Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭m2_browning

Whatever you are smoking please pass it along, takes something special to try to spin the last few years as a win for Russia by any metric

Russia is not USSR and was one of 15 “republics”

Hell they didn’t even have the highest proportion of deaths either in WW2 out of this lot

I wasn’t joking that Russia winning a slag heap the other day (and then losing it) is an incredible metaphor on many levels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Europe still importing 14 billion worth of Russian raw materials and other products ,

Which is mental when you think about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,396 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Situation on that front seems to have been stabilised and Russian successes if you can call them that, have been reversed according to the usual lads on the twit machine.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

Rattling that saber again. Since they are withdrawing from the test ban treaty, they will probably conduct a small test to try frighten the west

Post edited by TheValeyard on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭dennis72

They do not need to test their is a mountain of info available to those in the arms treaty they won't learn anything new but it's stupid aggressive culture loves that attention

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭I.am.Putins.raging.bile.duct

with a bit of luck they'll blow themselves up by accident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,615 ✭✭✭Rawr

“Russia has fought many war more…”

Jesus. Is it that the lads with the decent English got sent to the front and this is what they’ve got left? Is that what happened?

”Advantage invader?” For crying out loud, read some military history before declaring such nonsense as a tautology. An invading force is almost always at a disadvantage to local partisan action and general lack of knowledge of the area that could take the guts of a decade or more before their forces can treat that area as “home ground”.

When the Nazi Germans invaded your country they had the advantage of force, but they were traversing over territory they had only basic knowledge of. The local Soviets knowledge of their own country was a significant factor in their ability to fight back. The advantage usually rests with the Defender, while the Invader is forced to adapt to an unknown battlefield beyond the defenses.

Today’s Russia is a broken concept that has to lean on laddish displays of public tribalism to project any kind of “pride” their flag might afford. Their army is doing an abysmal job against a smaller force, the air force can’t maintain itself and the Black Sea fleet is hiding.

You must have scored a load of high-grade Copium to maintain a positive outlook of Russia’s future and to come on here to expect anything less than ridicule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,615 ✭✭✭Rawr

That’s assuming they even find a working warhead.

Half expect them to accidentally obliterate a launch facility in a “test” and then have to frantically cover up their incredible screw up.

Although he’a only mentioning launch drill again now?

What red-lines are even left now?

• Weapons sent to Ukraine
    • Tanks sent to Ukraine
    • HIMARS sent to Ukraine
    • Ukraine retakes “Russian” Kherson.
    • Finland joins NATO
    • ATACMS sent to Ukraine
    • F16s sent to Ukraine

I guess it’s the F16s, which will be sent and the Russians will do Sweet Feck All.

Hell Ukraine even directly attacked Russia proper, and they still didn’t fire a nuke.

Prigozhin drove an armed column right through all the red lines making an absolutely fool of Putin who had to hide from his disgruntled chef

That incident alone caused more damage in long term to Putin directly than any technology can.

Putin not being humiliated was the reddest of all the lines.

You can see what Russia are actually trying to achieve with the latest pushes around avdiivka and elsewhere they are trying to close a pocket entrapping the Ukrainian forces ,it seem the 500-1500lb glide bombs are doing some damage to Ukrainian forces on the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭wildefalcon

I have my doubts as to the existence of any viable Heisenberg devices.

On the WWII comments from our non English speaking contributor, it's important to bear in mind the vast amount of kit that the USSR allies provided to the Soviet army. Without this, I very much doubt that the Soviet troops would have made it as far as Warsaw.

Representative Mike Johnson of Louisiana has been elected as House speaker in the US a deeply religious type and a big supporter of Donal Trump and is opposed to sending any military aid to Ukraine .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭saabsaab

A rumour in the last day or so that Putin collapsed or had some seizure. Must be under some pressure..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Virgil°

He's also an avid Israel supporter and believes fully that Hamas should meet it's end. It really was a masterstroke that Biden lumped the two aid packets together.

All he has to do is call the vote. And the aid to Ukraine/Israel will pass with a supermajority. It was the same scenario with McCarthy as speaker. I'd be very surprised if it didn't go through.

