Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cult of Stephen Kenny

• Registered Users Posts: 24,988 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

We don’t have the players, which makes it even more crucial that we have a capable manager.

Kenny as manager was never going to work… he lacks top level experience. His experience managing professional footballers has been fleeting only…he has never managed a collection players of international class. He has never managed in a situation where stakes are so high and where every game is absolutely important and every point as vital..

He has shown an unwillingness to be tactically flexible… and he’s not tactically reactive enough when a plan B is required… both in terms of substitutions which he almost always leaves until it’s too late… and changing formation and style too…

the success he did enjoy with Bohemians for example… I was regularly enough going to see that Bohs team… one of the best LOI teams ever assembled… every position had 2 very good players. They were especially adept at attacking and scoring goals…..and if behind the 8 ball he had a good bench and a plan B.

We have won 6 points from a possible 21 in this campaign. 6 points in 7 matches ….those 6 points we got were courtesy of 2 wins against Gibraltar who are about as able as an LOI side… we didn’t pick up a single point in any other game. That is nutsville. Pure rubbish…

why are people defending Kenny when those facts are out there, online for anyone to reference…? He’s not good enough. His ability and know how is enough for the LOI levels and levels below where he is employed now. At Bohs / Rovers etc if he doesn’t like the two centre backs, he can make a phone call and probably sell those two and buy two better ones..

he has to work with what is in front of him here, no cheque book gets him out of trouble…. Greatest managers achieve results when they don’t have resources and when they are up against it…. Kenny has fallen way short, 6 points out of 21… time won’t fix the problem, a new manager will help.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,964 ✭✭✭Gusser09

It could get messy this evening. Again id have more respect for Kenny after tonight if he held up his hand and said im not at this level.

No doubt he'll get the usual hall pass from the LOI brigade. Its blantantly clear he hasnt left the national team in a better state than he found it and thats saying something considering thw lows we were at when he took over.

6 points from 21. Not managing a single point again Greece. Spoofer stuff at this stage defending it.

Tony O'Donoghue needs to salavage any credit as a journalist tonight and grill him on his record and claims he makes. He wont obviously. Id imagine Tony will ask him about a new contract or some mad ****.

More than a hall pass the LOI cultists will still be championing the fûck out of him no matter the result.

be nice if he’d just try something different tactically. We cannot qualify so why the hell not just do something a bit different….

part of me though wouldn’t mind seeing us get walloped 4-0 tonight….if we by some miracle won tonight and beat New Zealand in the upcoming friendly we obviously won’t have qualified but we’d be on a 3 match winning streak…. 🤪 could give the FAI eejits food for thought…. Some of the lads whispering in Hill’s ear…go on Jonathan, he’s improving and he’s cheap 🙈 new contract… yeahhhhhhhh go on..

A disaster of a pre match interview. Terrible communicater. He doesnt instill confidence in anyone. He's barely able to string a sentence together still.

Great start. Thats in Stephen more of the same.

Plenty of hoof ball here too. I wonder what the Kenny LOI fanmen call it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭TokTik

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭JeffreyEpspeen

A few thoughts.

Robinson should've been put out to pasture years ago.

Cullen is a nothing player. Has touched the ball about twice so far.

On that note, Collins continues to have a mistake in him every game so I'd seriously consider playing him in midfield seeing as he can carry the ball forward. Scales either as he's slow enough but compensates with a decent array of passing and shows decent situational awareness.

Kenny is absolutely hopeless at getting anything out of a player like Ferguson. I feel sorry for him.

Simons should've been booked for fouling Manning about six times by now.

Doherty is so past it it's not even funny. He has the first touch of an amputee.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭TokTik

We are so weak in the middle. I find it hard to believe that there is no Irish player anywhere who’s a specialist breaker-upper. Who can cut out attacks and recycle the ball.

Thats as bad as anything we have seen for a long time. A clear sign that Kennys time has gone. Why the hell is callum robinson playing.

Scales is so poor too. Shows how far Celtic have fallen. He'd struggle to get a game in the championship.

And then to make matters worse you have a manager asking them to do things they cant do. Its horrific.

Imagine letting a clogger like Weghorst score a goal like that.

Eh....ye know....good eh player tony...man utd ehm. We started good and eh maybe. Gibraltor tony.

Collins was clearly fouled in the lead up to the Dutch goal, replay confirmed, thought so at the time.. VAR ? 🤬 didn’t check even. Jersey absolutely reefed off him.

We managed though one shot on target all first half, one shot actually total. Typical of this ultra naive team and Kennyball.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭thinkabouit

Can’t believe what I’m read the last few posts in the context that Kenny might be given a new contract. Wont be a seat sold in the Aviva if that’s the case.

As for the game tonight, Pep would do well to have us only one down.

The players are simply different levels below their opposition. The Dutch crowd is just waiting tor the team to put us to the sword.

The usual biased refereeing we've become accustomed to.

Simons knows he has carte blanche to hack Manning and nothing will be done about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭eggy81

Imagine being a centre forward in this side. We constantly refuse to pass the ball forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

What's the point?

SK basically lost every match.

Our midfield is completely overran. Nobody tackling, just running at and after the Dutch… tackle you useless shower of &@&@€

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Tomaldo

Joanne mentioned that jersey pull for the goal, but the panel didn't agree. It's a foul.

• Registered Users Posts: 709 ✭✭✭weadick

Amazing when you look back at the start of this group some deluded people seriously thought we could challenge Holland for second place. We are light years away. This is the worst performance I can remember for a long time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭randd1

If it wasn’t for the pull, he’d have been further away from Weighorst than he was when he got turned. It’s was shocking positioning.

Ferguson off for McGrath. Bizarre stuff from the sideline.

Why go 2 up top at all? Would you not forsee problems? We are crap enough in midfield without mad decisions like this.

Amazing.

Then he goes and takes Ferguson off, the fella hasn’t had a flicker of service….so what’s the sub going to achieve ?

Dutch have had at this point 60% of possession.

Nobody putting in tackles, just watching the Dutch playing. Pathetic…a wall of green as if we were 2-0 up….

Mcgrath and Mikey johnson. Two piss poor SPL players.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭omerin

We are being thrashed 1-0

• Registered Users Posts: 457 ✭✭chrisd2019

The game is more like an end of season friendly than an International, under Stanton things were depressing at the end, but now things are worse. The team has nothing like the spirit and drive of the team I watched in Japan in 2002, 20 years of decline since then.

And all the FAI seem to want is a row with the government paymaster about women on the board!