Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Cult of Stephen Kenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭TokTik

Do you think we have the quality of players Brighton have to play their system? Welbeck? Mitoma? Dahoud? Gilmour? Estupena? Gross? Fati? Joao Pedro?

Absolutely delusional.

Few decent crosses from McClean? He had 4 in the entire game, only 2 of which were accurate. Laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭athlone99

Good work there you didnt name any players that could play how you suggested. As usual a lot of hot air.

I mentioned Fergusson because he us the link player up top when he plays. Playing direct football to and around him would not be using his skill set. Our players are clearly not as good as Brightons, doesnt mean you ask Fergusson to completely change how he plays when he starts for Ireland.

Bazunu

Manning O’Shea Collins Obimabele Doherty

Cullen

Knight

Ogbene Johnson

Ferguson/Idah

Get if wide fast, get crosses in, or pull back the ball to runners. Not rocket science.

Hmmmm. Would that back 3 be able to string pointless passages of possession together though?

Seriously though we need to play to our strengths and one of them is going direct with purposeful ball played into areas that our quick players can run into. For what it's worth once Obafemi is fit he is perfect for this type of system.

According to some fanboy pundits Shane Duffy has to start. Because he is a nice lad and does his stuff. Outstanding against the dutch even though he was directly at fault for their 2 goals. Some were trying to hang doherty put to dry for a poor header but that was on the half way line. There were plenty of chances to prevent to goal after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭athlone99

Well as you say we dont have midfielders so by playing how you suggest it opens us up in the middle to being dominated in there. You've slated Kenny and said hes useless yet named 3 or 4 players that were injured in the last window. So like the last window if those players are missing how and what way should the senior team play? Personally i dont like the 3/5 at the back and i'm disappointed in Kenny for sticking with it for so long when he never used it at club level.

The 2 wingers you names dont start with their clubs, likewise Doherty and Idah is in and out. Maybe looking at it again you see why its been hard for Kenny and will likely be hard for any manager that comes in?

If its not rocket science, why dont you go do a coaching course? Spend 15 - 20 years coaching and then apply for the job and implement your ideas? Oh wait your just a key board warrior ranting about a man with 30 years experience managing players at different levels of the game...

A man who loses to Armenia,Luxembourg and finland twice. Fails to beat Azerbaijan. Fails to get results when needed over the course of 3 campaigns and can't string a sentence together when the pressure is on. Just because someone has 30 years doing whatever doesn't mean they are any good at it. Stephen Kenny is an example of this. He has utterly failed at this point and to interpret the results over his 3 campaigns is as anything different than failure is just backing Kenny for an agenda other than football.

Stephen isn't to blame for the state of Irish football but he sure is helping to absolutely drag us into the doldrums even further. Seriously look back on his record. It's shameful.

The team was put together in my head on the bus to work. 2 of the 11 were injured. So Idah would start with Szmodics in for Johnson.

It doesn’t matter if players are playing for their clubs if they can put in a shift for Ireland and there isn’t anyone better than them available.

I’ve done plenty of coaching courses. I’ve been into clubs here and abroad for a week or two picking up drills and training techniques and have quite a few contacts in the game, here and abroad. Ive played at a fairly decent level, and have managed, fairly successfully, just below intermediate football for a few seasons up until this year where I’ve taken a break. The last 3 years I’ve had 3 successive promotions and a cup final and left the club significantly higher than they were before I joined up.

You make it sound like football is some extremely difficult sport, where badges and certificates are what makes a manager. Kenny is an absolute dud at international management. Doesn’t matter how many years he has behind him. Doesn’t matter what badges he has. Doesn’t matter what he won at Dundalk. His legacy will be Ireland worst international manager in the next 100+ years. Because I simply cannot see anyone being as bad as he has been, and being allowed 3 years to stink the place out like he has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,443 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

The difference now is that Newstalk like to occasionally pretend to talk about the LOI. So for the lads that had no clue their answer was to talk up Stephen Kenny with 'the future of Irish football framing'. Along with the occasional LOI correspondent who knows a bit about the LOI egging them on, Dan McDonnell etc.

