Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When did coke become socially acceptable?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,824 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Heard a similar discussion on the radio today about the pervasive smell of hash around Dublin City Centre.

There was a time that folk who liked a spliff would smoke at home, maybe a quiet spot outdoors, but not openly walking down the street or outside pubs.

The discussion was along the lines of 'well, people are anticipating full legalisation and so care less about where they smoke it'.

I don't think that's what it is at all really, I just think its the same as the cocaine, in that folk know they can do exactly what they like, where they like and when they like and that there will be no consequences.

And of course the thinking about hash is bogus anyway, because in so many of the territories that personal use is permitted, like California, Colorado and the Netherlands, you cannot smoke on the street or wherever you like and it is tightly policed.

As usual in Irish cities and towns, its anti-social behaviour rulez OK and nobody gives a shite.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,552 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

That wouldn't tell me that they are doing it only at the weekends, or to cope with work pressures. Was it a doctor or a civil servant who told you that?

ah no I’d say that was just their sinus medication

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

It would if they were caught doing it at work and the whole spiel came out. Or if they got too drunk and made one too many visits to the disabled toilets and left something behind that the next person found... or if their loneliness lead them to sharing their bag with a few good looking girls who loved to talk.

What do you care what circumstance applies to what profession?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,552 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

You gave a list of 12 occupations including Garda who you know use cocaine. Some only at the weekends, some to cope with jobs they hate. How would you even know the occupations of people out and about socialising?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭RetroEncabulator

Seems it became socially ‘acceptable’ during the last big boom here in the late 90s early 00s. It wasn’t just here either.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,539 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Do you ever hear anyone dying from doing a bag ? Like back in the day you'd hear it about XTC

never bothered with it myself ,but younger lads id play ball with say they only do it on long day session just to stay sober, seems a bit nuts if u ask me

• Registered Users Posts: 13,788 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I've done coke with all walks of life and high up professions anyway over the years. It may be socially acceptable once you know the other person or people are cool with it but most people try to be discreet about it. Here in London it seems to be just the norm, dealers here will whatsapp you these enormous menus selling all sorts of stuff from weak coke to strong coke to viagra to mephedrone etc. etc.

People love drugs and they will always be prevalent and that is never going to change unless we become some kind of authoritarian states like in the middle east and asia, and hopefully that never happens.

literally millions of people were taking pills every weekend in the 90s in the UK and Ireland and I can only think of that poor Leah Betts one who died. It's a very safe drug, for comparison people probably die daily from alcohol in the UK and Ireland for all kinds of different reasons, accidents, illness etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭screamer

It is rife, even in backwater little places, you’d easier get coke than a panadol. The youngsters are on it, they don’t drink they do coke instead and all of the ugliness that goes along with it, aggressiveness and fighting, jaws and noses swinging out of them. I’d say it’s been easy 5 years since it became widespread and I won’t say acceptable but not frowned upon. If we think drink is an issue for society I can only imagine the problems this coke addiction will bring.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,550 ✭✭✭Allinall

I think that saying a drug is very safe because nobody dies from taking it is stretching things.

I didn't say that no, but I don't think it's that dangerous relatively speaking if you're talking about drugs, you'd be far more likely to hurt yourself with booze

I was saying millions of people can take ecstasy over a weekend and have an amazing time and come off none the worse for it, so I'd consider it very safe yes. I'm unaware of ecstasy having had any ill effects on anyone I know and pretty much everyone I know and grew up with would have taken pills. I can't say the same thing about booze, that's definitely not a very safe drug.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,540 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Who’d want to buy weak coke?

Regarding the OP, if you have to go to the jacks to do it then it’s not socially acceptable. Anyone you’ve seen doing it publicly knows full well they are taking the píss.

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 8,996 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I saw a bunch of 18-20 year old kids openly sniffing it off a key at Dalkey station over the summer, in full view of everyone waiting on the other side of the platform. I barely had the money to buy a few pints at that age.

lots of people, weak coke can just keep you going for a night without the price tag. Many dealers sell different tiers, cheaper stuff would be diluted with mix and the dearer stuff more pure and expensive. that's pretty much the norm.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I’ve never taken an illegal drug in my life, not even when a bunch of guys I toured NZ with in 1998 we’re doing pot on a regular basis , I drank plenty but never experimented with drugs

I definitely notice usage in the small town I live in , people with clear signs they were hard on the sniff the night before, perhaps it was same circa 2007 ( pre crash) but I didn’t notice?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Do you feel bad the next day after it ? Can you go for two days in a row on it ?

