Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need Guidance on First 22LR Purchase

• 28-05-2023 3:26pm
    Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭

Hi guys,

As the title says I am in the market for my firs 22LR, my first firearm in general. I have recently joined a club and would like to move from using the club rifles to having one of my own.

Just reaching out to those with more knowledge than I, to ask that will all the experience you have now how would you spend a €1,000 budget, this budget would need to encompass, the weapon itself, scope, upgrades and any other bits needed excluding ammo.

Have been watching various comparison videos and reading reviews, but the selection out there is daunting, making it hard to choose, so just though I would reach out here for some advice.

Thanks,

Gary.

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭slipperyox

Hi.

Gun club or target club?

Regardless, something accurate, and nice glass with the change.

I'd be going CZ with a nice hawke sidewinder.

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭GaryKE.

Thanks for the suggestion, will check out the Hawke Sidewinder.

I joined Harbour House , very new so not sure of the difference between gun and target club.

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭slipperyox

Gun club = hunting/pest control.

target club = paper

Harbour is a fantastic spot, no shortage of knowledge there.

this is well worth it if sale falls through:

• Registered Users Posts: 926 ✭✭✭freddieot

CZ definitely. Use the remaining budget for a scope of at least 16x and a bipod. HH is a big club, maybe someone is selling a good kit that would fit your needs.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭clivej

Cz is the way to go, so many people started off with one. You could easily start with a secondhand one including a scope. Give Paul O'Halaran in Drangan a call as he has a good selection of secondhand 22 rifles there, and the dealers at Harbour House Sports Club. Your find all the members there very helpful.

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭BSA International

What type of shooting do you want to do. Gallery, bench, prone ?

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭JP22

Welcome aboard and welcome to HH, my club.

BSA posted the most important question; it’s the one I would have asked but I’m late as usual.

First off, what type of shooting do you want to participate in?, are you a plinker or a competitor?, how serious do you want to take it?.

Most any .22 RF rifle can be used in competition shooting, no issues there whatsoever BUT you should look at what rifle'(s) win in the various shooting comps, we all like to compete, we all like to win or at least be placed in top 3/4, a match grade rifle is far more accurate that a hunter/sporter rifle.

Have a look at the various comps available in the club (most of these comps are shot in other clubs countrywide), decide what you would like to participate in, the more the merrier. I don’t shoot all rifle classes so my knowledge is limited.

Note – Comp Shooting

All comps have a weight limit and some have a scope power limit - your bare 8.5lb rifle is fine now but with scope/tuner, bipods, etc., it’s now over the weight limit!!!!. Something to think of.

Gallery Type Shooting at 50yds and under

Any accurate light weight (hunter/sporter) rifle is suitable, lots of lads/ladies use a 10/22, they come in various weights and are highly customizable (barrels, bolts, triggers, etc). Single shot rifles not normally suitable as you have a time limit and mag fed is better.

For 50yd BR Shooting – chasing wee dots….. I ’de split the field in three for simplicity,

International & Factory Sporter (under 8.5lbs + Scope Limits) 

Bolt action rifles are generally more accurate than SA’s, Brno/CZ’s/older Finfire do well here; my choice would be Anschutz/Walther KK/Finfire. Biggest issue here is getting a match rifle under the weight limit as match grade rifles tend to be on the heavy side.

Semi Auto – (No weight limit, no scope limit)

Best rifles are 10/22’s with custom stocks, custom built with Kidd actions/kidd barrels/kidd triggers, etc, multiple choices available.

Light Class (under 10.5lbs) & Heavy Class (under 15lbs) – No scope Limit

When the big guns come out to play (Custom Builds and custom Anschutz rifles) plus high end rests & scopes, normally win, other rifles to give then a run for the money are Walther KK500, Walther KK Match aka the GX1 and some BSA Martini Internationals, Custom builds and Anschutz pretty much rule the roost here.

100yd Rim Fire (Basicaly any RF Rifle, Any Scope) - (Club Front Blocks - No Rear Bags - Shoot from Shoulder)

Any bolt action super accurate rimfire rifle – You need a super accurate rifle for this and a big power scope to see the FOS on tgt. Anschutz, Walther, Finfire, Tikka, BSA International.

If I had a grand to spend I’d be looking for a used Anschutz 1422/1710, the 1422 is a super accurate sporter rifle but built on the famous Anschutz M54 action and the precursor to the 1710 match rifle.

If you’re going to take BR comps seriously I’d be looking for a used Anschutz Match Rifle (€600-1000) – lighter models are the xx07’s, xx08’s xx09’s, medium weights are those ending in xx10 & xx11 and the super heavy weights are xx13’s. Don't take these weights for granted, Anschutz rifle are heavier than most (heavy action/barrel compared to most rifles), some stocks have a lot of metal, all in some rifles weigh 14/15lbs.

If finances are tight (tight for everyone today) I’d be looking at a used Anschutz Match 64 Rifle (MP/MPR), looked on as the baby/jnr Anschutz but get a good one, they shoot lights out.

Others will disagree; it’s just my tuppence worth.

Great advice there from JP. Spend as much as you can in the beginning as it's best to just cry once.

The only caveat I would put is that a bolt action will definitely slow you down much more than using a semi. When you are learning, slow an steady is good, makes you consider each shot more and of course helps your ammo last longer. Overall I believe it's a better beginners tool and something like a CZ or indeed Anschutz will also hold value very well for the inevitable change later on to a better competition grade rifle. Primarily because people like you, starting target shooting, are looking for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭Chiparus

Never had a bad .22, best though was the CZ 452 , then Ruger77/22 HB, then Ruger 10/22

I appreciate everyone's input, given me a lot to think on, will test out the club guns and go from there.

