Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Life passing by people in their 30s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭BillyHaelyRaeCyrus

Thank you for saying Ive not done anything wrong. The thread up to this was people saying those living at home and renting had done something wrong by not being rich while living in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,941 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Stop feeling sorry for yourself!

Plus, council housing should not have been bought on the cheap. If you could afford to buy one, then you shouldn't have been in one.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Agreed. Like, I went on a moan on another part of this site years back about how unaffordable London is but someone linked me to some reasonably prices apartments in Dagenham. Now, Dagenham is a notorious sh*tehole but it can be done if people are willing to compromise. It's still a busted system but there are things people can do to get around parts of it.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Do none of you think that having a large and growing amount of working people resentful of their lives due to housing is not going to lead to actions that hurt the income of high earning techbros like all of you?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Sooner or later someone is going to have to bring home the bad news - not everyone is going to get to own a house, the sooner that happens the better because it will be less painful and less financially destructive than dragging it out for a couple of more decades. After that we can start to have a discussion about a realistic housing policy that might actually work.

Id actually love that. For renting to be just paying another bill. If we changed the culture views of renters being failures in effect we could fix most of the issues with housing. Ive lived outside Ireland for most of my 20s and rented with no issues loving life, when I came home family started about me having to get on the ladder at all costs, rent being dead money, treating me rentals totally differently to how they treat people buying a home. I went into a depression of feeling like a failure and Im desperate to get on the ladder just to be normal.

But if the culture around renting changed I wouldnt need to

I don’t disagree with your point, but I find it interesting that you feel entitled to make it.

I know from your other posts that you worked in banking to a senior level, so I’ve no doubt you have done very well for yourself. I also work in banking so don’t really have a dog in this fight in that I’m not locked out of housing in Dublin.

But how about I tell you and your generation, that actually , our pay as you go pension system is no longer sustainable and as a result, your generation isn’t going to get any form of state pension. This won’t impact you, but I’ve no doubt that the amount of Senior sprinting world records that would be set by the middle aged rushing to the Dail to protest, would make Usain Bolt blush.

I’m sure we would hear about how unfair it was to change the “rules of the game”, but maybe it’s time the older generation started showing the same gumption that ye seem to expect of younger people who commuted the sin of wanting to own a home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,368 ✭✭✭Heckler

You need a better family than you need a home of your own from reading your posts. Hands up I'm back at home with my elderly mother after years of renting, a marriage and divorce and a job loss (working again). Not ideal but the older I get the less I give a shite. I must have moved rental houses 15 times over 10 years, few house shares then moving in with the ex-wife and moving around a bit. The best thing about renting is any change in circumstance ie. job change, relationship change etc, desire to move anywhere else and you can go in a matter of weeks if you are single. My social circle half rent half own. You know whos happiest ? The renters. My ear is bent everytime I go out with the owners about mortages and negative equity. "oh you're planning to move then ?" "No. Forever home"

"So why does negative equity upset you ?". "Cos"

I do understand the lift on evictions is stressing a lot of people my GF included as those who had a decent rent rate are in danger.

I have never once had anyone, family or friends, look down on me for renting. My 3 siblings have their own houses and families. Great ! Each to their own. Even when I was married we both agreed we didn't want to buy property or have kids.

Just as well in hindsight !

Don't be beholden to a path in life just because others have gone down it and claim it to be all that. Be yourself and do what makes you happy. I guarantee you what you see in many as perfect ie. 4 bed semi, 2 parent 3 kid BMW in the drive is far from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,540 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

So you are another youngest spoilt child that expects everything to be handed to him. Your older sibling bought you lollipop along with your parents, then they bought you ice-cream or chocolate. When you went to college they subbed you. You taught the good times would continue on. Instead when the bubble burst in 2010/11 you did not carry on with your life. You expected the free ride to continue forever

Slava Ukrainii

But sorry the LA do not build too much social or affordable housing in D4 for Billy and his cohort

Slava Ukrainii

Keep taking the medication FFS it very important

Slava Ukrainii

There is not a whole lot of new builds in Limerick, Galway or Cork either for 250k...... actually I am not sure if you will buy a new build anywhere in any large urban centre for less than 200k

Slava Ukrainii

Are you getting paid to post too? Or just not able to use multi-quote? You’re coming across as a right c*nt insulting him in post after post.

