Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I write to the department of justice about this situation?

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭Girl Geraldine

I agree with Claw Hammer. Sending registered post to Superintendents trying to draw them on it, is basically an effot to back them into a corner. That is going to achieve just one thing - piss them off and and they won't have much sympathy for you as you'll come across as a crank. You are rubbing them up the wrong way as it is by the sound of it.

Fact is, no offence has been committed against you - so the Gardai have no role to play here.

Unfortunately, in itself, being a scumbag and hanging making a nuisance of oneself on the street is not an arrestable offence.

But I think you know all this, but you are just trying to prove some point or other.

I don't know what your story is or if it is related to being from another culture, but you seem to have a mighty sense of entitlement and unrealistic expectations of what the Gardai will do for you. And you also some sort of attitude or notions what with the convoluted extravagant phrases to refer to your car.

I suggest this....you need take a breath to cop yourself on and drop this superiority act.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Sugar_Rush

And you also some sort of attitude or notions what with the convoluted extravagant phrases to refer to your car.

I never said it was a car.

I said it was a "vehicle".

In physics we trust....... (as insanely difficult to decipher as it may be)

Whatever dude. That's more of it.

As for the MMA, i'm surprised that you get much time in to train with all the anal bleaching and obsessing over your appearance that you seem to be preoccupied with according to your post history.

Whole thing is a bit dubious to be honest. A wind up I reckon at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭GavPJ

Kick the **** out of him.

And if he doesn't piss off, kick the **** out of him again.

Repeat if necessary.

How can you know my post history?

My profile is set to private.

And no, it's not a wind up.

Just FYI some poster called "Witcher" has been going about this thread thanking all the posts criticizing my accounting of events.

But without making any contribution themselves.

Reminds me of that dude from "Trading Places".

"Yeah!!".

What's the beef?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

The private profile option was disabled a while back. And tbh, people know you're a total Walter Mitty even without having to check your post history. Recurrent sh*tposters tend to get remembered.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Everlong1

You're living in a country where scumbags with 150 plus convictions are walking the streets free and clear, and where rapists, child molesters and violent thugs who stab, slash and beat people to a pulp regularly stroll out of court with suspended sentences. Law and order in this country is now a joke and you can expect zero support from the State. Self defence is your only option.

I agree and good point.

But of course the purpose here was largely to preclude my own conviction or criminalizing myself, in the instance of self defence.

However we've covered some great points.

Take out my phone and MAKE A RECORDING next time this happens.

Post edited by Sugar_Rush on

Any chance your Traveller GF might have a few brothers who could get a hold of this scummer and give him a good hiding? You could arrange to be out socialising with friends when it happens so you have an alibi and he can't touch you.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,612 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is he after your girlfriend or a relative of hers?

Can you get a restraining order against him?

lol

Why do I get the impression I'm being ridiculed?

I never said I had a traveller GF.

I said BRIEFLY dated a traveller girl, and I contend that act seriously ruffled billy-bad-ass's feathers.

He saw her all over me and that either caught his interest or made him see red.

Maybe he went into a jealous rage? Maybe he became infatuated with how a refined gentleman such as myself, could transcend such a vast cultural divide?

After all, his type is the one meant to be "folksy" and "street wise".

But ever since then he's been on my case.

Sounds more like he fancies you OP. He’s just jealous and trying to get your attention. Next time you see him ask him out for a coffee or ride in the back of your vehicle.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

massive troll. nice.

** sigh **

For moderators, please let me give you my upmost assurance this is not a troll.

I could probably even verify it if you wish to contact me privately, but disclosing police information probably isn't a great move.

But rest assured this is genuine.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

confirmed.

Just write a book or something. The ADHD is amazing at inventing scenarios that have never happened.

For Starters the Cops should have been obliged to at least question your bogey man as he as exhibited blatant harassing behaviour which is illegal.

See ya.

• Registered Users Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Green Peter

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,718 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Mod can we pull back on the backseat modding please. Its for me to deal with trolling. If you've a problem, report the post.

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭shalom

Well, would you consider it to be of any consideration? I'm not asking your opinion on his ethnic persuasions. Do you think this other person is solely concentrating on yourself or could they be any other mitigating factors involved? Looking at all your other posts I can build a profile of you and your description of other people in your other posts show what type of person you are yourself. I hope you continue with your body building, it seems to be about all you have. I wish you well in your life and hope your got you apartment difficulties sorted, your problem there being housed next to homeless people.....

This threat is nonsense.

We noble gentlemen should all mount out modes of conveyance and retire honourably from this debacle of a thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,207 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Under Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act 1990 section 16, if a member of the Garda Siochana suspects with reasonable cause that someone has an offensive weapon, he can search that person.

But the "reasonable cause" bit is crucial. This guy having a previous conviction for carrying an offensive weapon falls well short of reasonable cause for a guard to suspect that he is carrying one now, every time the guard sees him. And in all your long history of encounters with this bloke, as detailed in the OP, you never once claim to have seem the guy with an offensive weapon, so the guards don't even have a witness alleging that he has carried an offensive weapon, much less that he routinely carries one.

So, no.

Post edited by Peregrinus on

And the Gardai are also not going to entertain video footage of him giving you guff on your phone.

• Registered Users Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Green Peter

Maybe he should go back with the traveller girl and have the backing of her family until it blows over. Best of luck op.

My bad, apologies - certainly wasn't trying to ridicule you.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,566 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

I don't know Sugar. I lived in an area where pugilistic endeavours were very popular, I trained with them, worked with them and I've never met a fighter that doesn't like to talk about themselves and their accomplishments.

Ever.

Is your story hypothetical by any chance? It's fantastical and makes for great teenage reading; "The seasoned fighter who fell in love with the wrong girl, the mean street criminal thwarted by the fighter that wouldn't engage through amazing discipline and self control". Do you have an amazing New York loft style apartment with a punch bag hanging from the steel girders and a Schwinn bike hanging on the wall?

I've never met a fighter that doesn't like to talk about themselves and their accomplishments.

You absolutely speak the truth.

And that was me, one time.

Anyone who would listen, "I'm fighting this weekend in the stadium, former Celtic Cup champion, real bad ass, gonna be tough...... are you impressed?".

And of course plenty more where I came from. A dude introduced himself to me in a club one time with the sentence, "I boxed on the Olympic trials for Poland". No "hey, what's happening. My name is.....", no. "I boxed on the Olympic trials for Poland". He was everything else you would expect. Mean boxer, excellent athlete, almost entirely socially inept and a total kiss ass to women.

And I was thinking, "Jebus, am I like this? Can't be that bad!".

You know what the truth is? No one Gives A F**K if you can fight or no!!

Girls certainly aren't impressed.

Talking about being a badass fighter is overcompensation for lack of social/emotional/behavioural aptitude.

Don't get me wrong, nothing wrong with an interest, a passion, maybe even a career. If it contributes to being in shape and having a good body? Yes, chicks dig that for sure.

But sounding off about it for no valid reason other than to get attention, is incredibly weak sauce, and they're the type of dudes that might look tough but typically struggle in refined social settings.

That being said, when you're young and just coming up in the sport it's excusable.

But a grown ass man talking jive about his combat sporting accomplishments?

😐️

i was on your side til you said weak sauce, chicks dig it & jives tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 9,566 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Yeah. In the history of fighting fighters never trash talk or big themselves up.

Join the MMA club if that's what you would like to do and stop spoofing online, you're embarrassing yourself.