Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I write to the department of justice about this situation?

• 11-01-2023 12:03AM

You'll have to follow along with this anecdote to have oversight on what "this situation" means.

Edit: warning - this is lengthy!!

Few years ago whilst in a gym that showed little discretion about whom they gave membership to, a young man about my own age introduced himself to me. Kind of forcefully and out of the blue but, you know how it is, it's a gym and people sometimes strike up conversations so, we had an introduction and I thought nothing more of it.

Later I would come to find out he was a multiple time convicted offender. Nothing excessively serious, not like an arms importer or money-counterfeiter or something.

Crimes mostly related to alcohol use, drunken disorderly, petty crime, pretty theft, some violent assaults (one being he hit a foreign national over the back of the head with a rock, it was reported in a local paper) and anti-social conduct. He also has a relative he keeps close company with who has multiple criminal convictions and is known for - get this - stealing old ladies handbags.

He racked up enough checks on his record that he served I think two different terms in jail.

He seemed however to develop some kind of interest in myself that started actually previous to that initial introduction, for reasons I'm not quite sure but speculate on. He's what you call a local "billy bad ass", not employed, lives with family that is also unemployed in council allocated housing, chip on his shoulder and kind of fabricates this "bad boy" persona.

I don't want to go into too much detail to conserve anonymity but, basically at the time I was having success in combat sports, boxing mostly, and had acquired some recognition, strictly locally. That type of thing may catch the attention of the "billy bad ass" brigade, territorialism and what not. And the other factor was I was briefly dating a local traveller girl. I was in full time academics at that time, very clean living person - so for someone like myself to be dating a traveller, for better or worse that also seemed to raise some eyebrows amongst the local "tough guy" brigade.

So this individuals interest in me seemed to persist and it wasn't long before it turned ugly, some kind of resentment seemed to become apparent, and he would persistently regard me disrespectfully and that in turn descended into insults.

He unfortunately learned where I lived (just by proximity, he'd see me enter/exit the residence), and one morning I noticed the tire on my mode of transport was cut open using a blade.

Low and behold, who was in the vicinity after a night of alcohol consumption, that very same person (I don't have video evidence but he saw me park in that spot multiple times, knew the vehicle was mine, and he was two streets over, drunk, 20 minutes after I noticed the tire was slashed).

His series of convictions continued since, and one conviction was for carrying a concealed weapon, a knife; go figure.

I reported the tire slashing to the local garda station but without video evidence, nothing doing. There was camera trained on the parking spot, but later I would learn about 50% of the apartment complex cameras don't work.

So this goes on and on and honestly it's getting to the point it's clear what he's trying to do is bait me into a confrontation in the street.

I think because he knows, he has so many convictions, a confrontation will be nothing for him, but for me it could mean a criminal record (which he already has) - which can completely turn your future upside down.

Based on this, I compiled a comprehensive 5 page written report of the entire history and was given a consultation with a local garda, at which we discussed everything for about one hour, and came to the conclusion that they had nothing to act on then, but if something arose in future I should report it.

Few weeks ago I was again confronted by this person. I go into hypervigilance mode when this happens cause I know what is potentially at stake. He said something disrespectful and when I did not acknowledge or respond, he ducked around a corner and seemed to be waiting to jump me, or confront or accost me or something. I only happened to notice this as the edge of his sleeve was barely visible from around the corner, but he was basically hiding, as a means to physically engage me I had to assume.

Noticing this and understanding what was at stake, I change direction and find a different path to get where I was going (the shops).

Low and behold, 10 minutes later who do I bump into only the same dirt box, he sees me in a shop, beelines for me and knocks into me with his shoulder. I step away to avoid but he still clips me, obvious confrontation.

So following this, I bell up the same police officer to explain what I felt was this malignant possibly hiding to pull and knife on me (so I would assume, he was convicted for knife carrying previously, and hid around a corner to lynch me, 2 + 2.... etc), and then barrelling into me in a public shop (I knew he would have been too clever to pull out a knife there of course, witnesses/cameras = immediate conviction, but in a secluded side street, probability was much higher).

Officer tells me, without any actual wrong doing having taken place, their hands are tied, no apprehension can be made or action taken.

I'm at a loss. What am I, supposed to wait until I get stabbed or have to physically defend myself before police can act on the matter?

I'm not here for "personal advice". I'm trying to understand as a matter of law, what are my options?

He's a clever little crawler, as I see it. He knows not to cross a certain line (at least so far), he knows his rights, the police officer said they are "monitoring him" due to the number of convictions he has and I asked, "do you pat him down for a blade whilst monitoring him?", to which there was no answer.

Any thoughts?

Is the officer in question here being negligent? Does it justify a letter to the justice department? And would such correspondence even be acknowledge?

Or is this just a by product of living in a certain type of area with a certain type of person, and just have to put-up-and-shut-up?

