Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ladies footballers and camogie will play 'under protest' over lack of progress on welfare

• 19-06-2023 11:30am
    Registered Users Posts: 4,163 ✭✭✭

Players can't afford to train - Mayo player Lisa Cafferky

Meath’s Vikki Wall - stresses lack of pitch access and no physios available - “We’re not willing to accept it anymore.”

"Financial prowess of a player/her family shouldn’t determine her supports like physio," says GPA chief executive Tom Parsons

Not sure what playing on “under protest” is going to achieve at the apparent lack of progress shown by the governing bodies and the GAA regarding player welfare issues...

They should've just pulled out altogether - en masse.

A joint statement:

“Today, representatives of the senior inter-county camogie and football panels are here before you, representing our respective teams, as well as our fellow players from the intermediate & junior grades, with their full support.

“We find ourselves in a situation we never wished to be in, echoing the experiences of our soccer and rugby counterparts in recent years. Regrettably, we feel, that our National Governing Bodies do not want to hear our real concerns, so we're speaking directly to you. We will play the remainder of the 2023 championship under protest.

“Our representative body, the Gaelic Players Association, released the State of Play Report two months ago, which shed light on significant issues within our training and playing environments.

“The main request has been well-documented; we asked the LGFA, the Camogie Association, and the GAA to engage in discussions with the GPA to develop a charter designed for female players to be implemented in the 2024 season. This charter would establish minimum standards for our collective welfare.

“Upon the report's publication, the GPA privately contacted the three National Governing Bodies, seeking collaboration to achieve an agreed-upon charter. Our aim was to work together towards a positive outcome that would make us all proud.

“Despite initial positive indications, the GAA has since declined our proposal. The Camogie Association, however, did request a presentation to be made to their Ard Chomhairle, which took place last week. Regrettably, the LGFA has not deemed it appropriate to respond.

“Their primary rationale is that they prefer to complete the integration process before initiating a charter for female players. Despite the evidence presented, they expect us to patiently endure the treatment of second-class citizens.

“We are no longer willing to wait. It has been over 18 months since integration was declared a priority and voted in by the membership of the three Associations.

“While the National Governing Bodies claim to be listening, it is evident that they are not truly hearing us. Urgent issues affecting player welfare have been brought to their attention, yet they refuse to even engage collectively to discuss solutions.

“We as players are not receiving the respect we deserve. Therefore, do not expect business as usual in the upcoming weeks and months.

“In recent months Cavan's footballers and Kildare's camogie players have shown us what potentially lies in store for all of us if nothing changes.

“We are not willing to wait for 56 more individual battles to arise. We stand here together, unified. And together, we will remain resolute in our pursuit of a better future.”

Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,422 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Surely the players charter would be pretty much a copy and paste of whatever exists for the men with a couple of tweaks? They'd want to get a move on with amalgamating the three organisations tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

The big thing here is financial.

Nobody would argue in principal with female players having better conditions, facilities, etc. However, the sticking point is that the GPA claims that if the LFGA and Camogie Association can't afford to pay any more, then the GAA should make up the balance.

It's a microcosm of why full and and true integration is still a long long way away, and indeed, why it might never happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭poppers

At the moment the GAA have as much say in ladies football and camogie as the IRFU have in League of ireland affairs.

They are 3 separate bodies and in reality from what i see and hear the LGFA and Camogie boards cant agree what day it is let alone agree on amalgamating under the GAA

• Registered Users Posts: 11,109 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The eejits can't even fix matches that don't clash with the other code- integration will be a disaster

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭deise man

Is part of the problem that the lgfa and camogie at present have presidents and if amalgamation with the gaa went through these posts would be gone. Can't understand why they can't work together to avoid fixtures clashing, how many times have cork been caught by this?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭crusd

Unfortunately for some its better to be king of a ruin than actually achieve something positive. The only thing that will bring equality at all levels is integration.

At local club level, in some areas, the situation is chronic. Local hurling club basically told the camogie club to go jump when all they wanted was a chance at pitch access more than one evening a week. Sure its our pitch was the attitude even though it was the entire community that built it. Camogie were left with a situation that all training from u6 up to senior has to be completed in a single evening. They might be able to schedule a match on a Sunday morning, if they are lucky.

