Unseasonable weather with warnings Fri 4th / Sat 5th Aug 2023

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭iancairns

Same for us.

staycation every year with 2 kids for last 5 years. Usually 2 weeks in July. We did first two weeks this year. It was strong westerly’s and we were on Renvyle peninsula. In Connemara there’s always a beach within an hour drive that can find decent shelter and diff conditions. Obviously yellow warning your goosed. These 2 weeks seem to have been the worst of it. But early July with the wind. Rain blew thru and once you get a couple hours day on beach you’re sorted. Had some incredible summers where I think we have the best sea and beaches going so I’ll always take the risk. Feel bad for the campers. This year has been by far worst ever. Way worse than 2009. The worst weather has been every weekend. Ridiculous stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,385 ✭✭✭✭fits

We holidayed at home every year for six years until this year and had a great time. Camped the last two summers for a few weekends. Tent hasn’t been out yet this year as we couldn’t get away in June. Plan to go camping next weekend though so fingers crossed.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭KingdomRushed

There's a few music festivals under or close to wind warnings this weekend. If they don't get a lucky dodge there will be tents flying every which way in my opinion. Especially as the camp-sites are relatively open and unsheltered at one in particular

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 13,130 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

ICON good model for rainfall suggestion getting close Orange warning territory for rainfall accumulations.

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,302 ✭✭✭✭sryanbruen

Has been named Storm Antoni by the UK Met Office. Did anybody have the "first" named storm of 2022-23 occurring in August on their bingo card?

Photography site - https://sryanbruenphoto.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭bazlers

Seems that the Midlands are getting alot more rain than they normally would. Is this because there are better conditions for more convection to occur?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Robwindstorm

Fair play to you Meteorite for flagging this system so early. I am in North Meath and all northern areas and across the Midlands could well be flooded with this intense rainfall and then add in the wind further south. Storm Antoni could definitely leave it's mark considering it's a bank holiday weekend with loads of outdoor events. What a shambles of a summer 😒

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

Update

Widely, totals of 20-30mm of rain are possible with the heaviest and most persistent rain expected in the south, and perhaps also east of the country, affecting parts of County Down and Belfast. Here 40-60mm is possible in some places with perhaps as much as 20-30mm of this falling in 3 or 4 hours. Meanwhile, 70mm may fall over parts of the Mourne Mountains. In the south, wet weather will be accompanied by quite windy conditions, gusts of 40 to 45 mph possible in some coastal parts of County Down during the morning.

The likelihood has been increased, just below orange level now.

I think M.E might upgrade some counties to Orange level for rainfall. I think this could cause more widespread flooding problems than we’ve seen so far this summer.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 13,130 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

Mod note: pleases stay on topic, off topic posts will be removed. Plenty of threads available re met eireann, climate, general summer discussion etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,275 ✭✭✭adocholiday

Some fairly strong winds showing across some of the main models now for the south east coast tomorrow morning. Strange because Met Eireann are not showing any gusts at this level on their hourly forecast for South Wicklow. GFS and AROME not playing ball though they have a much less significant event for this area.

xx_model-en-328-0_modharmonie_2023080406_27_949_11.png xx_model-en-328-0_moddeuhd_2023080406_26_949_11.png xx_model-en-328-0_modez_2023080400_33_949_93.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Hope the campers in ATN have deep pegs for their tents with those winds forecast tomorrow morning.

I move we ban Meteorite and MTC from the weather forum. They've done nothing but tell us it will rain and be windy all summer.

If they're gone, the sun will shine... guaranteed 😀

Had planned on going going to Gougane Barra tomorrow but that's now cancelled.,😡😭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭PukkaStukka

Met Eireann forcasting risk of thunder overnight in north Dublin. Is this likely??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,343 ✭✭✭squarecircles

Its not mentioned in their forecast so theres a good chance it could happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,343 ✭✭✭squarecircles

heavy rain and thunder forecast from 8pm to 1 am here in the west .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

Rain just starting now in the south coast, bang on forecast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭PukkaStukka

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭xii

Capture.JPG

Quick everyone into Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭vickers209

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Looking at the weather radar it should have been raining in Galway for the past while not a drop what is wrong with the radar showed front going through with nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭pennypacker

Hello weather folks

Just wondering how accurate ventusky forecasts are. Predicting nearly 40mm of rain in South Dublin from 3am to 6am. Have a sporadic leak (waiting on roofers) and thinking I might need to stay up in case the drip catching bucket gets overwhelmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,396 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