Post edited by hullaballoo on

so if I’m understanding.. you want the Gardai to arrest him for no reason other than your suspicious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

it is not a legal discussion until something illegal has happened and it is going to court.

Currently it is your possibly paranoid delusion that a local scrote is harassing you, possibly because you began ignoring him?

Be careful with the likes of him, he is enjoying it far more than you.

It seems.....

That pretty much seems to be their point of view as well.

Harassment, maybe?

I don't know man, when someone exhibits an evident level of obsession with you, has a history of criminal conviction, carries a weapon, hides around a corner waiting to accost you..... I'm just saying, self-preservation mode kicks up a notch.

Arrest?

I don't know, I don't think so. I personally think his historical sentencing was far to lenient.

And from what I read in the paper, he actually made a wise crack at the judge upon release given the leniency he had been shown.

It's well known this guys deviance. By example I spoke with the chief of security at a local nightclub about this situation (friend/acquaintance), so the type of person whose job it is to know which dirtbox is which, and he basically said "this guy, scumbag like you wouldn't believe. You just got to watch out".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

Didn't read all your post.

Change gyms.

So basically this echoes the sentiments of local law enforcement.

Until I get in a brawl with the scrote or he actually pulls and knife on me and it becomes a life/death situation, nothing doing?

Despite the evident warning signs?

I mean, I don't expect some kind of "minority report" type situation to come into effect but........ pffff, either way I'm not getting much love here it seems.

And I kind of alluded to that when I spoke with the officer, basically saying "I get it, we're adults, these things happen and until there's something more concrete to act on, is what it is".

But I wanted to let her know that when that day comes, I anticipated it well in advance and hopefully, they'll understand the situation and take that into account.

Already did.

Well actually that other place was closed down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

its bullying, the only way to get rid of a bully is stand up to them unfortunately, it sounds like you are running scared and this encourages bullies, Im not sure what you can do other than shove him away from you if he approaches you again

Dundalk, Co. Louth

The moment I put a finger on him, he will RUN to the police station to file a report against me.

That's the point I'm making.

He's obsessed, basically seems to want to do just about anything to tear me down.

That's why I tried to explain this so thoroughly to the police already, he's basically setting me up for this.

Like scumbags do.

Just for clarity, I have gotten in his face a couple times. The "bad boy" persona basically evaporates, but then couple weeks latter he'll be right back on it.

It all seems like a game of identity and feeling of supremacy?

"the moment I put a finger on him" sounds like you haven't done this yet though have you?

Dundalk, Co. Louth

Of course not.

Like I said, the moment that happens is the moment I'm compromised.

Unless it's unmistakably justified, and he's too clever to leave himself open to such an action being unmistakeably justified.

Have you not seen the police fliers?

"Think before you act, one punch can change your life forever";

In reference to, "do not get involved in any physical altercation, ever, unless it's unmistakeably justified, or watch your life potentially get flushed down the latrine".

who said punch? If he gets in your face a shove is all you can do, shove him away from you, your personal space being invaded is a kind of assault, you are allowed to react, yes you may need to explain yourself to the Gardai but thats the way self defence goes, you dont get a free pass to gratuitous violence but you can defend yourself

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

He has convictions.... so the gardai wouldn't be too accommodating to his grievances if he were to report you for putting a finger on him

Honestly I haven't been in many street altercations (though have had many contests in rings and cages).

I'm honestly not the "street fighting" type.

But the feeling I get is that shove could escalate fairly quickly, so if that road is taken it tends to be "all or nothing".

Confining it to a "shove" and thinking that will solve all my problems seems like wishful thinking to me.

But perhaps I stand to be corrected? Have you been in many street altercations? Can you attest to the efficacy of the "shove" at neutralizing assailants?

Again, this may sound good in theory but, during my conversation with the officer, she seemed to go out of her way to make just about every excuse for the scrote.

"Oh he's being treated for substance use disorder".

"Oh he's qualified in this and that..... he's just never worked a day in his life".

"Oh he's basically under our surveillance and protection so if you attempt to interfere in his rehabilitation we'll come down on you like bricks".

I have no faith that law enforcement wouldn't slam me if given half a chance.

I honestly got the feeling from the officer she thought I was the "uppity" type, and seemed to enjoy that I was taking shit from some scrote.

That's terrible I have to outline that but it was kind of obvious.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

whats the alternative? he keeps harassing you and getting in your face and then more? the slashing of the tyres is a scumbag move so I can imagine you feel very threatened, you sound so worked up you are getting paranoid, I know the feeling, how long has this been brewing, sounds like you should get some counselling

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

No doubt you'll have to paddle your own canoe here...it's frustrating for sure.

Well, most recently the officer, with her back completely against the wall said, "if he does something we can legitimately prosecute him for, we'll act on it".

So basically it's a game.

He's trying to trigger me into making a move on him = he reports me and I'm compromised.