How do you recover the following week ,

But that’s factually incorrect.

the difference between alcohol sold in your local off licence and the bag of coke from the local dealer? One of those has undergone and is closely monitored to ensure safety. The other is from your local dealer.

If you think people aren’t dropping like flies from contaminated drugs sold on the street you need to think harder. Drugs are not inherently the problem the problem is the illegality which pushes it underground to people who have no better objective than buy cheap sell high.

Coke and MDMA/acid is safe in its pure form or when it’s made properly, but the coke you buy from a dealer is cut with some cocaine and the rest could be pretty much just drywall for all you know.

The pressed pills such as acid/MDMA etc have been found to be laced with the likes of fentanyl and worse. If you think the only person who died from pills and other drugs in the 90’s was the woman you mentioned you need to give your head a shake.

By the way, this kind of shite is exactly why no one takes any discussion about legislation for drugs seriously. People who wants to advocate for it are afraid to tell the actual truth. No one’s telling the truth either way. The opposers are painting a picture where everyone’s stoned out of their minds and killing each other in violent rages or ODing & the pro side is filling peoples heads with equally dangerous lies about the utopia we’d all live in were drugs legal.

There can be no discussion regarding legitimate control of drugs when no one’s willing to be honest. Posts like yours are so dangerously ill informed it haunts me. But more than anything, how dare you sit there and type that drivel that no one’s ever in any harm from taking drugs. Attitudes like yours are exactly why we’re in the state we’re in with drugs, the war on drugs and so on.

If you want to advocate for them— fcuking well be honest then. Alcohol is more dangerous than coke or random pills you don’t have a clue what’s in them yeah? Fcuk off mate.

yes you feel bad, depending on how much you take it's better/worse, but the fact that it enables you to keep drinking is probably what is really making you feel bad the next day. you could keep going on a rollover till the next night, then you'd take a couple of days to recover. it's a slog alright, but not really any worse than getting drunk af, that would take me a couple of days to recover from these days too, so I try and avoid doing that and the other stuff these days, when i can.

you clearly haven't a clue what you're talking about and you're putting words in my mouth because i never said no one's ever in harm from taking drugs, i said relatively speaking cocaine is safe compared to other drugs like alcohol. if coke and mdma and pills were as dangerous as you say they are there'd be people dying from them all the time in ireland given the vast amounts of them taken every weekend, people crash drunk and die in alcohol related incidents all the time on the other hand.

Surley its worse on the heart than a drinks ?

Like if your an alcoholic that one thing but if you have a few pints on a weekend, Im sure doing coke with that is a lot worse for you NO ?

Does it not give people hearth problems

probably yeah, but i'm looking at it like this, if you were to get drunk af twice a year or do a few lines twice a year, you'd be far safer on the coke than the booze in my opinion. taking either all the time will f*ck you up.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,681 ✭✭✭buried

The fact that it makes people injest way more alcohol than they would is the reason the stuff is tolerated in the social scene in pubs and clubs here. Publicans aren't stupid. They know exactly what is going on, and they know this stuff increases their profit margins.

Vintner federation would definitely prefer cocaine becomes legalized before cannabis or MDMA.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭Hooked

I (44) was on a 2 night stag with the youngest brother (31) a few years back and ALL of his mates were on it. They'd throw a towel or t-shirt over their head, in a bar, in the middle of the day and snort away from a novelty oversized key (think it was a souvenir from Alcatraz) that had a perfectly sized groove in it.

These lads are all late 20's, early 30's... pint-hounds... and just wanted to stave off the drunkness or hangover. Stayed awake ALL night chatting ****. But when they ran out - on the Sunday morning CHRIST were they in some state. Double hangover, no sleep and no more coke. They were fooked!

They seem to be on it every weekend... and I counted that out of say 9 or 10 of these lads, who I know quite well... none of them owned a house or were married (most in relationships). Apart from my brother (married with mortgage)! They all seemed to be happy going from paycheck to paycheck - pinting and snorting... ZERO desire to 'grow up'. All still living with the mammy.

Yea I haven’t a clue, okay buddy. You keep telling yourself coke and random pills are safer than the alcohol which is regulated with strict rigidity.

For the record, if you drink too much and drive a car and kill yourself or someone else it wasn’t the drink that did you in.

If you take a contaminated pill or coke cut with something toxic it was the drugs that killed you.

See the difference?