Some guidance suggesting conditions in southeast could go from near calm around 0700h to storm force wind gusts from NNE by 0900h as low passes. Strong winds from an unusual direction could bring down a few trees in exposed locations. So in other words, readers in that region especially near east coast or downslope from mountains, be prepared for quite a sudden change in conditions around 0800h (timing could be off by an hour or so). A little further north in Dublin-Meath-Kildare there would not be such a pronounced change as the low tracks south and winds would be fairly strong all through the rainfall event, might show a slight decrease before shifting from ENE to NNE, around 0700h.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,119 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

I'll be watching wind direction. Have a birch in the front that is well looked after, pretty dense leaves and branches. The willow is another matter, was too late in the year to get to it and it's got alot of beetle bore holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭Sammy2012

Took the trampoline net down and turned it upside down! So hopefully it'll be okay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,275 ✭✭✭adocholiday

Same, I have 2 massive Beech trees and a chestnut that are all over 200 years old. They sit right above the public road, which is immediately south of the trees so winds from the North are definitely most risky. In the past 4 years I have had multiple arborists out to quote for trimming them and none of them will take the job because they are quite awkward to get at. Every single year I spend September to March worrying about them coming down in a storm. The only thing about northerly winds for me is that I'm sheltered from them by a hill. I only remember one northerly wind event, I think it was 2 years ago, and there was hardly a breath of wind at my house despite a wind warning in place. Hoping for the same outcome tomorrow.

Just looking at Meteologix most models have slightly downgraded the wind potential for the East (but still some looking potent). ECM & HARMONIE keeping the strongest winds offshore; AROME, GFS and surprisingly ICON that usually way overstates wind potential are downplaying things a bit, and then UKMO HD out on its own with near red-level gusts. Still a big spread in the models in terms of severity with this one.

xx_model-en-328-0_modez_2023080412_21_949_93.png xx_model-en-328-0_modukmo2km_2023080412_21_949_254.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Calibos

Luckily for me I've got access to my roof via a Velux to get out on the roof and access the Zinc clad Bathroom Dormer of the attic conversion with neighbours roof valleys protecting me from falling anywhere. Feckin thing wasn't clad right by cowboys back in a major renovation in 2010. The zinc sheet overlaps weren't done right and weren't soldered either. Leaked almost straight away back then and builder 'fixed' it along with the rest of the snag list. Only when it leaked again in 2018 did I get up there and have a look myself. Turns out he just spread a bucket load of sealer along the zinc sheet overlap. Looked ugly AF but then again whos going to see it but a Garda Helicopter (or drone pilot nowadays). Did solve the leak for 8 years though I suppose. My fix with a tube of tec7 lasted 5 years from 2018 till a week or so ago.

The weekends forecast helped me break through the procrastination and indecision about what to do about it and a trip to Woodies for the materials and 90 minutes on the roof today sorted it hopefully.This time I scraped all the old shite off and applied a special roof sealant tape and then spread a load of Tec7 sealant from a tub over that. Hopefully these 2 layers of protection see me good till I can afford to get someone who specialises in zinc cladded roofs to redo the top deck of the Dorner around the skylight and solder it this time.

Some of the Hi Res models showing a lot of rain falling in a relatively short timeframe, flooding rain, especially around parts of Leinster. Dublin could get flooding, there is going to be very strong run of from the Wicklow mountains also along with other mountainous areas. High tides in Dublin in the afternoon, I wonder might this find a lot of water trying to exit the rivers although winds by then will be moving offshore.

Winds a bit less than earlier shown but still stiff in places it being summer, especially more elevated ground. Possibility of very strong winds all right along the E, SE for a short time, I think the strongest winds will stay along or offshore as gradients tighten with the Lp moving quickly away and sending the strongest winds into Devon /Cornwall, will see if any wobble in the models later.

xx_model-en-328-0_moddeuhd2_2023080415_19_949_157.png xx_model-en-328-0_modswisseu_2023080412_21_949_157.png xx_model-en-328-0_modez_2023080412_31_949_157 (1).png xx_model-en-328-0_modusa_2023080412_30_949_157.png

xx_model-en-328-0_modfrahd_2023080412_21_949_157.png

xx_model-en-328-0_modezswiss_2023080412_22_949_157.png modezswiss_20230804_2100_animation.gif moddeuhd2_20230805_0900_animation.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

Donegal not included in the warning but no escaping the rain. Moderate and persistent this past couple of hours.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭pennypacker

Unfortunately the source of the leak isn't anything obvious. Roofer who installed it blames the semi-d flat roof adjoining neighbours and after 3 attempts to source the issue stopped answering calls.

Fingers crossed for yourself, hope you don't wake up to any surprises 👍️