Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Slovakia to join Poland and send 11 mig 29s to ukraine that they decommissioned last year, apparently none of them are currently operational, could take time to be returned to service that or be canibalised for other aircraft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,074 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Kupol isn't an isolated incident. Here's what an intelligence officer fighting in Vuhledar had to say only today.

I hope that I am wrong, and you and most people here are right. I hope the Russians are actually close to exhaustion and that a sweeping counter offensive can liberate a large part of occupied Ukraine this Spring. Unfortunately I don't see it happening anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,646 ✭✭✭Rawr

Invoking Godwin a bit, but these "You are all only just pro-Ukraine" bot arguments make me wonder how a 1940's Boards would discuss the antics of Nazi Germany.

When dealing with an obvious totalitarian facist regime like these, I don't feel like there is a possibility to have a debate where both sides can possibly be shown to be "in the right". The facist regime, in the process of trying to erase another nation, can't be defended without simply lying. The Nazis of the past and Russia of today cannot be defended unless your moral compass is broken or entirly missing, and the fact that debates tent to point to Russia being in the wrong isn't becuase of just opinion, but because reality made it that way.

Russia is in the wrong. No amount of counter-opinion (be it real or bot-generated) will change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭greenpilot

Save this post folks. It shall age well. Regarding the "temper tantrums", they are fortunately part of the usual life-cycle of the low-postcount/ pro-russian keyboard warriors. Observe:

1. Re-register on Boards

2. Underestimate the intelligence and overestimating the gullibility of the good people of the thread by posting the usual diatribe.

3. Frustration sets in due to the reaction to the easily-refuted "facts" and predictions.

4. Frustration leads to temper tantrums.

5. Temper tantrums lead to behaviour unbecoming of a boardsie.

6. The low-postcount comrade is removed.

And the cycle begins. Again and again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,011 ✭✭✭Soups123

The butt hurt is just too enjoyable to read. The desperation tells the real story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,456 ✭✭✭circadian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

I think you need some more English language lessons. You clearly don't actually understand what was written in that article. Is your tutor a native speaker or is English their second language as well?

Spotted this a few minutes ago. A very old, Polish-built and designed trainer aircraft, the T-11, just airborne over Poland. This aircraft was withdrawn from service in 2011. Its most unusual to see one airborne. There are 30 left in roughly flyable condition. With 4 hard points on the wings, a possible aircraft for Ukraine?

In the right hands, it would make a great straffer, rocket platform or light ground-attack. Reminds me of our venerable Fouga Magister back in the day.

Screenshot_20230317-103944_Chrome.jpg PZL_TS-11_Iskrai_(cropped).jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,400 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

But those points are completely different than the previous points you posted.

The previous ones in short:

Needing 5 battalion of tanks for the counteroffensive, they may only get 3 (how someone can calculate that is beyond me)

Little chance of Ukraine having a counter offensive.

Massive losses in bahkmut (the source looks to be giving false figures) and implying it's like that all along the front line.

Shortage of shells on the Ukrainian side (some speculate they are holding them back for a counter offensive) and the shortage of shells on the Russian side is all planned (what ever the **** that means)

Most major arms deliveries to ukraine will be 2024 onwards. I believe it's only the Abrams are that far out.

Do you not find the above points odd?

Maybe you do, maybe you don't, but you find another completely different set of points (which look like valid concerns) and use that to reinforce your belief that the first set of tweets is correct. It's like you have a narrative and use any tweets to reinforce it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭macraignil

Just another day of the muskovytes beating Ukraine to the punch by attacking in the snow and mud:

image.png

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Armed Forces commands are not exactly renowned for appreciating commanders discussing heavy losses, whether accurate or not.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

That is a dreadfully written article.

Ukrainian soldiers are fighting against the Russian Army which is some ten times larger.

This is simply false

A Ukrainian journalist who spoke to soldiers in Bakhmut on the front lines reportedly claimed Ukrainian troops had told her, “The average lifespan for mobilised fighters in Bakhmut is four hours.”

Sounds scientific...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭briany

I have to say that the quality of trolling was much better at the start of the Russian invasion proper. In most instances they were at least attempting to give the illusion of good faith before overstepping and getting squashed with the banhammer.

It was to compare the life expectancy of a troll on here and Russian soldier in Bahkmut so relax it wasn't comparing the quality of trolls vs quality of articles written.

There's also a US ex-marine fighting there who told ABC news. I'd assume he estimated and wasn't constantly watching the clock or counting Mississippi's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭TheRepentent

sounds like the ISPCA has taken the goat off a goat fukker 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭eoinbn

Edit: old news. Missed it with all the talk about yellow strips....

13 more Migs for Ukraine.

https://amp.dw.com/en/ukraine-updates-slovakia-to-send-mig-29-jets-to-ukraine/a-65021539

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,456 ✭✭✭circadian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,074 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Do I find the points odd?

They are not my arguments, I won't defend every single detail. I agree with them broadly though, particularly that shortages and committing fresh forces to Bakhmut in an unfavourable fight are going to hold back a Ukrainian counter offensive. I am not saying it won't happen, my guess it's going to be much more limited than what people are expecting.

Completely difference set of points?

