Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need Guidance on First 22LR Purchase

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

You’ve no idea how true this is!

Also get a bigger safe now. That’s the mistake I made!

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭GaryKE.

Haha I already have my Pistol picked out, was shooting some of the club guns there Friday and loved it, so going to put a deposit on one either this weekend or next weekend :D

Just a general question, when dealers over here get in a gun is there big overhead involved for them compared to say US prices, Pistol I was looking at all day is =<$1500 but over here it seems to be just under the €3000 mark.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 1,434 Mod ✭✭✭✭otmmyboy2

For firearms, and sometimes even accessories, look at US dollar prices and then double it and change the dollar sign to Euros seems to be the general rule of thumb here.

If it is solely a US manufactured firearm then it has to be exported from the US by an ITAR registered exporter, and imported this side of the Atlantic(often for our distributors from a distributor in Europe) to an ITAR compliant importer, then from that distro to an Irish distro, then from them to a gun dealers here, and finally to you. Sometimes depending on the specific dealer parts of this chain can be shortened, but this is the complete version.

So adding on a margin for every link in that chain and you get a pretty hefty price.

As an alternative, which I highly recommend anyone looking at an expensive firearm at least consider, check German gun dealer's prices for the same firearm, factor in maybe €100 for shipping and another €50 for an export permit on their side and if there is still a decent price difference then email them and ask could they ship over here.

Some will and some won't, but if you are saving a couple hundred quid that could be better spent on ammo than middlemen, or if it is a firearm that is sufficiently unusual that it isn't available from dealers here, then it's worth exploring.

I was recently looking at a particular 22lr pistol in a dealers here, and having gotten home and done some research, even after shipping & export fees, I would be spending an extra €320 for the privilege of buying from an Irish dealer. Probably about the worst markup I've seen on firearms here recently, for a relatively cheaply made firearm. Ammo is another story entirely 🙄

Or in other terms for the same cost:

Irish sourced - Pistol

Germany sourced - Pistol + money for ~2000 rounds of 22lr.

Some other EU countries will ship to Ireland also but I mention Germany specifically because their export laws are reasonably sane and so more dealers are inclined to export there than it's neighbours.

Never forget, the end goal is zero firearms of any type.

S.I. No. 187/1972 - Firearms (Temporary Custody) Order - Firearms seized

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

S.I. No. 420/2019 - Magazine ban, ammo storage & transport restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Volquartsen Scorpion

Just made a purchase.

https://www.bugasalt.eu/ :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭clivej

IMO you won't shoot any better with an expensive handgun, and don't buy on 'it looks good'. I had and shot most of them over the years. Best was an AW93 (look it up), don't know why I sold it 🙄.

I now have the Grand Power XTrim, as good as any I've shot. Give mine a run. Gunshop.ie has some on order.

Just had an email last night from Gardai asking to clarify a few points for my license, almost there :D

License approved :D off to the post office to pay it.

Paid now to wait for the license to be posted out.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 tehbaggins

As long as you have the grant letter and the receipt from the post office, most dealers will be happy to hand over the firearm.

Give them a call and check.

TY will give them a bell.

It's not the Gardai sending out the licence. It's a private firm so you'll only have a wait of about four or five working days to receive the licence eitherways.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,448 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Just an FYI, as you probably already know but helpful to post for others too, the grant letter and post office receipt are not the actual license. So just be cautious and understanding if the RFD doesn't want to hand the firearm out on those two items.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

That's no issue, was just going to chance me arm see if they would let me shoot it at the club as will be storing it there anyway for the time being :)

What cleaning kit should I get as looking online it is very conflicting info, such as some saying use nylon not brass etc or just use cleaner and patches if cleaning regular to prevent carbon build up.

Just wondering what kit I should have in the bag.

@GaryKE. That's no issue, was just going to chance me arm see if they would let me shoot it at the club as will be storing it there anyway for the time being

You could have bought it, got it sent to the range, and shot it without a license as ranges and such shooting are covered under section 2(4) of the firearms act.

Probably a bit late telling you now.

@GaryKE. What cleaning kit should I get as looking online it is very conflicting info, such as some saying use nylon not brass etc or just use cleaner and patches if cleaning regular to prevent carbon build up. Just wondering what kit I should have in the bag

Have a read of this. It's long but a good basis, I think.

Congrats btw on the rifle, happy shooting with it.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Lovely TY Cass reading over it now.

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭JP22

Nice one Gary.

Mine arrived today also, we are both same area, same station, must have been in same batch, whatever, happy days.

I must have a gander/a shot from yours when we meet next in HH.

JP

Cass pretty much covered it on cleaning, great write up, some folk nearly take cleaning as a science.

Here's a .pdf I posted back in 2022, its pretty good.

Rimfire Cleaning - Rimfire Research & Development - 1.pdf

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1-7_Dft2kfh96H84_lXLn9jfuwcce-KTj/view?usp=sharing

Individual cleaning items/solvents/etc are a personal choice and each to their own, end of day its all about following a good routine/good practice and not skipping on the little things.

Good timing all right, yeah no issues at all anyone is welcome to have a few shots when I finally get my hands on it.

Jaysus ya were not kidding in your post about the postage costs for the bore tech stuff :D nearly as much as the items.

Buy local/support local if you can, though some basic things can be super costly here, otherwise buy from EU to avoid the dreaded taxes/customs/etc,........

An old favourite is Parker Hale, been around for years and years, they make good full length coated rods, Paddy in HH sells them plus brushes/jags/etc.

If you prefer different brushes/jags/etc, you can get an adaptor to use them with the PH rod or most any rod, the choice is yours.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

I got a B14r bore guide from them an A4 jiffy envelope would have done the job but no it arrived in a big box with the associated costs.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭clivej

Boretect C4 for the carbon. 17 rod and patches.

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭BSA International

Clean a .22lr barrel? Really? Why? Cleaning a .22lr barrel ruins accuracy.

I only clean my barrel a couple of times a year. I could easily go 3000+ rounds between cleaning. The accuracy drops immediately after cleaning but within 50 to 100 rounds, it's back being consistent again.

I went about 4 years between cleanings for my mags. Don't do that. I could have sown potatoes in the dirt that came out of them. They were fuppin manky. 😁

Yes, no, maybe,

Lots of opinions out there and it’s a highly debated subject online and no two rifles are the same even from the same manufacture.

IMO some rifles like to shoot clean for maximum accuracy, others prefer less cleaning, it also depends on ammo quality used.

Example and after plenty of bench testing,

I have an old 61 Walter KK standard rifle and it definitely shoots best when barrel is kept clean, if not regularly cleaned groups open up, clean it does sub 12mm @ 50m.

On the flip side I have an old Anschutz that can go 800+ rounds before accuracy degrades and it needs a good scrubbing.

What a barrel/any barrel need is to be seasoned (well lubed) to achieve best accuracy.

Same as

My CZ loves shooting dirty.

My old Anschutz BR rifle would open up if not kept spotless clean and usually after about 300-ish rounds, yet my "lesser" BR Anschutz rifle liked to be a little dirty.

I'd also advocate for an occasional clean regardless of rifle preference. Ejectors, chamber, etc can foul up quick with the wax/coating on 22 ammo.

One thing I would argue is steer well clear of rifle bore snakes. Absolute dirt of a yoke and I'd hesitate using one even in an "emergency " situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Is the carbon ring problem as much an issue as it's made out to be by some?

First they came for the socialists...