Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Early start to Christmas festivities in Rathkeale (THREADBANS IN OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭Quitelife

law and order seems to be totally broken down in county limerick with a different batch of scumm having a ramming fight ? On the Main Street in patrickswell last night …. Spill over from a row in a pub …another town with a closed garda station!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,853 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

It's grand. Their insurance will pay for it...oh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'd imagine that you know but somehow think that hybridizing an Irish word that is used english conversation is something to be corrected

Presume you'll be piping up in a similar boorish fashion when people type "crack" instead of "craic".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

Ten years of pressure groups having too much influence has emboldened these people . Law and order won’t be implemented unless it is some low hanging fruit that doesn’t present a challenge to those implementing it be it AGS or the judiciary .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Liath Luachra

Pavee point et al. seems to do no favours for the people they are meant to advocate for. they perpetually tell the travelling community they are victims, discriminated against by the settled community and fuel a us and them mentality. They never encourage accountability and actual name it for what it is thus all of the travelling community become tarred with the same brush. All the while, the traveller community are imploding from within, with high rates of suicide, domestic violence, early mortality etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

He used to bench 150 but it took him a year to make a full recovery after the two wing mirrors hit off each other !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Pavee Point are part of the victim industry complex, encouraging responsibility isn’t really part of their business model

was at a conference years ago re public health for travellers. Not a member of the travelling community in sight, except for PP staff. written Leaflets developed as primary source of info for female cancers, contraception etc...for a community where literacy rates are low, the leaflets were full of jargon and medical speak. Seems no plain English review done. v little true advocacy seen on the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭boardise

Just wait until the lawyers and accountants get juiced up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Jarhead_Tendler

The golden goose of the Social Policy academics in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭Be right back

Same in Ennis at rush hour last week just before 6pm. Car overtook me on Gort road in 50kph zone drove in incoming lane forced itself back into correct lane and took off at 100kph. I saw it pull into the Ballymaley halting site. Called cops and gave the reg.

That’s a strange article, they interviewed two people one “for” and one “ against “ and frame it like they want them to stay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hawley

It's mainly the business community that want them there all year round. A lot of the Rathkeale Travellers are wealthy. The town gets a huge boost when they're home for Christmas, but businesses are struggling for the rest of the year. There's a good relationship between the settled community and Travellers in Rathkeale. Any incidents you hear of are usually Traveller on Traveller.

Communication was the greatest fatality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

From the Indo:

man charged with causing criminal damage to a caravan and to a car in Rathkeale, Co Limerick, has been granted bail after his mother provided an independent €5,000 cash surety at Limerick District Court.

5k cash stumped up just like that.

She must have a good job.

A joke the justice system - 5K bail money is buttons to these people !!

the other ramming incident in Patrickswell this week was different traveller feud in case we get mixed up with all the traveller feuds - mayhem in County Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,544 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Bail should have been set at the total cost of all damage combined. She'd probably still find it under the mattress, years of saving a few pound a week no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

St. Vincent De Paul usually stomp up for these court fines. Well known throughout County Limerick.

Credit Unions are another source (but "arrears" are normallty written off at year's end). Works out cheaper than chasing down a futile cause.

P.S. i'm not making this up..!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭maebee

St. Vincent de Paul pay for court fines? Really? I never heard of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Well, the poster said “P.S. i'm not making this up..!!!!” at the end of the post. So it must be 100% true, and no further evidence is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,368 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Would the court service be subject to implementing money laundering legislation if the bail was €10k and the mother brought that in cash?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Juran

Reading articles about court appearances related to these limerick incidents, in both cases all were granted free legal aid.

We need a legal aid system similar to the Nursing home fair deal scheme, where the HSE means test you (property, money) and you pay % based on your assets. Legal aid should means test based on cars, vans, property (including caravans), clawing back a % of social welfare payments each week for a number of years. This could act as a deterent. Right now, being charged, court appearance, convicted, suspended sentences, small fines, etc. Seems to be the norm for these people, no skin of their noses. They dont need a clean sheet as they wont be applying for jobs, for loans (cash is king) or work visa's to US, Canada, Oz etc. There is no financial cost for them. I heard from a court clerk that its near impossible to collect the fines from them as they claim poverty.

I appealed a parking fine 2 years ago, it got rejected. I then got a letter from local council to say I would be issued acourt summons witin 14 days and that I would have a criminal conviction if found guilty of breaking a parking law. I kid you not. I paid that day. I'm an easy target, tax payer, fixed address, etc..

Now if the council had taken a photo that day of transit van parked in the same place registered to a halting site, or known traveller family, would they have pursued the parking fine ??? I bet my house that they would not.

As someone already said, customs turn a blind eye to UK reg cars going around for months. My french friend had a car with a french reg, within a month of moving to Ireland, he was stopped by gardai, who reported him to customs, who then came to his place of work a week later telling him he had so many days to clear the car and get an irish reg.

The law is only for the law abiding , these people get everything for free !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,054 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

*slow hand clap*

At that rate, will it be a century's time that they will be on a parity with settled levels of education?

The sooner their culture of ignorance breaks down, the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,801 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

SVP pay for all sorts of stuff for scumbags. Wouldn't give them the steam off my piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Same here. Never a brown cent from me again. And was actually naive and foolish enough to help with their collections (only twice i may add) in my young and innocent days. Was shocked beyond belief when some relatives and friends who work for both SVP and Credit Union pointed out the carry on to me. Absolutely no reason to doubt these claims from the people involved.

Like "Juran" has pointed out above, until these folk get hit in their pockets/assets little will change. Wouldn't hold my breath though as our friends in the legal system (sorry legal industry) would lose a valuable cash cow.

On another note, since people have now been charged with the Patrickswell incident and the majority involved had just left/thrown out of a pub, has anyone involved been also charged with drink or drug driving.??

Many who do 3rd level, tend to focus on human rights/equality and so remain within the oppressed/victim cycle, working within the NGO/community/charity sector.

There seem to be little reinforcement of the Education Welfare Act, whereby if child misses 20 or more days of school, the school is obliged to report the absence. An unhealthy mix of the bigotry of low expectations and parents disregard of education. Many halting sites and individual homes will have a taxi bus collect and drop off to/from school - ironically continuous enabling has disabled the community further.

Drink and drug driving is only for non travellers.

There was so much mayhem and blood on the streets of patrickswell the other night it was travellers murdering passing shoppers the guards (that had to come out from limerick ) were worried about rather than motoring offences which these people never adhere to anyways .