It's the same thing. Some of the suggestions being made in the latter need to start happening to help/stop the former. There are clear frustrations with the rank and file serving and the army leadership. No one goes to Twitter proposing army reform as a first step.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭AerLingus747

Be grand, just need to pull a Russia and all will be back on track narrative wise

@wreneye is obviously unfamiliar with the unique Irish ability to spot a Gobshite from very far away. ( I wonder how gobshite translates in Russian?)

He went straight to temper tantrums.

It's interesting to see the levels of desperation apparent in his posts. After years of insular isolation and adverse propaganda, the majority of Russians are unable to comprehend what makes the West tick.

Did you know that only 20% of Russian households have a working indoor toilet?

It's a vast country, filled with a population of poorly educated, serf-type citizens who , if they were magically transported to the West, would find our society almost alien and completely incomprehensible.

Russians, such as our newest chap, have completely underestimated the response of the West to its invasion of a Sovereign nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

The same person, over & over, I think. Very similar tone - a tolerable level of condescension, underpinned by an obvious sense of insecurity.

Basically a child trying to do an adult's job 😉

I fear I may be converted if exposed to more of their argument (NOT)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,995 ✭✭✭jmreire

The Russians really shot themselves in both feet bringing this case. They could not have done better in criminalizing themselves to a world wide audience. They say that the fish rots from the head down, and decisions like this are a practical example of it.

Mar 15, 2023 - Press ISW

ISW%20LOGO%202_142.jpg?itok=t0yooAPW

The overall pace of Russian operations in Ukraine appears to have decreased compared to previous weeks. A spokesperson for the Ukrainian Joint Press Center of the Tavriisk Defense Forces, Colonel Oleksiy Dmytrashkivskyi, stated on March 15 that Russian offensive actions have decreased significantly over the last week and noted that daily Russian ground attacks have decreased from 90 to 100 attacks per day to 20 to 29 per day. Dmytrashkivskyi reported that Russian forces have somewhat lost offensive potential due to significant manpower and equipment losses. Dmytrashkivskyi’s statements are consistent with ISW’s general observation regarding the pace of Russian operations along the entire frontline in Ukraine. The Russian offensive operation in Luhansk Oblast is likely nearing culmination, if it has not already culminated, although Russia has committed most elements of at least three divisions to the Svatove-Kreminna line. Russian forces have made only minimal tactical gains along the entire Luhansk Oblast frontline over the last week, and Ukrainian forces have likely recently managed to conduct counterattacks and regain territory in Luhansk Oblast. ISW has been unable to confirm the commitment of the 2nd Motor Rifle Division (1st Guards Tank Army, Western Military District) to the offensive in Luhansk Oblast since certain unspecified elements reportedly deployed to Luhansk Oblast in January--the only large formation assessed to be operational but not yet engaged. It is unclear if the 2nd Motor Rifle Division has already deployed and has not been observed or if it is waiting to deploy to either Luhansk Oblast or other areas of the front. The commitment of two or three of the 2nd Motor Rifle Division’s constituent regiments, however, is unlikely to significantly delay or reverse the culmination of the Russian offensive in Luhansk Oblast, especially considering that at least five Russian regiments have definitely been fully committed in this area, likely along with several others, but Russian forces have still been unable to make substantial gains.

Looks like FSB have started quality control on the russian military equipment

Probably because of the corruption

Mar 16, 2023 - Press ISW

ISW%20Logo%20%28slider%20image%29_31.png?itok=cQLI6x74

The Russian Federal State Security Service (FSB) appears to be trying to penetrate the Russian Defense Industrial Base (DIB) in a way that is reminiscent of the KGB’s involvement with the Soviet military establishment. Spokesperson for the Ukrainian Center for the Research of Trophy and Prospective Weapons and Military Equipment of the Ukrainian General Staff Andrii Rudyk remarked on March 16 that Ukrainian experts have found FSB markings on many Russian weapons components that Ukrainian forces have destroyed or captured on the battlefield. Rudyk noted that these markings appear not only on equipment such as T-90M tanks, but also on weapons’ microcircuits, and suggested that this means that the FSB conducted an equipment inspection of such weapons and components. Rudyk concluded that this means that the FSB does not trust Russian military leadership and is conducting inspections of Russian equipment accordingly. FSB markings on Russian equipment and weapons components, if confirmed, would have broader implications for the relationship between the FSB, the Russian DIB, and the broader Russian military apparatus. Either FSB Director Alexander Bortnikov has instructed the FSB to conduct these investigations at the direction of Russian President Vladimir Putin, or Bortnikov has issued this directive independent of Putin. In either case the FSB appears to be directly inserting itself into the inner workings of the Russian DIB, likely penetrating equipment acquisition and inspection processes. The KGB (the FSB’s predecessor) notably penetrated the Red Army and Soviet defense industry in a similar fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,995 ✭✭✭jmreire

I wonder how many experienced personnel found themselves in Ukraine, and how many emigrated to avoid the draft? There was one case where the only paediatric neuro surgeon, serving a region of 400'000 people was drafted, and other instances where the building heating engineers were also drafted, leaving the residents freezing during the winter. Putins master plan is unravelling. The incompetence runs all the way from the top down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,653 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Even worse are those ex-cons that survive their Wagner deployment and got their pardons. So, rapists, murderers, back home you go. The RuZZian people put up with it, of course.

With 70000 war crimes under investigation,i think its more than the convicts to worry about returning home to Russia,thats if they make it home at all