Now the lads that talked up Kenny have nowhere to backtrack to and I sense they feel let down by the LOI expert(s). But they can't be seen to blame them because it would prove they were bluffing in the first place!

An example of how silly it got on Newstalk John Duggan (like the moderator on the boards Ireland thread) was very uneasy about discussing potential replacements as Kenny was 'still in the job'. Duggan the fella with the fat chin who looks like he doesn't know what exercise is. His chin wobbles when he gets animated in 'defence of Kenny'.

There is another fella from Monaghan, skinny, no shoulders on him, bit of a beard looks a bit like Parnell - named Shane Hannon. This fellas greatest achievement so far (IMO) was making his OTB colleagues laugh when he claimed (in all seriousness) that the Irish Senior Team would beat the England u21 team during the summer. And said 'back me up here lads'. Even Ger Gilroy laughed at that.

But Ger Gilroy was another lemming who backed Kenny to the hilt, his latest suggestion is Damien Duff for the Ireland job....

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

dont get your argument about players not starting for their clubs. harry maguire, mctominay, philips and numerous other players dont start for their clubs but play internatinal football regurally. dara a shea starts regurally but was overlooked for duffy who kenny wouldnt touch a while back alos, some of his decisions make no sense.

Spot on. MON and Trap were torn apart by OTB and media for making some decisions. The football forum on here moderated by Pol Pot and policed by the black and tans let people tear into Trap and MON yet you literally cannot question SK or criticise the disgrace of the LOI who just seem to look for handouts rather than ever trying to improve their own lot.

I'd rather have a player on the bench at championship or Pl level than have an L2 player starting. Manning should have been blooded in well before this. Strange to say the least that he struggled to make most squads under SK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,834 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Rovers have had the the biggest budget, why wouldnt they win the last 3 LOIs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,443 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

You should look at the state the NI team that qualified for Euro 2016 as well -

English Premier League - McNair, Cathcart, McAuley, Davis, J.Evans (5)

English Championship - Lafferty, Dallas, Norwood, C.Evans, Ward, Baird (6)

League One - McLaughlin, McCullough, Grigg (3)

League Two - Carroll

SPL - McGinn, McGovern, Magennis, Mannus (3)

A-League - Hughes

-

This is where the argument that the ROI do not have the players' or the players are 'not playing regularly' fall really flat.

What about discussing in game management - tactical and/or motivational instead?? I will tell you why because to do so would put the focus on Kenny. Those who want to pretend it is not his fault do not want to do that.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

It’s the same ones that were telling us that we did have the players to play expansive, passing game while we were under O’Neill/Trap/Mick, and that the managers just didn’t trust them, that are telling us we don’t have them now that Kenny has taken over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Should Stephen get a free pass now till 2028 since we will be co-hosting it and it gives him time to build a squad for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

Fatal flaw of this argument. Will Grigg was on fire. Hahah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,566 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

No guarantee Ireland will get a automatically quality even if they are supplying a single stadium.

Well that is total muck. Nothing has improved. Still trying to do something we're not capable of. Kenny still as lost as ever.

Its toxic.

Keith andrews making a show of himself during the week. Hes squirming now. What a tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

Another bad night for the cult who'd give Kenny a ten year extension if they had their way.

Follwed by another plane crash of an interview no doubt. Its a sick joke at this stage. If the players are backing Kenny and this regime you'd really question their ambition and character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

Was a clip of them at a training session on the news last night. Players were laughing and having great fun messing around. I thought to myself ye pack of wasters.

The whole thing smacks of LOI amateur hour at this point. Mike Bassett England manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭John arse

BREAKING NEWS: Kenny to quit as he is being lined up by Fossetts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,323 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

That's what happens when coached by an amateur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Tomaldo

I thought we did OK against Holland without Ferguson, I thought we might reverse the Athens defeat with home advantage, but the crowd seems fairly quiet.

Staunton wasnt this clueless.

Andrews and Kenny. Dougal and ted.

Its the manager. He has no idea how to change it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,323 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Ronnie Whelan is being very honest and he’s right.

Amazing how far we have sunk under this guy. I wouldnt have thought it possible.