"Though previously a skeptic of Ukraine aid, Johnson said he is open to talks on President Joe Biden’s request for more funding to assist the Ukrainian counter-offensive against Russia." - Bloomberg

However, in recent times, he has taken a skeptical stance toward aid for Ukraine. He voted against two different appropriations bills that provided aid to Ukraine in 2022 and just last month.

“American taxpayers have sent over $100 billion in aid to Ukraine in the last year,” Johnson said in an X post in February. “They deserve to know if the Ukrainian government is being entirely forthcoming and transparent about the use of this massive sum of taxpayer resources.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭I.am.Putins.raging.bile.duct

Democrats should win the house in the new year and have total control in time for an interference free focus on Ukraine.

He would then have to orchestrate refusal for 45 billion in funding for the Wall, Israel and Taiwan which is lumped in with 60 billion for Ukraine

which would sink and split his party at a critical year

Probably won't work like that,

The problem is Ukraine is blowing through a series amount of artillery in the meantime and the cost of shells is rapidly increasing,it's heading to 8000 + per shell , Biden is trying to put tens of billions into Ukraine because he knows his time in office is now likely limited,he's asking for 60 billion for Ukraine but what is the figure he's actually going to get I can see Republicans and democrats splitting that bill with less going to Ukraine than expected

Lol he already flip flopped

”””

Johnson claimed to reporters that he's never opposed funding or aid for Ukraine.

"We'll be talking about the support and what's necessary to get it," Johnson said. "We have to ensure Vladimir Putin is not successful, and I think all the House Republicans are united in that cause."

”””

US has 5 million+ 155 cluster shells, each one does the job of 10 normal shells

and US wants to get rid of this class of weapon

The Pentagon will find a way, just like they found a way to deliver ATACMs in weeks despite you claiming it will take months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Virgil°

I would strongly advise against getting into a slogging match over this subject with certain posters. You'll only end up with heartburn.

The vote will be called unless he wants to go against the wall and Israel.

Just a btw to other posters who find the Ignore functionality on the new vanilla boards a bit lacking. I know myself I'm sometimes tempted to click on the blocked element and read posts from posters who i think scutter the thread.

If you use uBlock Origin for ad blocking I wrote a simple selector which completely hides Ignored posters. Just pop this into your "My Filters" section.

boards.ie##.IgnoreHide

I haven't tested it extensively yet but it seems to work well so far. Doesn't block quoted posts though. 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭saabsaab

View of Putin by recent defector..confirms what most people think already.

'An officer with the Kremlin's bodyguard agency who defected last year over his opposition to the Ukraine invasion provided intimate details about Russian President Vladimir Putin to a London-based investigative group, describing him as "paranoid" and calling him a "war criminal."

The defector, Gleb Karakulov, was a captain in the Federal Protection Service (FSO) at the time of his defection in October. He told the Dossier Center group that he was able to defect on October 14 after a business trip to Kazakhstan on which his wife and daughter accompanied him. On the last day of the trip, the trio flew to Istanbul with no intention of ever returning to Russia.

The Dossier Center, which is funded by Russian opposition figure and Putin critic Mikhail Khodorkovsky, shared more than 10 hours of recordings and transcripts of several interviews it had conducted with Karakulov since his defection with media outlets and for the first time published details on April 4 revealing his comments.

“Our president has become a war criminal,” he said. “It’s time to end this war and stop being silent.”

Karakulov worked as an engineer in the department that provided secret communications for Putin and was responsible for setting up secure communications for the Russian president wherever he went.'

He goes on to state..

'In the interviews, he compared the Putin he observed in 2009 with the current president of Russia as "two different people," comments that tally with what others have said.

“Now he is very closed. He has protected himself from the whole world with all sorts of barriers, the same quarantine, the lack of information. His perception of reality has been distorted,” One of the details he provided was that the Russian president does not use a mobile phone or the Internet.'

"All the information he receives is only from people who are directly close. He lives in a kind of information vacuum," said Karakulov.'

Sounsa a lot like Hitler towards the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,435 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Putin doesnt use the Internet! I hope his daily briefings include this thread and Darth Putin from Twitter.

I'd hate to think of all those zingers being ignored.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Also known as the Irish position on supporting them so we shouldn't criticise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

I wonder why they aren't training Ukrainians on modern American helicopters.