The football club in the same catchment area shows what integration could achieve. They fully implemented the one club guidelines, and while not perfect - getting experienced coaches involved with the girls is a challenge, access is equal and looking from the outside both sides look to be treated equally by the club. This is a voluntary guideline only though and uptake among clubs is hit and miss.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭KaneToad

The number of "elite" sports stars in an amateur sport is always going to cause problems. It's not compulsory to play the sport.

With regard to your local hurling club/camogie club situation:

• how many pitches does the hurling club actually have?
    • how many squads/age groups of their own do they have to accommodate on those pitches?
    • Is it the case that the pitches are all filled with hurling squads every evening apart from the designated camogie evening? Or are they actually leaving a pitch vacant on one or more evenings, rather than letting the camogie club use it?
    • Might it be the case that there are other times available to the camogie club, but they won't take them, because "they don't suit"? For example, would be unusual if every pitch were filled with hurling training every Saturday and Sunday afternoon and evening. But maybe the camogie club simply doesn't want to train on Saturday evenings because "the girls want to go out", or on Sunday afternoons because "people have other things to do"?
    • Has the camogie club ever made or even offered to make a contribution to the annual running & maintenance cost of the grounds, or do they expect to be able to come and go as they like for free?

Which leads on to this common argument of "the whole community put it there", which holds no water with me. Sure, "camogie people" may have contributed to fundraisers to provide or maintain facilities. But they're the only ones with the expectation that buying a few tickets should then automatically entitle them to use those facilities. Am sure members of the local soccer club and Old Folks Club and whatever other clubs are in the area would also buy tickets, but they don't automatically expect to be able to use the pitches and clubhouse for their own activities as often as they want to.

For the record, my own club accommodates both camogie and LGFA, with never any real hassle. There's not an evening goes by where there's not girls or women in action on at least one of our pitches, with the lads using other ones. And the camogie and LGFA make annual contributions of approx. 5% of the annual maintenance costs. It means the GAA club still picks up 90% of the tab, but at least the women's organisations are recognising that there's a cost to having the facilities in the first place.

But we're lucky enough to have three pitches, so we can do all that. If we had only two, there'd be far less availability for camogie and LGFA, and they'd have to be far more flexible.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,408 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

It's very slow, but I do see the progress in more places now than others.

Clare Camogie now getting good use of Caherlohan (probably because the Hurlers barely use it mind you), and Cusack Park

Tipp Camogie similar etc.

However, the expenses is a big missing point. I know a hurler that was playing with Roscommon who was getting €1600 in expenses monthly due to his travel schedule. The Camogie county girls for 'top teams' doing just as much training for feck all.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Ladies football and camogie obviously generates less money to go around for expenses etc. If the money is just not there then it becomes a very difficult situation.

Hard to ask the GAA to make up the balance if they are a different organisation.

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

Bit cheeky of the ladies' organisations to try to plough their own furrow, with their own organisation, hierarchy and structure behind it, but then seek funding from other bodies to support all of it.

"we are completely independent and separate from the GAA, now give me some of that GAA money"

• Registered Users Posts: 14,408 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

I suppose if they had the benefit of being imalgimated, the GAA would need to start pumping as much into Marketing as possible for them. Money that the LGFA/Camogie Associations just don't have.

Its not the ladies organisations "seeking funding from other bodies", its the players seeking a framework for how improved conditions for female players in the lead up to and after integration can be enabled. They are asking the 3 bodies to meet the players to help establish this framework.

All 3 organisations have already voted for integration, so it is by no means an outrageous ask

• Registered Users Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Sorolla

Who is the president of the Camogie Association?

should she resign?

Why the Camogie association president? It seems they at least engaged with the players. The LGFA ignored their representations

Yeah, I got that part.

But the beginning of the article is all about access to pitches, physios and all the other supports that they might need/use. The opening line in the OP even says "players can't afford to train"...........WTF is a 'charter' going to do to change that? How will they be able to afford to train after integration, except with more money being thrown at them? Whose money will that be?

And how is integration going to change any of it, except via funding from other bodies? I mean, if they could afford all that sh1t now, then they'd just pay for it? But they can't, so they're joining up with the GAA and using their funds to pay for it all.

