Who Watches the Watchmen (Our Chit Chat Thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Oh I get you, it's very chavy alright. It's just the downbright stupidity that appeals. Come closer to the time and a bit of common sense might kick in and I'll get something more sensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,046 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

honestly you may aswell just burn the money, thats unwearable at that thickness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,220 ✭✭✭✭OmegaGene

hideous watch in my opinion but each to their own

The internet isn’t for everyone

Oh I'm in full agreement with you that it's ugly and terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Fitz II

Only the most fat testerone filled men mountains could wear that and even then its still like something from a joke shop. I threw up a little in my mouth looking at it.

Makes you wonder abbout the other "lifestyle" watch infulencers and what their actual financial situation is. I would never put another watch on consignment since the first timepiece gentlemen debacle, and people only do it out of greed. These lads are skimming small profits off watches in a stagnant or declining market....yet they drive lambos and ferrari's and rent 20k a month penthouses, makes no sense at all. Seem like instagram and youtube likes dont pay the bill either. I would only trust a watch dealer that lives like Archie.

Post edited by Fitz II on

Shamed by the Fitz, I've hit a new low!

I'll reconsider the purchase. I really just needed to hear what I knew was at the back of my mind. I'm sure I can get a ridiculous but tasteful watch kick somewhere else.

Now to muse what will be the next purchase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭H_Lime

Dont know that a dress watch is a rival for a dive watch, banbinos are pretty bad in hand, I had one and it was dire, super plasticy strap, massive dome on the crystal and a movement that feels like it has sand in it, I think people only buy them because of that wanabee toff urban gentry fellow.

Maybe a Marathon or seiko 5 or SKX.

Ah feck, all those people enjoying their bambinos instantly disavowed them after you typed that into your phone Fitz.

I missed it the brief it must be dive watch only, op is considering timex q, 50m them, careful washing the hands so.

Marathon are great bang for buck, skx less so these days but are an icon in their own right.

Considering he's steered clear of the previous monstrosity (no offense op:)) anything is a improvement.

Oh sorry didnt want to put both those people off their watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,584 ✭✭✭✭893bet

It’s been the slowest most predictable train wreck.

I smell a comeback video!!!!! (if he can stay out of jail).

Whether he goes to jail or not he is back on the hankies.

I'm not really after anything in particular and had been considering a purchase of a Bambino at some point. This is the collection at the moment:

Seiko 5 7S26-0364 R2

Seiko Flightmaster

Seiko SKX009

Seiko SNN079P2

Orient Mako I Orange (bought from Banie I think?)

Orient FUNG2003B

Getat (bought from a chap here)

Casio Duro

Casio G-Shock DW-5600

Timex Expedition T49905

Timex Expedition T44642

Timex Expedition Grid TW4B02500

Parnis 50mm U-Boat Replica (didn't know that at the time)

Citizen BM8475-00X

Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

Invicta Model 21256

Lorus RH921LX9

Vintage Yema Jump Hour

Apologies for the lack of formatting and thus long post, Vanilla is awful. I'm open to anything really. Budget of €250 (small I know, can push to €350 for something nice).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

Well, as a bambino owner, I forgive him - mine is on a good leather strap and while sand doesn't seem to be in mine, it has a noisy rotor. I also happen to like the domed crystal. I think it's a banger for the money, but spend the extra on getting a better strap for sure.

20230718_173555.jpg

My second one neither put a foot wrong worn everday. Have been every bit as accurate as my eta 2824/hkpt5000's. Regulate beautifully with that goose neck too.

In your budget and I think a beautiful watch. The one on my wrist is 38mm and sapphire.

Best bet is buy from poljot24.de He sorts the wheat from the chaff qc wise for his customers and offers real warrenty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,022 ✭✭✭✭banie01

If a seagull 1963 is in the running? As well as poljot.de I have always found HKEd to be really on the ball with his versions.

100% iirc he was once part of seagull official. Going with https://www.poljot24.de/en/Seagull7005s.html

is handy as he really does good service in checking each piece prior to shipping and issues are delt with if they arise. In the euro zone too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Hi, I need to find a link for my original Orient Mako.

It didn't come with any, so I need to find one!

I can't find them, so any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,584 ✭✭✭✭893bet

I love Anfanny. He is extremely entertaining having watched from the start. Total narcissist. Assume he is coked off his head and having moments of clarity where he feels invincible and that he can achieve anything as above. Sadly he is an addict and a degenerate and is doomed in an ever downward spiral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,194 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Jasus, some weird drama queens in the watch influencer business.

Check out thewatchregulator on tiktok, he has some good videos. Usual ripping into someone or something.

the first tpg video was done when he was hungover from drink and drugs i expect and the second was filmed when he was off his tits, someone is taking photos in the background you can see the flash popping at one point, he is physically shaking and talking absolute gibberish and 4 x normal speed.

reddit thread is quite funny to see all his escapades, he offered a guaranteed buy back scheme at one point where you buy a watch and he would pay 20% more after a period of time lol

Its funny now with these watch youtube fellows that they all seem to implode over time. From my limited foray into the scene I can tell you the comments section of youtube is a cesspool insults and not good for the ego. The question I have is not if,, but who the next one will be.?

crime piece had a good idea with a day in the life style video but tbh there's only so much they can do in a day and most of its boring and can't be shown on camera, if a watch is bought with a lowball offer and they make 8k it looks bad so i think that's why he tried showing lambo days and high end dinners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Tequila Mockingbird

Hi All

New around here and a very lapsed Boards poster.

I'm in Japan at the moment and just bought a watch I've had my eye on for a long time. It's the Grand Seiko "Shunbun" SBGA443.

My watch budget for the next five years or so is pretty much shot, but I want to pick up something a little cheaper before I head home. I had my eye on a Seiko SBDC149 but having seen it in person am now leaning towards SBDC159. The blue dial is a little more subtle and up my street.

Just wondering if anyone here has any other suggestions on what to pick up in the €500 - €1k range while I'm here? For reference, before I splashed out on my GS my "collection" consisted of a G Shock world time (which I adore), a Seiko 5 (which I hate) and a Seiko Presage cocktail time (which I really adore)

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭IrishPlayer

Thanks @OmegaGene for the recommendation to visit the RAF Museum in London. Took a trip in today absolutely fantastic!

Unfortunately,due to an event, hanger 2 was closed. Loads of WWII aircraft, really cool to see a Ju87 and a HE111 up close! Can't imagine what it would of being like flying that Stuka!

IMG_20230806_135932_296.jpg IMG_20230806_135659_788.jpg IMG_20230806_135716_531.jpg IMG_20230806_141435_172.jpg IMG_20230806_141811_440.jpg IMG_20230806_140917_837.jpg IMG_20230806_142706_090.jpg IMG_20230806_143146_510.jpg IMG_20230806_150649_313.jpg

glad you enjoyed it @IrishPlayer it really is a good day out

i am not a fan of Oisin no-money but i enjoyed his part of the live stream the there night with the crime-piece gentleman, Oisin part is timestamped

To be fair Oisin makes a lot of good points and puts them well.