What is the solution? Housing is unaffordable for single people in Dublin unless they are top 10% of earners and renting for life is not possible in Ireland. Im working two jobs to max my income but it would be years and years to buy. Im not looking for an easy street Im looking to pay my own way but Im not able to do it with the cost of housing and the lending restrictions. Its tough, and really damaging for mental health to be stuck in life. You have zero idea what its like and I've not done anything wrong. Im just trying to establish my life. Working hard is not enough anymore in Dublin

So what solutions do you see instead of talking down like Im on the dole or something

Na after a few pints in Ballygobackwards, came home emptied the dishwasher, made a toasted sandwich and dropped in for a bit of positivity. Billy is here a while, he is actually just posting now, I see it coming up on the screen.

Can I use multi quote ya, but on this site unless you continually save ( which in your case I did just now) it gets wiped.

Billy deserves special attention so I give him that

I went out with my eldest tonight he is 30 in an hour or so time, he is getting on with life Billy needs to as well

Slava Ukrainii

Billy move down to Limerick. Get a job in Stryker, Regeneron or Ely- Lilly when it's opens. Go on the two cycle shift starting at 45k you will be on 50K in no time, you could work permanent nights for a couple of year and have 5-8k more

You will buy a two bed in Limerick city center for 150-180k. You can travel by bus or train to Dublin to see your family anytime you want ( on the bus 25-30 euro return unfortunately not with Inarod Eireann).

Your sister will look up to you for taking responsibility and moving on with life.

Edit

I am semi retired I left school 14 after my group cert I unfortunately had to move 70+ miles away from where I was born. I do a bit of farming and it keeps bread on the table. I do not expect to draw down my pension until nearer 70. That is another 8+ years away.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,252 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

There are people who work 50/60 hours a week and will never see 50 grand a year.

I do 45 hours a week nights and I'll never see 35 grand a year because of the.job I do and the employers I work for. It's just a fact and I live.with it.

I'm lucky and blessed iown my home. Bought a long time ago and trust me I'm very grateful.

I certainly would never look down or otherwise on anyone renting.

I would question the thinking on being maybe fixated on buying in Dublin. It's not the be all and end all. Plenty of other counties to choose.

And who thinks anything about commuting these days.

And tbh if anyone looks down on someone for being single or renting or both then they're truly not worth bothering with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,627 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Lad, you can either spend your evenings moaning on this forum about the cost of housing, the foreigners and the tech workers or you can actually do something about it.

Learn to drive, move out of Dublin city, find somewhere within commuting distance or better yet, find a job that pays better and isn't based in a city.

Plenty of good paying jobs based outside cities, but still an easy drive when you want to meet friends and family .

The cost of housing and what you can afford do not match up, and won't match up in this decade the way things are going. This is the reality you need to face up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 839 ✭✭✭GSBellew

Thing is you have to make sacrifices to buy a house, it has always been like that, so yes, if you want to buy you are going to have to put your life on hold, you said earlier that you went travelling in your twenties so you clearly lived in that period, good for you, but unfortunately you cannot have it every way. It is not really possible to complain now that you do not have a deposit, or that it will take years, because that is what other people have had to do, even when you get a mortgage and move in, that's your life on hold for years until you find your feet which could easily be years down the line.

The short version is simply that you are not going to be able to buy a house without sacrificing some part of your life / freedom.

Forget about people saying rent is dead money, if you are happy renting keep renting, at least you have flexibility to upsize or downsize if you need to or move to another area easily.