I dont get your point. After integration there wont be "other bodies", they will all be GAA. The funds will be the entire organisations funds. Part of the reason the GAA has all the resources is that they benefited from the community development all around the country when women's sport was not valued at all. That resource should benefit all, not just the mens games, just because the womens games were held in such low esteem in the past.

That is a valid opinion to have if you also believe the the men's teams should also not get expenses, training gear, access to physios etc.

You're arguing against yourself here.

The simple answer to "how improved conditions for female players in the lead up to and after integration can be enabled" is "if they get more money".

They have no proposals for how to generate more money themselves, and are instead eyeing up the GAA coffers.

Only way your post would make sense is on the pure semantics of how if the three organisations did integrate, they'd be just one body, and so therefore they'd no longer be "seeking funding from bodies". But what you'd have then instead is two wings of a body seeking funding from the other wing of that body, that brings in the vast majority of income.

How or where is the GAA to come up with the money that the Camogie Association and LGFA want, unless they either:

a) Take it from other funds that could have been spent elsewhere, such as facilities and coaching to benefit everybody rather than just inter-county players, or

b) Slash the money spent on their own hurling and football teams?

They are asking for the three organisations to engage with them on how things are going to be improved in the longer term, not for money today. They just feel that to wait for integration to make a plan would be too long. The three organisations have already voted to integrate, so in the long term the ladies teams will be "their own camogie and football teams". So either the GAA decide in the long term that they want elite men's and ladies gaelic sports, in which case the pot will need to be spread a little thinner, or not, and lose girls to other sports, and probably lose government funding also. This is what integration means and its what the organisation voted for.

It also cannot be ignored that the reason the GAA has so more more revenue than the other organisations is because its the legacy organisation.

Thank you for backing up my point.

Yes, camogie and ladies football are asking for money to improve things for them. You say "not today" and instead in the longer term, but point remains the only way they'll get what they're looking for is if more money becomes available to them.

You're also proving the point that not only do they want extra money, but that they're looking to the GAA rather than their own organisations to provide it to them. You even attempt yourself to put the onus on the GAA to "spread the pot a little thinner", rather than on the Camogie Association and LGFA to generate additional revenue streams.

As for your contention that the reason (as in the only reason) the GAA has more revenue is because it's the legacy organisation, that's at least a little duplicitous, to use just one of several words I could choose. I'd venture that other and more relevant factors include how it's better organised, better governed, and enjoys far greater support.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,422 ✭✭✭MacDanger

After integration, there'll only be one organisation so there'll no longer be a "them" and "us". As such, I'd expect all players to be treated equally

So you are choosing the no support for elite ladies gaelic sports option then?

Can you really not see how the historic situation has benefited the GAA in terms of resources and interest? It was the only show in town. And in most towns it still hoovers up most of the fund raising. Most people not involved in the sports do not appreciate the difference between the Camogie association and the LGFA and GAA and see them all as GAA, and is incredibly difficult to go to them looking for more support when they have already given to the GAA club lotto etc. Equally the large scale commercial revenue the GAA gets comes from your Kerry's, Dublin's, Limerick's and Kilkenny's etc, not the Mayo hurling team or Waterford footballers. Do you think the Mayo hurlers or Waterford footballers pull in the revenue to support inter county programmes? Yet they get supports, subsidised by the major teams. That ladies elite teams are looking for similar consideration as the three organisations move towards integration that has already been approved by them all is by no means outrageous.

The women's sports weren't valued as much because the offering was so poor for so long.

There wasn't much to go around in terms of sponsorship or funding, because nobody wanted to sponsor it or fund it. And all because they were outside the GAA (which was their own choice, as far as I can recall....they deliberately chose to be separate entities and organisations to the GAA, did they not?)

Now that re-integration is on the cards, they're seeking assurances that they'll get a larger slice of the (considerably) larger pot than they've been getting so far. And threatening 'industrial' action, if you can even call it that, if they don't get their way.

Why weren't they playing hardball before now with their own lot?

Why wait until joining the GAA family became a likelihood before opening your hand mouth?

Why are they moaning about the financial aspect of it all if, as you say, they're not seeking funding from other sources?

Answer: They are 100% seeking funding from other sources. The behemoth that is the GAA.

