer hours and most will work a standard 9-5 job. Some won't of course like network admin/server admins as they will have weekend work.

https://itshifting.com/ireland/salaries#:~:text=The%20average%20IT%20salary%20in,remuneration%20is%20offered%20in%20Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭hamburgham

• Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭Big Gerry

They weren't doing much "work" during the lockdowns there was basically zero crime and they were just standing around.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

In fairness to the gardai , they done the extra time and they got the extra pay. But my lord it shines a light on teachers moaning about their pay when you factor in their holidays. Very well paid jobs.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,990 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

...once again, try it! teaching is no joke, severally under resourced schools, classes with many students with particular needs, and not enough resources to provide those needs, complete nut job parents, threatening everyone and anyone, yea, tis some laugh, teaching!

Its such a shite reply , ive my own career. I dont doubt school dependant it can be a very difficult job but to end up on 76k or whatever it is with that much of the year off will always be mad to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭SharkMX

Whenever im in my GFs parents house, which is a lot these days, since we both moved to our parents houses, I see her mother who is a teacher working. Like all the time, even at 10pm.

I asked her one day why she is still working and she said her job doesnt end when she leaves the office.

Now thats fair enough to me, but if you want to divide their salary by the number of office hours then it should be spelled out that teachers are not to work out of office hours, if you want that figure to be correct. Id say the same of any job.

I dont get overtime in my job, but i stopped working after my contract hours were up when i realized i was being made a mug of in a performance review last year when they told me my current salary was benchmarked with the industry and was above average for my job, so there would be no raise (they said that to everyone). At that time i was doing 50 to 60 hours per week for the company. Im doing 37.5 now for the same salary. Even if thy raised my salary by 10% now it I wouldnt get the value out of my extra time, so they can shove it. Their move.

Bet you do not get paid as much as teachers do, who according to the statistics " Education is now the sector with the highest hourly earnings at €42.32, " And I bet you do not have as good job security as most teachers, or a defined benefit pension, which is virtually impossible to buy in the private sector, even if you were to give a million for it?

• Administrators Posts: 53,553 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Out of curiosity, what rank in the Gardai is it when you come out of the 12hr shift rotation? Do senior Gardai work different shift patterns or do they revert to something closer to normal office hours?

But many many professions work free overtime hours. I do. But i dont have the over 4months off. Fair play to your gfs Mam for putting in that effort though. She could do zero hours extra and not get the sack , like myself in fairness.

I dont think they can do zero hours.

Its not for me to comment on how hard or valuable anyone elses job might be, but i think when a survey is dividing the annual salary by the number of office hours only (for any job), this is bad research and should be thrown in the bin, instead of appearing in a newspaper for dramatic effect.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Drifter100

Yes, thats a more sane view

The amounts of money on allowances for this and that is very good and can make a salary up to a really good one for a person not particularly talented in any way. Wish I had looked at this when I was of the age

Course they can do zero hours. Have you never had a shite teacher? They are bulletproof. I think its worth highlighting for teachers that work two thirds of the year and still always complain. But you are correct i havent done the job so maybe i am wrong , maybe they deserve 3 months off in a row every year...

Dont want to turn this into a hate the person who you think has a cushier job than you thread so wont argue with you on it.

My point is as stated above. For any job, quoting the annual salary divided by the contracted office hours and not including the extra hours worked is meaningless and just done for the sake of riling up small minded people.

But the extra hours worked are optional. You do know they all have free classes within the school day as well?. You arent making any sense. They have over 4 months off. It makes no sense to talk about their salary as an annual figure whatsoever. I dont hate teachers , i just think they are overpaid , im well aware i could go off and be one. There isnt much barriers to the profession.

Correct. And I know lots of people in the private sector who do free overtime, because they are glad to have a job / want to keep on top of the work / that is the system / want to get promotion or whatever. By comparison many teachers do not do overtime - any prep work is done between classes, during free classes etc and if they do not know how to teach the subject at this stage there is no hope. Some do of course put in extra hours free of charge, to help their pupils, well done to them.

Fact remains according to the statistics " Education is now the sector with the highest hourly earnings at €42.32, " Plus the security and d.b. pension are huge perks. In the private sector who can get a d.b. pension nowadays? Would cost over a million.

Reminds me of the auctioneers telling me who their typical landlord customers were ; Gardai and teachers. Often married to each other. Well done them.

Let me make this a bit easier to understand.

Lets say I work in IT - which I do.

My company dont pay us overtime.

What is my hourly rate if my salary is €50,000 and I work 200 days a year from 9 to 5pm with an hour for lunch?

Now what is my hourly rate if I work for 200 days a year from 9 to 5 with an hour for lunch and I work an extra 1 hour per day without pay?

That is the danger of trying to pretend its the same value to the worker when you only count office hours.

Its the same kind of divisive attitude as saying that a Gardas salary is great because he gets more money for doing a week and a halfs work in one week and god forbid, gets paid properly for it.

I would say there's quite a few barriers to the profession, especially in terms of making a career change into it.

For primary teaching you need the standard of Irish, then to do a postgrad. The Hibernia courses aren't really part-time as they require placements, so not something you might mix with your day to day job.

For secondary teaching it's quite tied from what I see to specific undergrad degrees and what subjects you majored in. Difficult to commit as a career changer to doing a full undergrad degree, and a think a postgrad is required after now too.

I'd say other careers now are more friendly to older career changers with shorter and part-time conversion courses.

Many have a nice secure, guaranteed little earner with average over €40 an hour, many do no work outside teaching hours except the odd grind nixer. Plenty of holidays and nice pension too.

You do not see many teachers being let go or becoming unemployed, or leaving for other careers.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,177 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

But teachers in many schools must face the dsyfunctional children of dsyfunctional parents, that's the downside.

Your point is simple to understand i just dont agree with it in anyway. You think teachers work extra hours that covers their one third of their year off. I dont think they do whatsoever

• Registered Users Posts: 34,314 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Yes it's C+P not statutory, but the pay of the grade is not index linked anyway which is the point.

Serving staff and retirees get increases in arrears which rarely match inflation.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.