I didn't go travelling. I finished college in 2012 and had to move to London to be even able to get a job in a call centre at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

A big difference with your pension comparison is that the contributory state pension is based on actual contributions. These contributions are based on salary, with much larger contributions from those on high salaries for the same pensions as those who have paid very little towards it. We have never had a system where you paid a contribution in each pay check towards a government subsidised home or anything of the sort. I pay more into the PRSI system than I will get out, so it isn't even a subsidised pension. In saying that I fully expect they will try to do something with it, increase age, reduce amount or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭riddles

There is a shift coming a lot of Tech companies filled there open positions with relocated resources from low cost countries to mid to high cost companies. They are now investing head count principally in low cost countries. Someone vacates a position here it’s not replaced here. Our housing needs are linked to economic migration in all its flavours if we are no longer a default location of choice.

We still see notionally high FDI I’m concerned with the flag ship investments in place.

the latest IDA report summarises “The key areas requiring attention remain planning, housing, energy, water and wider infrastructure. Policies that support the continued availability of talent are also critical. Managing costs in the current inflationary environment and executing on planned capital projects will be challenging, but important for Ireland’s continued competitiveness.”  

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,806 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Ah yes the SSIA- a mad scheme - and the SSIP also - money for nothing.

The challenge of selling right now of course is the lack of availability of other houses to buy. And if trading down, that just super-inflates cheaper houses as older people trading down will definately over spend on their old age “forever home” whilst still having a great nest egg- not blaming them or anything it’s just how things are right now.

Have to say though the news you hear of whole apartment blocks and indeed housing estates being owned by the one landlord company is actually frightening on so many levels- it should be outlawed or else heavily governed - there are many reasons to the housing shortage but that’s one aspect that could be addressed

Beware -Messengers often get shot 😀

I think there’s been a shift away from the “expected” norms of society of school college marriage house and babies which is actually wonderful because those norms just brought untold stress and misery for many.

However, it does come at a price.

Because there's no “rules” there’s also less guidance around how you can create your own success.

Had someone who left college in say 2012 ,went into the workforce to start their climb of the greasy pole, they would have got at least a 1-2 bed apartment by 2018 by themselves- mortgaged to the hilt of course but at least they’d be 6 years in to that now with a very decent increase in equity.

If instead they decided to “travel” and do casual work to keep themselves going, unfortunately they are probably now finding things quite tough. The clever people travelled but worked with the qualifications they had, building up experience be it in nursing technology etc - so you can travel AND make money And grow your career in your 20s but it’s down to the skills you have- someone leaving college with a basic arts degree is kindof fcked if they do the travel thing as they’re no bloody use to anyone - yes a few lucky ones with contacts and the personal skills will succeed but they’re the exception not the rule .

It’s back to the world doesn’t owe you a living and if you want something you’ve got to earn it or plan to get it .

I know a few people who 35 years ago bummed their way through their 20s- they’re now highly successful individuals but they worked bloody hard in their early 30s to get there.

Yep that was an excellent time to buy property- obviously unemployment and emigration no less interest rates and tax rates were very high at that time - so for those lucky enough who could stay and get a decent job and live in Ireland, the rewards were there for them.

However many people didn’t go to 3rd level college and a fair % left school after inter cert- todays young people are far more highly educated than their parents generation were. It’s an awful pity then that something as simple as a two up two down house or a 1 bed apartment even is not an option for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Absolutely not but if you want to wallow in your own misery I honestly can’t help you - I know lots of people a hell of a lot younger than me now owning houses I could only have dreamed of owning back then and far more successful careers - not everyone bummed around after leaving college or stuck to unpaid /low paid work for years . They did further study and they were successful at the work they did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Being poor or low earner has never been great craic lads, no matter the decade.

Comparing eras is a fools errand. People saying oh my parents bought X house on Y salary.

Yeah and X house for thar era was probably in the suburbs and consider no man's land and your parents were most likely on middle income for the era as well.

I did see an interesting stat for 3rd level attendance in all Dublin postcodes the other day. Its skyrocketed in the last 20 years.

We're going the US route. College for the sake of it. Nobody going into trades/starti g their carreer straight from 2nd level.

I'm unsure if its a good route.