Saying "that resource should benefit everyone, not just the men" is all fine and dandy, but there were no women's teams to share it with because they wanted to go full Beyonce-independent-woman with their own 'self-sufficient" organisations. "We don't need no men, until we see the euro signs being flashed in their direction, so now we want in, as equals, and we want an equal share of your our money".

Honestly, it makes the LGFA and the Camogie heads look like gold-diggers. Because, as anyone with an ounce of objectivity can see, the reality is all that money was generated by the men. If the women's games were self-sufficient and able to generate their own funding, they wouldn't be looking to join in with the boys in the first place.

It also cannot be ignored that the reason the GAA has so more more revenue than the other organisations is because its the legacy organisation.

GAA founded 1884

Camogie founded 1904

I'm sure that extra 20 years when the entire nation was penniless made them so much more money. Hell, the LGFA is around since the 70s, we weren't exactly awash with money during those years, you might remember. The reason the GAA generates more money is because it offers a vastly superior product. You might as well be comparing the LOI and La Liga.

Lets cut funding to the Mayo hurlers and Waterford footballers so. They don't bring in revenue either. And handball. No revenue there either

Gaelic sport is not a "product". If it is to be regarded as a product players should be payed, full stop. It is an organisation enabling vast numbers to participate in sport at a community level and those who excel the chance to participate at a elite level. And in just the mens game revenue generated by the organisation enables players to compete to an elite level by providing support even when the revenue they generate does not justify it.

And while the LGFA and Camogie associations are not new, the explosion in playing numbers and interest is. A path to enable the best amateur female players to elite level should and will be provided even it the face of dinosaurs such as yourself.

Yeah, cos that's exactly what I said, of course. No strawman here. You're also ignoring the fact that the Waterford footballers got less than a quarter of the hurlers about three years ago, but that kinda deflates your argument, so no surprise there. The Mayo hurlers get about half the footballers, also, in case you were wondering.

Anyway, that funding was generated by their respective county boards, the teams themselves and HQ/the GAA.

Spending YOUR OWN money on your own teams, especially on those that are under-performing, is the hallmark of a financially astute organisation. However, generating all that money and then having the new guys trying to hold you over a barrel unless they get a slice.....or else.......would rankle with anybody. They're not even in the door and they're making demands.

What would happen to "elite" women's GAA sport in this country if the GAA told the other two organisations to piss off, sort your own finances out? It would be dead in 4 years or less, is what.

They need the GAA.

Or, to put it another way, they need the GAA's money to bankroll them because they want to be able to operate at a loss, and need to be subsidised by the men's game, as much as that may hurt..

Which is all okay, by the way. I think it's a good thing, and integration is long overdue. But the only reason it is happening is because of the relatively recent success of the two ladies' codes and, at this moment in time, their ambitions are bigger than their bank accounts. To pretend otherwise is the act of an ostrich.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

Not too well up.on LGFA but I see camogie spending money that it hasnt got at inter county level.

Why are they lining out two adult teams, for example here in Offaly we have a senior and junior team. Cut that to one team like we actually do with our mens team and you'll have more to spend on team preparation. I also noticed at the weekend there was a Leinster development blitz for u14. Offaly had 3 teams playing. I know you're trying to give as many girls as possible a game but surely two squads in a small county would be plenty, there only is about 14 clubs in total here.

You're doing yourself absolutely no favours in your arguments with either me or other posters here.

Where did I state or even suggest that I'm opposed to better conditions and supports for inter-county LGFA and camogie????? It would actually be a marvellous thing to see happen.

What I do have grave reservations about, and yes, what I'm absolutely opposed to, is the expectation and belief that in order to get these improvements, all they have to do is ask often enough and loud enough and strong enough until eventually the GAA gives them the money required, and that the GAA should be doing that because, well, just because.

The pressure should instead be on the Camogie Association and LFGA at both national and county levels to develop additional revenue streams and use that income for the benefit of their players.

And by the way, that other poster above makes a good point. Why do Offaly, or Wexford, or any number of other counties field two adult camogie teams (e.g. senior and intermediate/junior) rather than just one? Doing so instantly doubles the costs. And by the same token, fielding just one team would instantly double the amount that could be spent on individual players by way of things like expenses, gear, meals, etc.