Everyone seems to mention CZ so will definitely be on the look out for this specific maker.

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

First of all its a firearm, not a weapon.

Before any recommendation what is your planned use? Gallery, benchrest, T&P, or maybe even PRS or stags 22 style matches? maybe hunting too?

Bench rest and would also like to try gallery, unsure on the other styles mentioned but will look into it. Would look at hunting down the line when competent enough but that would be a good bit down the line.

For now I am just looking to try all styles and choose which feels the best, I have tried benchrest and enjoyed so will go from there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,422 ✭✭✭garrettod

Yup, it's best to try and get into good habits, from Day 1 - it's a firearm :-)

Think about what a weapon actually is, it can be almost anything with an intended use to inflict harm - a car, a knife, poison gas etc.

If it were me, I'd first figure out what I want to do, as the people above have already mentioned.

Ideally, I'd be in the market for a good secondhand 22lr, rather than a new one. You may get lucky, and get one with a decent scope on it, but odds are, you'll more likely end up buying new glass.

Like others here, I like CZs (formerly BRNO), they tend to be good quality, accurate, and affordable. While an Anschutz would be very nice, it'll cost you a bit more than a CZ, and quickly take you over your budget. 10/22s are very popular, often with people who like to swap components (they've a great range of aftermarket parts), but personally, I'm not madly in love with them, not quite sure why....

If you've joined Harbor House, ask a few of the members there, if they'll allow you to try their guns, and maybe talk you through them, a little. Perhaps one or two of the members from here, might help you, if you don't know anyone there, that you can approach?

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users Posts: 268 ✭✭Scalachi

Harbour House, like many clubs have the advantage of having several club guns, they have .22 Bolt Actions and .22 Semi Auto's (plus .223 Bolt Actions, .303 Bolt actions and pistols).

Shoot some Benchrest, shoot some gallery (attend the weekly training sessions with Toby) with the club guns, before you make a decision, if for example you want to shoot benchrest, there are 5 different classes, and the gun weight has a big impact on which class you shoot, so you need to make sure you buy the right gun as your first purchase :), or just buy all 5 :)

Give me a shout when your going to HH and I can take you thru the different classes and some of the benchrest rifles.

I'm the auld lad that keeps winning the competitions. 🤣🤣🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭JP22

Good man Clive, ah, you don't win them all 🤪🤪🤪

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Just to note, I don't see it mentioned and may not be obvious is that the weight restriction is an all in weight including scope and rings. Just something to be aware of when looing at a rifle for a specific class.

First they came for the socialists...

Thanks all I appreciate the advice/support.

I will be heading to HH this Saturday for Toby's training session, in no rush to make a decision, have the 6 months before they want you to put in for your own firearm (I shall only use the word weapon from now on when referring to the mother in law :D ), so will take advantage of the clubs firearms to get a feel as it were and will be doing my homework regarding the various shooting styles and try find the one that suits.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭LIFFY FISHING

If you are heading the HH direction this weekend you should consider dropping into Cill Dara Hunting , next door to the Garda station in Kildare town, well stocked gun room and range of scopes to choose from, very competative, and experianced shooters not just salesmen

Cill Dara definitely worth a look. Good guys to deal with and I was in there today and they have a lot of rifles in stock.

Worth ringing them anyway to see what they have, if they are not on your way.

Yeah will def be giving them a look in, am a Kildare town man, also pass it but never had a gander yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

He's also the most modest member of Harbour House too. 🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

As has been covered already but I'll reiterate it using less words.

If you want to do Gallery, you need a semi-auto rifle. There are some benchrest comps that you can use a semi-auto in but mostly benchrest needs a bolt action rifle.

So your first big decision is semi auto or bolt action.

I don't make it to HH as often as I'd like but I'd advise you take Clive up on his offer to show you the ropes. Toby's training is good craic so he'll run you through the Gallery stuff.

Try Gallery, try benchrest etc. and see what you like best. And then you'll be in a position to narrow down your search for a gun.

Best of luck.

Saturday was a blast, did gallery shooting which was alot of fun, after a bit of a break I spent a good 2 - 3 hrs on the bench which I also enjoyed immensely, I went through 10 boxes of the tac22 in no time I couldnt believe it :D

Jumping in with two feet here I know, but I spotted the below deal for a new 10/22 for €350. My budget keeps increasing as I sell off some of my other hobby bits. I was thinking about grabbing the below and using it for Gallery and then put the rest of my budget towards a good bolt action/scope for benchrest as if I was do do some competitions in the near future that is where I would like to focus on. Cant see it hurting having two rifles. Can use the 10/22 until I make a decision on what bolt action I would like to get.

https://bawnboyfirearms.ie/product/ruger-10-22-22-semi-auto/

I would not rush to buy any guns YET, You are new to target shooting, Harbour House has several club guns, use them and try out different stocks, triggers, scopes etc and then buy something, the advertised 10/22 is a good price, but you need to either replace the trigger completely or buy a kit for improving it. it may need to be sent to someone to get drilled for a scope rail, at least I cant see if it has been, then you need a rail and a scope.

I see that same dealer has a CZ 452 for €100, now that seems like a good deal.

https://bawnboyfirearms.ie/product/cz-452-22-lr/

After testing members Anschutz rifles on Saturday (very generous and sound lads) and using the clubs Anschutz for most of the day, I want one :D

If your going into benchrest then that's the way to go. You didn't to try my Anschutz 1710 but I'll be there next Saturday.