I don't go out of my way to trigger the guy but he obviously thinks I'm the uppity type (like the police officer does) and I deserve to get fucked with, so if I can get him to over commit to that, I can report him = he's compromised.

Feels like a couple of school girls trying to get each other in trouble, lol.

Is this what it all comes down to?

No wonder the scrotes run this country, and no wonder O'Connell St, the main street of our capital city is scrote-heaven; it's a microcosm of the incompetence the Irish judicial and law enforcement process.

Seems to be situation.

Thus why I was asking, escalating this to the department of justice could offer better satisfaction?

But it's looking like that may well be an increasingly laughable situation.

UNLESS the scrote puts a knife into my back one of these days.

Then I can totally say, "I told you so!!".... from my hospital bed, whilst I'm receiving a blood-transfusing or on life-support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,539 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

You're in a difficult situation and you have my sympathies. But what would you like the Guards to do? Is there any action you think they can take that would be effective to alleviate the situation?

what would you like the Guards to do? 

Pretty much exactly the same question the officer asked me most recently.

And my answer was, "every time you see him, I want you to pat him down for a knife/blade/weapon".

There's no way he'd confront me with his fists alone, cause he knows my background and knows there's no way that would pan out favourably for him.

So he ducks around a corner waiting to jump me, instinctively my conclusion is, "he's got a blade, otherwise he'd never have the confidence to do that".

I just don't want to get stabbed.

I don't want to have the opportunity to say "I was right all along", whilst having to place compression on the puncture wound in my gut.

So my issue is, I really don't think local police are taking him seriously, I definitely think they underestimate how deviant and underhanded this scrote is, and they regard him as nothing more than a peripheral "nuisance" (their words).

In my opinion, Irish law enforcement are far too lenient with scrote anti-social behaviour, and I had thought writing to the department of justice may improve this local/immediate situation in my case by compelling local officers to curb his anti-social attitude/behavior/actions more so; and perhaps raise questions in their department as to actual methods of law enforcement.

i.e. more pressure exerted and placed on blatant anti-socialites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭mikethecop

What is it you would like the Department of Justice or Gardai to do for you here Suger ?

Act on something that hasn't happened yet ?

tell him to be nicer to you ?

follow him around until he does something and he gets another small fine or suspended sentence?

lifes unfair kid and not for everyone

What is it you would like the Department of Justice or Gardai to do for you here Suger ?

Act on something that hasn't happened yet ?

tell him to be nicer to you ?

follow him around until he does something and he gets another small fine or suspended sentence?

lifes unfair kid and not for everyone

All of the above.

And I'll hide under my bed until my demands are met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,539 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

The guards can't pat somebody down for a knife/blade/weapon on a whim, and they certainly can't systematically do so every time they see him.

Unless they have a search warrant, they can't search you (without your consent) without a specific statutory power to do so. Where there are various pieces of legislation that confer garda search powers, they only apply in specified circumstances - e.g. if the guard has reasonable grounds for suspecting that a place is being used for selling drugs he may enter the place and (among other things) search any person present.

In particular the guards have no general power to search someone because they suspect he might commit an offence, or even because they suspect he might be carrying an offensive weapon. Any legislation drawn on such wide terms would likely be struck down as unconstitutional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Green Peter

The time he shouldered you in the shop is an assault, call into the station and make a complaint with a view to going to court, if the Garda fobs you off ask for the sergeant. If you are not prepared to do this then it will continue and dont blame the gardai. It's likely there's CCTV of what happened so do it before it's erased. The judge can bind him to the peace and if he comes at you again the next case will be alot more serious for him given previous court appearance and may be a harassment charge if it continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Tom_Tripland

It's like some of the movie scenes. It must be frightening and frustrating on your part.

You need to make a few private enquiries to get this sorted!

Interesting, isn’t carrying a knife a criminal offence?

A few years ago the local sports club organised for Philly McMahon and a Garda Sargent to give a talk to teenagers about drugs. The Garda said it was a misconception to think a Garda cannot search you on the street, if they think a crime has been commited or if they you are carrying drugs or a weapon, they have a right to stop and search.

He might have been saying it to scare/warn the audience though.

Really?

Even if that person was a repeat offender, convicted previously for carrying a concealed weapon, is a locally known delinquent who regularly breaks the law, previous convictions for violent assault and has been recently reported for threatening behaviour?

If he comes at you just karate chop the knife out of his hand.

Absolutely.

But what concerns me more than anything is some little scum bag outsmarting me and managing to implicate me with the law.

Which is exactly what he's trying to do.

But he's obsessed.

I honestly think - just my opinion - that it was dating the beautiful blonde traveller girl that really sent him over the edge.

It's like it de-validated his entire "bad boy" alter ego (which is a total bluff cause, as previous, I've confronted him a few times a he basically turns into a stuttering stumble bum).

After that he's been on a mission to cut me down like the axe wants the turkey.